Sennheiser PX 200 On-Ear

PX 200

  • compact, folding, on-the-ear design
  • padded, closed earcups and adjustable headband
  • neodymium magnets for low distortion
  • 4.5-foot cord with stereo mini plug (no full-size plug)
  • hard carrying case included
  • impedance: 32 ohms
  • weight: 2.1 oz. (without cord)
  • frequency response: 10-21,000 Hz

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
danny.south   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 01, 2008]
Strength:

Mid and high detail, comfort and sound containment (perfect for the office)

Weakness:

Not "sound slammers" if that's your thing

After reading many positive and some extremely negative reviews I was quite apprehensive purchasing these headphones. However, after listening to them for a full week, I can say I am VERY happy that I took the plunge.

Many reviewers spoke about the phones either lacking extension in the bass and overall "punch". This is fairly accurate, but unless you need your music thrown at you this won't matter much. I'm like good DnB, which these headphones more than do justice to. If all you are listening to though is a droning bass-line and frenetic hats these aren't the phones for you.

Mid ranges are amazing. I own a pair of HD280 pros and the PX200's match them for tone and separation. Highs are laid back and silky - some people will feel they lack impact but they more than make up for it in detail. Overall, the sound comes together beautifully.

Comfort is A+ if you have the right ear shape (buyer beware) and the closed back design is perfect for where I use them most - the office.

If you buy, enjoy!

Customer Service

Great - if you're a NZ buyer head to google 'think digital'

Similar Products Used: Senn HD280 pros, Senn earbuds (unknown model) that came with my iriver
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
YANKO   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 10, 2007]
Strength:

looks great, very comfy..good sound., good isolation.

Weakness:


cant find any..

i just got them today, wanted to replace the px100 because I dont like their sound ( too much bass, but not much mids and highs, so the sound is a little muddy..). i wanted a good pair of headphones for my 60gb ipod and right out of the box, the px200 seems to be what I wanted..good and powerful sound, clean, good bass ( and its gonna get better after a while..), the isolation is pretty good, so the sound dont go out disturbing people around you..I first tried them with my favorite band, DREAM THEATER, then went through some country, blues, and rock..the sound was really good in all styles..

Customer Service

no idea..

Similar Products Used: sennheiser px100.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Cath   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 17, 2006]
Strength:

great design, light and love the ability to fold and store, great sound(after a playing in)

Weakness:

none that i can find at the moment

just recently purchased these off ebay australia as an up date to my PX100 which are awesome, but i was after a pair of headphones that would block out some outside noise and still have great sound, and as i was so happy with my previous senny's i jumped at the chance to get the PX200,
As soon as i recieved then i immediately plugged them in and had a listen and found them to be very tingy with no bass what so ever, but as i had read some previous reviews suggesting that they perform better after being played in , i did as suggested and left them running on my laptop while i was at work, and then i tried them again after i got home and found quite a lot of improvement in the sound quality and this is only after about 6 hours of playing in, i cant wait to hear them after 24 hours of playing in, and even as we speak the bass is now approaching what my PX100 produce, bring on the 24 hours they should sound great, so for all those who bought these and didnt give them a real go, go back and give them some time and then listen, im sure you will change your mind.

Similar Products Used: PX100
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
zoobalisious   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 21, 2005]
Strength:

Build Quality Small Size Well rounded sound

Weakness:

These heaphones need to fit snuggly to acheive best sound- they might not fit every head size.

I needed a pair of closed-style headphones that I could use on on my daily bus commute and in quiet lad conditions without disturbing others. I was looking for something small and durable that attenuated the low drone public transportation while producing loud clear music. For the $43 I paid I could not be happier. Most of the reviews I read prior to my purchase spoke highly of the 200's build quality, but I was still pleasently surprised about just how solid they feel. They come with a small, convenient case that fits easily into a coat pocket. The headphones themeselves are so small I can fold them up and keep them in my shirt pocket. After reading the reviews my main concern was sound quality. Many reviewers found the 200's lacking in both high end and low end reproduction. I'm glad I tried them for myself. The key to using these headphones is achieving a proper seal and having access to an equalizer of some sort. Using the equalizer on my zen micro I was able to slightly boost the low end which made the sound very smooth across the spectrum. The bass is punchy and clear, the midrange is silky smooth and the treble is nicely laid back. Even on lossy 320 Kbs MP3 files These phones bring to life a tremendous ammount of depth and detail. All that being said, these are not audiophile cans. Obviously larger less sensitive phones will produce better overall sound. But if you are looking for a great sounding-durable-small headphone, grab a pair of these.

