Bang & Olufsen Form 2 On-Ear

Form 2

Form 2 is designed for complete freedom for listening to music at home, without compromising sound quality. Listen to your BeoSound 3 in stereo or catch the latest sports on your BeoVision 4 at any time and any volume, while the semi-open configuration lets you stay in touch with the world around you.

User Reviews (25)

Showing 1-10 of 25  
Kidd   Audio Enthusiast [May 21, 2011]

The best thing that I ever spent my money on. The sound is unable to define how good it is.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
harish.rx6   Casual Listener [Feb 15, 2011]

I have used these headphones for about two years now, and Imust say they are uncomparable with other headphones in this segment in terms of sound quality. I have never felt that the sound quality had changed, as good as new. However I must agree with some of the other reviewers in terms of the design, it simply could have been better. B&O main aim was to keep it as light as possible, even then, storage could be a problem while travelling, and so could the ear pads. All said and done, this is an amazing device which serves its main purpose as what is expected form a pair of B&O headphones. I would strongly recommend these headphones if the clarity of the song and comfort of the headphones play an important role in enjoying your music.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Richard1954   Casual Listener [Nov 17, 2010]

I have read many reviews on the B&O Form 2 headphones and think some of the reviews were written by people with little idea of quality or how to look after things like headphones. I purchase these Form 2 headphones in 1986 when the first came out to add to a set of even older Form 1 B&O headphones. I would have to say the latter have more bass but are much heavier and not as comfortable over a longer period of time. I have used the Form 2's most days since purchase, originally with a B&O Hi Fi / TV system and now with my computer and my various iPod's and can say without doubt they compare very well with similarly priced headphones. I have just sent a set of Bose Headphones back to QVC as they didn't compare with the Forn2's at all. The only negative I have with the Form 2's is that I have had to replace the foam ear pads four times in the time I've own the headphones due to the pads deteriorating, you get little black bits of foam in you ears!! I have just paid £15.00 for the fifth set of ear pads at my local Bang & Olufsen shop because the present pads are just starting to fall apart again, that's £5.00 more than I paid for the last set of pads and half the price I originally paid for the headphones. I believe these headphones are just under £100 now and I would be happy to pay that to replace my 24 year old set should they ever give up woking. I can't fault the value for money or sound quality of these B&O headphones. Well done Bang & Olufsen, but can you make the pads out of a foam that last a bit longer?

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
boywonder   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 03, 2010]

Defective junk, not worth the money. Got better sound out of my $20 Sony headphones, and headphones broke almost immediately when headphone adjustment extended fully. Warranty covered the first time this happened. Second time I was told tough luck. Avoid like the plague, or like Yoko Ono CDs.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Bojan Sala   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 12, 2009]

Using these for over two years now. They *look* nice as said on other reviews, but most writers of those reviews used the product for less than a day, I have a better story.

They have one major fault - the plastic. The plastic they are made of is specially designed to fail you during time, it will break once, twice, three times, as much times as needed for you to buy another product. That has caused me not to buy anything else from B&O considering astronomical prices of their IKEA-like products. What you can do is just glue the plastics, the frame will keep breaking every several months or so but you can keep gluing them. What happens after three years of glueing? They look like your nightly dumpster-diving loot, far, far, very far from elegant and sleek :).

So, I have glued these babes all over, there was no way on earth I'll give those guys another hundred bucks. Well, the plastics are bad, but what about the speakers? Yes, they're great, for about six months that is. After that you will get more and more hisses, clicks and other annoying side-effects of overuse (about 2 hours per day). Not much to do there, you can always dish out another hundred bucks or so, right? NO, just switch to another product, available on this web site too - these headphones may be good for MP3 players but they're far from the best in terms of quality.

Summary? Short-living IKEA speakers put in Chinese junk plastics, good until they break. I'll get myself Sennheiser phones.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
2
Black   AudioPhile [Oct 06, 2009]

