Shure E2c In-Ear

E2c

The Shure E2C in-ear headphones are tiny, lightweight, and built to provide superior audio performance with excellent isolation from ambient noise. Featuring studio-grade components and flexible inner ear sleeves, the Shure E2C headphones have an incredibly comfortable fit that will accommodate any ear thanks to 3 pairs of included flex sleeves (small, medium, large). For powerful sound in a miniature sized package, Shure provides professional level build that’s sure to deliver for all your most demanding audio applications. The E2c features a high energy driver in a distinctive comet-shaped enclosure that creates fuller, richer sound than any earbud is capable of producing. The insightful mechanical design of the E2c is a result of Shure''s years of experience with working musicians, resulting in an affordable in-ear earphone that provides excellent isolation from background noise.

User Reviews (25)

Showing 1-10 of 25  
roderick thompson   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 24, 2008]
Strength:

Good high and mid sound.

Weakness:

Ok Bass
Having to replace

Ok so this is my third pair. I only keep getting them because Sure will replace them for 50.00. Now why did I have to replace them. Well about two inchs from the bud the plastic keeps braking. I don't know if it's because it gets cold here in Wisconsin. Anyway, I like them overall. If you record or listen in lossless you will enjoy them more. Again 50.00 to replace is a pretty good deal. Well beside in reality I have paid 200.00 for three pair.

Customer Service

great

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Greg   AudioPhile [Jul 27, 2007]
Strength:

sound isolation, portable

Weakness:

the expected problem of earbuds having very "tinny" and thin sound.

I'm going to go against the rest of the reviews here. These are better than some earbuds out there, but don't expect big sound. They will do just fine for you if you need sound isolation or something for iPod (or some portable device) listening. For me, they were never incredibly comfortable and I ended up selling them within a couple of months. I originally purchased them to help in the sound mastering process, as you need many different types of speakers when doing this.

Bass is almost non-existent unless you "fluff" it with EQs and all of that - which colors the sound and is somewhat pointless. Yes, I did have a good fit and a tight seal, as they did cancel out most outside noises, but the bass is still not there. As far as clarity goes...they are moderate. The drivers sound plastic and lack musical ability.

If you are looking for inexpensive headphones for casual listening and don't need sound isolation, go with Grado. The SR-60s are cheaper than these and provide excellent sound for the price. If you are looking for sound isolation in a small package, these may be for you, but the sound will be just mediocre.

For $100, the sound should be better. $100 in home audio is very little, but in headphones, when considering Senheiser and Grado have many under $100 headphones that will outperform these, they should have big performance. To replace other earbuds, such as those that came with an iPod, these may be a good choice, but look at cheaper ones first. If you are in a noisy environment, these will provide you with good sound isolation (not noise canceling), and will allow you to hear your music. Overall, I guess I'm trying to say that these will provide you with good sound isolation and a way to hear your music on-the-go.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Evan Sawyer   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 29, 2007]
Strength:

Cool looks
Good Quality
Loud
Pretty good sound clarity

Weakness:

Distortion in lower end
anoying ear fitting process
look fragile (don't know if they are though)

I am am a drummer in a band and needed good headphones/ earphones for studio work and concerts. I have found that the E2c's are very good for concerts because they block out alot of noise and you can't really see that I'm wearing them. Low end bass is very good, but it is a little boomy. Sometimes it also seems as if there is a little distortion. The reason I didn't get E5c's is because for what i am using them for I dont need very good quality. I dont use these in the studio however. I use my Sony MDR 600's. Overall, I am very impressed with these headphones, but they are better for casual listening and not for professional use.

Similar Products Used: MDR-600
Grado
E5c
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Colin   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 18, 2007]
Strength:

-Rich, Clean Bass

-Treble brings the music to life

-The headphones actually isolate the outside world

-They come with a handy carrying case to protect the headphones

-They come with three different typed of earbud attachments in three sizes Small, Medium and Large for best sound quality and best isolation

-Very durable, the cord is very thick and secure

-Gold plated connector for best sound transfer

Weakness:

-Price

-Hard to tell right from left ear pieces

I recently picked up a new Microsoft Zune, it is amazing. This was my first portable media player and I love it! The stock headphones that came with it were terrible! They hurt my ears and actually made my ears bleed from trying to fit them in my ears. So a few weeks ago I got a coupon in the mail, a $20 coupon to BestBuy. So I went to BestBuy to see what they had. I talked to the guy about my problem and how it could be solved. He took me the the Shure E2c's. At first I wasn't convinced at the price. Then the guy went to his car and let me listen to them through his iPod Video. I was very impressed! So then I picked them up. I listen to many different kinds of music so I listened to every genre I had in my Zune. The bass was very rich when I listened to Rap and Treble also brought out sounds I have never heard before in my music. I also watch a part of Saving Private Ryan on my Zune. I was at the end about 30 seconds before the planes came in for an attack I could hear the low rumble! I was amazed!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ben   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 12, 2007]
Strength:

Bass response
they look cool
they fit really well
they stay in your ear when you go jogging
you can crank the volume and they wont distort
people will think you're somebody because you own a $100
set of earphones

Weakness:

The highs are very flat sounding (not much treble)
$100 is a lot of cash to be spending on something that isn't worth but maybe half
that.
Shure wish there were more highs
Shure wish they didn't cost so much
Shure wish I didn't buy them on Ebay, then I could return them
Shure wish the "breaking in period" for the headphones is for real
Shure wish I bought that other brand

