Marantz CD-72 MKII SE CD Players

CD-72 MKII SE

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
ger   AudioPhile [Feb 17, 2014]

It's quality build, all copperhousing, very neutral and I can listen to it forever. If someone offered me a thousand $ I would not sell it.I bought this excellent player for one reason. it performs beautifully still after almost 18 years( 2014 !! ) I have to confess that I've looked for other cd players but I would have to pay A LOT MORE for the same quality and craftsmenship I'msending it to marantz Netherlands, because after this time the CD sled doesn't open sometimes. so I pay 50 bucks and its "new" again. I REST MY CASE. MARANTZ CD 72MKII SE will be my player (i know)for anothernumber off years. ger

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rudolfs   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 21, 2006]
Strength:

Musical, good detail destinction but newer harsh, never had a problem (well, it needed minor servicing recently, but that probably would be normal once in 7 1/2 years).

Weakness:

Probably a little on the warm and soft side -- Arcam DV27 reveals more detail and both more accurate and deep bass; but it can be a strength still with some material.

Lived happily with it since 1998, through upgrades of speakers (NAD 800, Dali Trio, Lowther Fidelio) and amps (Pioneer A105, NAD 312, Marantz AV500 pre+ Innovative -Audio monoblocks), no seems to be outperformed by Arcam DV27 in most areas.
Still would say it is an excellent performer, very good build quality, reasonable ergonomics. It is a player which is easy to liwe with, woyuld not be surprised if after a while I would again prefer it to DV27 for music. One thing I am sure about is that I will certainly keep it.

Customer Service

Cannot comment -- never needed any

Similar Products Used: Sharp CD boombox -- well, one has to start from somewhere ... it was a mistake not to go for separate CD that day 1995.
Sony CDP213 - it was great improvement over the boombox but no comparison with the CD72; my friend still uses it and is quite satisfied, it is never serviced in its 9 year busy life.
Pioneer A160 dvd with Creek DAC OBH14 -- a temporary solution; while Creek clearly made A160 CD-playback reasonable and provided a volume control, this combo was both more harsh AND less detailed than CD72.
Arcam DV27 (dvd player) - new favorite for CD playback
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
zneel   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 06, 2004]
Strength:

Accurate in playing CD's. Like the sound.

Weakness:

Can't think of any.

I have this piece of equipment for ages, it still performs. Sound is accurate and it still does what it should do: playing CD's. I've upgraded the rest of my set, went active with my Linn Keilidhs, upgraded to Linn LK140 power amps, Linn Wakonda. Still like my ancient Marantz: it performs, performs and performs. Lots of quality, especially for the money. I use it a lot, and it will break down in the end. But untill than I will cherrish it. The CD72 still outperforms more recent and much more expensive players. I still like the sound, and that after 10 years. Amazing!!!!

Similar Products Used: Tried out several players, the CD72 outperforms them all. Maybe if I have the money for an Linn Ikemi ......
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
zneel   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 06, 2004]
Strength:

Accurate in playing CD's. Like the sound.

Weakness:

Can't think of any.

I have this piece of equipment for ages, it still performs. Sound is accurate and it still does what it should do: playing CD's. I've upgraded the rest of my set, went active with my Linn Keilidhs, upgraded to Linn LK140 power amps, Linn Wakonda. Still like my ancient Marantz: it performs, performs and performs. Lots of quality, especially for the money. I use it a lot, and it will break down in the end. But untill than I will cherrish it. The CD72 still outperforms more recent and much more expensive players. I still like the sound, and that after 10 years. Amazing!!!!

Similar Products Used: Tried out several players, the CD72 outperforms them all. Maybe if I have the money for an Linn Ikemi ......
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
KUNG   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 13, 2003]
Strength:

Smooth detailed, the music sound is brilliant,very good CDM4 transport with swing arm and DAC 7 converter.

Weakness:

Sometime lacking of dynamic but overall sound is invulnerable

The Marantz CD72 MK II does it job well indeed and very musical, worth to buy in the 2nd hand if in good condition, I cant find any choice better than it within this price range.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
POP TH   AudioPhile [Jan 13, 2003]

Good Build,I open case I see inside good,if i upgarde it very good,but i think original it very good.i not upgarde, I like sound good.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dr. Al   Audiophile [May 06, 2000]
Strength:

Deadly accurate digital sound fit for a music producer and full featured single play

Weakness:

Deadly accurate digital sound fit for a music producer, one can hear the cd spinning from accross the room.

Many years ago, 1993 or so, I purchased a new Marantz CD 72 with the Musical Concepts modification (add $300 to the list price of $600). The Cd player was incrediable. It got digital right. Digital drums sounded like digital drums, violins sounded like violins, everything sounded right. This is one digitally accurate machine. A record producer friend ended up with my machine as I chose the Philips LHH1000 to replace it (this is a Marantz CD12LE in Philips clothing).

The Philips LHH1000 was much more musical, but not as deadly accurate. In comparison, the Marantz CD72 was so accurate that it was fatiguing. The Philips sounded much more natural. But I do enjoy the virtues of the CD72 and consider it a fantastic machine. The Musical Concpets mod was just icing on the cake.

The big downside for me was the sound of the transport. I could hear it chirping accross the room on quiet passages of music. I sent the machine back to Musical Concepts, and it was returned with the same problem. I presume it was functioning as it was designed to do. Yuck. Transport noise is rather unpleasant. This was what prompted me to upgrade to the Philips LHH1000 (moving from a 900 buck machine to a 4,000 buck machine).

With the elmination of the transport noise, I'd rate it a 5. With transport noise a mere 3. So, I'll give it a 4.

Cheers!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Joris   an Audio Enthusiast [Aug 04, 1999]

The Marantz CD72MKIISE is a player I use for more than three years. In my opinion its a mistake that Marantz sold this high quality for just $700.It has a wonderful CDM4 transport (Philips with swing-arm), DAC7 converter and HDAM output amplifiers (separately shielded). The transformer of the power supply is made with OFC wires and is shielded with a copper housing. The PCB also has a copper shielding to minimize the influence of electromagnetic influence.
All the outputs (variable, fixed and digital coax) are gold-plated. This is a player

Sound quality is outstanding; warm, detailed, spacy and very close to the sound of a high quality turntable. Not made for rockers but pop, jazz and classical music definately thrills! Comparing it with e.g. a Marantz CD17 you will conclude that newer players are not always sold because thay are significantly better!

This is not a classical Marantz by its look but to me its a classical by its building quality and musical performance!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
Andrew Coleman   Audiophile [Oct 03, 2000]
Strength:

CD72 version far more accurate than the MKII SE
The best transport ever created

Weakness:

Sticking drawer (but not detremental to unit)
Very Rare

The standard CD72 is the best cd player i have ever heard and the unit used as a transport is by far the best ever put in any cd player.
Accurate, responsive, detailed and rich.
Played through quality amps and speakers this machine can give the likes of krell and copeland a run for its money.
Buy one if you see it, get it clocked and you wont belive your ears!!!!. look out Wadia!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com