Sennheiser HD455 Headphones

HD455

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
michaeljsteeves   AudioPhile [Apr 17, 2006]
Strength:

Clairity. Fast response time and wide dynamic range. They're crystal clear from the bottom to the top and can go comfortably loud before hearing a trace of distortion.

Replaceable parts! So far I've replaced the cord and the earpads twice and the headband once. I would have had to replace these years ago if it wasn't for the replaceable parts.

. . . and I still don't plan on replacing them anytime soon.

Weakness:

They lack the powerful punch in really low bass that other makes have. This may not be much of a weakness considering the low bass IS audible and clear, and the fact that most other heaphones makers put Too Much of a bass boost to their product.

Also, my HD-455's are over nine years old, they can sometimes bottom out at loud volumes. This could be due to the fact the actual components are getting old, or I've been going deaf and have had to turn it up a little too much!

Sennheiser doesn't make them like this anymore. The new model range isn't quite as good.

Please check out the first two reviews written for this product - both written by be in Sept 1997 and May 1999. Here is is May 2006 and I am still using these headphone! They're nearly a DECADE OLD now and still serve me well! I used them on my home system as I feel they're a little to flimsy to be abused as portables and a little too bulky to carry around. I've just laid to rest a reasonable pair of Sony's (MDR-V300's) as portables, and replaced them with superior sounding HD 457's.

In comparing my new 457's with the 455's I honesly didn't think the new model would surpass my faithful old 455's. I was right.

Except for low bass response, the 455's slightly edged out the newer 457's across the frequency spectrum.

Customer Service

I've never had to deal with Sennheiser directly, but the two stores (authorized dearlers) I've had to deal with when it comes to servicing the 455's have always been fantastic.

Please be avised the price listed was $100 Canadian 9 years ago

Similar Products Used: Sennheiser HD 457 (Very similar performance for MUCH less, but a little too much bass boost)

Sony MDR-V300 (Fantastic performance for the money, just barely eclipsed by the newer similar priced Sennheisers)

Sony MDR-P10 (Total Crap in every way, and not worth a single penny)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Raffy Yllana   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 31, 2000]
Strength:

light and comfortable

Weakness:

Price
harmonic distortions on high volume

I just purchsed a HD-455 yesterday after comparing it to a HD-495 silver. Despite favorable reviews I read in this thread, I found that these cans exhibit audible harmonic distortions on all frequency ranges when driven at reference levels from both CD player or Yamaha RVX 995 receiver.

I was expecting this product to have great detail and clarity even at high volumes, much to my disappointment they dont perform to par. I am wondering if these problems will be resolved by buying a MF X-Cans tube amp to increase the power output and lower distortion. So I'll be bringing the unit for a audition with the X-can.

Maybe buying the higher end HD-580 would have been worth the buy even with the extra buck you have to pay for.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
pingo pongo   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 12, 2000]
Strength:

the hd 455s are very clear. they produce really accurate sound. although the tones don't go 'that' low (super sub sonics) they are capable of some deep bass. I am a techno listener and those DEEP synth sounds... WHOOO! just makes my brain sorta like zooooom... also I like the fact that they are 'open'. so when I'm standing in a elevator those dudes can enjoy the music eminating from my 455s and know why I'm dancing to it. they are pretty comfortable. and quite nice looking too. it looks better in real life than in a internet picture. also, the sound is transparent and I can listen to it for quite a while without my ears getting too tired.

Weakness:

hmmm... 565s are definitely better in sound I guess cos they can reach lower tones... 14khz... or so... but of course, you can't plug a 565 into a discman and go out walking and enjoying the scenery cos the cd player will probably not be able to come out with so much power. I guess also with a pair of phones so good, you need a really good cd player too... plugging this thing into my aiwa hifi just ain't soundin as right as it ought to sound.

they kick ass. oh yeah, and because of the open aire kind of design, I can hear the outside sounds as well, which is good, cos I can talk to people and listen to music at the same time... and of course, I just love the way the sound melts into the atmosphere surrounding me... feels like the music is 'spreading' into my percepted world. also if you get this head phones, please don't turn the mega bass on! cos mega bass is ... unacceptable... hahaha just listen to what the artiste orginally intended the listener to hear. trust me it's better this way. thrust me. uhh... yeahh :)

Similar Products Used: I've listened to a lot of things... hmmm it definitely beats those non-professional consumer products.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bob Klass   Audiophile [Nov 27, 2000]
Strength:

Well made, comfortable, low fatigue, great with portables

Weakness:

Fake bass boost in mid bass (warm but a bit bassy)

I scored these at a going out of business sale where the clerk had no clue if they were junk or what. I knew they were a value, but when I got em home I was pretty disappointed. They are easily the #3 phone in my line up (the 420's are the flatest but way too inefficient for many uses and do not isolate, and the MDR-V6's are very nice). These guys have lots of coloration in the bass. I have found, though, that this is nice for weak little portable auido devices. For this they are ideal (adding a little emphasis).

