Technics SL-PD887 CD Players

SL-PD887

5 disc changer

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
Randy   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 21, 2012]

I bought a Technics 5 disc SL-PD887 CD player new in about 1995 and used it for about ten years until I got a CD jammed in it. I got sloppy in the way I loaded a disc one time and it jammed the CD inside the player and broke something. That accident ruined what was a machine that otherwise couldn't be killed. Before then it never gave me any trouble. About six months ago I donated it as scrap to United Way (they recycle junk electronics). I just bought another SL-PD887 on eBay last week for $20 and it is on its way. I have no doubt it will perform just as steadfastly as the one I bought brand new. I have been using a Sony 5 disc CD player in its stead and it's OK, but I don't think it is as user friendly as the Technics was. I will pull it and use the Technics in its place. The Sony will go to a second line stereo I have in another room. The Technics will serve duty on my Sansui G3500 receiver and KG4 Klipsch speakers. I am going to throw add a TEAC EQA20 equalizer for kicks to this system to see how it might improve it the dynamics, though the Klipsch do a fine job. Any way, this is a first class CD player in my book. This is the best bang for anyone's buck in my book.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
matslars   AudioPhile [Nov 30, 2007]
Strength:

Sound quality, build quality

Weakness:

None really for the price...

Well this player is not comparable with my Pioneer Elite PD-93 nor the Pioneer PDS-06 but I must say the soundquality is absolutely ok. Usability is top for a 5-disc player, I mean I really always go for the single players. The price paid, at a flee market, $7 is stupid but true. For sure, paying many times more, you will still be satified. I would normally never buy a product this pricerange but must say I'm amazed about the sound quality

Similar Products Used: Never used any such cheap prodcuts before
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jason   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 16, 2002]
Strength:

Reliable, quite and fast tray mechanics.

Weakness:

Somewhat harsh sounding with DDD recordings.

I have this CD changer for 4.5 years and it has been working so far flawlessly. It reads regular cd and cd-r as well. It''s tray mechanism is fast and quite. Only complaint is that it tends to sound a little harsh with cd''s recordings that have been made in full digital (DDD), I guess too much digitalization is not good. Overall very reliable, fast and transparent operations.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Chris   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 19, 2000]
Strength:

Sound,build quality.

Weakness:

No digital out.

I have used this changer day in,day out for five years and it hasn`t missed a beat.Whilst I haven`t done a lot of comparisons,that`s because I have been perfectly happy with the unit.I may have to change it now for one with a digital out,as I`m looking to buy a cd recorder.I think to low rate it just because it is no longer made is silly.I`m giving it five and five only because I can`t give it any more.

Similar Products Used: None.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Anoop   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 15, 2000]
Strength:

Bang for the buck

Weakness:

small remote, no digital out on my model year

For the price I paid for this CD player, I could not ask for anything more. I bought it before I got into more audiophile grade equipment, but I do not regret the purchase. I usually play the CD player about 1-2 hours on an average day, often more the 6 hours straight once a week, have had parties with around 20 people dancing on a hardwood floor to dance/party music, and IT HAS NOT EVER SKIPPED SINCE 1997. It plays CD's that are scratched or dirty that won't play on my mini-system player. It retrieves songs faster than my friend's Marantz 5-disc CD player, and sounds great (although my speakers have a lot to do with that). Price, performance, 5 stars.

My system:
Sony 32" TV
DENON AVR-2801 receiver
Panasonic DVD
Technics 5-Disc CD player
TEAC dual cassette deck
Tannoy mx4 main speakers
Tannoy mx2 surrounds
Tannoy mC center channel

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Michael King   Audiophile [Aug 13, 2000]
Strength:

Longevity under heavy use, quick change, ease of use.

Weakness:

Lightness of build, plastic face, small remote, lack of any digital outs, noise during changing of discs.

This trusty player has served me well through many years of use, from my early days replacing a first generation JVC player and using with an Optimus tuner, to my more recent foray into home theatre. For this reason, and to conserve space, it is being replaced by a Toshiba SD-4109X. I have been extraordinarily pleased with this player throughout its lifetime, however. If you see one cheap used, pick it up. It's not fancy, but it's a workhorse.

Similar Products Used: First generation JVC cd, Toshiba SD-4109x
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
T   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 20, 2001]
Strength:

RELIABILITY[8yrs],features,price,5-disc

Weakness:

plastic,acceptable sound quality for low end

OK, so it is a low end Technics[sound quality is certainly acceptable & sounds better with a modest cable upgrade]. Plays forever,never a skip or misplay. If your in the need for an excellent,inexpensive cd-5 player, BUY this Technics!I,m upgrading soon and don't know how to retire this monster,it's been so good for me.

Similar Products Used: This is my first CD player[Obviously I'm not an audiophile]
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Mike   an Audio Enthusiast [Sep 01, 1999]

This is an awesome cd player! My dad got it for christmas in 1997 and he has had it now for almost 2 years and it has had absolutely no problems. It sounds great, although I cant tell the difference in sound between most cd players. He has used it constantly in the 2 years we've had it, it sometimes runs for 10 hours a day. I have tried cd's so scratched up that they will not even start up in other cd players and this player played right through them. In other players they said No Disc. It is also impossible to make this cd player skip. It would be great for dance parties. I jumped on the hardwood floor and dug my heel in as hard as i could and it wouldnt skip. This is one of the best cd players out there in my opinion. Some people may say that HK's, Denons or Yamahas and other brands like that are better sounding, but they constantly have to be repaired. This cd player has never had any problems. Some people complained about the red flashing number that shows which cd is playing, but I think its a good idea. The display on it is really well designed, and so are the controls. The player easily gets 10 stars out of 5.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Bruce   Casual Listener [Dec 21, 1999]
Strength:

Good features, minimal skipping.

Weakness:

Longevity

The unit has good features (random, spiral play) it is convenient to change cds while another is playing.

It has one HUGE downside - - - very short life. I owned it a little over 3 years and it failed. I don't frequenly listen use the unit, approximately 10 hours a month. For a unit to only last around 360 to 400 hours is NOT acceptable.

Similar Products Used: Technics 5 disc changer purchased 1990.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Robert   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 19, 2000]
Strength:

Great features, handy remote, and several random modes of play. Can be programmed either from the front panel (not so easy) or remote (easier).

Weakness:

Remote is fairly small. My unit broke down within the first year (would no longer detect the CD's).

All in all I was very satisfied with my player. Bought it on sale at Montgomery Wards for under $180.00. Although it did run into a problem during the initial year, I was able to bring it to a local Best Buy, and they repaired the unit to my satisfaction. Only replaced it after buying a mini-disk recorder, which requires an optical digital feed to properly record from CD's. Auditioned the SP-8 Technics CD change, but opted to get a Sony for ideal compatibility with the Sony mini-disk deck.

I'm only giving it a 4 rating, since this model is pretty obsolete by now, and no longer availabe in retail outlets.

Similar Products Used: Technics single play CD player (still going strong), Sony 5 disc changer (replaced the Technics).
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com