Technics SL-MC7 CD Players

SL-MC7

(110 + 1 Changer)

User Reviews (38)

Showing 1-10 of 38  
G.   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 22, 2010]

Trouble free for many years. Random function is great with a full deck.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mingte Cheng   AudioPhile [Dec 27, 2002]
Strength:

fair price for 111 CD changer. A lot of function. Read CD Text.

Weakness:

Terrible Sound~~~~~~

Receiver - Pinoeer Elite VSX-35Tx Front speakers - Pinoeer Elite FZ700 DVD palyer Toshiba 5700, Panasonic DVD-A7 This is my 2nd review for this CD changer. This player does work well for me as a CD chnager or CD transport for MD recording. However, I finally give up using it as CD listening. It lacks of sound stage, sounds so foreward, and the sound stage is as thin as a paper. I guess that's the problem of 1 bit decoding. I use my Panasonice DVD-A7 and Toshiba 5700 to compare the sound quality. I found I like my DVD players more then it. As my point of view, my DVD players' sound is warmer and more inviting. I just can't stand the sound of this CD changer.

Similar Products Used: Non
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Tommy Deschenes   AudioPhile [Mar 24, 2002]
Strength:

110+1 cd, sound quality (optical output) fast cd changing, great look, cd text,Technics quality.

Weakness:

none

This Cd Charger is quite a good deal!

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Marc   Casual Listener [Nov 10, 2000]
Strength:

Optical output, sound quality, looks inc. blue light bars, ability to store 110+1 CD's, CD text, free liner notes, smal l remote, plays ALL CD-R's I have tried.

Weakness:

none

Sounds great, especially with Monster Interlink 400 MKII interconnects and my Carver receiver mated to Infinity Overture 2 speakers with 12 gauge speaker wire and banana plugs.
Try it out, you won't be disappointed.
Pop in Sarah McLachlan's 'Surfacing' CD and play track number 2: WOW!

Similar Products Used: Sony 5 disc carousel from 1989 (still works)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
tariq   Audiophile [Mar 11, 2000]
Strength:

Convienence, Speed

Weakness:

Sound

Just wanted to follow up on my review below. I since bought the Sony changer for comparison. Indeed, the sony is more detailed, open and textrured with a brighter quality to the sound which I prefer. The Technics is faster at changing between discs and is more convienent as you can remove any disc while one is playing-you can't do this with the Sony. One feature I love about the Sony is the shuffle play(random) within one of eight categories of 25 discs. Oh ya, the Sony holds 200 discs. I will be returning the Technics. I should mention my speakers are very revealing-Vandersteen 1b's combined with a NAD Reciever. I might go with the Technics on a more inexpensive set up where the differences in sound might not be noticed. Also, the Technics is cheaper. New rating below.

Similar Products Used: Sony CDP-CX225
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Tariq   Audiophile [Mar 08, 2000]
Strength:

Convienence, Sound quality

Weakness:

None really, perhaps slightly loud(compared to a carousel type changer)

Well, I ended up with this player(Actually, the sl-MC4, same unit in 60+1 configuration) in a round about way. First, my 13 yr old Pioneer cd player died, then a friend gave me an older sony unit that sounded incredible but worked only have the time and skipped at that! Finally, I came up with the hairbrain idea of buying a DVD changer that would play all my cd's, including my cd-r's. Pioneer was the only game in town(the other changers don't play CD-R's best I can tell.) To make a long story short, the Pioneer sounded absolutely terrible when playing cd's-no soundstage at all, muffled, dead, you name it. Does a good job on DVD's though! Anyway, off I was on the search for a decent Cd player. My criteria was that it needed to sound as good as the excellent sounding Sony but Work! I bought the Technics for only $129 at circuit city(display model) and figured I would Probably end up bringing it back for a higher end Onkyo or Harmon kardoan. The Technics surprised me by sounding pretty good-Much, Much better than the DVD player and very close to the older Sony. The Sony perhaps has a slightly biger soundstage and is a little more open and transparent in the midrange, but they are very close. I figure I would have to pay close to 3 times the price on a new Sony ES model to match the sound of the older Sony and I'm not sure its worth it given how close the Technics is PLus I get Convienence.

A Great buy!

Similar Products Used: Pioneer, Sony, Nad
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Rich Clark   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 26, 1999]
Strength:

Speed of changing discs; quietness of mechanism; compact chassis; elegant appearance

Weakness:

Text entry is a chore; only five user groups, and you must use pre-fab names for them

It's too bad that Technics' mechanically elegant changer design isn't suitable for larger disc collections, because it becomes easy to overlook this brand when comparing it with 200- and 300-disc changers with similar price tags from other manufacturers.

