Onkyo DX-C370 CD Players

DX-C370

User Reviews (14)

Showing 1-10 of 14  
keepitsimplestupid   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 25, 2003]
Strength:

easy to use, durable(has made several apartment moves without original packaging (wraped in towels or blankets), great software operating system, stores 6 discs, drawer mechanism isn't incredibly noisy

Weakness:

stores 6 discs (makes the unit very large and cumbersome), not the greatest sound available on the market, i don't think it is available any longer

I bought this cd changer as a demo model in 2000 and was planning on replacing it with something better (more pricey)(but i have yet to find one that exceeds this one's overall abilities) I compared it to an NAD 523 changer and can honestly say that this one sounded better (NAD sounded shallow, not quite as full of sound) also, Onkyo has a much better software system, things work quickly and intuitively (for example, you can put a cd into any one of the disc trays, and push that number disc and walk away....the disc player closes and plays the music in about 6 seconds)...I also compared it to a Harman Kardon 8380 (which has 20 bit Burr Brown convertors...and plays HDCDs)....Here, the Onkyo lost in sound quality...the Harman Kardon has slightly more detail and refined bass, but it also had problems finding discs (would fail at going from say, disc 1 to disc 4, about 1 out of 8 times....pretty annoying)...also with the HK, you had to wait every time you opened and closed the tray for it to cycle around all 5 discs before it would play the disc you wanted and it required you to push the "close tray " button, "disc number" button and the "play" button...(took about 12 seconds) if you want audiophile sound (and who doesn't?) i don't think you will find it in a cheap cd changer, i am now on the hunt for a single cd player for that purpose...for multidisc playback...this cd player is great, easy to use and sounds alright on my NAD t571 A/V amp and Paradigm monitor 7 v2 speakers

Similar Products Used: NAD 523 (worse sound, less intuitive operating system) Harman Kardon 8380 (better sound, horrible operating system)
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
dan christensen   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 27, 2003]
Strength:

Well made Not too big Nice features

Weakness:

None i have noticed

I love this thing! I have never had a problem with it and works as well as it did when i bought it about 3 years ago. You can probly find it for cheaper than i got it for and even for the price i paid i think it is worth it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
tlk tl   Audiophile [Feb 07, 2000]
Strength:

good sound for the price 6 disc changer

Weakness:

low s/n ratio of the player at least fo my taste .

this is a very good player but i was not satified with the lows/n ratio of this player 92db which is low for me but other than that it sound is very good used it for a month
while waiting for dx-7211 and returned it after that
the sound will satisfy 99% of listeners and is highly recomended as 7211 is not made anymore now
equipment amps onkyo a-9211
speakers-onkyo d032ax

Similar Products Used: dx-7211 denon sony
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Jeff   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 26, 2000]
Strength:

6 disc carousel, while others brands are 5. Changes discs quickly.

Weakness:

Door open and tray rotation are a bit on the noisy side. Display could be a little bigger.

Overall, I'm pleased with the performance of this unit.This
unit's SN ratio and dynamic range are lower than the Technics player in my upstairs system, but in real world listening, can you really tell the difference? I say no.
Unit switches between discs quickly. It also matches my Onkyo receiver and cass.deck perfectly. In short, the unit
does it's job, and does it very well. A good solid CD player, and a good value as well.

Similar Products Used: Technics SL-PD8
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Erin   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 03, 2000]
Strength:

nice piece, plays smooth, not too big.

Weakness:

none.

lol, I'm no expert, but own many audio products, so I can say that it's a quality piece. There was no problems opening and closing the player as I have experienced before. The sound is smooth and hasn't yet skipped. The whole piece is durable and fits well with the rest of my system.

Similar Products Used: several
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Gary   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 12, 2000]
Strength:

Solid construction, Clean Sound, matches my Onkyo TX-SV373 receiver perfectly, and it can be controlled from my receivers remote via the RI cable, holds 6 discs

Weakness:

none so far

This is a solid cd player for the money. I tried a sony before this but it felt real cheap and was very noisy. This unit is relatively quiet and has a very smooth drawer. The sound is about what you would expect; just good, clean cd sound.

I got mine for $190 at Circuit City on sale. The regular price is $230 at Crutchfield, etc.

