Grado SR60 On-Ear

SR60

Vented diaphragm Non Resonant air chamber Standard copper voice coil wire Standard copper connecting cord mini plug with 1/4" adaptor

User Reviews (179)

Showing 1-10 of 179  
ashraf qashoqa   AudioPhile [Jul 03, 2016]

one of the best headphones to buy, the better one was sennhiser hd-580. the only complain about the grado was that build quality the sticks of the ear cups can become lose, no screws were used just glued and it dissolved by time otherwise nothing to say.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
zac   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 02, 2015]

I own one of the best headphones on the market for a mere $299.99. The model is grado 326e upgrade from the 326i. This phone smacks of good tight bass, excells on mids, and super details on treble. Go higher up the chain and the music has more warmth and alittle less bass but to each their own listening of sound. Grados comfort is to be of getting used to but once settled in the music is incredibly widestage a to almost errie which I truely love more than anything.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Petter Engblom   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 26, 2010]

Bought my sr 60 for $79 and I just love them. They fit very nicely on the ears and the music is amazing. I would recommend these headphones to home-listeners only. They are not very portable, but dont get me wrong, they are in fact really durable! They are also totally open which means that the music leaks out. There is also an advantage of this leakage, it provides an amazing sound.

However there are a slight rattle in both of the cups while producing low bass notes. As long as you dont blast the music and play HipHop you dont have to be worried about that though.


I used the Sennheiser HD485 before these. The bass is slightly weaker on the sr 60 but the music is more pronounced. I would say go out there and buy them! They are good looking and they give you amazing sound for a very low price.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Donald MacGregor   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 19, 2010]

I just cannot endorse these things. Uncomfortable, horribly made and harsh sounding, they may be good for those who like slam but there is no refinement here at all. Mine fell apart, the cups rattled on low bass notes and I couldn't get rid of them fast enough. There are lots of better options and for not much more $$$ there are really great headphones like the AKG K240s and the Shure SRH440s. Do yourself a favor, if you only have $60 to spend, buy the Koss PortaPro at $45 and save for one of the other models I'm mentioning.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
CHS   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 13, 2009]

Got it for a bargain nearly new ( 1yr old mint condition ). Paid US$35 off ebay.

Sounds just great for that money. Okay, so it pales to a real audiophile setup. No one disputes that. I use it with my Ipod at work, unamped and it blows away any tiny buds (Shure/Klipsch/UE) for that price.

I know what good systems sounds like. I have an old Marantz/Accuphase/Castle system in my living room, and a Cello/Sonus Faber in my bedroom. I have buddies who own Macintosh/Krell/Burmeester setups, and we play CDs & SACDs in each others home regularly.

So before any snooty audiophile starts a bilious rant about how MP3 will never trump the "real thing." Chill. I know what you are going on about.

I have never been into headphone gear. I only wear headphones when I jog with my Ipod.

But lately, I wanted a setup at work where I can blow off some of my music when I burn the midnight oil.

So I turned to the internet and the story of the Grado's came up the most positive. I have no real bias, and through my whole life I have one principal - buy 2nd hand. Someone else pays for the depreciation, and being audiophiles, people can't resist upgrading. So I am forever collecting other peoples discarded well cared for or nearly new gear. Its amazing why people keep chasing sonic nirvana by paying ridiculous prices for incremental upgrades.

Annyhow, these cans arrived in their original box with nary a scratch. Mint.

Plugged it into my Ipod and was instantly wowed ... before this, I stuck with the regular "white buds" from Apple.

But what was really amazing was the quality of sound upgrade when I plugged it into my jogging Ipod shuffles ...

This was a pleasant surprise. These small shuffles are well endowed. Steve Jobs and the dudes who designed this little gadget must love music as much as I do.

Taught bass, open mids and great musicality.
Has a touch of bright sibliance.
Needs to be played loud to be enjoyed.

Good for rock, jazz, blues and male voices
Not so good for orchestral or female vocals (too much sibliance ... )

Definately not the last word in absolute detail, clarity or soundstage. But hey ... it is so much better than some small costly home systems I have heard!

I can't tell you if its better than other similarly priced cans or even the cans that have stratospheric price tags. But if you have never tried headphones, or have been using small buds. Give these a try and be impressed.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
cicli-raffa   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 24, 2008]
Strength:

Price

Weakness:

Flimsy build quality
Not Smooth Sounding

I purchased this set of cans, after the numerous rave reviews I have seen online. Well they do sound great, but I was expecting a lot more. I guess if you don't have an audiophile setup home, these probably sound the business for you, but to me they seem to be lacking that wow factor. Anyhow for the price they are a TRUE steal.
I have to lower my vote due to the flimsy build quality, they Y cable join seems very delicate and I am sure it will break over time.
I use these for all style of listing, from casual ipod to film recording and finally to film post production. On certain types of music these cans just don't do it for me, as in jazz. They lack that clean and smooth sound, but on the other hand while listing to my post production sfx with a lot of rumbling sounds, they wow these cans really shine!

Similar Products Used: All AKG stuff from 80-present
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Fred Reading   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 24, 2008]
Strength:

Comfort and quality.