But prospective buyers should stop a minute and really think about how they'll use the machine, and ask themselves whether there's any real benefit to larger units. Personally, I'd find managing 200 or 300 discs in a changer cumbersome; 110 is plenty.

I looked at Sony, Pioneer and JVC. The Technics was mechanically quieter, faster going from one disc to another in random mode, and significantly smaller. In these areas, it's the equal or better of the 2-magazine Pioneer it replaced. The other megachangers seemed bloated, clunky, noisy, and crude by comparison.

The audio quality of the Technics is excellent; no better or worse than other consumer-grade CD players. There's no audible noise or distortion, and the octave-to-octave balance using a pink-noise test CD is just fine.

The player displays the still-rare CD-Text data, but manual entry of text for other discs is very tedious; a keyboard port would have been a welcome feature, but I wasn't prepared to pay $80 extra for it. I suspect I'll be swapping discs from my 800+ CD collection frequently enough that I won't want to enter them anyway; I'll just keep the empty jewel boxes on a special shelf with corresponding slot numbers.

I do wish there were more than five groups into which discs could be organized (but it's nice that any group can include any number of discs, and discs can be in more than one group). And I wish you could name the groups instead of using one of the 14 hard-coded names (or leaving them as "Group A," etc.). But these are quibbles; I can live with "Group A."

My previous Technics gear -- a turntable and two cassette decks -- has all been reliable with excellent performance; my Panasonic TV and VCR likewise. I have high hopes for this CD changer, which I think was a bargain for $150.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer multi-magazine changer
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Alexander Jones   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 13, 2001]
Strength:

Price, capacity

Weakness:

Noise when changing discs, overheating

I picked up this unit at Best Buy in Minnesota about 2 years ago for $160, then got a price reduction. This is my first experience with Technics (although I have plenty of good experience with Panasonic -- both are owned by the Matsushida-Kotobuki Electronics Company). The sound is pretty good to me. The biggest issues I have are:

*This thing is noisy when changing discs.

*In the setting that I am in, this unit gets used a LOT, and when it overheats, watch out. I press disc 4, it plays disc 3 or 5. I don't why the manufacturer did not put vents on this unit.

Also, this unit is somewhat finicky about what CDs it will and will not read, but that is mostly for the CDRs. One sad thing about it though, my JVC from almost TEN years ago will read almost any CD on earth (8X oversampling), but this one, with the 1 bit DAC (oversampling was better), tends to be quite skippy. And one other issue, and it is probably because of my receiver, Kenwood KR-V2080, is that I cannot play it at normal output volume. I have to set the receiver to -3dB to get it to play without clipping. That's probably a receiver problem, though.

Overall, good value for the price...

Similar Products Used: Sony 5-Disc carousel (1997 model), JVC 1 disc (1993)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Christopher   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 24, 2000]
Strength:

Digital Optical Out, has been really reliable, sound and hey, the price.

Weakness:

none that I can think of, it is a little noisy changing CD's but that's no big deal.

My uncle originally bought this unit however when he got it home there were too many gadgets on it for him to use. I was in the process of buying a new CD player so I told him I'd buy it from him. I traded a Yamaha 4 trac MT120 (worth about $250.00 which is what they were selling for at FutureShop) for it so he could do some recording. This unit works remarkably well. Since I took it out of the box 6 months ago I have not had to do any imitations of Fonzie "smacking the jukebox" to make it work or to correct a Jam. The unit has been flawless. Typing and editing the disc's can be time consuming, however once you're done it is very rewarding...artist, album you don't have to use the CD jacket binder for reference. The sound in both the digital and analogue outs are very good. It is noisy changing CD's however that isn't a big deal. I really like the single slot it saves alot of hassles if you have edited all your other ones.If you are looking for a reliable Multidisc player that has good sound and at a good price, look no further, this Technic offspring is all you need. Hey evenmy wife enjoys using this, all her favorite CD's are filed,all she has to do is hit play.

Similar Products Used: Old RCA single CD player
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Sam Chan   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 30, 2000]
Strength:

Price, Sound, Features

Weakness:

Loud disc changing noises

This CD changer produces execllent sound with lots of features including optical digital output. The design is elegant unlike the carousel type which I found clumsy. The loud noises during discchanging is amplified by the flimsy metal cover. It can be remedied by attaching a piece of foam (I used a binder cover) to function as a damper (Not advised if you don't know what you are doing).

Similar Products Used: Kenwood
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 38  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com