Harman Kardon HD 760 CD Players

HD 760

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
  AudioPhile [Dec 21, 2002]
Strength:

Sound quality, very smooth...

Weakness:

I still have to get over my Marantz CD-80 (cry), but the HD-760 is a very good replacement. I couldn't finf any weaknesses yet.

I've had a Marantz CD-80 for 11 years, a very audiophile sounding cd-player. Many new cd-players didn't even come close to the CD-80. Now my CD-80 broke down... I searched for a DVD and CD-player with the same sound quality as the Marantz. The one that came close was very expensive. I was lucky to find a Harman Kardon HD-760. This cd-player sounds very audiophile and is well balanced in the total frequency range. A very good player for an even better price!! The HD-760 is very recommendable.

Similar Products Used: Sony, Marantz CD-80
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Mike   Audiophile [Mar 29, 2000]
Strength:

full sound and quality of player

Weakness:

layout

What a great cd player! I have had my player for 7yrs and I have had no problems with it. It still sounds the same as the day I picked it up.
A lot of people complain about h/k cd players, notably the fact the cd players will get stuck on a track when using repeat or just the track number, I find that not to be the problem with mine
I would buy another h/k, the sound is far superior then the sony es model in which I also own.

Similar Products Used: sony es
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rainer   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 15, 2001]
Strength:

Fantastic sound: from deep bass to crystal clear highs, this player has got it all. It presents the music in a very natural, convincing and pleasant way.
It makes you listen to the music instead of to your system.

Weakness:

Are you kidding?!
For the price paid I honestly can't think of any weaknesses.
This player is superb even for its original price of USD 600.00.

Wow!

I couldn't think of any better word to begin this review of the Harman Kardon HD-760 CD-player!
I have had several Cd-players before and I have always been satisfied with their sound but now that the HD-760 I begin to realize that the real enjoyment of music has just begun.
The HD-760 simply and honestly sounds wonderful: it has deep bass enough to make your walls tremble, it has a fluent and very natural midrange to make your heart sing and it has very clear highs to set the mood just right.
And you know what I very much liked as well? The majestic way in which the CD-tray opens itself. This baby has got class....

With the HD-760 I have begun to listen to the music instead of to my system. It is a superb CD-player which I can recommend to everyone who's interested in *music*, not hifi.

You think I am exaggerating? Well, try one for yourself in that case.
I am quite sure that you will be just as delighted as I am.

Wow!

Similar Products Used: Denon DCD 810, Marantz CD63 and CD72
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Sandro P.   Audio Enthusiast [May 08, 2000]
Strength:

bass, vocals, high value overall

Weakness:

design layout, cheap remote, some hardnes present i upper register

While you are reading this Harman Kardon 760 is being sold at a reduced price
(at least in Sweden) for only 625 $!
This is a HDCD unit wich should have four of latest 20 Bit converters built-in.
Manual claims even that it has four separate power supplies, but I´ve found only one,
(which might have four separate windings?).
I´ve lived with my unit for over a month and I´m satisfied.
When I powered it on first day I noticed some hardness in top register, it was somewhat bright.
That caused slight dissapointment,
but things only got beter and better.

Leave it permanently on, and high ferqencies will sound much more natural and extended than on some expensive CD players like Wadia 830,
(I´ve never seen and heard more stupid high roll off that on that one: 10 Khz is at -3dB and at 14 Khz output is zero).
Bass is gloriuos, hardly to beat at any price.
Piano sounds as it should, voices are truly good and I simply can´t find any point that I should complain on.


Similar Products Used: many
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
GePe   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 15, 2001]
Strength:

Overall great sound. Dynamic bas and detailed high frequency capability.

Weakness:

Cheap remote control

This CD player has great overall sound for blues, jazz and other music with lots of micro details and a wide frequency presentation. The HDCD decoder is fantastic. Listen to Eric Bibb, Erica Badu or Eric Clapton and you will be amazed of the clarity, the groovy punch in the bas area and the breathtaking reality of the dynamic performance… The artist stands in front of you. It can’t be a recording… Can it?
I have never heard a better CD player for this (or actually even a bit more) money.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Peter   Audiophile [Oct 15, 2001]
Strength:

coax and optical outputs, hdcd 24 bits play quality, overall: clear voices, good thight bass, well built, fast responding with skipping tracks, nice display.

Weakness:

???

The Harman/Kardon HD760 is a very good sounding player, 3d soundstage with 24bits hdcd and 4x20bits converters for a clear sound with voices and every kind of music. The Hd760 is very jitter free and quick responding as you skip tracks. The remote is very good responding at any commando. The HD760 is very good built for many years of error free playing. It is the best sounding player for U$ 250 I ever heard. Another point is the standby function, the coax and optical outputs and the gold plated cinch outputs. The HD760 looks very nice and you can dimm the diplay or put it off. The HD760 I can recommended and has a better price/quality rate as many other players.

Similar Products Used: This is the best player I ever have bought, other brands I have purchased are Technics sl-pg590 and Marantz CD5000 but thy are bad sounding.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Stephan   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 23, 2001]
Strength:

Soundquality

Weakness:

CD-tray

This is the best CD-player you can buy for 250USD, at least from the ones I've heard. The level of detail, the bass, the staging is all excellent for a player in this price-range. The comparison with the Meridian (which cost over 5x as much) is in favout on the Meridian, just because of the staging which is more 3D than the HK. The rest is more or less equal (bass, details, highs).

The only weakness I've found is the build of the tray, this looks kind op low budget. It has not caused any problems in my system so it could very well be a perceived problem instead of a real problem.

Similar Products Used: Meridian 506.24; Kenwood CD9010 Transport + