Sony MDR-V700DJ Over-Ear

MDR-V700DJ

These Studio Monitor Series headphones incorporate high-end materials and advanced engineering to produce critically clean, exceptionally clear sound for professional and high fidelity applications. Swivel earcups enable single-sided monitoring for DJ and remix applications. Listen to house sound with one ear while you cue up the next track with the other. An auto return swivel mechanism brings the earcups back to the standard listening position, giving you one less thing to worry about. The 50 mm diameter drive units deliver reference-grade sound and enable superior power handling with deeper bass, lower distortion and wider dynamic range. The frequency response extends down to an extraordinary 5 Hz. 3000 mW power handling means these headphones can handle the most stringent professional applications, standing up to day-in, day-out use at very high output levels.

User Reviews (85)

Showing 1-10 of 85  
AkorOne   AudioPhile [Jan 03, 2013]

Comfortable, nice looking, but other than that, very sub par for a sony product.

As a Dj, Producer, and just a music lover, that listens to many genres, i found these CLEAR yes, but lacking Bottom end completely, you have some bass frequency response, but definately not to the level they state @ 5hz, its more around 50 (had a quick play in my D.A.W) so if your right in to your drum n bass, dubstep, hard techno, these are pretty much rubbish, but even with the more alternative and rock / thrash metal stuff, they were a big let down aswell, Way too mid ranged, snares are crisp and most high end synth's / pitches are quite impressive, so not bad for melody mixing. overall, i would recommend an alternative, for the music serious. But i payed a humble 40$ so im not cut much. if you paid the 187, i would feel somewhat murdered.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
xrok   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 17, 2009]

I bought these headphones for 142 euros (Slovenia is expensive). At first, I was blown away! If you're planning to own a pair of headphones for a week and you have some money laying around, I'd go with these. However, If you're tight on budget and would like to have a pair for 3 years plus, i can guarantee you there are better options.

The sound quality is nice, but nothing more then that! They can get VERY loud and have a very powerful bass. The mids and highs are decent, but far from perfect. I also have the feeling that the sound quality drops rapidly with time. I own these for about 2 months now, and I remember them to be much better!
The thing that bothers me the most is the comfort. .The padding is very thin, resulting in the earcup pressing against your ear rather than your head. They apply a LOT of pressure. Thus, you have to take them off after 20 minutes of listening to relax your ears, 'cuz they start to hurt and sweat.

STRENGTHS:
loud as hell!
powerful bass
quite stylish
coiled cord (weakness for some)
gold-plated plug
earcups can rotate in all directions

WEAKNESSES:
price!
comfort (really really bad!)
quality (flimsy; mine are still in one piece, but I have to treat them with great care)
value for money (I just went to the store, not giving much thought in what I'm buying)
sound quality drops rapidly with use

OVERALL OPINION:
Don't buy them!!!! You can get much better headphones for that money!!!!

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Blake   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 28, 2009]

So I have a pair of sony earbuds. The silicon ones that are very comfortable, and sound amazing! I wanted some over the ear ones for home. I am a programmer and listen to music constantly. First off, the headphones grip your head way too tight! After that, sound clarity really sucks. The range on these are not impressive. There is no feel for bass, and they're heavy. Guy i work with got the Sony MDR-v6 and they are awesome. I am taking these back to get those.

Pros:
can get loud
Cons:
everything else

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
kaizen   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 14, 2008]
Strength:

loud
gold plug, melt it down for some jewelry

Weakness:

very uncomfortable
flimsy
Inaccurate sound reproduction.

These headphones are a relic of the past. You can do much better for your money.

I bought these for dj purposes, thats about all they are good for.

Very uncomfortable and somewhat heavy for the size, they press on your ears, in an hr you'll want a massuse to rub your sore ears.

The plastic is flimsy with stress fractures appearing at 4 months around both the hinges. I eventually had to tape them together. The final straw was when one ear piece snapped off mid gig. I tried to fix it by taking the hinge apart and gluing the plastic bits together again. When I took apart the hinge, two springs popped out that just didnt want to go back into the housing. I spent about 2 hrs trying to get them back in.

The sound is loud enough for dj purposes, but for the money I spent, I expected better quality. If you are a producer, dont bother with these as the sound is not precise to the mix.

Similar Products Used: Audio technica A900
Beyerdynamic DT-770
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
wazoooo   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 11, 2006]
Strength:

you can throw em over 600 yards,
you can knock out a cow from 600 yards with em.
you can tell birds your eric morillo's tour manager and these are his spare set
still covered in sweat "you wanna lick some morillo sweat?"it's okay cos the're broke anyway.
you can knock out a sony service centre manager with em from 600 yards for laughing at you..
you can suss out a winker Dj (from a real one)who want's to be eric morillo.
you can knock knock him out fom 600 yards with em.
you can knock his groupie cow out from 600 yard's too moooooooorillo brillo.
they look cooooooool in the bin.

