Aiwa HP-X222 Closed Type Headphones

HP-X222 Closed Type

User Reviews (23)

Showing 1-10 of 23  
Bob Dobalina   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 14, 2003]
Strength:

Excellent lows... never heard anything below 30 or 40Hz in a headphone before these.

Weakness:

Not so good for use with movies... frequency response is not even through out the range.

so far so good... a little tin can sounding at times through the highs...

Similar Products Used: many others
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Prashant Sistla   AudioPhile [Dec 20, 2002]
Strength:

-Great value -Strong bass -Comfortable after long periods of use -Long cord -Durable materials

Weakness:

-High frequencies sometimes not so clear -High bass caues headphones to shake a little

I bought these headphones after going through two pairs of Sony earmuff type headphones. There is a definite difference in sound quality for that $10 difference. When listening to music (mp3s, cds, etc), they sound great. High frequencies sometimes sound a bit toned down, but it's nothing an EQ can't fix. I've had mine for 2 years now, and they're in great shape.

Similar Products Used: Sony headphones (non-closed ear)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
ViPER1313   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 17, 2002]
Strength:

-Good Bass -Good Price -Long Cord -Comfortable

Weakness:

-Vibration can be anoying -Cloudy midrange

These replaced my pair of Koss TD/60 headphones after the cord broke. The long cord on the HP-X222's is really nice. So is the fact that the cord only enters on one side of the headphones. These headphones have some of the best frequency responce that I have heard from a pair of headphones. I can hear imperfections in my 192kbps MP3 collection that I could never hear before. The bass is the best thing next to a real sub-woofer that I have heard. I have not been able to max out the bass (I use the headphones exclusively on a Kenwood Reciever - The headphones easily max out on a diskman) The only downsides is the guitar reproduction, sweaty ears, and vibrations caused by loud bass (they tickle my head at high volume) Overall, they are a great buy for $30

Similar Products Used: Koss TD/60 Ford Car Stereo w/2 12-in Subwoofers Kenwood 5.1 DTS Home Theater System
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
igor   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 11, 2002]
Strength:

These are nice headphones. I like the sound, the fit and they look good too. A long 10'' cord is a nice feature too.

Weakness:

Way too much static noise goes through. Every time I move the mouse on my PC I hear some noise. Playing a CD in the CDROM drive produces continuous clicking from the CDROM drive head (I guess). I returned them to the store.

Good sound but weak mid-range, too much static noise.

Similar Products Used: Sony MDR CD60, Koss UR20
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Adam   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 14, 2000]
Strength:

Closed, Mute Button, comfortable

Weakness:

ugly (Mine are silver), fair construction

These are great headphones, especially after coming from all those really cheap walkman ones. As a musician I can't sense any flaws in the sound ranges, but then this is the most expensive pair I've owned.

Only gripe is they were out of the black color and they HAVE fallen apart a few times (the two wires on top came out of their slots.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Dan   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 22, 2000]
Strength:

Great sound, incredibly deep bass (rattles my brain) 5-25000 frequency range

Weakness:

none

awesome sound for detailed listening, a must buy (the other people don't know what there talking about)

Similar Products Used: -
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
richard c   Audiophile [Nov 27, 2000]
Strength:

price, very comfortable, closed type design does a very good job to block out noise.

Weakness:

no soundstage to speak of, you know you are listening to a pair of headphones.

My girlfriend wont let me buy the Sennheiser HD 580 to replace my dying Sony MDR-V6, so I am getting this one, and save myself some money. Overall, this is a very good value, and no bad for non-critical listening. Does anyone know
where I can get replacement pads for the sony MDR-V6?

Similar Products Used: Sony MDR-V6, Sennheiser HD 580.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Jerry   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 24, 2001]
Strength:

Nice highs and mids, decent bass, wide frequency response, comfortable, long cord, gold-plated plug.

Weakness:

Bass is easily overloaded.

I bought these because I wanted a nice pair of headphones to use at home and for basic record-monitoring purposes, and I didn't have a lot of money to spend. They are light and comfortable and sound pretty good, especially for the price. The bass could definetely be better though, and if you listen to a lot of loud, bass-heavy music, these probably aren't for you. However, they are accurate and clear in treble and midrange, and work great to isolate you from your surroundings and immerse yourself in music. For recording, these also help you find the exact instant the end of a song fades into silence so you can stop recording or pause the record deck and move onto the next song. I got a good deal on these because I am a member of Netmarket (although these are the only things I've bought there yet... haha, so not much of a savings) but even if you buy them somewhere else, they're probably some of the best in the $20-30 range.

Similar Products Used: -
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Mike   Casual Listener [Jun 26, 2001]
Strength:

Excellent sound quality, comfortable to wear for extended amount of time, automatic adjusting headband, mute button, closed ear style blocks out most outside sound, built-in subwoofer, magnetically shielded, headphone cord only on one side (left), sturdy construction, no discomfort for those wearing glasses, and 10 ft. cord

Weakness:

Leather cups get hot after awhile, looks dorky (silver), moderately heavy, and can't sleep in them.

Best value for the money. I never liked the way Seinhesser's sound. My Sony was real muddy in the bass and the treble never shined. The Aiwa's seem to be so well-rounded and after breaking them in, they're EVEN better. Yeah, Aiwa is a subsidiary of Sony, but they seem to be making the more worthwhile products. If you're just looking for a reasonably priced, good sounding set, this is the one. Don't do any more research (I spent 3 days) and just pick these up if you need them for home listening on good or bad audio equipment, you won't regret this one.

Similar Products Used: Sony CD60, Seinhesser 570
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tim Creech   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 27, 2001]
Strength:

Very Clear, super accurate. Price.

Weakness:

Big, not too great for small-headed people.

I have heard lots of headphones, and anyone who thinks that these headphones do not have very low bass is a very inexperienced amateur. These suckers go down to 5hz! Thats 5 vibrations per second. I have yet to find a pair of headphones that go that low, and even if they do, you can't hear that low (just feel). In fact, the only other hps that go that low are the expensive ones, like the 150$ Sonys. Treble and midrange are very nice. Unless you are going to hook these up to the high-power output of a large system, you can't get any distortion. Treble goes up to 25khz. If you are a kid audiophile in need of some doofy looking hps, get these.

Similar Products Used: 2 Sets of Sony hps, a Koss set. Don't remember model #s.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 23  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com