Musical Fidelity Nu-Vista 3D CD Players

Nu-Vista 3D

First we made a critical analysis of why normal compact disc players sound different to SACD machines. The main difference, which you can hear, measure and easily identify, is in the HF performance. Noise ratio and dynamic range make a small difference. It's commonly believed that the extended frequency response of SACD, up to about 100kHz, is the big reason why SACDs sounds different to ordinary CDs. But over the age of 25, most people can't even hear up to 18kHz, and the older you get, the worse this gets. People in their sixties or older can hear the difference between SACD and CD, so what they're hearing can't be down to the extended HF response.

Our research has shown that the audible differences between CD and SACD are caused by in-band non-linear distortions, group delay, phase-shifts and intermodulation anomalies.

So we have engineered the Nu-Vista 3D to ensure that it has dramatically better HF performance than ordinary CD players in distortion, phase shifts, group delay, inter-modulation, non-linearities and noise ratios. The result is that in-band (20Hz to 25kHz), the Nu-Vista 3D actually measures better than SACD.

To achieve this, the Nu-Vista 3D up-samples 24-bits at 96kHz. This takes all digital error artifacts out of band so they're not a factor up to about 35kHz. As a result, we were able to simplify and re-design the digital and analog filters to be far above the audio band, so that their phase shift and group delay is out of band. This allows for a reduction in overall feedback and simpler circuitry.

User Reviews (27)

Showing 1-10 of 27  
Ruffra   AudioPhile [Oct 14, 2011]

I do not write reviews normally for HIfI equipment even though I have had a passion for quality equipment over the last 40 years. However I think I must add my weight of experience behind this now older product from MF. I brought mine new as a discounted model in 2003 and am still perfectly happy with its performance. As many reviews previously have stated its presents the most analogue sound that has been available on CD players over a number of product generations . More recently I have been able to assess this appealing aspect through high quality headphone listening.
As others have previously explained you can accompany the Nu Vista with upmarket interconnects and a power cord which will enhances its performance to a greater extent and once these are installed you will have a product which stands the test of time.
I have given way to listening more to CD ‘s through this player than LP’s through modified Linn LP12 with Alphason HR100 and Ortofon Kontrapunkt C ( Quite a revealing combination in their own right)
With the right interconnects low frequencies are not an issue and the Mid/Treble is quite outstanding in its presentation. As another review explained with good matching equipment it can easily fill a room with a dynamic soundstage well outside the speaker confines. It feels sometimes with the right tracks like a live performance is in your room ,the soundstage presentations that good.
If you want a true piece of Audiophile quality and probably history I commend this item to you ( Probably only now available 2nd hand via Ebay) .

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
delfinus   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 09, 2009]

I saw that there has not been an update review for this player for a long time now. I recently just purchased this Nu-Vista 3D CD player and I need to say that I'm impressed how much satisfaction it brought into my system. I tried some combination on my Canton Vento 807 speakers, mostly older combination of Hi-Fi equipment like Gryphon Tabu configuration that I borrowed from my friend and I was very setisfied with that. This Gryphon setup was somehow a reference for what I want to build someday. I need to say that some months ago I also purchased Musical Fidelity A308 Dual Mono integrated and improved a system which become more authorative than before with regular A/V Marantz receiver. After reading I think whole internet about the Nu-Vista and also great reviews here at AudioReview I decided that best synergy can maybe be achieved with Musical Fidelity. So thanks a lot to all reviewers who helped me much that I found such an excelent player in one move. I thought about A5 and A5.5 CD players first as they are less pricy, even though they are newer, but I thought I would risk a bit more and would give classics and original English product a chance so I choose a Nu-Vista to go for. And I do not regret it.
I bought it second hand from E-bay in a mint condition with No.312 from the 500 series. What impressed me most is that reviews that are written here are not lyrical imagination. Best things that this player brought to me is a really huge, huge sound stage. I have a feeling that speakers are not playing any more but whole wall in front of me or better whole room. I just have a feeling that my speakers grow in size from the floor to the ceiling. Sound become completly silky smooth. Before with old Marantz CDP I was aware that the sound is grained and also a bit thin. Here with Nu-Vista sound become substantially more bold, instruments become more lively, with great body and also singer not just sing but you can feel their dimensions in space and every move they make with lips and tongue. Sound become very detailed, smooth and I just simply love to listen this Hi-Fi combination for hours. Time is just flying with Nu-Vista and I can only recommend it if you have an intention.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bonesetter2004   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 08, 2006]
Strength:

True value for money upgrade

Weakness:

will stop you wanting to upgrade!

