Sony CDP-CA7ES CD Players

CDP-CA7ES

5-disc carousel

User Reviews (21)

Showing 1-10 of 21  
LilCallaway   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 06, 2003]
Strength:

Helped with imaging and soundstage. Love the exchange function.

Weakness:

Not a big deal but I wish all changers would start the next disc faster.

I immediately noticed a difference with this piece in my system. I haven't noticed or had any of the problems others have. I was hesitant about buying a Sony piece (despite having other Sony pieces) mainly because their customer service is horrible. But the piece is great and would buy another if I had too. All I need now are some cables. Any recommendations.........

Similar Products Used: Marantz, non ES Sony cd player.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
DAVE M   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 09, 2002]
Strength:

excellent sound,changes CD''s quickly

Weakness:

alittle noisy;occasionally skips or "hangs-up" on certain discs(mostly CD''s borrowed from the local public library that aren''t in the best of shape)

Great sound for the price....based my selection on price & specs ...specs on this unit are better than the specs on current Sony units... sounds better than my old single-disc player Sony CDP-710 although the 710 tracked better overall...have had the random skip or "hang-up" with this unit but that is very rare...unit is alittle noisy changing CD''s & does make a tiny"beep" sound at the start of a track.. only reason for changing from the 710 was the 5-disc capablity (got tired of running down to rec room to change CD''s when listening to tunes in upstairs living room & kitchen)...710 was rock-solid ...hope this unit can be as trouble-free....saw an old STEREO REVIEW 1997.. equipment directory that listed this unit as having HDCD decoding ability, but nothing listed in the manual...so far I am enjoying the music !!

Similar Products Used: SONY CDP-710 single disc player (excellent unit)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
LJ   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 03, 2000]
Strength:

Great sound, quiet operation, nice interface, quick cd change, great construction, optical output

Weakness:

I can't think of any

I got this cd player used but it was in perfect condition except for a few scuffs. What can I say but that is is a superb cd player. The best one that I've owned by far. It has a very nice sound. I've had no experience with skipping whatsoever. Nothing interesting or insightful to say but the fact that I really like this player.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer, Yamaha, Onkyo
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Lance Kinley   Audio Enthusiast [May 16, 2000]
Strength:

Excellent sound for the price. Solid unit, zero problems.

Weakness:

Remote lacks functionality that my old, circa 1990 Sony single disc player had. Interestingly enough, the old remote works with this player, including the buttons that are missing from the new remote.

Stunning detail in this changer! I noticed an immediate difference when I plugged it in to my system, and the system isn't that great! Decent, but not great (yet!)

I've used it for 2 1/2 years now, with absolutely no skipping problems described here. The only disc it has skipped on was VERY scratched and scuffed, and yet it only had a slight problem with one track. I personally don't know why it even played! =)

Can't wait to hear it using the optical digital out...

System:
JVC Dolby Pro-Logic amp, circa 1993. The surround portion of the amp is dying, soon to be replaced with a Denon AVR-4800.
Panasonic A-112 DVD
Sony CA7ES changer
Klipsch KM4 speakers
Monster cable interconnects all around

Similar Products Used: Onkyo changer, non-ES Sony changer
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mark   Audiophile [May 10, 2000]
Strength:

Easy to use, super sound!

Weakness:

Lots of esoteric programming features are difficult to use

Overall, a great CD changer. I've been pleased with all Sony ES products I've owned, and this is no different. Bought it for $350 while stationed in Saudi Arabia with the military -- a super investment!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John Shelford   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 22, 2000]
Strength:

Good sound, but at the cost of a unit that skips on tracks one through five, on about 20% of CD's played. You try listening to opera that way - you can miss half of the plot!

Weakness:

Intermittent and seemingly random skipping.

As with other reviewers my unit skips to the start of the next track on new, clean discs. Sony has attempted to repair this four times, but given the experience of your other reviewers, I realise that that the problem is common to the unit and presumably is inherent with the unit. I am now requesting Sony replace the unit with a different model. I am happy with the sound quality, but the skipping makes the unit useless to me. Not only would I not recommend this model, I would suggest current owners make formal complaints to the manufacturer.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Sprout   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 10, 1999]
Strength:

Great sound
Easy to use controls

Weakness:

Skipping (see below)
Transport and drawer

I've had this unit for over 3 years now and am happy with the sound but getting extremely frustrated at the tracking of the unit. It always happens right in the middle of my favorite song: the player just decides it's had enough of this song and skips to the next song. I've had it in the shop 3 or so times for this and other problems but this problem was never fixed. Now it's past warranty and I'm planning on writing the manufacturer. It sounds like other people have had the same problems with this unit. I spent way too much on this player to get this kind of quality.

Similar Products Used: Onkyo 6 disc changer
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Brian   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 19, 2000]
Strength:

Great sound, when it's not skipping

Weakness:

skips on many discs, CDs occasionally are not recognized because they are not placed flat back onto the carousel

I have used my CA7ES for two years now, and I am pretty disappointed. It sounds great, I will grant you that. Many of my discs skip badly on this unit. And they don't just make little jumps int he sound, they skip without pause to the next track when probelms are encountered. Oddly enough, my little Sony X500 single disc player I bought for making MDs reads all these discs without a problem, even the discs that are obviously scratched and will not play on most CD players. Why can't Sony build this kind of robustness into their ES line?

The other big problem is that many times, especiall on random play, the player will replace the disc back onto the tray just slightly off-center, and then of course it doesn't recognise it the next time it comes around. So if you set up 5 discs for random play (the whole reason for me getting a changer), about one hour into it you will be lucky if all 5 discs are still recognized.

I know it's out of production, but I don't know if the new version has fixed these problems. If you can still find this at a bargain price, I'm not sure i would recommend it. Sorry, Sony ES.

Similar Products Used: JVC cartdrige-type changers, sony single-disc
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Shane   Audiophile [Apr 13, 2000]
Strength:

Build Quality, Sound Quality, Optical Out

Weakness:

None that I'm aware of.

I recently purchased this unit second hand but it was brand new in the packaging. The sound quality is rich and vibrant on every disc I play. The quality is amazing. The unit is heavy and hasn't skipped yet on any of my discs and some of them are scratched to heck.
I highly recommend this player. Extremely Top Notch

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dave   an Audio Enthusiast [Feb 13, 1999]

I just purchased this CD changer and there is a dramatic increase in the dynamic range from my previous changer(Technics). I do have a couple of criticisms. The remote is sparce with controls. There is no button for Power On or to kick the disc tray out. This seems unexcuseable for a Sony ES product. Even my old Technics had that much going for it! Otherwise the sound is clear perhaps even a little bright.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 21  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com