Sennheiser HD 25 Headphones

HD 25

Headphones

User Reviews (17)

Showing 1-10 of 17  
eladberko   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 01, 2006]
Strength:

- Excellent sound isolation while keeping comfort in mind.
- Natural & well-balanced sound.
- Cool light design (the cans arch split for 2 parts)

Weakness:

- Pricy
- Short cord (only 4.92 feet / 1.5 meter)

Heaven!
The best sealed cans I've heard yet. For me, good isolation was needed. My rig is one of the loudest out there, I'm obsessed overclocker.

Great thing about HD-25 is probable the isolation abilities.
The sound isolation is excellent; it's not totally 100% bulletproof, But while playing it’s a blast. Very comfortable wearing; note in mind, those cans comfort only compared for sealed cans. There is some pressure on the ears while using (they fastened on the ears), and long playing period may strain the ears. In my experience, having a break every 2 hour's preventing it.

Build for last, as expecting from Sennheiser. The cans weight is ridiculously light, but make no mistakes – they rough like no others. Replacement parts available for all worn out parts. Not a cheap toy.

The Sound is balanced and precise. If details are what you looking for, that’s the cans for you. Don’t bother playing crappy mp3's on it - all defects revealed. Good base proportion. Treble & midrange dominated in the overall sound quality, makes it natural as possible. Very loud and easily drive almost any kind of portable player; I used it on my ipod.

* I've burn-in mine for 100 hours before start using them.

Similar Products Used: Ultimate Ears Super.fi 5 Pro, Almost every darn headphones by Sony.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
t3knodizco   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 13, 2003]
Strength:

They are lightweight,comfortable ,loud sound.

Weakness:

Dangerous!You have to be carefull at what volume/time you listen !Price!

I know about these headphones since 1997 and since then i'm dreamin' about them!:)Beginning with year 2000 i began to walk along the country as a DJ and I used Sennheiser HD 200, but after a while I needed something better!Everyone was speaking about Sony,but my mind and heart still remained at HD 25. Yes,and I wasn't dissapointed! It sounds as I expected to sound!

Similar Products Used: It could be:Technics, Sony!
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
kevin   AudioPhile [Mar 13, 2003]
Strength:

Great attenuation of outside noise. Extremely loud. Excellent clarity, strong, defined bass response.

Weakness:

Price, Not foldable, Price. Extremely loud, very dangerous.

I did extensive research when shopping for a pair of good cans to use in the studio and on the road. The HD 25 and HD 250II kept coming up good in reviews, and they were right on! It was a gamble spending the extra money without hearing them first, but i was not dissapointed. I use them for recording, mixing and live performances without problems. They are comfortable to wear (after you get use to them)for extended periods. I use them 7+ hours everyday for my normal listening too now.

Similar Products Used: Higher end Sony,AKG, not many others...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
multi player   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 08, 2002]
Strength:

detailed sound,3D feeling in pc-games, powerfull bass, excellent isolation, small and light weight

Weakness:

uncomfortable after hours of use (it's tolerable for supraaural-type though), seem rather tender/fragile (can't talk about durability yet), a bit expensive for some

Sennheiser HD 25 SP 1 This review is rather addressed to PC users. To be honnest that's my first "high-quality-performance" set of headphones.Before i bought them, i tried the Sennheiser EH 2270 and i was dissapointed -not that it was bad- but i expected more from such expensive headphones. I thought the 25 sp would be the same quality as they were the same price and i felt rather embarrassed and dissapointed as i had already ordered them...But how wrong i was! the 25 sp's are totally different, when i got home with them i just couldn't take them off my ears!I MOSTLY USE THEM WITH MY PC.i have 4.1 surround speakers (on SBLive) but i prefer listening to my Sennheiser! I am re-discovering my audio CDs and my mp3!!It's amazing to discover so many details in music (this may be a drawback though;). Very powerful bass, detailed sound, clear, no distortion at all, even to "stern" tracks/sounds. When discussion comes to pc-games the question is: who needs 4.1 or 5.1 surround speakers?;) Crystal clear, detailed sound, giving precise feeling of 3-D enviroment.First Person Shooter gamers (quake,unreal,half-life,thief etc) will find sound-paradise in these headphones! Very light weight, small enough (having in mind they are closed-type),very comfortable, soft, not much pressure on ears, but may feel a little uncomfortable after hours of listening,something unavoidable for supraaural-type headphones. In all these add the excellent isolation and there you have probably the best set of mid-low priced headphones!

Similar Products Used: Sennheiser EH 2270, cheap Sony (open type), small Philips, Grundig etc for use with portable stereo
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Madrok   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 18, 2002]
Strength:

Noise isolation, power handling, bass-heavy, warm but sparkly balance.

