Sennheiser HD 545 Headphones

HD 545

User Reviews (27)

Showing 1-10 of 27  
endullah   AudioPhile [Oct 21, 2009]

I love HD 545, best model of all my headphones. Great quality sound, comfortable, dont hurt ears. 5 stars.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
LAcrima   AudioPhile [May 07, 2003]
Strength:

Very Comfortable, nice design

Weakness:

Very delicate, including connecting line

Theese Headphones are really great, I am quite happy with them... of cource it can always be better, but I don't complain... Since I listen to ambient and easy listening music, the quality has to be at least very good :)... If I choosed a company of headphones it would be Sennheiser... Hmmm It's really interesting to try HD600...

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Wraith   AudioPhile [Jun 21, 2002]
Strength:

Full range of sound; smoother transitions; uninterrupted by noise from moment to moment. Allows you to experience the music as if you are in the studio with the artist. No hard rock? Bah! Listen to any music type. You can use anything to listen to tapes, but for the 545's, digital, 128-bit or better at least, or excellent-quality analog is the way to go.

Weakness:

well, if you're concerned about others listening, keep them down. If you need enough volume to bother others, then you have hearing problems already. I wear them at work...

I can hardly believe my eyes! Anybody that's had complaints about the 545's must've gotten dud pairs, or bought them used. I've comfortably gotten mine over 105 db, and the bass level was still fine, even crisp with the high's and mid's flowing into it. And does it flow. Smooth, uber-low noise. I'm both a hardcore gamer, and a musician/music enthusiast, and these have not only served me well, they are the best I've ever had. And even though they are open-air, when I took them to the CPL, I had no trouble hearing T or CT footsteps... Oh, and yes, I only spent $15 on them, but would gladly have paid $200 or more for P*U*R*E sound, not badly-manipulated and irregular 12-in. subwoofer sounds on either side of my head (which cost a bit more). I'd like to keep my brain, thanks. All you out there that gave low reviews either don't have a clue, got crappy sets, or are nameless fgtbears. ggkthxcul8r...

Similar Products Used: sony mdr-cd2000, mdr-z series (don't remember what), various others
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
dave1616   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 20, 2002]
Strength:

Accurate sound & imaging. Very light & comfortable.

Weakness:

The cords short out at the earpieces after a couple years.

Excellent open-air headphones. Don''t buy these if you intend to seal out your music from others in the room. These were designed for optimum sound for the listener, not to keep the sound from escaping. Great frequency response. So comfortable that you can easily relax & fall asleep with them on (I have). If all you listen to is head-banging, bonecrushing metal these are not for you. These are made for listening to & appreciating pure, well-recorded music.

Similar Products Used: Old Koss cans from the 70s. You know, those big green heavy ones that everyone had.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Someone   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 27, 2000]
Strength:

Smooth spacious non-fatiguing sound, comfort, price.

Weakness:

Build quality

These are some superb headphones for the price. The sound is extremely smooth, with amazing treble clarity. Bass is tight and very musical. Mids are smooth and realistic. The HD545's present a very wide soundstage, seemingly coming from outside your head. Comfort is tops too, and the smooth natural sound ensures no listening fatigue after many hours of listening. The flimsy plastic construction doesn't inspire confidence though. I'm afraid to pick them up with one hand. Oh well, I guess I can't fault them at this price. They're a massive step up from the warm bloated bass, lacking lower mids but exaggerated upper midrange, and sometimes harsh rolled off treble of my TD-80's.

Similar Products Used: Koss TD-80, others not worth mentioning.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
No Name   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 05, 2000]
Strength:

Good sound

Weakness:

Sound escapes - other people telling me to turn it down

I bought these 2 years ago 'reconditioned' and I wish I hadn't (a big waste of $99 - I feel sorry for anyone who paid full price). The sound is great to the person wearing the phones, which makes the user want to crank up the volume and enjoy the full potential of the listening experience. However, so much sound escapes from these that they are only suitable for wearing when noone else is around - and in which case, what is the use of headphones??

I use these at work (cubicles) and can only have my mp3 player at a very low volume before I start getting compaints.

I've no idea why Sennheiser designed a product this way (if you know, please email me). Essentially, these make great mini-speakers for a walkman, but as 'personal' headphones, they really suck!

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Toby Douglass   Audiophile [Jan 22, 2001]
Strength:

High quality audio, incredibly comfortable

Weakness:

After two years, cable->headphone contact begins to fail

I bought these headphones to go with a Marantz CD-63se, as a way to obtain reasonble audio quality on a budget.

I've had the headphones for four years now. The price is high because they were purchased in Switzerland, an expensive country.

Sound quality is very good. In particular, the full range of noise, from the very low to the very high, is there. Sounds are nice, tight and balanced.

After two or three years, though, the prongs of the cables begin to show a poor connection to the headphone. Apparently there is a spring loaded contact mechanism inside and the spring begins to age.

Consider this if you're buying second hand.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Raphael   an Audio Enthusiast [Nov 23, 1998]

These are EXCELLENT headphones! Very comfortable with excellent detail and definition. Slightly weak in the bass. I thought they sounded better than the top of the line Sennheisers at half the price. Maybe the pair I was auditioning were defective. A good match for my Rotel stack.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Will   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 08, 2001]
Strength:

Clear, spacious sound. Very comfortable.

Weakness:

None I can think of, given open design.

I love these headphones, for used prices, the sound cannot be beat. Clear, deep bass, crisp highs, and a smooth, clear midrange. Very comfortable - the only headphone I've ever used that is more comfortable to wear is a pair of Sennheiser HD 414s, but this pair sounds MUCH better. Like any pair of open air headphones, they do let quite a bit of sound "leak out", not the best choice for listening to loud music without disturbing others.

Similar Products Used: Grado SR-60, Sony MDR-V6, Sennheiser HD 414.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jared   Audiophile [Oct 06, 2001]
Strength:

best sounding ever herd, so compfortable i forget i am wearing them, perfect highs, mids, and lows.

Weakness:

cord fails after couple years

i am 15 years old and these are great headphone's 5 stars

-great quality
-compfertable
-sound is open to air. they "breath"
-dont hurt my ears
-dont fade out dont wearout.

these do make a wobly noise when u pump alot of bass thru them but bass isnt evrything. and if u want that much bass u can put somthing in the back of it to plug it and stop the wobbley nois. but what is the point if u want bass get a few subwoffers put in and a big stereo in your room. i would rather go for good quality sounds. the guy that posted the thing about those soneys being better is freekin stupid.the 12/5/98 guy. he should take them and shove them up his but. i am sure he would love the bass than fagot.

Similar Products Used: cant remember. some sony's.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 27  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com