Pioneer PD-F908 CD Players

PD-F908

101 Disc CD Changer

User Reviews (13)

Showing 1-10 of 13  
ifmelfalls   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 21, 2008]
Strength:

It holds 101 cds
it lets you group your cd's

Weakness:

The remote
It takes forever to program a group of CDs you want to play if it's more then 10 in a group
It's noisy and slow when changing cds
the previos function is useless. It would be nice if it would recall the last few song i heard NOT the CD
It skips a lot
It's hard to scan through CDs looking for a song because it takes so long
The unit is big and clunky and cheaply made
Sometimes when I try to unload the player, the door closes on me a few times before it finally stays open and lets me unload it

I have never liked this stupid thing.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
nm2112   AudioPhile [Dec 27, 2003]
Strength:

Inexpensive, fast, easy to use, reliable

Weakness:

Single loader, open/close and unload functions not on remote.

Pioneer PD-F908 File-Type Compact Disc Player This is the one!!! I have been slowly overhauling my home entertainment system and decided it was time to upgrade my compact disc player. My new A/V receiver doesn't have the capability of connecting via remote to my reliable Technics SL-PC14 5 Disc CD Player that I have been using for 12 years. I was getting tired of having to get up and manually doing everything that a remote does. I was originally going to upgrade with another 5 disc CD player, but I didn't realize how low the prices for the CD jukebox changers were. For the amount of CD's they hold and all of the functions they are capable of I decided this was the direction I wanted to go. I had my eye on a 300 disc changer but heard too many negative reviews about the system. It won't play the first track on CD's, it skips while playing tracks or won't even play CD's at all. CD's have been dropped and fallen into the back of the machine, breaking them, jamming the machine and rendering it unusable until it was taken apart and the broken CD's removed. Although it had a lot of nice features and is a very attractive machine it didn't seem worth the risk to me. My wife and I have over 730 CD's and every single one plays without skipping in our Technics disc player. So buying replacement CD's is not an option. Therefore I went back to the drawing board. I didn't want the issues or complications that a jukebox CD changer had the potential to have. I would rather have a machine with no frills that is dependable than have one that is always giving me problems and ending up not being worth the hassle, and wishing that I had never bought it. So the plan was to just go with another 5 disc changer. After browsing through a store one day looking at the CD players I happened across the Pioneer PD-F908. Once again my curiosity was peaked. The thought of having so many CD's instantly at my disposal wanted me to give this type of CD changer another look. Pioneer has a solid reputation. It was only 20 dollars more than the 5 disc player I was planning on buying. Plus it holds 101 CD's giving me access to 96 more at my fingertips. I went home and did some research on this unit and after a few days of deliberation I decided I would give it a try. This is the first Pioneer product I have ever bought and it will not be the last. For the price this is a wonderful machine. When I got it home and was taking it out of the box I felt like a kid on Christmas morning. It is easy to set up, easy to use, and fast, changes disc's in 10 seconds. It is also shorter than the larger capacity jukeboxes, which makes it easier to store in smaller entertainment centers. The PD-F908 has played every single CD I have put into it without fail. Every function has worked flawlessly. The remote is small and simple. Here are a few of it's features: CD-DECK SYNCHRO jack Optical digital output jack Single loader slot All, Single and Custom modes Best, Previous and Hi-Lite functions Fast Forward/Reverse Jogging modes and Random Play Having over 730 CD's a 300 or 400 disc player wouldn't hold them all anyway. I am glad I went for with the PD-F908 instead of the others with larger capacity. I have not regretted purchasing this product for a second. If you are looking for a reliable, inexpensive CD jukebox changer you have found it.

Similar Products Used: Technics SL-PC14 5 Disc CD Player
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
BJP100679   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 01, 2003]
Strength:

Holds a lot of discs all at once. Plays "store bought" CD's perfectly (to this day).

Weakness:

Does not play most CD-R's without skipping. Maybe I just have a defective unit, but it skips more often than it did in the beginning. Even to a black CD-R I made a little over a day ago; it skips terribly and is brand new.

I bought this CD changer in July of 2001. I really liked it. But about a year later, I started to experience problems with it playing blue/silver CD-R discs. I paid an extra $35 for warranty to last me until July of 2005 through Best Buy, and have now taken it in twice to try to get this problem fixed. The first time I took it in, the guy told me to switch to black CD-R discs. So I did, to about 65 discs total. But still, that didn't fix the problem. Having Best Buy clean it twice and run some sort of 3 hour test which they say passed still makes mine not play all CD-R's, no matter what color they are. So now I don't know what to do with it at this point; taking it back to Best Buy *again* would probably be nothing but a waste of time.

Similar Products Used: Teac PD-D1200, Sony CDP-CX53.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
mikecovert03   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 25, 2003]
Strength:

This unit is nice for people who have alot of discs, enjoy have many features on thier players and love good sound quality. This CD Changer is worth every penny!!!