Weakness:

Too much bass sometimes

I bought the Senn HD 25SP after using Grado SR 80s on an airplane. The Grados are open, so airplane noise is a big problem. The HD 25SP is closed, so lots of isolation from external noise. Sound is excellent, not as transparent as HD580s, not as well balanced as Grados but very pleasant overall. Bass is very pronounced, and this is a problem with some very bass-heavy music. Also goes high in volume without distortion. Comfort is good, better than Grado, not as good as HD 580. Strongly recommended for people who listen on airplanes or who like strong bass, not for classical listeners.

Similar Products Used: Grado SR 80, Sennheiser HD 580
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Edwin P   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 02, 2002]
Strength:

Excellent isolation, you''re in a world of your own when you listen to music thru these headphones. I use these to listen and for monitoring in DJ situations and have been very satisfied. Accurate and clear sound reproduction, recordings sound as the producers meant them to be. Capable of handling loud volumes before distortion kicks in, but I bet anything your eardrums will blow before you reach that level! Very lightweight, and although I''ve read complaints that these are not comfy to wear I find them just fine for long durations of listening. I like the fact that you can buy parts for these, meaning it will probably last a long time.

Weakness:

I don''t know if it''s just a year/make difference but mine came with a rather cheap looking jack and 1/4" adapter. Other than that, no real complaints.

I''ve always wanted one of these, and when I saw them for a good deal on Ebay I snapped up a pair. No regrets! I was using a Sony MDR-V900 before, and I must say that I haven''t used it since I got the HD 25. Compared to the Sony these just have a much punchier, livelier sound. The Sony plays louder in A/B testing, but the sound quality falls short compared to the HD 25. I''d say this is an excellent multi-purpose headphone, and unless you''re a high-end audiophile with golden ears (which I''m not!) you won''t find a better pair of headphones.

Similar Products Used: Sony MDR-V900
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Tom Thumb   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 10, 2000]
Strength:

Suprbly deep bass and nerve shattering volume.

Weakness:

A little too bulky

I have used these 'phones for both home listening and for DJing and they have never dissapointed. Their volume and detail makes them suitable for even the loudest of venues.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Ron Fredro   Audiophile [Jul 18, 2001]
Strength:

WOW! These are accurate headphones! Talk about isolation! I am a producer/sound engineer and I use these for monitoring. Great Headphones. Very natural sound. Once you pop theseon your ears, it's as if you're in another world.
I have the SP version, beacause I wanted someting light.

Weakness:

A bit too much bass, but as I'm in the hiphop business, I couldn't care less!

There are expensive though, but what isn't these days. Would recommend these to those who are in music business or those who simply what accurate sound reproduction (which means no biased-commercial headphones with head-hurtin-sounds)and are rich enough to spend that much money on headphones. Peace!

Similar Products Used: all the other fake-ass "monitoring" headphones suck, only maybe the Beyer-Dynamic series.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Calum   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 14, 2000]
Strength:

Sensitivity and detail. They're nice and light.

Weakness:

Chunky looks, and a bit closed heavy on the bass

These headphones really are one of the best in their class, for situations where you need closed headphones (e.g. DJing, noisy environments, sound engineering). They have good noise sheilding, and fit well. However due to their closed nature, the sound is a bit unnatural and heavy. However the detail these headphones reproduce is quite remarkable.

I also auditioned the Sennheiser HD-25 SPs, which look like a fantastic buy, but lost out because their realism and detail are somewhat worse. However you need very good equipment to appreciate the difference. The HD-25s are definitely heavier on the bass.

One point that lets down the HD-25s is that they're a bit bulky to wear on the move.

Similar Products Used: Sennheiser HD-25 SP
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Steve Davis   Audiophile [Oct 28, 1999]
Strength:

Very flat responce, TRANSPARENCY! DETAIL! Remarkable dynamic handling, extremely uncolored sound, Vocals seems live. Still sold as the HD250II linear

Weakness:

none

Although my pair are getting old, there still great, and they live on as the hd250II, (wich look much better than mine, but sound the same) These are the kind of headphones that will make you throw rocks at your speakers.
I paid around 200 for mine, I have to say they are the best sounding headphones i have had the pleasure to lsiten to that were not priced out of sight. The dynamic range is astounding, the responce is very flat, freq responce is wide, like from 10hs-25khz (if i remember the spec it was like +/- 1db) in any event they are very uncolored, very airy even though they are closed. and the bass is very VERY deep. They sell them now as studio monitor headphones. I use them for home listening. Since they are not open, annoing sounds like the kids and the vacum cleaner are blocked out nicely thank you! I find it hard to go from the headphones back to speakers now. but that is life. They do not fatigue my ears. they are very musical, and natural sounding, reveling alot of musical detail. The are a good sonic refrence if you question how accurate a system sounds.
In any event, if you are lisitening to headphones, give these a listen, you will be amazed. I think they are a good value for the dollar. and sound great. I think the current going price is around 250. even though that is steep for headphones, just think how much you would spend on a good set of speakers. I think it is the best buy i have ever made.

Similar Products Used: stax, grado etc.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 17  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com