RCA RP 8070 5 Disc CD Changer CD Players

RCA RP 8070 5 Disc CD Changer CD Players 

DESCRIPTION

The RCA RP-8070 features a 5-disc carousel so you can enjoy hours and hours of your favorite music without hearing the same track twice. A programmable 32-track digital memory lets you customize your own playlists, and with simultaneous play-and-load, you can change discs while a CD is still playing. A 20-key full function remote control keeps system access close at hand.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-9 of 9  
[Jul 17, 2006]
jimbob66
Casual Listener

Strength:

When it played well, it was okay. Achieved some high C's that the Bose couldn't handle. But it was a short-lived success.

Weakness:

audio control was useless after a year.

Tray was erratic, finally wouldn't open..

The worst unit from the day I bought it. Dealer was 60 miles away, thought the unit would eventually be okay, but nay.

It had two problems. The first was the audio knob, which was inconsistent, then it was hit-or-miss on whether I could crank it to any appreciable volume.

Then the tray, which finally wouldn't open. I couldn't even turn off the unit (via the normal method--on/off switch!!

I would not buy another RCA product.

Customer Service

Things really went wrong within two months of the warranty expiration. My timing stunk, I couldn't get up to Best Buy in time.

Similar Products Used:

Bose (no multi-disk tray, of course) and a Sony boom-box.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[May 26, 2006]
Russ L
Casual Listener

Strength:

Decent product for money. I paid 79.00 in 2001, and you can find it now for under 50.00 in some places. It's fine for the casual listener

Weakness:

Noisy tray and compartment mechanisms.

I got 5 decent years out of the RCA-8070, so I would say I got my money's worth. just died last week. Always a slightly awkward, shaky, noisy open/close compartment mechanism. Also noisy tray rotation. Limited features, but served most of my needs from 2001-06. However, I will be upgrading to better-quality product to replace the RCA.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 09, 2004]
vik
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

sound quality is not that bad! laid back, mushy sounding, lacking dynamics and performs poorly at the frequency extremes, but not bad considering the low price. Not harsh or fatiguing like a lot of other players.

Weakness:

Cheap build quality, noisy operation, makes an awful transport. With my headphones I can hear the cd spinning and shuffling inside the cd player.

This is an update to my review below...the RCA just died today. The cd tray no longer opens. I'm not going to bother getting it fixed. $70 down the drain. At least it lasted me 1.5 years, which appears to be a long time for this unit.

Similar Products Used:

NAD C541, Sony CDP-C345

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Aug 03, 2003]
vik
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Built ok, inexpensive, makes a great transport for use with an external DAC.

Weakness:

Sound quality is average, noisy operation.

I'm sorry to hear so many people are having problems with this unit. Mine has worked flawlessly for the past 11 months. I find it easy to operate, although the disc spinning mechanism is noisy and the unit lacks some advanced features (such as showing remaining track time). Audio quality is OK, about what you would expect from a cheap player - mushy midrange and rolled off highs and bass. Fortunately the unit has a digital output (optical), so I connected an external DAC. This player makes a great cheap transport and seems built ok, so I think it represents a good buy for the money.

Similar Products Used:

None in this price range.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 05, 2003]
MaxxC
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

None that I can think of.....Guess I should be thankful that the unit was of such poor quality that it fell apart right away.

Weakness:

Are you kidding.

When I was a kid my Father was always big into RCA as were many other fathers at the time. Good products that were built! Unfortunatly this isn't your Fathers RCA. I had several RCA products in the early 1990's that I received as graduation gifts. All were glitchy, buggy, offered poor performance per dollar and had short lives before giving up the ghost. Christmas of 2001 I was assembling my Daughters first stereo system. Was waiting to buy a Technics or Kenwood Carousel player but they were never in stock. Left with little choice (in my budget range) I pulled the trigger and December 24th reluctantly bought this inexpensive RCA. On December 28th the unit went back and was replaced with a Kenwood unit. The RCA had so many glitches and problems right out of the box that it was obvious RCA was still selling garbage.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Mar 29, 2003]
Barbara Carlsward
Casual Listener

Strength:

Can't say I ever witnessed any.

Weakness:

Won't play my CD's.

I bought this CD player to replace a Pioneer that died after 8 years of good use.....After several months, the RCA stopped playing CD's randomly (it would always choose one or two CD's and would not play any others). Now, after the warranty has expired, I'm lucky if the RCA player will play any of my CD's (the display tells me there are no CD's in the machine). I'm talking about CD's I bought from the store (not CDR's)!.....Maybe I just got a lemon?

Similar Products Used:

Pioneer 5 disc player

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Feb 06, 2002]
Brandon Boyce
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Good price, good aesthetics, optical output

Weakness:

Glitches

Looks to be a decent little CD player, especially for the price if it were for the glitches. Mine was a "factory refurbished" unit but apparently it wasn''t "refurbished" enough. It will stop in the middle of a CD and refused to play, then it goes to the next CD and can''t read it, and so on until all 5 cd slots show up as empty and you have to open the drawer to reset it.

Similar Products Used:

JVC XL-V142 single disc cd player... got ripped off by a pawn shop on this one.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 15, 2001]
Mike Tague
Casual Listener

Strength:

About everything

Weakness:

None

This is a great product. I would recomend this product. Real Deal. (NO I DO NOT WORK FOR UBID)

Similar Products Used:

Kenwood

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 23, 2001]
Spencer
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Multi CD Changer

Weakness:

Speed of CD Change over

RCA has come up with an inexpensive CD changer. With a heavy
discount, I shouldn't complain.

I use to DJ up and down on the east coast. Now I am announcing games for my son's CCC West HS. Hockey team.

During the 2000 - 2001 season it worked fine. This season I
notice it is having what I will hopefully call minor glitches.

I purchased an Opitcal Digital audio cable to connect it to
my Kenwood VR307. Hopefully I may be able to improve an already good system.

So far minor glitches and speed are it's only weaknesses.

Similar Products Used:

Various

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com