Weakness:

ARE YOU KIDDING!!! Really!! This unit ROCKS!

What a buy!! This unit has all that anyone with a stereo needs to enjoy many hours of listening. This thing has alot of awsome features, especially its BEST button. This feature allows me to select 20 of my most favorite songs, it stores the track and disk numbers in its own memory bank and allows you togo back and listen to those songs without remembering what disk they are on and what songs they are! Just put the thing in stop mode and push the BEST button. Cool Yeah!! With a frequency response of 2Hz-24kHz were can you go wrong.I think that just about anyone can find a great deal of enjoyment in this unit. PIONEER Thank You!!!!

Similar Products Used: This is my first CD changer. I've reveiwed many CD changers and not that many compared. I hope to hold on to this one for as long as I can!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tim   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 04, 2000]
Strength:

Fast changer, good remote, decent sound, good price.

Weakness:

No cd text display

Don't listen to the guy that says it doesn't play CD-R's. Maybe he's got some problem with his recorder, because mine plays CD-R's fine. The only real complaint I have is there's no CD-Text display, but they do have a version of this that does have it for around $20 more. The remote is very good, performs all functions except open(but why would you do that from far away?), and the player picks up the signal without having to be in direct sight of the remote. Sound is good...I've heard people say it's subpar, but I haven't had any problems. Disc access is fast and easy. Paid about $170 for it at Circuit City. Highly recommended for people not looking to spend a fortune.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dusty   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 28, 2000]
Strength:

It plays CD's

Weakness:

Remote, sound, features, no disc exchange, noisy loading, terrible display, quiet large, and its a megachanger which is bad enough for me

This is my uncles cd changer that he bought with a Pioneer system and i hate it. it doesnt sound great at all, has very few features (and NO disc exchange which is TERRIBLE!)
it looks ugly and bulky and its just terrible. (also all megachangers are useless. they all sound terrible and are inconvenient, except for people who are too lazy to get up and put a different cd
but thats about it
the remote is terrible too. cant stand it

Similar Products Used: if talking about quality wise, this is too low to compare to anything
cd player wise, Sony players
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
David Gonzalez   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 20, 2000]

This is a very good CD player, I have had it for over a year now and it has worked wonderfully, I don't know what that guy was saying about not playing CD-R's but I have a few playing on it all the time. The remote is good and the optical output is a plus. I would recommend this unit to anyone. I'm giving it 4 stars because I haven't had another player to compare it too.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Lance   an Audio Enthusiast [May 29, 1999]

I was in the market for a new CD changer so I decided to give this model a try. For the price ($152 on sale at Best Buy), I am quite satisfied with it. The rack design makes it easy to load/unload discs, and the single play slot makes it fast and easy to pop in that one CD you want to hear right away. It has a multi-function remote with direct disc and track access as well as FF/REV, Track +/-, and all of the programming features (unlike my previous changer where some major functions could only be accessed from the front panel of the player). An optical digital output is also on this unit for connection to a MD/CD recorder or a digital ready receiver. The sound quality for a changer at this price is better than I expected. It's a great value for the money and I am definitely satisfied with it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Scott Reisdorf   an Audio Enthusiast [Aug 10, 1999]

This is a horrible cd player. Sure it might play cds; however in todays society many people want to play CD recordables in there cd player, which this machine Cannot do. I have a 10 year old Sony 5 disc changer and it plays CDRs just fine. You would think that in 10 years, Pioneer might be able to improve there technology a little. After finding this does not play CDRs I purchased the Sony CX230 200 disc changer which plays CDRs beautifully and sounds Fantastic. All of Sonys mega cd changers have the capability of playing CDRS, while none of Pioneers can. If you want a CD changer, DONT BY THIS ONE, BUY A SONY!!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
Jazzman   an Audio Enthusiast [Sep 16, 1999]

Bought this unit almost on a whim. Saw it in a BestBuy add for $175 and said "100 disc player for 175 bucks, its gotta be garbage". Well, checked it out, looked at the features, and said what do I have to lose. Hell, I paid double that for my single disc player way back. I can honestly say that I am quite happy at this point. It has many features, but in all honesty, I have only really used the random mode and the "Best" feature which save your 20 favorite tracks to play whenever. The random mode is great, I hear songs and albums that I haven't heard in years. My wife and I just look at each other sometimes and say "I haven't heard that in forever." The CD also change much faster than I thought they might. I don't think I ever really stand there waiting for the next song.
The sound to me is excellent. I bought this unit partially because of the Optical Digital Output. I now have a new Denon AVR-2800 receiver and the sound is beautiful. This brings to me a question regarding these >>$1000 CD players. If you're sending digital signals to the receiver, what do you get out of a expensive CD Player. A "0" is a zero and a "1" is a one right? I'm curious if someone can explain to me what you may be losing.

Overall, I wonder if I should have purchased the 300 disc player, and perhaps there are a few other features some might like to have, but for the money, I think I have to give it a 5.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com