Nakamichi MB-2s CD Players

MB-2s

Dual 18-bit d/a converters

User Reviews (15)

Showing 1-10 of 15  
Steve Brant   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 18, 2007]
Strength:

Reliability!!!!!!
Reliability!!!!!!

Weakness:

Hmmmmmm........... I only paid $20.00 bucks for it?

I bought the Nakamichi MB-2s without any great expectations... $20.00. I have been using it for a year now with out any problems. I have had much more expensive equipment that failed me! Great changer... fine sound.

Customer Service

No need !!

Similar Products Used: MCD-7000
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
tbcquixote   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 04, 2005]
Strength:

Musicality, simplicity, plays everything I've tried.

Weakness:

Unusual display, some limit to control options, but then

Up until purchasing this unit on a whim, I was convinced that the important components to emphasize in a modest audiophile system were speakers (my maggies) and a stable adequate amp that had adequate amperage to work effortlessly with the speakers. CD players and DVD players I thought were more or less equivalent. Since the 80's I liked Nakamichi the sound of Nakamichi tape decks and their stong entry audiophile receivers. Like most people I think I have listened more and more to CD music (and my old Nak decks have rested more and more). I just never worried too much about that component. An opportunity came up to by an old MB-2 for $80 and I figured "why not, maybe it will work with my old TA-3A remote!" I have owned Sony, JVC, AKAI, Pioneer and other players and never really noticed much difference between them. In fact, the main difference seemed to be what disks they skipped on and didn't read well. I swapped it for my new JVC thinking I'd move that to my son's basement system, and WOW! The sound was so very different. It was clear, and the mids seems effortless and, well, more real. I put on a variety of music from female vocal Celtic stuff to Apocalyptica (cellos playing Metallica). The sound was all more round and less tinny without being at all muddy. It's like listening to fresh new recordings. I am still going through my music and listening all over again to all those recordings I thought I knew so well, and have put countless hours in listening over the last month. The last time I had to do this was when I switched my speakers to the Maggies. The display took a bit getting used to. Not a lot of details and very basic display and controls. However over the month I have come to appreciate the uncluttered display. It lists the disk playing, the remaining tracks on the disk, and time in the current track. Oh, about those unreadable skipping disks, it has played everything I have given it flawlessly, including various CD-Rs. The MusicBank system changes the disks quietly, quickly and efficiently. Oh, and the variable output level control for headphones and for connecting to the pre-amp is just an added bonus. My only problem with the unit is that now I think I'll have to upgrade this part of my home theater and secondary system.

Similar Products Used: Sony, Akai, Pioneer, JVC etc.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ALEX JEUDY   Casual Listener [Jul 28, 2003]

I WAS BUILDIND UP MY SYSTEM STEREO,THEN A FRIEND GOT ME THE IDEA TO CHECK WITH A PAWN SHOP,CONVINCING ME TO GO SO MUST OF THE TIME THEY HAVE GOOD STUFF, SO I DID THAT WAS MY LUCKY STILL BRAND NEW TO ME.IALSO FOUND THE SINGLE CASSETTE DECK 480.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
robertwb1970   AudioPhile [Jul 14, 2003]
Strength:

great sound and multi disc convenience without stupid magazines-plus variable output for direct to amp hook-up-also coax digital output for transport use

Weakness:

none yet

I bought this unit in late 1992 and have not had any problems with it-and I still use it daily-being rather old now I've been thinking of upgrading-problem is I have not found anything near this price that sounds as good-I think the qaulity of naks cd players went down dramaticaly after the one I have(mine does not look like the picture posted here)I think overall the sound is very well balanced-thats the best way I can put it-have not compared it to anything else in my system for quite some time though

Similar Products Used: yamaha cd changer(carousel style)1991model
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rick   AudioPhile [Jun 07, 2003]
Strength:

Sound quality, quietness, controls.

Weakness:

Frequency of repair.

Too bad the changer is so unreliable - it plays so well when it's working! Just had a major lock up for the third time in the last 10 months. I've had it with repair shop visits so the Nak will have to go - out with the trash!

Similar Products Used: NAD
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
glenhast   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 05, 2003]
Strength:

None.

Purchased MB-2S in 1999 and although first impressed with design, operation and sound quality, MusicBank 7-disc drive first failed in 2001. I have subsequently learned that this NAK mechanism is rarely reliable. In my unit's case, changer stalls/jams ("ER" indication appears/flashes on display) and it has damaged CDs. Changer drive fails when its lower center post stops/jams a CD tray. Independent NAK techs have unanimously advised there is no root cause for this common S-series failure. NAK came up with modifications (which didn't work well), and then abandoned service on them because it couldn't resolve a host of issues. One service center candidly advised that even with expensive, time-consuming repair, "the odds are about 60/40 against the player being reliable for more than 6 months at a time." Impressed by NAK technicians around the country but as a long-time NAK enthusiast, I will look to other manufacturers in the future. Sad... Note: Nakamichi out-sourced their factory repair in 2001-2002.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Cranky Boy   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 12, 2002]
Strength:

Sound quality; build quality; durability

Weakness:

none

This review is actually for the MB/2, which is the higher quality forerunner of the MB/2S. It uses the same 6+1 MusicBank changer system. The player has a 20 Bit Dual DAC and 8x oversampling. It ceased production in 1994. This player has been a dream and a workhorse for me for about 8 years without a problem. It is obviously constructed well and is a little heavy for a CD player (good sign). It has been moved around the world seven times as well, and never had a problem! When I bought the player I had been using an old Samsung player, and honestly didn''t know how much better one CD player could sound than another. I was amazed at the difference. The sound improvement, especially at the low end, was noticeable to the even the untrained ear. Since then, I have used it for hundreds of hours without incident, and expect to use it for many more. This player was the last one in the store. The model was being superceded by the MB/2S and was priced at $600 instead of the normal $850. The salesman, whom I ran into many times after as well, told me several times how Nakamichi had taken a step down with the S Series, and how lucky I was to get the MB/2. Since the player is no longer in production, it is probably hard to find. But, much like a Toyota, I''d be confident that a used player is still running great--and worth it if you can get one. I recommend this player for any audio enthusiast or audiophile who isn''t looking to hold 100 discs and wants great, reliable sound.

Similar Products Used: Sony, Samsung and Pioneer CD players.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
TTN   an Audiophile [Aug 23, 1999]

I don't care what people say about this machine. This is a fine CD changer. The sound of this machine is very clean and detailed. It may not sound very "sweet" or "liquid", but I think it is good enough compared to a lot of mass produced or even some "high end" CD players. For $600, I give it 3.5 stars, but for around $250 from online auctions, I give it a solid 4.5 stars.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
David   Audiophile [Dec 29, 2000]
Strength:

Clean design, 7 disk bank, build quality

Weakness:

none

Bought floor model and have been very happy with it, sound quality can be overwhelming at times, almost too acurate.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha, Sony
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Ihor Sereda   an Audio Enthusiast [Dec 30, 1997]

I had one of these Naks for about 8 months then I sold It!!! Good sound, musical somewhat. Lack of bass(though more than a marantz 63 se). Good dynamic midrange and highs. After awhile though it sounded like every CD I had , had been recorded in the same studio. The same soundstage, depth and echo seemed to be part of every recording. It became Tiring!!! I bought a YBA!! Far better!!!!!

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 15  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com