Marantz CD-63 K.I. Signiture CD Players

Marantz CD-63 K.I. Signiture CD Players 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 51  
[Sep 19, 2016]
Jarvis
AudioPhile

Bought the CD-63mkII KI Signature used about a year ago for €200 supposely in mint condition just to try it because of the hype around it etc. It arrived poorly packed and looking like a piece of sh** compared to my other equipment, scratched - almost abused. Plugged it in and let it play in repeat mode my reference Daft Punk CD for a couple of hours. Came back to listen. WTF!!! Sounded like a dream! My interconnects and speaker cables cost 4-5 times what I paid for it. This is a fantastic sounding cd player that can make any high end system shine. Don't be fooled by comments that say it's good for the money, etc. it's very very good for any money! Smooth and dynamic, dark and bright when it needs too. I have spent gazillions in high end cd players that do indeed sound very good, but the CD-63mkII KI costs peanuts and 9/10 comparissons sounds better. Period.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 15, 2009]
howie_gb
Audio Enthusiast

I bought my Marantz CD63 KI back in 1996 complete with the matching Marantz PM66 KI amplifier and have never felt the need to upgrade since. Connected up to my 1983 Rogers LS7 loudspeakers, it delivers a big soundstage with decent depth, pinpoint imagery and no harshness in its superb sound quality. Clearly a CD player which is greater than the sum of its parts. Brill !

Strengths:
Decent build quality and superb sound quality.

Weaknesses:
At this price, none whatsoever

Similar Products Used:
Several Marantz and Rotel 965BX CD players and Pioneer A400 amp.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 25, 2006]
charisma
AudioPhile

Strength:

Can bring music in your room,when setup right.
Natural sounding,image well.(with my tube equipment)

Weakness:

There is a bass limit with a lot of amps.
Can sound fussy(cable sensitive)

I,m using the 63 ki for many years now,and it is a very fine machine,if it is matched in the right setup. I understand all the conns I,m reading here,But it needs a system that is much better then the pricerange of the marantz itself. I am using it in a system of more than 10 times its pricerange,including tube amplifiers an Apogee ribbons,and it brings music out of the cds. I have used many other other players in the system(even sacd player),but grabbed back many times for the marantz. In this system it brings a naturalness wich is better then the others,dispite of lesser resolution,but good dynamics and transparant soundstage. Voices and instruments have a real shine and picture very well. The sacd has better resolution,but lacks musicality the marantz does. I,m still very happy with it,and for its price,there is no other contender in my setup.

Similar Products Used:

sony sacd
cambridge audio(several)
mission
denon
other marantz models
and more..

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 09, 2004]
Gary Lee
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

quality construction, very affordable today on the 2nd hand market. Spare parts easily available.

Weakness:

careful pairing of equipment. Beware budget anccilaries, makes overall sound headache inducing, but paired with good quality, and transparent sounding equipment, this player can sing. Nothing really at the price.

there are of course many setups, and many different types of preferences for sound, or what constitutes hi-fi. I am also a vinyl fan, but i guess you simply must have a cd player due to the larger selection of new music available. my setup includes nordost cabling (fast, and very transparent), cyrus III+PSX-R and Ruark Talisman II floorstanders. To me, hardware is great, but always secondary to the music. As long as the music is good to your ears, you can forget the technology behind it. In short, whatever the hype, or magazine reviews, the 63KI works for me big time. It's very detailed, yet smooth, and very transparent. Bass is a bit light, but pacy. Where this player really shines for me is vocal and acoustic instruments.

Similar Products Used:

CD67SE

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 01, 2004]
spandel01
AudioPhile

Strength:

DETAIL LEVELS,SOUNDSTAGE.

Weakness:

FUSSY WITH BAD RECORDINGS.SLIGHTLY PLODDING BASS AND MID IF NOT PAIRED WITH A POWERFUL GOOD QUALITY AMP.LEANS TOWARDS BRIGHTNESS IF NOT PAIRED PROPERLY.

I WAS A FRUSTRATED VICTIM OF THE HI-FI WORLD BECAUSE I FOUND THAT BEER MONEY COULD NOT BUY CHAMPAGNE.THEN I FOUND THE CD63MKII KI.THE STARKNESS OF THE SOUND TURNS TO AN INCREDIBLE RICHNESS OF DETAIL WHEN PAIRED WITH A WARM AMP AN CABLES.IN MY CASE AN ARCAM ALPHA 7 AMP,AUDIOQUEST MIDNIGHT CABLES[AUDIOQUEST RUBY 1*INTERCONNECT,RUBY2 INTRODUCED LISTENER FATIGUE] AND RUARK TEMPLAR LOUDSPEAKERS.THESE WORK IN PERFECT HARMONY.WHEN FUNDS BECOME AVAILABLE AN ARCAM ALPHA 9 POWER AMP WILL BE ADDED FOR EXTRA PACE.HAVING FRIENDS IN A HI FI BUSINESS HELPS THE "TRYOUT" SESSIONS THAT ARE SO NECCESSARY IN THIS HOBBY.HAVING TRIED MANY BRANDS IN MANY DIFFERENT COMBINATIONS NONE HAVE HAD THE IMPACT THAT THE CD63MK11KI HAS GIVEN MY SYSTEM.TRUE HI FI HEAVEN HAS BEEN ATTAINED THROUGH THIS TRULY REMARKABLE PIECE OF EQUIPMENT.