These Bang & Olufson Form 2 headphones are great I love them I just got them today at the B&O store. The only grip I have about them are the bass but after a while you'll forget about the weak bass. But everything else so far is going good the Highs and the Mids are perfect.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
ny   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 20, 2009]

i acquired these headphones free without knowing anything about them, so i had no expectations/ preconceived notions/vested interest in them whatsoever.
i began to use them more and more because they were so comfortable and lightweight and simple to adjust, and i liked them when it was very hot and i didn't want my head to be enclosed in big giant headphones, and also so i could hear people calling to me, or to hear the telephone ringing at home, etcetera.
unlike other lightweight headphones, you can put these on with one hand, in one simple motion. they are durable and simple and clean in form. brilliant!
i also eventually began to realize that these headphones are very sensitive- for example, if i had been using another pair of headphones at volume "x", and then i plugged in the Form 2s without changing the volume, it would be MUCH LOUDER: they are noticably efficient when compared to other headphones.
another thing that amazed me was the low end these headphones are capable of reproducing- for open air headphones with small magnets, they are incredible! they reproduce 50hz well, and i could even detect 30hz on them, though i can't say they really "reproduced" it. but i could hear it, a little...!
i have a synthesizer that can produce very deep low end, and it seems as though the whole room is shaking when i use the Form 2s with it at low volumes....
you can check out some websites that have free audio analyzing samples to listen to, and give your Form 2s a test. you'll see what i mean.
as far as high frequency, well, all headphones seem to do ok there, and after 17000hz my ears aren't much good anyway.
so even though i got these headphones free, without even wanting them, i would say they are well worth the price, and i would actually pay full cost to replace them if i had to.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Kevin777   AudioPhile [Mar 02, 2008]
Strength:

Mid range, Price, high range, dynamics, crispness, weightless, adjustability, look good when you wear black or black shoes. Old recordings which have no low bass sound... totally different, I assure you if you have never heard hifi these headphones will show you new instruments, guitar chord changes and coughs in the backround youve never heard before even if 40 years ago. If only for that, Beatles fans HAVE to buy these.

Weakness:

Low bass (not really a weakness but you expect miracles from B&O), Unfelxibility to store and carry, aluminum adjust loses stifness with time. Sound wise they are the best, only design could improve. Dont ware yellow with these.

Very good price-sound. What is the burn in period for these headphones? Mid Range and High frecuencies are crisp and detailed, mid bass is tight, Frec. range is 40 hz to 20 khz (B&O site) which speaks for the muddle low bass but that is reasonable for the diameter. On Prologic I & II the bass can distort at high volumes but if you listen with defeated tones on crisp amps (like the rotel im using as opposed to a denon which made the highs not so clear) or just digital stereo decoding, its trully HiFi in a nutshell. Dynamics are great, highs are so well staged they seem to go beyond the 20 khz. These are the best mid range and high frec. headphones ive heard, except the A8 have better highs f. but i guess the diameter allows it. Im quite sure these havent burned in completely since I bought them a week ago although i did give them the 2 hr burnin multi frec. track. so they should sound better in time.

The carbon head band is weightless so thats nice, the aluminum adjust is nifty and sturdy although avoid moving it too often as they lose stifness with too much adjusting. the cord is quite short and the jack doesnt look all that sturdy. The only real problem is carrying them around. They are too unflexible. but, the truth is You wont find better headphones at this size and price.

Low bass isnt there as with all phones, mid bass is tight and the rest is plain blissfull. The A8 have better highs and dynamics but cost twice the price and dont have the mid range these have. If you are looking for the best mid range on head phones and highs only exceeded byt he A8 GO OUT AND BUY THIS NOW. I can tell you only with my BW 602 S3´s do i hear some instruments i get to hear with these phones. I recommend these for the sound and price.

Although I would recommend B&O to supply a carrying case, even if brief and modest, I assure you better sales.

K

Similar Products Used: Marantz, BW, Denon , Rotel, Infinity, Yamaha.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Nick Lee   AudioPhile [Aug 06, 2007]
Strength:

Excellent frequency response
Design - These look amazing!
Good Bass
Gold Plated Connector
Included 1/4" to 1/8" adapter
Price (Only 100 Bucks!)

Weakness:

Long cord

These are the best headphones I have ever used! The frequency response is amazing. The only complaint I have is the long cord, but it's not a reason not to buy these. They sound WAY better than the over-hyped Bose QuietComfort headphones, which feed white noise into your ears and make listening to music painful. Very, very good product.

Similar Products Used: Bose QuietComfort 2 and 3
Bang & Olufsen A8 (also excellent)
Sony Pro MDR-7506
Bose TriPort
Various Ultimate Ears products
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Lotus   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 16, 2007]
Strength:

Clear sound. Great Price

Weakness:

Rather tight fit could hamper prolonged continuous use.

The clarity, sharpness and the ability to hear all the music is fascinating. The only major issue for me was that B&O did not provide a carrying case. (Anyway that was an easy problem to fix as I was able to use one of my CD wallets after removing the inside sleeves.) I have used several earphones from many manufacturers but none are anywhere as good.

Similar Products Used: Bose, Sennheiser
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 25  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com