I could not recommend these to anyone. Keep looking.

Similar Products Used: Sony MDR-V6, Sennheiser HD-420, Koss Pro4AA, etc.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Yves   Audiophile [Jan 23, 2001]
Strength:

Comfort and sound quality

Weakness:

Cable connection at the headphone end is via a 3.5mm connector which sometimes makes a poor connection to one channel.

Bought to replace the cheap earbud headphones supplied with my portable Minidisk player.

Serves its purpose well. Very comfortable and excellent sound quality compared with the stock earbud headphones.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Drew   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 28, 2001]
Strength:

Devastating clarity

Weakness:

Seems to lack low end punch with my CD player's and preamp's headphone outs.

I initially bought these headphones because I wanted a nice pair to listen to a portable CD player when I was going to college. Then I started using them with my home audio system, specifically with a Carver C3 preamp or a Harman Kardon CD player. I was kind of disappointed because the low end seemed a little anemic. Then I tried the phones through a headphone amplifier that I built about 10 months ago (http://headwize.com/projects/szeke1_prj.htm). Zing! That was the ticket. Not only did the headphones retain the exteme clarity and fast performance that I was used to, but the low-end bass really came into its own. Coupled with a reasonably good MOSFET headphone amp, the HD455's sound great. I can't say if the low-end problem is with the headphone or with the built in headphone amplifiers in my components, but everything sure sounds nice now!

Similar Products Used: Many other headphones
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Muris from Sutton Graphics   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 13, 2001]
Strength:

Powerful, efficient, bargain, versatile, german engineering, excellent build, durable, modular, reliability, look awesome

Weakness:

need more bass, but maybe they need a dedicated amp.

They play any music beautifully and as loud as you want them to play with no distortion. Just great. You are going to be fine feeding them with anything because they are very efficient and undemanding. Just buy them and revel with them forever.

Similar Products Used: Sony MDR-V 60
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Pierre Dionne   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 07, 1999]
Strength:

Clarity! Almost clinical, they transmit every detail of your source. i am listening to them as i write this an i am still liking them. They are comfortable, they barly feel them.
They are rebuildable and very well made, in Ireland...

Weakness:

To accurate?

Overall they are exellent!
I am listening to a Panasonic SL-SW850,
another very good unit, an this is great! I would review the ShockWave if i could :(
They are expensive thogh...

Similar Products Used: Koss Porta pro. Panasonic that came w/my CD.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Mike S   an Audiophile [May 14, 1999]

I had the displeasure tonight to have to use a pair of Sony MDR-P10 headphones to listen to my music (Check that reveiw out - what horrible things!).I was all set for a nice night of Sheryl Crow, Sarah McLachlan and Portishead on my Senn's while doing my online business - I put my 455's on, turned the stereo on, rolled over to the computer and waited . . . and waited . . . and NOTHING! The cat had chewed through the cord!! AAARG!! I was quite pissed, cuz the cord itself is just a hair under $40 Canadian to replace. At least it's replacable, but I could buy a nice-ish pair of new Koss headphones with that money. Not that I would. Right NOW I'm using my brothers Sony MDR-P10's - they sound horrible, masked mids, muddy mid-bass, unspectacular highs... But I won't go on about those.
I've had my HD-455's for about two and a half years - now that, coupled with the fact that I just realized (when comparing with the Sony's) how clean, refined, dependable and COMFORTABLE the Sennheiser's are is pretty damn impressive!! I've NEVER had a pair of 'phones for so long and been so obliviously happy with them. I replaced the cushions a few months ago, for $15 - and they felt just like new again! Now I'm going to have to replace the cord, but that's ok. I'll own these for a while longer and they're upkeep cost is more than worth it. It's better than having to replace the whole set if something breaks - this modular construction is ingenius!!
I'll have to upgrade my rating to five stars after tonight. I never realized just how good these headphones are.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
texas red   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 27, 2000]
Strength:

smooth

Weakness:

too smooth, too timid, no bottom end punch

the cans are pretty good but a bit pricey for what they do
(and don't do - see weaknesses).
they certainly are clear but at the same time can't decipher
any real detail.
more suited to tamer non-boogie, non-banging, non-thumping kinda music.
well suited for "british" ears.
grados, koss porta-pros are MUCH, MUCH better

Similar Products Used: alot
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com