This is an update to the review below, as i thought clarification was needed as to exactly what the upgrade consisted of. The main part of the upgrade was a Ticord research clock 4, with their 'never connected' dedicated power supply. Details of this and many reviews can be found on the net. The DAC was NOT changed, as DAC's were said not to effect sound quality all that much. Power supplies to the op-amps were uprated, and most of the capacitors were changed - SOME of which were changed for Black Gates. Apparantly these work better in some areas and not others. The work was done by CPT Acousics of Ludlow, UK. I can say for sure that the sound quality is better than vinyl. Again, many reviews exist about exactly how clock upgrades improve sound. I would say to anyone to go for this type of upgrade, as it massively improves your existing player, for not much money. What you end up with is a player easily worth double its original value.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bonesetter2004   AudioPhile [Nov 17, 2005]
Strength:

3D holographic sound projection. Warm, fat sound with detail. Hugely enjoyable and addictive

Weakness:

in standard form the bass

This is the best player I have heard – BUT not in standard form! I had the player modified with an extra two external power supplies which supply most of the internals, black gate capacitors and the DAC got changed to Burr Brown. The result? I don’t see how a cd player can get any better… the presentation now reaches well into the room, separation of individual sounds and instruments is immense. And what a fat, warm, seductive sound! Badly recorded discs which might give that occasional raw edge, simply don’t any more, it makes pearls out of them. The forwardness does not fatigue, it is still relaxing to listen to, quite addictive in fact. If you’ve listened to an unmodified one, then I suppose imagine that sound on steroids, but organic ones that make the sound soft and round – get your face between them and stay there for a while sort of sound. It cost 800 GBP to modify. But I am going no-where else after this.

Similar Products Used: other MF stuff, Primare D30.2 (nice!), Sugden (brash in my system), MF A5 CD (hard as nails), Marantz
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
cksare   AudioPhile [Mar 22, 2004]
Strength:

Everything

Weakness:

NONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The solution all my audio problems. This is the best CD player I have ever heard. I have to keep looking at it to remind me thats its a CD Im hearing. Seperation and detail are exquisitely performed by this well built machine. For the first time in a long time I'm not looking for whats around the corner. My CD collection has a whole new leease on life

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
hiendharry   AudioPhile [Oct 24, 2003]
Strength:

Very very musical. Sweet, detailed and smooth sound. Tight bass. Massive sound stage, fantastic build quality, will last forever if looked after. Very non fatigueing sound.

Weakness:

Whilst I do not consider the remote a weakness, it is an area for improvement. I would also like to be able to turn the display off when there is no disc playing.

I foud that I could not listen to my Krell KAV300 CD player any longer. It was harsh, strident, aggressive and digital, but worst of all extremely fatigueing on the ears. A very very analytical sound.The Krell had replaced a Sony ES555 SACD player.The Sony was weak and thin when replaying 'normal' CD's, but acceptable when playing SACD's, but only just. Prior to this came an Arcam, which was only just OK to my ears, only just. After reading reviews on the Musical Fidelity Nu Vista, a player that had always impressed with it's physical presence and stature, I took the plunge and purchased a mint example for just over half the original selling price. The Nu Vista was immediately superior to all the players that I had previously had. Whilst the Krell possessed greater detail and more bass slam, the Nu Vista was more analogue sounding, more natural, more refined, more focussed with greater clarity, displaying a greater natural timbre to the sound of each instrument , greater space between performers, but above all a greater musicality that makes listening a pleasure. The Nu Vista enabled one to listen for hours and then hours again, without fatigue. The soundstage given is fantastically wide, with impressive depth and height. As Ken Kessler said of the Nu Vista in Hi Fi News September 2001, "which for my money makes it the best value high end CD player ever'. Michael Fremer of Stereophile went on to say that the Nu Vista was one of a handful of the most listenable CD players that he had ever heard, mentioning 3 others that he regarded within the same category, which spanned a price range of $8-20,000, all of which were significantly more expensive than the Nu Vista. Michael Fremer was true to his word in that he purchased the review sample. I recently attended the Hi Fi News AV show at Heathrow and expected to come out dejected and dissapointed with my modest system. Much to my surprise I came out very happy with my system as I heard no CD player there that I thought was significantly better than my Nu Vista. Sure, the odd one or two were slightly better in one or two areas , but that could of course have been down to the partnering equipment that was far superior and much more expensive than mine. To come out of the show however and feel that my Nu Vista delivered 95% of the sound that was available there was gratifying especially given the (astronomical) cost, as I have said, of the equipment on offer. Another aspect of the Nu Vista that is immensely impressive is it's build quality. People rant about the build quality of Krell equipment and being the recent owner of a Krell component can vouch that it is well built kit. It was however in no way any where near the equal of the Nu Vista, which is of true battleship build quality, and quite remarkable for it's fairly modest price (compared to Wadia, Mark Levinson and Krell etc. etc.that is!). I am in agreement however with other reviewers in that the Nu Vista does indeed give of it's best when partnered with a high quality mains lead. I would go further to say that good quality interconnects are also a must (I use Nordost SPM's throughout)as is a vibration platform or feet. Everyone seems hung up on the remote. Whilst I too would like a 5lb aluminium block as a remote, it wouldn't contain any more features or facilities and would add to the cost. Whilst the supplied remote is not pretty, it is functional although I wish that the range of it was greater. As with many others, I am glad that MF concentrated their efforts and resources on the player itself rather than the remote, although of course a better quality one would look nicer! I have read of at least one other reviewer who has noticed the metalic 'clink' sound whenever a CD starts to play, or between tracks if the 'next' or 'previous' track buttons are used. I do not know what causes this, but fortunately it does not detract from the quality of the music produced. All in all the Nu Vista is an extremely impressive player that produces a very smooth, sweet, focussed and relaxed high end sound.It will indeed refresh some of your CD's and enable them to sound far better than you would have thought. The Nu Vista is probably as close to an analogue sound as you can get, or indeed expect, from a digital player. You will not be dissapointed if you buy one, and it is at times hard to understand why people would pay many thousands more for only a very slight percentage increase in sound quality.

