TDK DA 3826 CD Recorders/Players

DA 3826

Create CD mixes by dubbing irreplaceable LPs and tapes, or copy full CDs. TDK's Digital Audio CD Recorder is the ultimate digital recording tool. A dual-tray design generates easy-to-read digital dubs from CDs, and with 4X dubbing speed, you get the swiftest dubbing the industry offers.

The Digital Audio CD Recorder sets you up with complete digital and analog recording flexibility- including a full complement of the digital and analog inputs to accommodate any music source, plus analog and digital outputs.

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
Reticuli   AudioPhile [Dec 04, 2007]
Strength:

Superb A/D converters and CD recording assembly. Low jitter. Decent D/A converters, headphone jack, and meters.

Weakness:

D/A converters don't sound as good as the Cirrus Logics in my AVR7200 or the Burr Browns in the Pioneer DV655A-PX or Denon DCM-370 (hp mod). Also would be nice if it had a DAC Mode without needing a CD in the record side in pause.

AD converters (and surrounding caps/circuitry) are better than the AKM's in my Emu 1212m. DA converters are better than those in my Numark PPD01 24/48 dj mixer. You can use this unit as a standalone DAC; just put an audio CDR in the record side and pause it. It will stay that way indefinitely without problems. 24/96 converters are outstanding on both ends of this thing, though I would say the output ones are not as good as the input ones. The ADC's create incredibly tansparent, liquid Red Book copies and the resulting disks have been error-free every single time, apparantly with low jitter. I use TDC audio CDRs. It's a shame I can't record in 24/96...or can I? Hmm...wonder if the SPIDIF would output the stereo signal to the Emu and what format would that be? Worth a try, I guess.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
hugocs   AudioPhile [Apr 21, 2003]
Strength:

High sound quality as standard CD player. Audiophile level results when used to make copies from analog sources. Easy to use.

Weakness:

Manual with some gross errors. The letters of the remote control are difficult to read because of their small size and low contrast against the background.

I have used the TDK DA3826 recorder almost exclusively to make copies of my LPs, with outstanding results. It is difficult to distinguish the CD copy from the original vynil sound, which means that the AD conversion is of audiophile level. I have got much better results with this recorder than with more expensive recorders from other brands.

Similar Products Used: Cd recorders from Marantz and Phillips.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
dameyn   Casual Listener [Apr 09, 2002]
Strength:

Quality, recording fidelity, playback virtuosity and fidelity. Will play really bad CDs as if no defects.i

Weakness:

Auto track and end of record markingk

Actually mine is mfg. in Feb 2002. I''m very pleased with it''s performance, both as a CD recorder and 2-tray "changer" for playback. It makes excellent recordings on low-end Memorex CD-Rs from my Dual turntable, and will dub at 4X speed from a CD-RW recording onto a CD-R without detectable errors. It is useful sometimes to record from the LP record onto a CD-RW in order to revise any mistakes (oops, missed a track mark that time) before finalizing and then make the "archival" copy on a CD-R. The CD-RW can then be unfinalized, erased, and used again. It''s major fault for me is lack of provision for user adjustment of the time intervals of silence which trigger a track increment and end of record. I''ve found it unfeasible to use the auto mode of both, have to sit and manually mark tracks when redording from an LP. This is because my LPs have long silent periods between bands, and because pops and clicks sometimes trigger phantom tracks within a "silent" period. Otherwise, what a great CD recorder/player.o

Similar Products Used: None.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Jeff Donaghuer   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 20, 2002]
Strength:

Well built. Fine sound quality. Easy to use. Good value

Weakness:

Manual an obvious translation from Esperento. But if ya kin reed, ya kin figer itout.

Head phones? Who needs stinkin head phones? There is a phone jack on the front of the unit. Don''t knowe what it does. Also I have a phone jack on my preamp, which I could listen to recording through if I wanted to. Instead I just listen through the tape monitor function. I can hear everything just fine. Also there are the visual meters for external input adjustment. Totally NOT and issue. What everybody else said plus: Easy to use, both dubbing and analog recording. Some generational quality loss in copies, but very acceptable. Great value $$ wise. Output quality as a straight up CD player is very good, bettr than the Sony, Rotel and Pioneer stuff I have. Would I buy it again? Absolutely.

Similar Products Used: First time with cd recording
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Tom   AudioPhile [Mar 17, 2002]
Strength:

Great A to D converter, good sound, quiet background, speed.