The Shure E2c overall is a good earphone. Definately better than what comes standard with most Mp3 players. I'd give the E2c's a 7.5 out of 10. I hear a lot of people in these reviews talking about how these headphones need a "breaking in" period. I hope mine break in real soon because they sound very flat. I've listened to them using an iPod Nano, and using my home stereo receiver and CD player (both Denon). I tried all the different equalizer settings on the nano and it helps somewhat but I still can't get the higher frequencies (treble) to be crisp and clear. Only when I crank the volume literally to the maximum do I get those highs to come out. The bass response of these headphones is really good (I think). Most reviews I've read on this product have stated the bass to be more in the moderate category. I'd have to disagree with that I think the bass reproduction from these headphones is great. I'm no audiophile by any means, but I do have a trained ear for what sounds good. I love all types of music, country, rap, hardcore metal, pop, jazz, etc. These headphones sound pretty good for most types of music. Be warned, those of you who like the higher end frequencies wont be happy with this product. The bass production is great the highs aren't. I need the best of both worlds. I just wish some company out there could make the perfect in the ear style headphone. Philips makes a really good earbud style earphone. I honestly think the Philips model SHE9500 is a better sounding earbud style headphone than the E2c. The SHE9500 sells for $29.95 at Best Buy. But because I believe you get what you pay for I went big...Oh well

Similar Products Used: Sony MDR-EX51LP
Philips HE591 Surround Sound Earbuds
Philips SHE9500
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
anmcg   Casual Listener [Dec 18, 2006]
Strength:

For the price, they're the best.

I purchased these headphones at a discounted price, and couldn't be happier with them. I do agree with other reviewers though, the highs aren't that great with these. I have spoken to many people who said the bass wasn't that great, but I think they didn't have the right earpeices in. Once i found the right fit, it was wonderful. They are a bit difficult to keep in your ears though, so if you have trouble with that you might want to consider using the foam earpieces they provide.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Alex   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 26, 2006]
Strength:

Precise bass, great sound on a whole. Cool way to get the cords out of your way, or conceal them under your shirt.

Weakness:

Can be a little uncomfortable, even for an in-ear vet.

These are just great. They sound very well rounded, with precise bass, and smooth highs that never get tinny. Other in ear phones I'd used sounded to bassy, and boomy. These deliver really precise bass, while accurately projecting the mids. I listen to alot of music, and am constantly taking these in and out of my ears to talk to people, etc. That can get a little uncomfortable if you don't have the right sleeve on that fits you. And these are very easy to insert. Some people have complained about the bass being non existant. I can assure it is because they have not properly inserted the phones. The cable is nice and thick, too. No need to worry about that getting damaged.

Customer Service

Great.

Similar Products Used: Koss earphones (forgot the model)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rome   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 03, 2006]
Strength:

Excellent sound. I like the assortment of plugs in various sizes. I personally like the orange foam ones.

Weakness:

Price. Could these really be worth $99? They sound great, but I don't know about $99 great. The rubber plugs tear easily.

The Shure E2C's are my first pair of truly excellent earbud type headphones. They have clear highs, deep bass, and seal out the rest of the world very well.

Customer Service

Don't know. Haven't broken mine yet!

Similar Products Used: Techniques DJ headphones ($115 back in 1999)
Techniques circumaural headphones ($49 back in 2004)
Sandisk OEM earbuds that came with E200 series MP3 player
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
1
lostviper   AudioPhile [Oct 24, 2006]
Strength:

sound isolation
decent sound quality
great portability

Weakness:

fitting - it takes some getting used to
would like a bit more accuracy for the price

These earphones take some getting used to. It took me a while to figure out how to get a good fit and seal. Once you do, they are very good at blocking out outside noise. I haven't used them for long and I have heard they need break-in time. Currently they have decent sound quality. The soundstage is larger than i expected, but they are mostly the "in the head" feeling of music.

To begin with they had a very tinny sound. This was soon fixed by finding the right size sleeve. The bass is tight, and pretty deep - I would say the bass would be basically on-par with the Grado SR-60. They do not blow you away with bass, but that is to be expected with earphones. The midrange is nice and detailed. The highs seem decent, but I wouldn't call them extremely accurate. They definitely do not have the open-ness or airy quality of the Grado's, but they are totally different headphones.

For casual use and/or portability, these are pretty good earbuds. They are not the most accurate, but when combining they're sound isolating and decent sound quality, they are nice. If you are looking for a replacement to your stock mp3 player headphones, these will be better. For most users, these will probably replace the iPod's earbuds, and they are MUCH better. I compose music and do sound mastering -- I wouldn't say that I would trust in these earbuds for that sort of work, but for casual listening (iPod use) they are pretty good. If you want reference headphones, go with Grado. - Sennheiser if you want closed ear headphones, Grado if you want the real sound and don't mind the open air design.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
kluizenaar   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 03, 2006]
Strength:

-perfect fitting
-in-ear, so good looks
-seals off, maximal music enjoyment
-reasonable price for earphones, great price for the quality
-2 year warranty, including CABLE

Weakness:

-what do you say??? (sealed off)
-€99,- remaines a lot of money for earpnones...

I' ve got e2g's, the black version.....
This is entry level hi-fi, you can hear where your mp3 music is compressed...
Your mp3 quality shoulb be at least at 256kb/s....

comes with 9 sets of fittings, putting them in requires a bit of practice...

Then it's time to enjoy

Customer Service

the product quality is that good, there are hardly any complaints, so they are willing to protect that status.... very good

Similar Products Used: sony mdr-v71
sennheiser ex-300
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 25  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com