Similar Products Used: Nad, Arcam, Sony, Krell. Current set up Aloia Pre and power with inductive power supplies, Mirage OM7 speakers, Nordost SPM's, and every tweak going.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
spatchmusic   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 13, 2003]
Strength:

Great imaging, organic sound, good detail. Excellent dynamics and bass with a good power cord

Weakness:

Poor remote, needs good mains cable to get the best out of it (well worth the effort)

I have just added the Nu-viesta 3d to my system. First of all it naturalness comes across. it is almost like hearing vinyl. The harness has gone and a lovelly organic sound is now present. It dose lack a bit of dynamics and a good power cord makes a big difference here, and will alos help to tighten up the sound. I use the master couplier to good effect. It copes well with ant style of music thrown and in, making you cd collection completly transformed. I fibd that I no longer suffer from tiredness when listening for long periods and just enjoy the music without thinking about the sound. The system it is used on is a Gamut D200, Advantage pre1,harmonic tech truth link interconnects, ps audio plus sreaker cable and Silverline SR17 speakers

Similar Products Used: Townsend modified cd player, Rotel 991, Wadia
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
shamuely eldar   AudioPhile [Apr 11, 2003]
Strength:

very good soundstage

Weakness:

thin mid ,need very good power cord

I just want to raccomend two little modification that we have to make it sound better 1)we change all the power cables inside the cd and took off the feritte(hope thate you got law noise current)and also the diode 2)we changed the thin wier between the print and rca to copper wire(kimber) the cd became more open and dynamic

Similar Products Used: many
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
KEN MCGLOWN   AudioPhile [Apr 02, 2003]
Strength:

EVERYTHING!!! TRUST ME.

Weakness:

NOTHING!!! TRUST ME.

IF YOU WANT SOME OF THE MOST ABSOLUTE BEST SOUND THAT A SINGLE CHASSIS CDP CAN OFFER, WITHOUT PAYING A KING'S RANSOM, "LOOK NO FURTHER!!!"

Similar Products Used: ALL CD PLAYERS, AT ANY PRICE RANGE. 5 STAR ++++++
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
wotan   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 17, 2003]
Strength:

Totally natural sound, lack of glare, imaging.I don't just hear the notes being played, I hear HOW the notes are being played.

Weakness:

Haven't found any yet! Some people have mentioned the remote, but who cares when the player sounds as good as this.The only problem I now have is the need to upgrade some other aspects of my system to really get the best from it!

I read the reviews of this astonishing machine but was still completely unprepared for the transformation it has wrought in my CD collection. Even recordings which I have had for years and thought I knew "inside out" reveal new details and subtelties. Brass instruments in particular sound really "brassy", and there is no hint of digital glare which, particularly with violins, has been a continual bugbear with my CD collection. The soundstage is astonishing with pinsharp imaging and real front to back depth. Since buying this machine I have done more listening than I have done for years, and there can surely be no finer test than that.I haven't even bought a new CD since getting the player as every CD I listen to is like a new recording.

Similar Products Used: Arcam FMJ A23 Amp AE1 Series 2 Speakers Van Den Hul 1st Ultimate Interconnects Cable talk Flat 4 Bi-Wire Speaker Cable.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 27  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com