Sony CDP-CX225 CD Players

CDP-CX225

CD Changer

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
eagle280   AudioPhile [Jan 24, 2004]
Strength:

None

Weakness:

Many

Sony Cd Player CDP-CX225 is dropping my discs ans ruining them. Piece of junk. Not heavy enough for a boat anchor.

Similar Products Used: JVC Mega changer XL-MC222 is great
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Bryan   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 12, 2000]
Strength:

Sound Quality for it's Price Range

Weakness:

Noise of "turntable" while changing the CDs.

As stated by another reviewer...my only dissapointment was that Sony's website has a few features listed that are not on this unit.

Let me say...I cannot believe how much better the quality of the music played through this CD Changer compared to an old single CD player I had! If you're looking for quality on the low end...this changer seems to be the way to go. I personally didn't want to invest much more money into a CD player when DVD-Audio/CD players are sure to be in full force a few years down the road.

Similar Products Used: First CD Changer
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Roger Wiseman   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 26, 1999]
Strength:

Value, sound quality.

Weakness:

Noise, time to change disks

This model seems to have relaced the CDP-CX210. The only difference appears to be the addition of a digital out. Caution- the Sony website lists several features such as a delete bank that this unit does NOT have. This is a basic unit. This suits me fine as I discovered with the CX53, I can just put the CD covers in the supplied binder and refer to it while playing music.

This unit replaced a 6 year old Sherwood 5010 5 disk changer that had gotten good reviews in its day. The Sony sounds better, which I hadn't expected.

Many folks have had problems with the mechanisms on these mega-changers. I bought the CX225 because it was on sale for $149.95 and I had had flawless performance from the CX53. I have noticed that the unit is fussy about the position of the disks in the slots. I was getting a clicking sound, but opening the door and tapping the disks to make sure they are properly seated seems to have eliminated this.

Similar Products Used: Sony CDP-CX53
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Tariq   Audiophile [Apr 12, 2000]
Strength:

Sound, build quality

Weakness:

slightly slow changing discs

I have used this product for over a month now and have been very happy with its flawless performance. Sound has only gotten better and maybee its my imagination or perhaps I have gotten used to it, but it seems like it changes discs a little faster now. Impressed with build quality. Very clean apperance, I think even nicer than the more expensive 300 disc carousels from sony(looks very much like the top of the line, discontinued ES 200 disc Carousel!) Price has dropped to $159 at Best buy and this is a real steal now. I can't recommend it enough!

Similar Products Used: pioneer dvd and cd players, older sonys, Nad cd players
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mark   Casual Listener [Feb 07, 2000]
Strength:

Low price, features, disc storage

Weakness:

Noisey changing discs, a little slow

I really have no problem with this unit for the price I payed to store, play, shuffle, and program 200 discs. The program feature is great, but I wish it was more that 32 selections(single songs or CD's or combination)I could make a killer 3-4 hour program for parties and just let it play. The turntable is a little loud so I placed it in a closet and ran some 25 foot cables from my Yamaha HTR-5150 receiver to it so I can't hear it. The shuffle feature is great to just sit back and jam for hours never knowing what song will pop up next. Sony always gives you a lot of features for the money and there products last from my experience. My last CD player lasted 15+ years with no service.

Similar Products Used: Sony single disc player
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Tariq   Audiophile [Mar 11, 2000]
Strength:

Sound, build quality

Weakness:

slow changing discs

Slow changing between discs but the sound quality for such a cheap unit is outstanding. Nice, open soundstage with lots of detail and texture in the midrange and a cerain smoothness that is not hard or digital at all. I also really like the ability to shuffle within one of the eight blocks of 25 discs. I tried other options such as a Pioneer DV-C302 DVD player and a cheaper Technics SL-MC4 changer but this Sony really does sound Superior-and for me, thats what its all about anyway. It seems to be built well also. I'm giving it a higher rating and overlooking its slight slowness in changing discs due to its great sound!

Similar Products Used: Technics SL-MC4, older Sony carousel, older pioneer, Pioneer DVD player
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Scott Shuster   Audiophile [May 27, 2000]
Strength:

Great to keep CDs this way and toss the jewel boxes...

Weakness:

Does not deliver a quality of sound acceptable in a high end system

I bought my first Sony 200-CD changer in 96 or 97, and loved it completely. It works flawlessly, doing all it should, never broke down...a dream device. And it was more than good enough for my old amplifier and speakers from the 1970s (albeit with Heil AirMotion Transformers! - best $70 I ever spent). But when I upgraded to a pair of Newform Research R-645 speakers (http://www.newformresearch.com), suddenly I started to hear just how bad a CD can sound! Was it the amplifier (a sony GA9ESG)? No, I eliminated that. Was it that the speakers had not settled in? No - I ran them long and loud for weeks. Finally I got a 96/24 DVD player (a Toshiba SD3109) and started to use that for CDs. Suddenly all my problems were over. The CDs that were giving me fits all sounded great. So: the Sony changers served me well for years and years, when I had a crummy system. But the minute I upgraded, they failed to make the grade. Be forewarned. By the way, if you put two sony CD-changers on top of each other they make a great little coffee-table and the changers remain a fine way to store and access 400 CDs!!

Similar Products Used: CX-270 - same story
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Aaron K   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 20, 2000]
Strength:

Digital Optical output, sounds great.

Weakness:

hmm, none that I really mind

I have had this cd player for about 18 months and while it doesn't get really heavy use, maybe 10 hours a week max, it has worked flawlessly for me for the entire time. 200 bucks well spent.

Similar Products Used: nothing similar
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Tariq   Audiophile [Jul 12, 2000]
Strength:

Great sound, Simple-elegant user interface.

Weakness:

ITS SCRATCHING MY DISCS AFTER DROPPING THEM!

Well, I thought I would post an update as I recently put my 4 month old Sony Megachanger in the shop. It worked great for the first few months of everyday heavy use(5 hours a day of shuffle play). Unfortunately, it started randomly droping cd's as it tried to replace tham and shuffle to the next random cd. This resulted in at least three of my cd's being completely ruined! Too bad, I really loved everything about this player. I don't know if I can really trust it when it returns from Sony. At the Rate it destroys cd's, I would probably be better off buying a changer from another manufacturer.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com