Similar Products Used: Sony, Panasonic, Labtech, Creative, Koss
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
arupgoswami   AudioPhile [Nov 23, 2004]
Strength:

Well Made Neat plastic case to fold away when not in use Great sound compared to other cans in the portable arena Heartily recommended to someone looking for a portable, easy to carry solution Great bass response and equally extended treble to match - flat response in general across the spectrum

Weakness:

Would have loved if the cable would have been longer than the 1.4m supplied

A typical Sennheiser product, well made in the fit and finish department from a casual look. Upon unpacking, unfolding was easy. Plugging it, its a typical Sennheiser, having used HD-580 & HD-600. Smooth, clear, slightly laid-back (again a typical european trait) yet allows you to hear everything in a neat fashion. What impressed me as the ability of the PX-200 to play low bass well and in a controlled fashion (without signs of overload). Upper treble was extended for a closed phone and it suits all types of music well. I have used them only for the last 6 hrs but they are comfortable, weighs a lot less than my HD-580 or 600s, and I primarily purchased them to use with my notebook, listening to mp3, CDs, and DVDs. Its a great companion.

Similar Products Used: Sennheiser HD-580 Jubilee Sennheiser HD-600
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
willc   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 28, 2004]
Strength:

Comfortable Can be folded away easily Good sound

For the use I make of them on the train and at the gym these are great. Not too large and sound sooooo much better than the freebie types. I am happy to wear them for extended peiods without discomfort and sound great.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
audioman   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 05, 2004]
Strength:

sound quality-tight punchy bass clean midrange fairly detailed

Weakness:

hard to put in travel case?

Great portable headphones. Looking for the ideal mate for my 40GB Ipod. The Koss Titanium KTX Headphones I was currently using sounded too muffled for my taste. Also wanted closed headhphone to block out some noise on planes and the like. I tried Sony's in ear noise cancelling ear bud phones but were too uncomfortable in my ears after about 20 minutes. The Senn's came highly recommended and they didn't disappoint. Bass is tight and punchy and the sound is fairly detailed and clear without sounding overbright or harsh like some headphones have a tendency to do. I've also read that the Senn's will sound even better after a 10-12 hr break in period so I am excited about even better sound. These are the best portable headphones that I have heard. The only downside is that putting the headphones in the accompanying travel case may be a challenge.

Similar Products Used: Koss KTX Pro Titanium Sony MDR-NC11 Noise Cancelling Headphones
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
drinkingbird   AudioPhile [Jan 24, 2004]
Strength:

Detailed hard-hitting bass that extends very low and is not overpowering. Excellent portable design w/case. Fairly comfortable, maybe a bit tight. Built well. Good value.

Weakness:

Not much detail. Highs get drowned out when sealed well to your ears.

Needed something a bit more portable than my Grado SR80s, and sealed for flights. Knew these weren't exactly astronomical sound quality wise, but the portability and at least halfway decent SQ I'd expect from Senn made it an easy choice. Then I saw them on sale for $30 and grabbed them. I'll tell you though after using them for a bit, I'd be unhappy if I paid any more than the $30 for them. Maybe the SR80s have just spoiled me too much, or maybe its because I haven't used closed phones in quite a while, but its very hard to get used to the "in your ear" sound and lack of detail in the highs. The bass on these is great I think, controlled and detailed, the mids decent, but higs are practically non-existent. I actually have to "unseal" them by moving them back so they hang off my ears a bit to get the highs to make an appearance. But again, this is probably just because I'm so used to open phones and these are intended to seal out noise. The portability design along with better than average sound easily makes them worth the $30, and as an added benefit its like hearing the Grados for the first time everytime I go back to them :-) On a side note my primary listening is hard rock/metal, but my guilty pleasure is some techno/dance every now and then, and these actually excel, even over the Grados at that, since those genre's don't need a lot of upper detail, just good bass response and crisp mids, both of which these have. Madonna's "Music" (I have no idea why I like that song) sounds great on these. These easily kick the butt of any earbud or cheap headband phones that come with portable players and for $30 are a worthy purchase, but I can't say they impressed me at all SQ wise except the good controlled, deep bass.

Similar Products Used: Grado SR-80 (drool, hard to believe I didn't even pay 2x as much for them, they sound 10x better)
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
visions   AudioPhile [Oct 22, 2003]
Strength:

Light, Pure sound output, very impressive bass output. Not a simple product.

Weakness:

Plastic. Plain design.

I just bought this product and it is light. Sound output is pure and bass is good. Good for travelling and comfortable.

Similar Products Used: SoNy headphones, Sennheiser
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Linx   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 21, 2003]
Strength:

Comfortable Well made Clarity

Weakness:

No depth Tinny

Bought these cans as alternative to my Koss Sportapros which were falling apart. When first plugged in, had to check to see if there was anything wrong with them - there was no depth at all, and they sounded weak and tinny. Whereas clarity is no doubt better than the Kosses which are somewhat woolly in the bass, the lack of depth and bass in these cans are a great let-down, particularly given the high marks they have been awarded in the British press. I have gone back to the Koss, despite the overly warm tone. If you have the budget and are not looking for great portability, then I suggest you go for the Grado S80s. They are on a different planet.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com