Ive got to say, i totally disagree with Phil Canard, these headphones are one of the most comfortable i have ever had. And the sound quality is extremly good.

Similar Products Used: MANY
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Phil Canard   AudioPhile [Nov 06, 2007]
Strength:

Low cost. Good for rock music.

Weakness:

Not the best as far as comfort is concerned. The new AKG Varimotion technology has obsoleted its competitors.

The much cheaper SR60 replaced my SR200. The SR200 was even less comfortable. I bought the soft earpads from John Fort and that helped the SR200 and SR60 comfort quite a bit. The SR200 was tighter in the bass, but less extended than the SR60. The SR200 had smoother treble, but that counted little on rock music. The greater comfort of the SR60 made me wear them more often. I admit the SR200 is better in an audiophile sense, but not by much, and the cost difference does not justify buying the SR200 in my opinion. Either model is an excellent Rock-N-Roll set of cans if you can get used to the ergonomics. I wanted a better all around set of cans, so I replaced them with the AKG K601. It 's a better set of cans all the way around, but it set me back $210.

SR60 is 3-star, SR200 is 3.5-star, and K601 is at least 4-star in an absolute sense.

Instead of buying an SR60 or SR80, I would pay a few more bucks and order the AKG K530 out of Europe or wait for it to appear in the USA. A K301 XTRA or K401 XTRA sometimes shows up on eBay at a SR60 price. They have the new AKG Varimotion technology which in my opinion obsoletes the Sennheiser and Grado models even at much higher prices. It has an uncanny ability to sort out complex passages and reveal inner detail you never heard before, sounding completely natural the whole time.

Customer Service

They accomodate.

Similar Products Used: AKG K601, Grado SR200, Sennheiser HD450-13II/600R
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Nick   AudioPhile [Oct 22, 2007]
Strength:

Build quality. Clean and crisp. Efficiency. Retro-looking.

Weakness:

The cord can twist easily but the pros easily outweigh the only con I can think of for the Grado's.

These headphones are incredible! At $69.00 they are a steal for someone looking for a well built quality set of cans. I read all the reviews online for a good month before purchasing these cans. I would agree with all of them except comfort. I find them fitting perfect against my ears with no discomfort whatsoever. I took the chance of buying these based on the reviews and I must say I have not been let down one bit.

Before stepping into the quality headphone community I was mainly into my hybrid tube amp and was very biased against MP3's. After hooking these cans up to my ipod I was blown away. I find myself using these with my laptop while gaming or just casually listening to my MP3's.

Similar Products Used: Sennheiser HD-437
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jrhymeammo   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 04, 2006]
Strength:

Price

Weakness:

what I just wrote

Here is a follw up on my SR60. I've had this set for nearly 2 years now. I was really satisfied with this product at first, maybe because I thought it was a steal for the price.

Well since then I have sent my set off to Grado for repair X times. I had to replace both of drivers and 1/8" plug twice and plug alone for the third time. Both of lead wire kept ripping at the end where it meet at Y (right above the GL logo plasitc piece). I think they need to come up with a better swibble. This piece can be played with portable devices at home, but I would never recommend it on the go. The cable is too bulky so, the connection will be shot for sure from a little movemnt. Of course I never do this since I have a system at home. Forget about using this on the bus as well. You will find yourself geting in heavy argument from a person next to you on a phone chatting away. But, this open design helps this set sound better. I did replace original pads with ones with cut out center. This made mid bass come alive, but made highs n mid range sound worst than ever before. I mostly listen to jazz, clasical, hip hop, older rock, and jam bands. Hip Hop is great, but this tyope of music doesnt have much tonal quality to begin with. If you mainly listen to progressive metal, this set will please you for long time. Just try not to bang your head and sit still as much as you can handle. Too much movement will rip your wires, but nobody wanna feel uncomfortable and be limited from what you normally do. Also, dont turn up the volume to reasonably high volume, your drivers will be damaged and will be suffering with shattering sound after 1 yr of warranty. I do not this this is an issue with thier quality control, but not meant to be played at higher volume. But you can play it slightly higher with better headamp w/o blowing your drivers.

I've tried my set at a local hifi store and played it with Creek's headamp and tube headamp. Creek was okay, it extended bass slightly more than my CDP head output. Highs were somewhat tamed, but definatly not worth $200+. Tube headphone amp did create much warmer sound but I'm not interested in spending 5 times the aomunt I paid on SR60.

If you are a type of person who doesnt have a stereo at home, willing to listen to music without moving around, and doesnt mind crisp highs. YOU GOT YOURSELF A BARGIN. And that was not a sarcasmm, every sound will suit certain listeners. Go find out for yourself it this sound will tickle your likings. Just be sure to bring in the device you will be playing with at home, since most of the dealers have them setup with good headamp. If you are not going to be listening with same gear at home, your results will be different.

price was good, but it really affect value rating due to durability. Who cares about price if it's going to last for only a short time.

Customer Service

Customer service was great within your warranty period.

Similar Products Used: SR80, 125, 325. RS2, 1.
Senn HD580, 600, 650. and bunch of earpieces.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 179  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com