Nakamichi MB-3s CD Players

MB-3s

Dual 18 bit D/A converter

User Reviews (16)

Showing 1-10 of 16  
d. ostertag   Audio Enthusiast [May 19, 2015]

It is now May19, 2015
I bought the unit new in the mid 80's It has worked all this time until now. "Er" flashing along with 1-7 lights. 30 years isn't too bad. RIP Nakamishi MB-3s....Owned and used it 1/2 of my life! Their tape decks are still going strong though.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Steve   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 18, 2009]

I have a Nakamichi MB-2s Music bank cd player. I must say this has been the most reliable cd player I have ever owned.
I have never seen the dreaded "ERROR" on my 1996 Nak MB-2s.
I never load more then 2-4 discs at a time.. maybe that has something to do with it.
I love and cherish this player!!!
I had a Mcintosh MCD-something..... It died, laser problem, so out of the bedroom came the Nak to save the day.
It now sits above my Mcintosh MC-2300, C-28 and my MR-78, it does not fit but it works great and sounds great through my ADS 910's.
It has NEVER let me down.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tom   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 16, 2007]
Strength:

Great sound. Solid construction.

Weakness:

loading tray keeps jamming. Noisy disc change takes too long.

This is a great sounding CD player; great audio quality. Unfortunately, the loading tray on these things jammed - you'd hear a 'clunk' and get an error message. It was a design flaw. Changing between discs in the 'elevator' system was also noisy and took a long time. I devised a fix to prevent the door from jamming on mine, but later I sold it. I wish I didn't sell - my repair worked very good, and the Nak is a great sounding CD player.

Customer Service

never used it

Similar Products Used: Magnavox CDB650. Sony CDP-CE375
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Greg Olsen   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 08, 2003]
Strength:

My MB-3 sounds great but ......

Weakness:

About every 10 uses I get the evil ERROR message on the display and have to take the changer apart and fish the CDs out. Then I have to fiddle with it for about 20 minutes until it starts changing properly again. The individual CD trays jam up in there and I cannot figure out why. Any ideas how to fix this? Lubrication? Adjustment?

Typically unreliable Nak stuff. I have had their wonderful sounding tape decks let me down too. Howeever I still want one of each (tape and CD)in my collection.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
dgordon   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 25, 2002]
Strength:

Excellent sound: warm with an excellent sound stage.

Weakness:

CD changer mechanism jams

I compared this unit with a Denon single player, and the sound of the Nak just blew it away! Purchased in Dec '95, I found that the unit worked reliably for about 3 years. I had a problem with it automatically closing when I was putting or taking off a CD in '98. It was fixed and worked until 2002, when the CD tray jammed up on me. I heard from the service centre that this was a big problem with these units well after I purchased this player. Even though I have had it 7 years, I don't feel it was worth the money, considering the $200 Technics that I have from 1990 is still working. This is Nak's main downfall, excellent parts & sound but shoddy assembly & quality control on their CD players & receivers. They have lost me as a consumer.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Ian   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 29, 2002]
Strength:

Great sound. Innovative engineering. Sound design.

Weakness:

Weak disc changers. Poor problem resolution.

MB-3 (not the 's') worked great and sounded wonderful until MusicBank quit just before warranty ran out. Nak fixed the unit under warranty and I got 2 more years of fun until the drive quit again. No changing discs, and almost impossible to insert/remove discs. At this point, Nak refused to help me out in any way (except to give free parts, but the price of shipping/labor was more than a cheap, reliable single-disc player would cost) even though their disc changing mechanism is clearly flawed. Last time I bought Nak.

Similar Products Used: 1987 NAD single disc (still in use without repair!), 1998 Yamaha single disc
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
Tony Charsley   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 26, 2002]
Strength:

Great sound, good reliable service

Weakness:

mechanism sounds noisy when changing discs

The MB3S has been on the rack for almost 8 yrs now and has been a great reliable machine. It sounds good even today when compared to some of the new models. It recently jammed a CD in the music bank which required a replacement stacker unit with laser etc. 8 yrs after manufacture you can still get parts and service was within great.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Charles Wells   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 01, 2001]
Strength:

Easy disc loading, multiple disc handling fantastic sound.

Weakness:

Not much in the way of adjustments. Can only program with the remote.

I've had this unit since new. Bought in 1996. Has performed
flawlessly. Never have had one problem with it. I bought it not only because it sounded good, but because of Nakamichi reputation. I had an older Nakamichi Cassette deck that was
wonderful. I am sorry to hear that others have had a bad experience with theirs, not the case for me. It has provided
many years of enjoyment and listening pleasure. If it died
tomorrow, I feel that I would have gotten my moneies worth
from it, and I would buy another Nak. The random play feature using all loaded discs is really nice. Disc changes
are so fast that, it is hard to tell that it has switched to
another disc. If not for the sound of the mechanism, to me
it would be inperceptable. I love this CD player.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Michael De Luca   an Audio Enthusiast [Oct 30, 1998]

Several years ago I decided to upgrade my CD player. I wanted the best so I decided to buy a NAK. After listening to all models, I decided on the MB3s. I liked the idea of the 7 CD cartridge. Sounded great. Loved it.
After about a year it started to skip on occasion. It got worse over time. After getting it back from service it was better for about a month then proceeded to get worse.

Now the CD tray mechanism has gotten so sensitive that it has actually closed on a couple of CD's before properly seated and damaged them.

This deck is a nightmare!!!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
franny   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 04, 2001]
Strength:

sounds,sounds,sounds and easy front panel

Weakness:

play exchange

excellent cd player, sound quality is awesome. I could definetly tell the difference between other cd players. the nak stands out by itself. So far I haven't had a problem with my unit. this cd player is very good

Similar Products Used: hk,yamaha
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 16  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com