AKG Acoustics K 240M Headphones

K 240M

The sound of the K 240 M (for monitor) is tipped toward the bass, with recessed highs and not as much detail as newer models. Plus, at 600 ohms, they're tough to drive. Headphones whose best days are behind them.

User Reviews (26)

Showing 1-10 of 26  
jesper soderstrom from Finland   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 28, 2003]
Strength:

nice and very clean midrange. You'll hear every little detail to the fullest.

Weakness:

You'll need a great headphone preamp because of the 600ohm impedance. You can't use them with some portable MD or CD-player.. only if you have a very good preamp. Finally, the bass level. If you listen at rock, heavy, techno, trance a.s.o. and you don't have an equalizer in front of you it might happend the bass level could be a little low.. but that's of course individual.

These headphones are AKG:s studio standard headphone. Perfect in the studio. If you like jazz and classical music these are the headphones to get, most because of the superb midrange (clean and precise) and the bass level is quite low, that helps bringing out the clean sound. Great headphones!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
lancestapp   AudioPhile [Aug 21, 2003]
Strength:

Accurate, smooth frequency response, comfortable

Weakness:

none

There is no better set of headphones for under $200 (Speaking of the 240 models) These are used in studios world over because they are accurate. All the claims about not enough bass are totally unfounded. If the frequency responce was not accurate then the studios would not use them. Especially since there are millions of dollars to be lost with a bad recording. Thats why the pros depend on AKG's and other brands of studio monitors. I can best describe the sound of these as uncolored. They have a bass response that is smooth and level to below what is audible. Same on the high end, smooth with not peaks or valleys. What I like best is the sound stage which is up front. You feel as though you can reach out and touch the instruments. Very comfortable, easy to forget you have them on. Everything just seems to sound better through these. Jazz and classical would be best suited to these AKG's since most of the top 40 and rock fans want an extra 10 db of bass thrown in for good measure. Yes they take a bit of power,but this is not a flaw, they were designed that way. Not having exaggerated bass is also not a flaw.

Similar Products Used: Sennheiser, Sony, Koss, Etc.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
DavidRitchey   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 19, 2003]
Strength:

Sound! Comfort! (I have had only a day to listen.)

Weakness:

Takes a little power to drive well...

I like the sound! I like the comfort second only to my HD-590's. Their soundstage seems quite...well...like a very *small* stage :) when contrasted with my HD-600's. A definite keeper despite all of the outside flaws... (ripped up coverings/permabent headband). A definite keeper for my guest computer.

Similar Products Used: HD-600, 590...but they're not closed...maybe Sony 700djs...but then again...
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
bimsie_01   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 03, 2002]
Strength:

Light and comfortable for extended listening.Great value for the price,neutral sound.

Weakness:

Short,non coiled cord can short out the phones after many years of accidentally pulling on them.

I bought my first pair of AKG240M almost 25 years ago,having owned several other pairs of headphones,and they have been my cans of choice ever since.Ive bought replacement pairs all over the world over the years,and have owned several pairs of senheisers,but nothing gives me the wonderful,neutral sound of the 240s,or the comfort,even after wearing them all day.Over the years,everytime a friend listens to them for the first time,invarably they end up buying a pair for themselves.Using them in tandem with the Musical Fidelity X-Cans headphone amp produces a huge,airy sound ive never gotten just plugging them into an amp headphone jack.Ater all these years they still have the power to amaze me.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jeffreybar   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 11, 2002]
Strength:

-Rich, warm sound. -Very very comfortable -- great for extended listening. -Good response from bottom to top, maybe a teency weency bit bassy, but not overly so. -fantastic for the price...you can actually find them for like $80 on ebay, but i like headroom, so i wanted to give them my business.

Weakness:

-600 ohm impedence means no portables no way, they don't sound too great over computers either. well-amplified source is a must. -isolation isn't quite as good as with some newer cans.

These things are great. I just got a replacement pair for my old pair which finally gave up the ghost after 5 years of heavy use. Very warm sounding, extremely comfortable (I think my new ones might even be more comfortable...the pleather on the muffs is definitely softer than it was on my old pair), good response from bottom to top. Isolation isn't quite as spectacular as the 501s I test-listened, but overall, I definitely prefer these, and they're $40 cheaper.

Similar Products Used: akg 501, lots of el cheapo level stuff.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Mikael_Abdellah   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 25, 2002]
Strength:

Sounds great and you doesn't know you have them on. Very lightweight for they're size.

Weakness:

No replacable cable.

I just got my new 240M, and I'm blown away by them. I can't believe how great they sound and comfortable they are to have on your head. I've had a pair of Denon 350 HP's before, but they don't stand a chance against theese. Now I only use them with my computer. They're great for gaming.

Similar Products Used: Denon AH-D350
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
jiipee   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 01, 2002]

I plugged these K240M headphones to my laptop and listened my recordings and song made whith cubase sequencer. Sound was so weak that I could not beliewe it. After 1 hour desperate experimenting I took my Spirit notepad folio mixer and read the manual telling that it has 1/4 inch jack for headphones (200 ohms or greater impedance) to monitor signals. I powered mixer and plugged headphones. And WOW! Sound was coming from different planet and sounded amazingly good, deep and natural. These are my first headphones I own, so I cant compare them but I''m very satisfied. I think these things whith 600 ohms impedance need something to power them (like mixer or mic amp)and all professionalist know it?

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bruce   Audiophile [Jun 11, 2000]
Strength:

Very comfortable sensative and can be abused

Weakness:

none for my application

I thought I shuold submit a review because headphones for metal detecting are seldom reviewed.

The AKG headphones are very light, include a long cord and will not fall off your head whether you are beating though the brush or swing a pick. EXTREEMLY CONFORTABLE.

I have used the headphone for teasure hunting in Europe and have found them to be very sesitive for deap targets. I have used them to find over 300 coins from the 17th century from one battlefield.

I cannot think of a better product for this application.


Similar Products Used: Stax, Yamaha for music
Garret for metal detecting
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Todd   Audiophile [Oct 11, 2000]
Strength:

amazing clarity

Weakness:

a little too much outside noise can be heard

I bought these headphones to suffice my longing for a new set of speakers for awhile. The sound that is produced by these AKG K240DF headphones is superbly smooth through out the entire range of human hearing. A cymbol roll sounds as if you are standing in front of it and not listening through headphones. They are also extremely comfortable to wear and at $130 they are quite resonable.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Vincent Chen   Audiophile [Jan 16, 2000]
Strength:

strong build,use and abuse "THE" studio headphone. Sound decent for the bucks. Stands the test of time.Pretty comfy too.

Weakness:

Lacks the detail and articulation of my Senns HD580,sounds dark. Mid is alittle veiled too.

What can I say. These phones just won't die. Sure I have replaced the earcup pads but after almost close to 20 years of hard personal and studio use,you're going to need something too. The self adjusting comfy 240s' still go on and on making my studio recordings easy as day one. They never drop out,never let me down in anyway except when that last dollup of magic is needed. My Senns' smoke these cans handily. The Senns' though don't have that build that the 240s have. Cable problems with the Senns annoy. Plug in the 240s' and rock. The mids are lacking and the air in the highs aren't there. The bass is reticent too. But as a monitoring phone for my multimedia projects,awesome. Sounds still allot better than all those bad cans out there. Studios love them,and it is easy to see why. I just don't think they are the last set of cans for my pleasure thank you,but as the utility set of cans for that project that means at times rough abuse and still reasonable performance, the 240 is tough to beat. V.C.

Similar Products Used: Sennheiser HD580,GRADOs,unmusical Koss phones I am sorry to say.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 26  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com