Weakness:

they don't quite fit up a sony service centre's manager's arse.
if they were wedge shaped you could use them as a door stop.
you ca't trow em 700 yards.

i boght these when i knew nothing, for dj ing and monitoring productions in my home studio at night, i thoght they were the bizzo,--------how wrong i was,sound was good at first but, quickly deteriorated,then they fell to bit's after i gig'ed em a few times,i tried to tell sony and asked if they could fix em.and sony said
"are you Eric Morillo"
"No " i said.
"In that case,HA HA HA HA HA Ha HA HA Ha Ha HA HA HA HA hA hA hA HA hA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA" pause for breath"HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA, we have your money now"
i took that as a no.i now realise that these are'nt suitable for production monitoring.Beacause you end up with no bass in your production.and they fall to bit's if you gig'em and you can't fix em.Which render's them useless.hence th new low price of 80 squid's but if you can find 80 squid's willing to give up there live's for some wink headphone's then your either a marine biologist/dj or king neptune.

if you want some production monitoring headphones that are flat and show up anything wrong with a mix,buy some sennheiser hd600's if you want some field monitoring/dj head phones(why you'd want to monitor a field i don't know)get some HD 25's they last forever and ever,they were desighned by ancient hebrews you can trace em back to the old testement which is why there still dear

Customer Service

what you on about?

Similar Products Used: sennheiser hd 25, sennheiser hd 600
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
bettercheddar   Audio Enthusiast [May 22, 2006]
Strength:

Sound incredibly detailed (to me).
Comfortable
Stylish
A tad on the warm side
The headphones can be folded and placed in a pouch for storage or travel

Weakness:

Cord is pigtailed (curly), I prefer stright.

I purchased these headphones because I am so happy with my MDR-150 headphones for using on my computer - for $19.95 they are killer headphones.
However, for my home system I wanted to move up in performance so I purchased this set of cans. I am very pleased with the sound of the headphones. Yes, they are a bit more money, but the ol' adage you get what you pay for is appropriate here. The Mdrv-700dj phones have more bass response - they sound simply cleaner. I find them to be a comfortable set of phones. Others have stated they are not comfortable - what the heck are they wearing?

I will not say that these are the absolute best cans available to the consumer - but they are well worth what I paid! If you enjoy your music with a tad warm presentation - you've found your holy grail. Enjoy your music.

Customer Service

Hope I never have to find out!

Similar Products Used: I listened to other offerings from Koss, AKG, Grado - I like the Sony sound the best!
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
DjMartinp   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 23, 2005]
Strength:

Look ace Sound great get other dj's mad cos you have them and they dont (LOL!)

Weakness:

if you buy these buy two pairs instead of one iv lost count how many times iv had to change my cans halfway through a set (averidge time doing a set 6 hours)3 times a week it soon takes its told on the cans.

Im a Pro Dj dj,d up & down the UK had a residency at a nightclub could the Oblivion for 5 years in a row so i now what im talking about.well now thats out the way LETS BEGIN! These headphones (cans) realy are at the top of the market in perfection i've had sennheiser,technics,and other sony models but nothing comes close to what you get from these.The sound is amazing especially the BASS!since i am a techno/Trance DJ these do the job.if you have seen the film it's all gone pete tong well that is how you feel when you have them on you cant hear a dam thing outside,all you have is alot of mid and low not realy alot of top but it dont matter that much you should'nt have them on for an hour or longer non stop thats why they are called Sony mdr v700dj Yes (DJ) do i realy need to say anymore. ahhh yeh djs like paul van dyk,johan gielen judge jules armin van buuren use these amazing headphones so they must be good.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer HDJ1000 £120 used by Dj Jean Stanton pro 3000 £90 used by Tiesto Technics rpdh1200 £150 used by sven vath Sennheiser Hd25 or Hd25sp£70 - £115 used by to many to say (Realy)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Killerkeyboardist   AudioPhile [Dec 25, 2004]
Strength:

Good sound quality; nice full spectrum coverage (initially) Nice detail and dynamic range (initially) Good sensitivity and S/N ratio (initially) Visually attractive Tighter than some studio monitors, so they are very closed to outside noise/private listening experience (*nice reverb - sounds like you're right in the hall*) Can create very powerful sound, generally louder than other products due to the 24 Ohm resistance

Weakness:

Very tight at first, then they loosen up when the headband and cylindrical casings around the ear cups wear out/crack If you own them, be prepared to replace them in two years because they WILL break Sound quality deteriorates over time (S/N ratio, dynamic response, various frequency ranges become altered *particularly bass*, reverb response dies) There is about a year in which these have their "sweet spot" where they are both optimally functional and somewhat comfortable. After this, the foam starts to compact and the leatheresque covering on the cups dries out and cracks. It's a pain.