I am very please with this unit. It provides solid cd playback and is very simple to use. Highly recommended.

Similar Products Used: Sony CD Player
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Patrick Watkins   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 05, 2001]
Strength:

solid and reliable

Weakness:

no power button on remote

I took back the Technics SL-PD8 to HH Gregg in Nashville where I bought it. It simply would not read cd's of any variety. The very next day I was in the Shopryland Mall and wandered into the Bose store. It was Clearance time and I picked up this model for $150. I've been listening to a marvelous plethora of music every day ever since. I have it running through a 10 band BSR equalizer and an old Channel Master tube amp and a Vintage Pioneer Receiver from the 70's. The hi-filter on the Pioneer is the best filter I've ever heard and I hate filters especially that gawd-awful Dolby stuff. The high filter cuts that nasty signal to noise ratio way down. Frankly the dern system has never sounded so good. I have 2 Vintage Bose 301's (wood not plastic) for speakers. And occasionally I hook in my Monsoon Flat panel computer speakers too. The clarity of the Monsoons adds tremendously to the warmth of the Bose speakers and I am awash in discrete frequencies. I am talking about a WALL of sound. Next step is to get a Onkyo Receiver and try out the optical connection.

Similar Products Used: Technics SL-PD8
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Terry   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 25, 1999]

Every feature you need and very solid construction. A fine product and decent value, like most Onkyo products. I don't have the knowledge to get technical, but I can say that it sounds great, and everything "works" the way it should.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Rick Cheese   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 12, 2001]
Strength:

6 discs, excellent sound

Weakness:

display is too damn small

This CD player is great, absolutely no complaints. It really doesn't make that much noise between discs...besides who really cares, if it bothers you that much, return it to the store and then go purchase a life...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jon   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 21, 2002]
Strength:

Solid build, great sound, digital optical out connection, next selection feature, very easy to use

Weakness:

absolutely none

This is actually a review for the 2001 model, the DX-C380.

I narrowed my choice of CD player down to this one and the Yamaha CDC-685. Both have excellent reputations, and the Yamaha has an advantage of a nice telephone-style number pad to directly input the track number, whereas the Onkyo requires scrolling using forward/backward keys, although numbers can be directly entered in from the remote. The advantage of the Onkyo is that it has 6 disc capacity instead of 5, and has a very clever 'Next Selection' function which lets you tell the chanegr what to do next. So, if Disc 2 Track 3 is playing, you can tell it to play Disc 6 track 9 next, and enver have to have the music interrupted, or rush over when the song currently playing is done. This can be accessed by remote as well as on the unit. Prices between the 2 units are roughly identical, about $170 for the Onkyo, and about $200 for the Yamaha.

Playing around on E-bay, I found a factory refurbished unit from an Onkyo authorized dealer with full factory warranty. I jumped on it, and paid $75.00 for the CD player. The vendor was Best Price Audio Video (bestpriceaudiovideo.com) a Cleveland dealer who was very good on customer service, and shipped within 48 hours of reveicing my payment.

I was a little skeptical about the refurbished unit, until it arrived. The box said "refurbished Unit, Cosmetic Defects," and that made me feel great. Apparently the actual inner workings of the CD player were always perfect, there was just some cosmetic issue that required refurbishing. The CD Changer I got looked absolutely perfect, not a single blemish on it, and there was even a plastic sheet over the display to protect it from scratching.

All in all I feel I got an amazing steal. Had I paid full price, I probably would be writing the exact same review, but for under $100 this is a steal. And, the best part is, I have seen more of these on E-bay from best price audio video, so I think they routinely get these refurbished units to sell for amazing prices. Jump on this deal if you find it, this CD player is built like a tank and will last for years to come.

I hope this helps some people decide, and feel free to e-mail me with questions about this or any other piece of my system. Thanks!

My System:
Denon 3801
Ascend Acoustics CBM-170 front speakers
Ascend Acoustics HTM-200 center/rear speakers
Hsu VTF-2 Subwoofer
JVC XV-SA70BK DVD Player
Onkyo DC-X380 CD Changer
Toshiba CN36X81 TV

Similar Products Used: Yamaha CDC-685
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com