Onkyo DXC390B Multiple CD Players

DXC390B

  • Single-Bit DAC: Multi
  • AccuPulse Quartz System
  • 6-disc Changer: Carousel
  • Peak Search: by remote
  • Number of Repeat Modes: 6
  • Random Track Memory: 40
  • Shuffle/Random Play
  • Digital Output (Optical/Coaxial): 1 Optical/1 Coaxial
  • Analog Output (Fixed)
  • RI Remote Control

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
Dr Dave   Casual Listener [Mar 15, 2010]

I purchased the product in March 2009. We rarely use the cd player. It worked fine for a couple of months then I noticed that you had to push the buttons repeatedly to get the unit to respond. Then one day it just became unresponsive. The power light was on but none of the buttons did anything. The manual says to unplug the unit, wait, and plug it back in. Did that...still nothing. ONKYO USA instructed me to reset the unit by holding two buttons down. That worked a few times then the unit failed to respond even to that procedure. On my dime I sent it to the authorized repair shop for warranty repair...it came back working...for a month...then the same thing again. There's a problem with the computer that runs this cd player. When it plays it's great but then it stops working and there's no support offered by the manufacturer. I would not recommend this defective product to anyone. Save yourself the hassle by buying another brand.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
sisterorbit   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 07, 2008]
Weakness:

Never worked!

Plugged it in right out of the box and product had a "Fatal Error" according to Onkyo tech support. Save your time and energy. I never even got to play a CD! I even spent hours researching this CD player and now have to pay to ship it back.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Mark111867   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 25, 2005]
Strength:

Build. Great looks. Smooth operation. Nice treble.

Weakness:

Harsh mid-range.

I am a fan of Onkyo gear in general, but this cd player didn't do it for me. The operation is quiet and smooth. Great looks. The treble sounded very nice. The bass sounded unrefined to me. The mid range was a tad on the harsh side. Compared to my Denon DCM-270 cd player (which I was trying to replace) the sound of the Onkyo was not as smooth or refined. I have no doubt about Onkyo's quality. I just didn't like the way the unit sounded.

Similar Products Used: Denon, Fisher
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
BJG718   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 28, 2005]
Strength:

Can't quite remember, but I liked it when I first had it,

Weakness:

Very noisy CD player when changing CDs and while playing the CDs, as well.

My particular CD player worked for roughly a month before saying "NO DISC" every time I tried to use it. I can't quite remember how it sounded, but I remember that I liked it when I first had it. Onkyo's service dept. and 6th Ave's service dept. are incompetent. It took so long to get the player fixed that I can't remember how it sounded when I first got it. Now that I have gotten it fixed, it is a very obnoxious CD player because I can always hear the CDs changing or the CDs while they are playing. Maybe it was how it was fixed, but this CD player is not cutting it for me. The CD player should be the last thing to break in a system. It took over 9 months to get this CD player fixed. I am very dissapointed with the company for thelength of time that it took to fix it, but also the quality of the CD player. I will give this CD player 1 star because I remember liking it when I first had it. Otherwise, stay away from Onkyo and 6th Ave, both for quality and service. I paid 170 for the CD changer and then 30 for the extended warranty. I normally don't buy those extended warranties but I am glad I did for this CD player because 6th Ave has to keep me supplied with a CD player for the next 3 years now.

Similar Products Used: Aiwa "Walkman" from 1996 that is still better than this 6 CD changer.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
obournjd   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 18, 2005]
Strength:

Sound. Nice looking too.

Weakness:

Slow to change discs. Remote is cheap.

Excellent sounding machine for a great price. A little slow to change discs or perform random selections but otherwise excellent.

Similar Products Used: NAD and Sony
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
jukeboxtheater   AudioPhile [Mar 26, 2005]
Strength:

Superb audio DAC (for the money and then some!), cd changer, both toslink and coaxial digital outs (as if you'd need them), CHEAP!!!!!!!

Weakness:

Big size, a little clunky sounding when changing discs

Wow! This is the best cd sound I've had in my system for ages! The bass goes deep and bounces along joyously! The treble is delicate and non-fatiquing. And the detail... I'm hearing things on my cd's that I didn't know were there! I've owned several high-end cd players including a Sony X77ES (retail $1700), a Rotel 970BX (retail $600), a Denon DCD-3000 (retail $1200) just to name a few. I can honestly say that overall this $200 Onkyo sounds as good as any of them. I'm not saying that the little Onkyo (referring to price not size...) betters those expensive players in all areas, the Sony for example had greater solidity and went deeper in the bass, the Denon had more treble detail, etc.., but for $200 you get a player that spreads its strenghts evenly across the board and has no obvious weakness! Remarkable for any cd player, much less one as inexpensive as this. That AccuPulse d/a converter Onkyo uses really must be something! Anyway, I'm finished gushing. If you're an audiophile like me and care about cd sound quality, you owe it to yourself to check out the Onkyo DX-C390 cd player. I promise you won't be disappointed!

Similar Products Used: Cd players mentioned above, Paradigm Reference Studio 40 loudspeakers, various pre-amp/amplifier combinations
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Buffalo Bill   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 14, 2004]
Strength:

Price. Functionality. Looks

Weakness:

Slow on getting the music started. Remote is laughable.

I replaced my 6 year old Yamaha 5 disc changer as I needed to have a digital coax output. The sound for this unit is very good. The ease of loading discs is also very good. I like the styling as well. My only complaint is that compared to the Yamaha the time that it takes to start the music after a disc changes or starting for the first time is very long. The Yamaha was very fast whereas this model takes its time getting there.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha 5 disc changer
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
vik   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 30, 2004]
Strength:

Sound, nice transport, build

Weakness:

Remote could be better

This is a fantastic sounding cd player for the price. Its smooth, warm, analog sounding, with no trace of harshness and it has a wide soundstage. Much better than one would expect for a $200 cd player! I had an MSB Link II DAC that I had hooked up to the Onkyo, and I felt the sound of the Onkyo's DACs outperformed the MSB! The MSB had a warmer richer sound with more powerful bass, but the highs were strident (esp. on cymbals), which I felt became fatiguing over time. The Onkyo does not sound fatiguing at all, and I've had it for 2 months now. Build quality is good, the remote could be better, and it makes a very nice transport. Overall a solid buy.

Similar Products Used: various
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Licenseduser   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 27, 2004]
Strength:

Sound accuracy

Weakness:

Unit is a little large but not a real problem.

The DX-C390 is the very quiet. Makes little sound changing discs. The real treat is the sound. I keep my receiver in direct mode. The music reproduction is so precise bass/treble are not needed. Listener hears everything which was recorded. Vocals are amazingly clear.

Similar Products Used: Sony, Yamaha
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
surveyor   AudioPhile [Jan 06, 2004]
Strength:

Sound Quality, MP3 capability

Weakness:

Unit is slightly on the large size but I would not call it a weakness.

6 CD changer is very quit and unusally quick. CD's can be changed while unit is playing. Plays MP3 CDR/RW with not problem. Analog, Coaxial and Toslink. I use Coaxial and sound is superb. I now here things in my CD's I was not even aware of. Highly recommended.

Similar Products Used: Sony, Sharp
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com