Beyer Dynamic DT 250 On-Ear

DT 250

The Beyerdynamic DT 250-250 provide good isolation and a fine sound that is ideal for DJ or studio use. Overall, they deliver a pleasant musical representation that places emphasis on mids and bass. They are durable and non-fatiguing, with a fit that is a little tight, but comfortable. The DT 250-250 have soft, velvet ear cups that fit snugly around the ears, and a padded headband, resulting in a very high level of comfort. They are made with a sturdy and durable, yet flexible, plastic. They provide 12db of isolation from the surrounding environment while maintaining their accurate musical presentation. The coiled cord connects conveniently to one earpiece, eliminating any double cord tangling. They come terminated to a mini and include a 1/4 inch adapter.

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
vk   AudioPhile [Mar 08, 2012]

Summary:
I tried Sennheizers, Sony, AKG .
Nothing can be compared to the DT250.
Even at 80ohm they are easy to drive. Their monitor character will show flaws of a poor recording but will blow you away with their performance with good productions. They show the character of every headphone amp i tried them on. At this price there is no competitor.

Strengths:
true bass notes, true low mids & high mids with a slight roll-off in high frequencies - but you will benefit for many hours of relaxed listening because of this. They react very well with different EQ settings.
Top quality construction. I love the velvet feeling of the ear-pads. They love jazz, rock & electro.
Isolation is very good.

Weaknesses:
They are a little tight in the beginning. Need about 100 hours of burn in time. The cable could be a little longer but this is minor.

Similar Products Used:
Sennheiser HD range, Sony (lots of them), AKG 240.
I love the dt250 , they show you how real music is. The rest of my headphones ? well they rest in the drawer.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
sergej   AudioPhile [Aug 19, 2006]
Strength:

low mids, high mids
very robust and reliable
incredibly comfortable (provided your ears are not too big)
timeless design



Weakness:

the lower impedance version (80 ohm) will break down at high volumes.
A bit expensive - I would prefer those earphones to become a worldwide standard and much cheaper by the way.

I tried a lot of earphones.
my goal was to find sealed cans that would suit me as monitors in case that i wouldn't have the possibilty to monitor mixes and master-mixes on my habitual gear (wich includes Yamaha NS-10). I wanted the headphones to be of the non-HiFi-kind. So I wanted earphones that make crap music sound really crap and good mudic sound decent. I knew, before I would be able to do this, I would have to wear them quite a long time and listen to a lot of music.
Now I have found out that those Beyers can respond to those requirements.
The velvet cushions make them really comfortable to wear. Even after more than 6 hours, you still feel all right with those phones. They are very robust and the design is somehow timeless. Reminds me of the good part of the eighties (technically speaking). The sound will not in any case be especially overwhelming concerning highs and bass kick. But please notice that after wearing those phones and switching to yamaha NS-10 or other neutral speakers, you don't think anything is missing. the low mids come through very accurately. It's fun listening to electric guitars. Sennheiser HD 25 have more punch in the deep bass area, but their high tones sound artificial and quite unreal compared to the beyer dt 250. Those earphones have been around in the phones business for quite a long time, and still they are my favourite Beyers. The curly cable seemed a bit annoying to me at first sight. After some months of operation I changed my mind about this: it's perfect - even if you step on the cable you won't do damage to your earphones. I hope Beyerdynamic will go on building these series, for they have become a standard - not only for me.

Similar Products Used: Sennheiser HD 25
AKG K 141
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Linden1st   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 14, 2006]
Strength:

Really good low frequency and rich overall sound. Feels good wearing them.

Weakness:

The cord goes on the left side, it took time to get use to it and it disturbs when playing guitar (maybe not left handed players tho). The plug on the headphone end is a bit too long.

My first experience of DT250 was when our drummer visited and he had these with him. He got them for free, lucky SOB. Anyway, i tried them and fell i love immediately because of the way the feel and the good sound quality. They were little expencive for my budget but i bought them anyway and never regret. I am a half professional sound engineer and i use them alot listening to the over all sound of the mixings. These are really good to hear if there is too much low frequency, like my old recordins had. They can also tolerate a lot of volume, more than my ears can, hehe.
You have to try them also watching movie trailers, you know the BOOM BOOM effects that they use in them, cause i can tell you that it's almost like sitting in the movie theater, the bottoms are so rich.

Similar Products Used: Beyerdynamic DT100
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Eric Massey   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 07, 2001]
Strength:

Portable, Hi-Fi Sound quality, nice tangle free cord, great bass.

Weakness:

none that I can think of, although they aren't the most stylish things you'll ever wear on your head if that matters.

Great sound quality........it would be difficult to ask for much more from a pair of headphones. The isolation is nice in noisy environments and they are very comfortable on the ears. Well worth the money in my opinion. The cord is convenient since it only connects to one side of the headphones and is curled up so it stretches as needed. The bass these headphones are capable of producing really adds a lot to the sound while enhancing the sense of isolation you get in noisy environments. *****

Similar Products Used: Sony Streetstyles (haha)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
joe   Audiophile [Jan 09, 2002]
Strength:

great sound all around

Weakness:

cord, small muff

great sound, specially for work and airplane... the places i personally use them most.

hate to spoil the reviews, but just 2 quibles:

- the muffle style is just a centimeter too small in diameter to fit my monster ears, but not that bad...