Similar Products Used:

ROTEL,NAD,ARCAM.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 03, 2002]
T C Neo
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Smooth & detailed

Weakness:

Inability to separate the HF adequately may sometimes cause "bright" recordings to sound unpleasant (especially if partnered with brighter-sound gears including silver-coated cables); Lack of authority over bass, punch & weight

I purchased this player almost 3 years after its debut for US$400 equivalent (originally priced at US$600 equivalent). It has been with me for almost 2 years. I would describe as a smooth & detailed CDP in the budget range. If you like well-recorded jazz & vocals, I would highly recommend to audition this player. Of course, given its modest price, it has some shortcomings - especially if you have already begun to develop "golden ears". While this CDP may provide one with details, its treble can be too overbearing at times, especially on bright recordings. Vocals for instance can sound "shouty" whilst accoustic instruments can sound metallic and uninvolving. One way to overcome this is to roll-off the HF by either partnering it with warmer-sounding gears (eg. Arcam Alpha 8 amp with Cardas or StraightWire cables). However, you tend to lose a bit of detail when you do this. The plus side is that it''ll give you a smooth & warmer sound. The Arcam Alpha 7SE is another good CDP - warm & just as smooth as the 63KIS but less detailed. Another option is to send the player for reclocking and replacing some of its components (eg. op-amps & capacitors, etc) with better ones. Check out the Trichord & L C Audio websites. This option allows the player to space out the HF so that it becomes more pleasant to the ears. Besides better separation, the "upgrade" will also improve timing, provide wider & deeper soundstage, tighter bass & "cleaner" sound (less noise) resulting in smoother sound & more detail. However, this "upgrade" is not cheap as it can cost up to US$375 equivalent. This will double the cost of the CDP. You will have to compare this souped-up version against other CDPs costing around US$700+. Unlike adding an external DAC, the "upgrade" will not change the characteristics of the CDP. Choose this option only if you like the character of the CDP. This CDP may not suite those who listen to rock, heavy metal, techno, dance & hip hop. For those who prefer a more direct approach to music (as opposed to smooth & warm), try the Rotels, NADs & Creeks. At the end of the day, it all depends on the type of music you listen to. And should you decide to audition this CDP, bear in mind that system matching is very important. Like any other audio equipment, If wrongly matched, you will notice the CDP''s weaknessess more than its strengths.

Similar Products Used:

Arcam 7SE Rotel RCD971 Creek CD43

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 14, 2000]
Gregoire
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Soundstage
Details
Dynamics
Precision

Weakness:

None

I recently bought the 63 KI in order to upgrade from my 67 SE. I must say I am not disapointed : the difference is nearly like night and day even if the 67 SE is a good basic player. But I presume "basic" is its weakness compared to the 63 KI.

The first impression I had was the dynamics : from bass to highs, the sound became alive ! I realised then how flat was the 67 SE...

Second, came the soundstage and details. It is the first time I "heard" depth, discovering many hidden details.

Moreover, the heat of sound I had with the 67 SE was still there, and better.

It is really a good upgrade (at nice price by now..)

Similar Products Used:

Marantz 67 SE

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 05, 2000]
Andrew
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Insight, Clarity, Musicality

Weakness:

None

Purchased new last year for a bargin £299GBP.

Worth every penny - If I had known it was this good, I would
have paid the full £499 when it was first released.

You need a good clear amp to hear this player at its best.

A Quantum Leap over the standard CD63.

Buy one before they sell out.

Used With :

Ion Obelisk II Amplifier (old, but a MUCH better listen then the Audiolab 8000A(too Sterile), Alpha Alpha Series (too boring), and Marantz PM 66KIS)
Mission 780SE Speakers
Van Den Hul Interconnects
Attacama Stands

Similar Products Used:

Various

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 03, 2000]
Khaled
Audiophile

I have been using the Marantz CD-63 mk-II KI-Signature cd-player since a little more than a year. It sounds smooth, can extract fine details, has strong well-defined bass and fairly clean mid- and high range. Also it is able to create a wide sound stage. Its only pitfall is the strong choral works like requiems where it lacks some separation, nevertheless I expect this at the price. Very good all rounder.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 11, 2000]
Onny Izwan
Audiophile

Strength:

Clean sound; excellent on vocal and instruments textures; good pace and rhythm.

Weakness:

Basslines not clearly defined; limited depth perspective.

This is the creme-de-la-creme of Marantz's mid-hifi designs. All the good qualities present in Marantz's 63-series CD players are fine-tuned and refined(within a given budget, of course).
Music sounded clear and lively with good pace and rhythm, which, makes listening a very involving experience.
But of course, there are many players within its price range that offers better deeper soundstage perpective but all other sound qualities essential to make a CD player of this price range musical are here.
In short, Ken Ishiwata and the rest of the boffins at Marantz have struck a fine balance between offering qualities present in a high-end player whilst maintaining an affordable price for the budget-conscious audiophile.
Kudos to Marantz!

Similar Products Used:

Arcam 7SE; Marantz CD63SE; Pioneer PDS-505 Precision.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 51  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com