These headphones are very good, as far as sound quality. As a music critic, I can say that these perform very well. I agree with some people that these have a darker type of sound to them, but I find that more natural. Particularly for classical music, details are very well represented. I'm sorry, but those people who say that these are poor for classical are apparently the same people who think that the stock string sound on a standard issue Yamaha keyboard sounds authentic. Give me a break, classical should NOT have aniseptic treble, it should be SMOOTH. Other headphones make classical music sound too vibrant and brilliant and therefore unrealistic. Take it from someone who actually LISTENS TO AND PERFORMS the stuff, these are good for the task. Therefore, this serves as a good qualifier for these headphones; they produce a natural response across the spectrum. These headphones take a little while to break in (about a week). Before that, the bass may seem totally booming and the high ranges a bit mellow. This eventually evens out and yields a basically flat response. I would say that these headphones are suitable for all types of music; from classical (great detail response) to rock (particularly 80,s era stuff, you'll hear it like never before). These 'phones fit very tightly, which may account for some of the dark character of their sound. If you draw the cups slightly away from the ears, they brighten up somewhat. Unfortunately, they will do this anyway in about a year and a half when they invariably BREAK! Almost everyone who reviewed this product said that they had to replace it after about two years, as the cylinder that couples the swivel cup to the headband splits over time (cheap plastic construction). This is probably because they fit so TIGHT at first, it feels like you've put your head in a vice. Though most owners probably pitched them when they first started to go, I kept them almost a year longer, until they finally defeated the twist ties and duct tape and glue and SPLIT RIGHT DOWN THE MIDDLE on the left side. I recently acquired a new pair, and I can say that the sound quality of the first set deteriorated noticably in that time span. Granted, I at first didn't like the dark tone character, and I blasted the treble to overcome this. I might very well have contributed to their premature end. The bass totally dropped off, the midrange became too "present" (like a chorus effect), and the treble became overly bright in some places (siblants...ughh!) and subdued in others. The high sensitivity (107 dB) seemed to drop as well, I had to blare them higher and higher to get any sound. Also, the high S/N ratio fell dramatically, suddenly even new recordings had noise. Some of the changes were gradual, so I didn't notice so much until I tried the new ones. Others, like the noise and decreased sensitivity, I noticed right away. No, I wasn't crazy: I HAD remembered them sounding more impressive. As the grip loosened (the top band wore out) and the cylinders started to separate, the impressive reverb response dipped to about average, as the 'phones became more and more open. Also, the foam compacted and the leather-like surface dried and cracked. It really hurt to wear them after awhile (again!). All in all, the sound quality was very good for a time, but the design totally sucks. Still, my results were much worse than most peoples', and I'm optimistic that my experience was extraordinary. I hope, at least. I know that, regardless of what anyone will tell you, you can't blast a current through something like this day in and day out and expect it to last. It WILL eventually die, just like anything else. Therefore, I am only about 50% ticked that the sound quality was not as good at the end. There is no such thing as a perpetual set of headphones.

Similar Products Used: I compared several viable brands; Sennheiser, Bose, etc. I also tried the smaller model (MDR-V500)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
2
barnskidooyoo   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 01, 2004]
Strength:

fantastic sound, look cool

Weakness:

the worst and most commonly experienced design fault I've ever come accross on one product...!

these headphones are one of the best for the prodj, and am happy to use them myself, but there is an inherent design fault that every owner will experience while using these cans. basically, the cylinder that connects the can to the headband has a habit of splitting in two. there is a quick fix involving some every day tools and electrical consumables, and i would be happy to pass this fix on to any other owner, as it will save you a hell of a lot of cash for the authorised repair, or new headphones! barney_surefoot@hotmail.com

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Saurabh Thakur   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 03, 2003]
Strength:

Amazing Sound Quality Comfort Looks

Weakness:

Probably need a break after a couple of hours of continous use

I bought the v-500s the other day. Thought they performed fine....but seemed to distort a bit when playing around with the graphic equalisers. So I went back and picked up the v-700s. These are the best headphones I have ever had. The sound comes out so crisp! Wicked bass and amazing treble...perfect mids. It's difficult to make these babies distort. I'm only using these on my PC....for gaming and music...so not even for they're intended purpose!! They have the capacity to handle anything I chucked at 'em. Music is another experience with these. They're pricey.....but definately a good investment I think.

Similar Products Used: mdr-v150, mdr-v500dj
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 85  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com