- the real thing that gets to me is the length of the nub on the cord where it attaches to the headphones on the left side. it unessesarily sticks out a good 2+ inches from the bottom of the headphone. so basiclly its really hard to move your head around, keeps bumping in to my sholder. i need to modify this cord or something. anybody know someone who sells replacement cord that differ from the default?

cheers

Similar Products Used: sony mdr-500, sennenheiser-580
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Eric W.   Casual Listener [Jan 02, 2002]
Strength:

incredible sound....good bass...clean & crisp highs....blocks outside sound well...well built...comfortable earpads (velvet-like)...modular springy cord...

Weakness:

maybe a little pressure on the head, but thats what makes them more comfortable, and block the outside noise...the pressure does not get worse as you wear them longer, the earpads work well at keeping ears from fatiguing...

I got these phones from headroom, they have very good reviews of tons of headphones from several top brands. I never owned the 'muff' type of headphones before, and must say that these really out-do anything ive ever heard before. Not only do they block out a ton (16db) of external noise, they also are incredibly quiet for people around you when you have them on. The cord is a nice length, perfect for both portable cd players and audio equipment..its coiled like a telephone handset cord. Also, very important to me was that they be able to be loud off of a portable cd player. A lot of pro level 'muff' headphones can't run off a portable cd player cause they need a lot of power, but the dt-250-80 that I got from headroom runs louder than my sony earbuds at the same volume level on my RioVolt, go figure....anyway, these headphones are awesome...you can't go wrong!

Similar Products Used: Sony MDR-E888LP Earbuds....very tinny compared to these...
Bose Noise Canceling Headphones.....cancels much more noise, but don't sound as good as these....
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
zero gage   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 09, 2001]
Strength:

INDESTRUCTABLE, FLAT FREQUENCY RESPONSE, GOLD CONNECTIONS, MODULAR DESIGN, COOL AESTHETICS.

Weakness:

They can be difficlut to locate in a retail store, it only seems that about one in four music retailers have a relationship with Beyerdynamic.

Beyerdynamic DT250 :: is the worlds premier headphone, wheather you produce programs for CNN or spin underground dance music at steamy basement parties. Their modular design means that they can be the LAST pair of cans you will ever need to buy; everything from the input plug to the headband and velvet-like ear cups can be replaced. DT250s have a nearly perfect flat response from 20-20, are surprisingly light weight and low profile. Their closed cup, circum aural design is great for long projects that require isolation and comfort. Think of everything that you want headphones to be, then slip on a pair of DT250's and realize how little you really expected.

Similar Products Used: Sony(MDR series), Koss, Audio Technica
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andrew   Casual Listener [Jul 22, 2001]
Strength:

Sound Retention, and supression of external sound, wide frequency range operation, large volume range without distortion

Weakness:

If they have any weaknesses, they are their industrial apearance and they can make your ears warm. White noise from the source is not surpressed.

Of all the head phones that I tried the DT250s did what wanted best. Which was give a level of performance equal or better than the HD445 I already owned and retain the sound within them so as not annoy those who share my office. None of the other closed backs I tried came anywhere near the dt25os in this respect. Many are good at keeping a fair amount of noise out but keep it in as well as the DT250s. The bonus of all this is that as well as making my work mates happy, I think I have benefited too. The sound quality is just great, and like any good new purchase they are shedding new light on some of my old favorites. They have extra frequency range over my HD445 which is percievable and can handle a great deal of bass should you be that way inclined. The only real problems I can find with them is that they can get a little warm but they are very comfortable, the cable is a little heavy if it is hanging from your head. On my fathers stereo equipment the white noise was more previlent than it had been with either his or my senns, thankfully neither my personnel CD player or home setup suffer nearly as badly and the white noise is not a problem.
I have given only 4 stars partly because I want to believe there are still improvements that can be made, and that things can sound better still. Partly because I am not absolutely sure having been unable to try them back to back that the HD25SP weren't better sound wise, but I have to wonder why you would choose closed backs like the 25s. I am sure that an open back would probably match them for less money, I didn't think they surpressed external sounds that well. horses for courses I guess.

Similar Products Used: Senn HD445, also tried before purchasing HD200, 25 SP and Beyer 231s.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Rick   Casual Listener [Dec 16, 2000]
Strength:

comfort, good sound,

Weakness:

not that i could think of so far



I got these headphones for about a week now. I've been breaking it in for 2 days. The bass is tight and clean. The highs and lows are good, midrange a little laid back. Overall, it offers good sound for the price. I usually listen to techno trance and this headphone would be perfect for it. Thinking of getttin either the Sennheiser 580,600 for other types of music. Oh, I recommend getting an amp will make the Beyerdynamic 250 sound better. Compare to my etymotic 4p, the bey 250 sounded much better with an amp.

Similar Products Used: etymotic 4p
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com