Onkyo DX C380 6 Disc CD Changer Multiple CD Players

DX C380 6 Disc CD Changer

If you like music, and a lot of it, this 6-CD changer was made for you. It lets you change up to five discs during play, ""cue up"" the next song you want to hear without interrupting the song playing, and make up to 40-track programs. And since the DX-C380 is loaded with many of the same features found in Onkyos high-end single CD players, like a high-quality single-bit D/A converter, 8X oversampling, and Onkyos exclusive jitter-eliminating AccuPulse quartz system, youll get all of your music delivered in phenomenal detail and clarity.

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
Demort71   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 19, 2012]

This is the first piece of Onkyo equipment I have ever owned and my initial reaction is one of pleasure. During the past year I have started to collect vintage stereo equipment from the late 70s through the 1990s. I am not into vinyl and prefer the sound quality of CDs vs. messing around with worn, scratchy LPs, needles and cartridges. I have older Technics and Sony 5 disc CD players, as well as this recently purchased Onkyo. It operates quieter than both of these players.

For $20 plus $14 shipping, I think I made a great eBay score! I have only briefly listened to this CD player at low volume for a few minutes, but I immediately recognized the superior sound quality over my two older CD players that this more modern Onkyo has (which was made in 2001 according to the tag on the back of the unit). Sure, I will keep the older players, but I will appreciate this Onkyo for its superior reproduction. It is clean and the dynamics are greater than the old reliable Tech. and Sony players.

I currently have three vintage receivers that I run: A Sansui G3500 Pure Power, Pioneer SX780 and Pioneer SX3700. The Onkyo is on the SX3700 right now, which was made 1980-1982. Of the three receivers I own, this receiver has the lowest THD distortion rating of .02%. That is very clean for a receiver of that time frame and is below what you can hear. The two Pioneers are rated at 90W total while the Sansui is rated at 54W total. The SX3700 was playing through a pair of DCM 6 ohm CX-27 speakers, which I bought new in 1993.

I might try out the Onkyo with the other two receivers, especially the Sansui, which is hooked up to a pair of Klipsch KG4 speakers made in 1984. They have a more dramatic and fuller sound than the DCMs (as well as a larger cabinet and a huge horn tweeter and an extra driver over the DCMs). I would say the two the speakers are similar in the basic quality of their reproduction capabilities and clarity, but the Klipsch's presence is far superior overall. I like the Klipsch the best.

At any rate I am pleased with this 11 year-old CD player which seems to have survived the test of time and still plays well. That is something that you can't say for a lot of newer, modern stereo equipment. Too much of it is use it for a few years and toss it out and go buy more. That is the great thing about older equipment, it can be repaired and once properly refurbished will deliver quality sound and entertainment for you again. I hope to put many more miles on this Onkyo! My initial impression is Kaching! I did well.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
tullymars   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 30, 2005]
Strength:

Sound,and build quality

Weakness:

none

I have owned this player for about two years now,and I have to say its a great player for $200!I compare it with my $700 MusicHall,and I have to say it holds its own,and not a problem in two years.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
gonefishin   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 19, 2003]
Strength:

Sound Quality is outstanding for a $200 CD changer.

Weakness:

Power on and off on the remote would have been nice but I simply leave the unit on, connect it to my TX-SR501 switched outlet so it powers on and off with the receiver so there is no problem there either.

Only 6 CD changer I am aware of. Great sound. Smooth highs and rich bass. I have seen other users complaining about not being able to see the display. I wear trifocals and can still see the display so I can not find fault there. Changer is very quiet and reasonable quick.

Similar Products Used: Sony, Yamaha
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Yaohui   Casual Listener [Jul 11, 2003]
Strength:

sound quality

Weakness:

remote

I am currently in high school, and I bought a system few months ago, which consisted of a Onkyo TX-SR500 receiver(referb),a Onkyo DX-C380(referb), Monster Cable digital fiber optic, Monster Cable XPHP speaker cable, and a pair of Polk R30 speaker.This system oringinally cost over $1000, but I get it luckly for under $500.My father has been around hi-fi for more than 20 years, and he said this CD changer sound very smooth in high and mid range sound, tight and strong in bass compare to other low end cd players. For under $100, I think this CD changer is really the best.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Gunnm   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 29, 2003]
Strength:

+ Silent Playing + Excellent sound + Perfect Scanning

Weakness:

- Kinda big - No dimmer option for the display - Display probably is difficult for people with bad vision

I got this Onkyo player because I wanted to be able to throw in a wide variety of music and just let it play through. The 50 disc+ players always are slow and end up a mess, so I opted for the unusual 6-disc Onkyo. It isn't perfect but it is definitely a nice unit. The size is oddly enormous. I'd used a Harmon Kardon player previously and it was much smaller overall. The extra disc should make it a little bigger, but it's so tall and very deep. Not a bad thing, but I'd prefer something more svelte. The display is a little dificult to read at a distance, but I've never found it problematic. The time, track number, and disc are all easy enough for me to see and I don't pay much attention to the random settings, etc. It is a little loud when switching dics, although I personally expect that from experience. While playing, it is completely silent. It's a beautiful thing! I have an otherwise great Yamaha mini system that I used to run the Onkyo through so I could get the great sound and the silent play. Another feature that I love is the ultra quick and smooth scanning in music. I often listen to short music clips to pick up the music to play on guitar and this Onkyo is as tight as any other format.

