Marantz CC-48 CD Players

CC-48

User Reviews (13)

Showing 1-10 of 13  
J.J. Tpak   Casual Listener [Dec 18, 2016]

Guess I got lucky finding my Marantz CC48 disc changer. An electrician friend who rewires restored homes found it in a closet. It was new in unopened box. Owner told him he could have it. He sold it to me for $25.00!!!......its GREAT!...have it hooked to a Yamaha CR820 receiver, and a set of rare Pioneer S-T500 speakers....couldnt ask for more!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
(?) (???)   Audiophile [Feb 15, 2000]
Strength:

Reads fast; no distortion; clear bass, sharp treble

Weakness:

absolutely none (it's the best cd changer i've used)

I agree with the review below about the player separating the vocals from the music. A good player is supposed to do that so don't be giving products even a 4/5 star review if it doesn't satisfy your standards. This player delivers the sharpest sound, especially when using the coaxial digital out. Too bad it doesn't have an optical out. But don't be deceived because in reality both coaxial and optical sound the same. Optical is better when used with DVD. You're able to change the discs while one is playing because unlike most changers this one doesn't "drop off" the disc inside the changer but plays the disc on the disc tray itself! If you really want to hear music the way it was recorded. buy this changer for $300 at Cambridge Soundworks or hifi.com.

Similar Products Used: My last cd changer was a Pioneer PD-DM802 12-disc changer(provided you use two of the 6-disc cartridges)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mason Billock   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 27, 2000]
Strength:

Fast reading, coaxial output

Weakness:

none

This cd player is great I have had no problems with it at all. I love the way the vocals are clear and precise. I use it via coaxial hookup. I plays recorded cd's very well. I have it hookup up to my Denon AVR-2800 and I have no problems. I highly recommend this cd player.

Similar Products Used: sony
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Dan   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 09, 2000]
Strength:

Fastest changer I have experienced, Buttons on tray

Weakness:

None

I have had this changer for 3yrs. It sounds great and its tray mechanism is rugged and smooth and fast and it cost $225. I love it.

Similar Products Used: Kenwood, Sony
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Hung Lo   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 15, 2000]
Strength:

Simple interface

Weakness:

None

It took getting used to. I was listening to all of my audio CDs on my Toshiba DVD 3109 and it was enlightening to say the least. I bought this player because of changer capability. On my DVD player, the lead singer's voice or solo instrument mixed better with the rest of the band. The Marantz tend to separate the voice quite a bit more-also the soloing instrument. Some people like that, I like to hear it more flat. My DVD player did a bit better playing audio tracks. I like the build of this Marantz. Better than a Sony or a Pioneer at this cost anyday. The remote is tiny, but very usable. Can't do much better for a CD player at this price range. I'd recommend.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Brett   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 17, 2001]
Strength:

This thing is a workhorse. I own my own CD store and have all Marantz equipment. This player has basically run 12 hours a day for over two years now, and I've never ever had a problem. It sounds great, and is smooth working. My home CD player just shot craps, so I had to buy a new one. I actually just took the Marantz home, and replaced it with the Technics PD-5 from Best Buy for $99. I'd read good things about it, and for the price decided it would be fine for the store. I'm listening to it for the first time right now. Compared to the Marantz, it seems that there is a little more detail in the sound of the Technics. I like that aspect better, but overall it seems the Marantz had a fuller, more real sound. If you want the intricate(sterile?) details of each CD to shine through, you may want the Technics, but for dependability, quality, and a fuller sound, I'd definitely go with the Marantz.

Weakness:

I'd be hard pressed to come up with one worth mentioning.

I just don't think you can go wrong with Marantz equipment. I think the replacement for this model is the CC3000. Based on all the research I've done recently, I'd definitely recommend it, but if you come across a CC-48, buy it!!

Similar Products Used: Sony CDP-475 (?) - Who cares what model, they're all crap.
Technics PD-5
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Matthew Garrett   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 27, 2001]
Strength:

Good, solid construction. Quiet operation. Clear sound. User-friendly.

Weakness:

nothing significant

Great unit - probably the second-best I've owned. The HK FL8450 barely edges this unit out in performance due to being slightly easier to use but the HK's are not nearly as reliable as Marantz so it may even out overall. Most striking is the quiet operation - you can't even hear it spinning the tray unless you're right on top of it. The sound reproduction is the best you can get on a changer unit. Bought mine used through eBay when my FL8450 tanked and I've never looked back.

Similar Products Used: Harman Kardon FL8450
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Kevin   Casual Listener [Feb 08, 2001]

Forgive me but this isn't a review. I would like to know where I can find this unit? Not even listed on Marantz web site and my local shop never heard of it.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Duane   Casual Listener [Nov 24, 1999]
Strength:

clarity, multibit DAC, controls

Weakness:

none so far

My 2nd JVC CD player Fried and I needed a new one. I was really thinking about just getting a whole new system because all my CD's were on the Harsh side and My JVC reciever is a few years old. At the urging of a friend I bought the Marantz CC-48 and took it home, hooked it up to my old JVC reciever and My Old JBL's that I was going to get rid of and now they have new life. Every CD I own sounds better than it did before. It's an amazing difference. you can't go wrong with this one.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer, JVC
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bruce Abar   an Audio Enthusiast [Feb 21, 1999]

I currentley own the Yamaha 992, and this a/v pushes my energy C-8's speakers. To A&B sound I went to purchase a 5 disc player. At first I came home with a Yamaha 565, thinking it would match my receiver, Yes it did match, but the sound was overley bright and harsh. I called my sales rep and ask about something different, he said come and get the Marantz CC48, you won't be dissapointed. So I did, and the system came together. The Marantz made the difference, excellent sound stage, smooth sound, not to bright(tinny), but just what was needed for an already so called bright system. Dont let anyone tell you that Yamaha receivers are to bright in stereo, or Energy speakers are to bright, try them all out, you won't be dissapointed, feel free to email me on questions on any of these products, or if you would like to purchase anything from A&B sound, my sales rep gives excellent pricing, and is close to the united states boarder.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com