Weakness:

Some operational quirks. Skimpy/hard to follow instructions

I needed a CD recorder to transfer live music recordings off DAT, reel to reel, and cassette. After doing some listening tests at several local dealers on Marantz and HK recorders, I came across the DA-3826 on the TDK website. Since I was unimpressed with what I had heard so far (harsh glaring sounds from copies of CDs when compared to the originals), I decided to investigate the DA-3826 further. Reviews in proaudio sites and this board convinced me that the TDK recorder may be what I was looking for. No Boston dealers had a unit to show (or sell to) me, so I ordered it on line... sight unseen. My unit is made in Korea, so I do not know the quality of the build...I shall report on it if I run into trouble later. The sound quality from analog sources is fantastic, which says that this unit has a great A-D converter. Digital copies can sound harsh at times, but overall not very objectionable. The unit automatically goes to a new track when you pause the recording, which can be annoying if you want to number several sections (e.g. movements) as a single track. While the previous reviewer''s comments on not having a headphone circuit that will allow the monitoring of the recording process is valid, I can hear it on the analog output from the CD-R side....not a show stopper for me. Overall I am happy I made this purchase.

Similar Products Used: HK, Marantz
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Carl   Audiophile [Nov 22, 2001]
Strength:

Easy to use. excellent quality recording. looks real good. Gold plated terminals. Speed of Recording. Accepts optical, coaxial and analog connections(though for CD to Cd recording you'll never need them).

Weakness:

NONE

What can I say ? I love this CD burner ! The Speed, the quality, the look, the price. This is probably the best audio purchase I've ever made.

I bought it after I received a refund on a defective Philips CDR 570 - that gave me no end of hell. I can find absolutely nothing to complain about with this Burner - TDK really must of put effort into making this thing.

I've burnt almost 50 CDs with this baby already and have never experienced a problem with it. So what more can I say ? If you're looking for a dual deck CD Recorder TDK is definetly the way to go.

Similar Products Used: Philips CDR 570 CD Recorder.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ben Gordon   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 01, 2001]
Strength:

Really incredible deck for the $$$. Easy to use controls. Good looking. Excellent sound.

Weakness:

None so far

Excellent price point for a beautiful addition to my system. So easy to use, excellent manual leads the way to simple disc-to-disc recording as well as vinyl to disc. Auto track markers area bit tricky when recording from a turntable, but you'll get the hang of it. The CD's produced really do sound wonderful. Audiophile-grade Digital-to-analogue converters work great - very warm and smooth sound. I can't see paying JVC or Marantz twice as much for their decks....and Phillips should be ashamed for the crap they've introduced - sheesh, I mean come one theyt invented Compact Discs for chrissakes! Anyway, this CD recorder is great! Buy it, you'll like it - don't let the low price scare you away - it far outclasses and outperforms the Teac's, Denon's, and Sony's in its class.

Similar Products Used: Have heard the Phillips horror stores - ditto for the Teac, Onkyo, and refurbished HK crap on eBay...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Walter   Audiophile [Dec 26, 2001]
Strength:

Can make high quality recordings with analogue input through mixer, or external CD player and internal cd copy. Fast speed, simple operation, seems well constructed.

Weakness:

Unable to monitor recording of externally supplied signals by headphone! This may surprise you as to what you have recorded when you play the recorded disk back (Good surprise or Bad surprise). LED text difficult to read. All text on controls needs to be more legible -- too small and not easily read in less than optimum light. Unable to monitor externally input material through headphone jack during recording! Can only use meters to indicate recording level, and these may not even respond on very soft sounds.

I researched this recorder as extensively as I could before buying. I intended to use it for high quality live recordings as well as dubbing CDs and MDs, and archiving to CD a large collection of LPs, reel-to-reel tapes, and cassette tapes. I find it a shame that it is just not practical to use this otherwise fine machine due to the oversight of TDK in failing to provide headphone monitoring ability during recording. Phillips allows easy aural monitoring over headphones which at least gives some idea of what to expect in the final sound. It is wrong of the manufacturer to promote the TDK DA-3826 as acceptable for making CDs of analogue input material and other external recordings when it is impossible to aurally audition levels through its circuitry before and during recording. I would give the deck a qualified very high rating in sound quality, and especially as a good value for the money, but I feel that this singular feature fault disqualifies the deck for recommendation to any serious audiophile (thus the low overall rating). It is like having a great performing automobile with a blacked-out windshield(You could always look back and see where you have been after driving a while)! It is satisfactory only for CD dubbing, as you know that it will make an exact copy. I intend to exchange mine for another brand deck. My qualifications for judgement of this deck include a background of many years in music education and as a recording technician.

Similar Products Used: Phillips recorders
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com