Sennheiser MX 500 Earbud Headphones

MX 500 Earbud

Full-bodied stereo sound with powerful bass response. Ultra-lightweight design for comfortable musical enjoyment & cool metallic look. It has superior sound reproduction & volume control built into the cable.
With convenient carrying box that fits easily into your pocket.

User Reviews (23)

Showing 1-10 of 23  
cdawson2000   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 23, 2008]

These earbuds sound great. Definately check them out.

On another note, Budcase is a neat little product I found on the web that is a keychain earbud holder. Great for keeping up with your earbuds! Especially if you are a iPhone user. Google budcase.com

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
seth_ke   Casual Listener [Feb 16, 2008]
Strength:

Cheap for real Hi-Fi performance
Really good Definition and sound stage

Weakness:

Looks Cheap too
Very long Brake-in time
Must have sponge
Old fashion

I just want to say, This earphone must use sponge
When I just bought it I really disappoint in sound quality and it alwayse slip out of my ear
but put on the sponge come with earphone, it become a different earbud
It beat My 100$ Grado GR80 in defination, sound stage and bass speed
and have very flat response curve and pleasant sound, 5 STAR

Similar Products Used: Grado SR80
Grado SR325
several bundle earbud
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Arigo   AudioPhile [Jan 29, 2008]
Strength:

They look pretty nice. I'm really pulling here to mention any strengths. THey're, umm, cheap?

Weakness:

They sound like dollar store headphones. Anyone that thinks these sound good really needs their hearing checked. It's not just a total lack of bass; They are muffled as well. I have a pair of Senheiser headphones that actually outperform my grado labs prestige series, but these Senheiser earbuds are absolutely, positively terrible. I'll probably throw them away.

Look good, sound awful. Don't waste your money on this crap unless your hearing sucks.

Similar Products Used: I got a cheaper pair of JVC earbuds at the same time as these, and they sound MUCH better.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
40yrAudiophile   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 01, 2007]
Strength:

Price vs performance. In-line volume control. Durability.

Weakness:

Sennheisser deostn't tell you that they'll deliver stunning sound ,and I don't mean LOUD, positioned standing in your ear, diaphragms facing forward. See above

These earbuds will, as they did me, thoroughly surprise you.There's no way I'd have believed a pair of $15 phone could deliver the kind of 1st-class sound these do. My audiophilia goes back to many years. I've been "annointed" (didn't ask for it) a "golden ear" reputation. I am pretty picky about my audio and have since my first pair of electrostaic ones, Koss ESP-9's have been partial to 'phones. I've been through other Koss models, top of the line Sennheisers, Beyer Dynamics and AKG's. I use Grado's as my reference now. And since, all my speakers have been some one or another Magnepan product or Yamaha NS-1000's or 2000's driven by class A amps. I still can't stand that mp3 sound b/c it's even more vacuous than low-bit rate CD's. I needed something to listen to on travel, so on the Sennheiser rep alone I picked up the MX-500's. WOW! I'm sure that anything positive I write about their sound here is redundant as others surely have already praised them.
I only want to add these two tips. They have break-in period after which their sound turns smoother, more liquid,inviting, never demanding. Second, to get their best sound stand up them in you ear with the driver's facing the front, wires wrapped back around and behind your ears. They're fine, but nothing particularly impressive, traditionally placed on the ear, wires hanging down but try them standing. Yes, I know they're hard to keep in the upright position but here's my solution. Pick up an extra set of the foam earpads, add one to the one on each earbud. Then they should make a decent seal. (Radio Shack sells 'em)

Listen, I've auditioned lots of others and find these little $15 one of the best bargains around. Just remember to position them as I've recommended. Yes, they do blow away evry Bang & Olufsen I've heard.

Customer Service

Fine by me.

Similar Products Used: None really, but reference models made to mmentioned above.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
tony whittle   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 23, 2007]
Strength:

mid range ok

Weakness:

very little base

I bought these headphones based on these reviews. They compare with any low end product. They have very little base. Anyone who has an ear will not be satisfied with these headphones.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
1
rattlehead   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 27, 2007]
Strength:

Clarity, the brand name.

Weakness:

No bass at all. Low volume.

After reading reviews about this product in audio review and other similar sites, I decided that I am going to replace my stock ipod headphones with this pair of earbuds. After listening to various types of music, I began wondering why people were writing about powerful bass response. Just from one listening we can tell that this earbud has no bass at all. Absolutely no bass. Clarity is very good, I can tell that. My word to all those who read this review is that if you are a person who likes some bass also in their music, just forget the idea of buying the MX500. Its no good. If it is just clear sound you want to hea, this could be the one for you. If you want bass for this kind of money, I think you can try the Sony MDR E829V.

Customer Service

Not used yet

Similar Products Used: Sony MDR E829V.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
ernieball   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 04, 2007]
Strength:

Bass, Sound Definition.

Weakness:

None yet.

I think that the other reviewers' disappointments might have to do with the fact that the iPod itself has a very mediocre sound, lack of bass, lack of sound definition "great marketing though...". When plugging the mx500 into a decent quality unit the sound is astonishing. And I am comparing this to my BeyerDynamics studio headphones.

Just My 2 cents...

Similar Products Used: Panasonic, Mio, Sony.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
NielsVM   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 07, 2006]
Strength:

non-fatigueing sound, good price, well built

Weakness:

too much mid-bass and not enough treble.

For the price these are pretty good. That's about it, just pretty good. I find that the mid-bass is very bloated, and there is a lot of hi end missing. It's good for pop music and non-fatiguing, and pleasing enough. They actually sound quite a bit like the stock iPod headphones (less treble but more accurate in the range they reproduce), but don't fit me as well. I also have the mx-500 perfer the 500's. For anyone who's whining about bass, you need headphones, not ear buds!

Similar Products Used: stock iPod earbuds, MX-500 earbuds
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Niels   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 07, 2006]
Strength:

non-fatigueing sound, good price, well built

Weakness:

too much mid-bass and not enough treble.

For the price these are pretty good. That's about it, just pretty good. I find that the mid-bass is very bloated, and there is a lot of hi end missing. It's good for pop music and non-fatiguing, and pleasing enough. They actually sound quite a bit like the stock iPod headphones (less treble but more accurate in the range they reproduce), but don't fit me as well. I also have the mx-500 perfer the 500's. For anyone who's whining about bass, you need headphones, not ear buds!

Similar Products Used: stock iPod earbuds, MX-500 earbuds
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
PHiX   Casual Listener [Jun 05, 2006]
Strength:

Clear sound.

Good build quality.

Light weight (lighter than Apple's)

No foam cushion earbud covers, those are disgusting anyway and easy to lose.

Weakness:

A lack of bass

I had to replace my below par iPod earphones, but did not want to spend a fortune on in-ear phones. The sound quality is a lot better than the original Apple earphones, but not excellent. However, at this price level you cannot expect excellent sound.

The bass is definitely not very present, but if you are looking for bass I don't know why someone would consider earphones and not headphones to begin with anyway. Although I must admit that the Sony earbuds that came with my minidisc player long ago did have much more bass

Similar Products Used: Various Sony earbuds / headphones.
Various Philips earbuds / headphones.
Sennheiser HD4XX (??)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 23  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com