Similar Products Used: Various Harmon Kardons
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
HermanB   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 19, 2003]
Strength:

change 5 cd's while playing a 6th sound quality is good enough functions strong and robust

Weakness:

no coax digital output LOUD mechanism while changing cd's functionality not on front panel of player

Funny that several people say that operation of the CD changer is silent. I don't think so at all, but haven't tried any other CD changers so don't really have a reference... I think when changing CD's this player is loud. Very and disturbingly loud. Sound quality is good though. I had it connected first through the analog connections, later thtough the digital optical connection, and didn't really hear a difference. It has a noticably better sound quality though than my Kenwood DVD player, also connected digitally to my AV receiver (through coax). Mine plays CD-R and CD-RW discs (TDK brand, maybe a suggestion to try those?). The display is a disaster, much too small to see anything if you're more than a foot away, use a telescope if you're on a distance of more than a meter. The remote control is good, it's a pity that not all functions on the remote control are available on the front of the player itself.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
palsgraff   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 30, 2002]
Strength:

Quiet operation. Ability to change discs while unit operating.

Weakness:

Display is too small to read from any distance. No coaxial out. No headphone jacks.

I had been using a Sony 5 disc changer, circa 1990, or a 50 disc changer of a little more recent vintage. I had been unhappy with the quality of CD reproduction, and had been blaming my Yamaha receiver. This unit came on auction at Ubid at a very low price and I decided to experiment. What a difference! The sound is richer, the bass much more powerful, etc. I have not sampled a lot of late model CD changers, so I am not in a position to contrast this versus other brand names. But I am very pleased with the upgrade in sound reproduction.

Similar Products Used: Sony, Toshiba DVD/CD, JVC DVD/CD
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
mia hong   Casual Listener [Aug 23, 2002]

I bought this unit with a thought that it is designed purely for music and it have 6 dis. I don't like to listen to music that recorded with CD rewrite because it have too much error. So I was looking for a CD player that I can play original CD music dis and program all the songs that I like. Here is what I find out: First, the sound from optic digital out is warm and smooth. very much the same with analog out. I don't know weather the digital output is worst as analog or the analog as good as digital? Second, I can program as much as 40 songs and let it run randomly in that 40 song without repeatting the song it already play. Very nice indeed. But the problem is when you turn off the power when you done listening, the program memory is gone. You hane to program it all over again. The solution is to leave the power on forever! Third, There is no power on/off on the remote control. The solution is to plug the power cord to the receiver power outlet in the back. so when you turn off the RX. the CD player is off too. In conclusion, The sound quality is most important, but this is very subjective. This unit produce warm smooth sound compare to the sound produce by the pioneer 434 dvd player which is brighter and you can hear more noise or details in the music dis.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
uncle bruno   Casual Listener [Apr 01, 2002]
Strength:

Solidly built, holds 6 discs. Remote interconnect allows synchro recording w/Onkyo tape deck & other convenient features if you have several Onkyo components.

Weakness:

Once you hit certain numbers in a program (like track numbers 20 or higher, I think) the display won''t show what''s going on. Reportedly won''t play CDRW, although I never tried this (take one with you if you want to test it at store). Doesn''t have peak search for analog recording. No coax digital out (optical only).

A decent entry-level changer, but unless you have an all-Onkyo system & want the remote interconnect feature, there''s no reason to buy it instead of changers from other major manufacturers in the $150-225 range. I didn''t find anything special about the sound from either the digital or analog outs, but it wasn''t bad, either. Remember, it lists for $200, so don''t expect miracles. I used it for over 6 months, then traded it in as part of a package deal. I now own the Marantz CC4000, found on this site under the wrong heading (under single, not multi-disc).

Similar Products Used: Symphonic, Marantz
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
stewbass   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 19, 2002]
Strength:

Well made-Quiet operation-Great sound quality-Good unit for musicians with trained ear on a budget

Weakness:

None

Smooth piece of equipment.When connected with TOSLINK, this unit reproduces CD sound very accurate,yet warm and almost analog like.The best changer in this price range-hands down.

Similar Products Used: Various Brands
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com