TEAC MCD90 Multiple CD Players

MCD90

This Teac Micro CD Player has a sleek metallic finish and two wood cabinet speakers. It matches any room's style with class. With a 30-station memory, a timer, and three-CD capability, it's exactly what you've been looking for in a compact, affordable stereo system.

User Reviews (13)

Showing 1-10 of 13  
Jeff Strable   Casual Listener [Nov 27, 2011]

I have the same exact issue with the cd changer. It has jammed and makes an awful clicking/winding noise. I'm not spending the money to diagnose this, and if I can figure out how to disable the changer, I'll hang on to it. I like the quality of the sound.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
M. Shoga   Casual Listener [Aug 17, 2011]

Funny thing, I have this system. I bought it from Fry's Electronics in 2002 as a refurbished item for $99.00. I love the look and style. I had to change the first one I bought. I can't remember what the problem was. The replacement was fine intermitently, having all the same problems others complained about. The most FUNNING thing is that I can't get rid of it after the CD changer jammed again the tenth or so time. Trying to get my CD out of the chnager, I broke the mechanisim. Finally, I just killed the noising loading mechanism to stop the annoinying winding noise. I'm currently in search for a CD changer to hook-up to this system I like much























































































.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
M. Shoga   Casual Listener [Aug 17, 2011]

Funny thing, I have this system. I bought it from Fry's Electronics in 2002 as a refurbished item for $99.00. I love the look and style. I had to change the first one I bought. I can't remember what the problem was. The replacement was fine intermitently, having all the same problems others complained about. The most FUNNING thing is that I can't get rid of it after the CD changer jammed again the tenth or so time. Trying to get my CD out of the chnager, I broke the mechanisim. Finally, I just killed the noising loading mechanism to stop the annoinying winding noise. I'm currently in search for a CD changer to hook-up to this system I like much























































































.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
M. Shoga   Casual Listener [Aug 17, 2011]

Funny thing, I have this system. I bought it from Fry's Electronics in 2002 as a refurbished item for $99.00. I love the look and style. I had to change the first one I bought. I can't remember what the problem was. The replacement was fine intermitently, having all the same problems others complained about. The most FUNNING thing is that I can't get rid of it after the CD changer jammed again the tenth or so time. Trying to get my CD out of the chnager, I broke the mechanisim. Finally, I just killed the noising loading mechanism to stop the annoinying winding noise. I'm currently in search for a CD changer to hook-up to this system I like much























































































.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
M. Shoga   Casual Listener [Aug 17, 2011]

Funny thing, I have this system. I bought it from Fry's Electronics in 2002 as a refurbished item for $99.00. I love the look and style. I had to change the first one I bought. I can't remember what the problem was. The replacement was fine intermitently, having all the same problems others complained about. The most FUNNING thing is that I can't get rid of it after the CD changer jammed again the tenth or so time. Trying to get my CD out of the chnager, I broke the mechanisim. Finally, I just killed the noising loading mechanism to stop the annoinying winding noise. I'm currently in search for a CD changer to hook-up to this system I like much























































































.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
tom anderson   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 04, 2011]

Yes! There is a problem with the CD magazine.. The most common cause is the black pencil shaped rod that you can see looking in the door with a flashlight.. The silver piece of metal that holds down and articulates this black plastic rod [ to the three different heights needed to trap and retain the CD s during loading and CD play selection ] is not made with Precision.You can dis assemble the radio covers extract the black cd changer unit remove the top flat cover CAREFULLY and before doing anything photograph the neutral or start position of the system. By that i mean all this that follows. the number 1 CD tray most forward locked and loaded. the white box on the left side that ratchets up power sliders [ that advance the disk into the laser player ] must be in the top most position to play number 1 CD. the black plastic frame piece [ left ] with the screws must be removed along with one gearwheel [ held down with a black small schrew ]. . When you get the Plastic frame out with the silver arm [which is not precisely made ] try bending and twisting slightly until the arm fits better on the black plastic rod [ with the coil spring in it ]. THEN re assemble the unit in the same way [ the white box containing the power sliders] in the topmost number 1 position, The number 1 tray in the loaded and locked position and the silver arm holding down the black rod with a little spring tension.
I think that if Tech made a Upgraded 3 CD magazine loader for this unit that technicians can swap out then this player would go down in history for all of us who like the way it looks and plays. The other Problem with this unit is circuit board memory. the CD s don't remember what they were playing last when you turn the unit off. The unit makes a lot of unnecessary movements to load and reload and this contributes to physical parts failing You may also notice that the unit looses station preset and has to audit weather there is a CD in each of the three disc loaders when you have a current interruption or electrical power disruption. by comparison I work on cars and you can stop your car at the post office go in buy some stamps come back out start your car and the CD player will continue precisely on the song you were playing when you turned of the ignition and left the car. This process is achieved with sufficient memory. thank you and forgive my spelling

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Joe   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 26, 2009]

MC-D90

Total Crap, used it for about a year and it died.

Crap, do not buy it!

Teac Lost any future money from me

I use the speakers as rear surround spkrs on my main unit

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Bokat   Casual Listener [Aug 03, 2009]

I, too, have had the CD changer issues with this system. It is a great little stereo - sound, size, looks and everything except the CD changer keeps breaking. I had i repaired about 2 - 3 years ago at a local electronics repair shop and it broke down again. I will probably have it fixed again because I can't find anything that looks as great as this unit on my bookshelf. We have a traditional house and all the bookshelf stereos I have seen are too futuristic looking. I am disappointed with it, but, only because of the repair issue.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
jeff   AudioPhile [Jan 02, 2009]
Strength:

very powerfull and even very customizable to set with any speakers and subs.
this toy is capable of running dvd players video game consoles and other stereo systems. it has an amplifier built in. which i was able to boost up with another amp. to with stand more watts then told on the box.

Weakness:

the disc changer will crap out after a year and half to two years. but if you do clean it out after the first sound of noise that is known to issue. the nit can last up to 3 years or 4 with no problems.

more an likely most people wont do so. so yeah the disc changer is the weakest thing on this stereo system.

i like this little toy. i was able to wire up the stock speakers to two 12 in. entertainment speakers. this mc-d90 actually can be used to do a surround sound system in the living room of any house and still pull the power better than newer model entertainment systems.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Mike   Casual Listener [Oct 19, 2007]
Strength:

Sound quality, size, style.

Weakness:

CD changer and lack of manufacturer's support.

Funny thing, I looked up this site hoping to find a solution to my CD problem and golly, I'm not the only owner with this problem. Like the others, my CD failed after about 2 years of casual use. I still use the radio and the sound quality is fantastic. The TEAC site doesn't seem to have any troubleshooting info. Because of the faulty changer, this will be my last TEAC product.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com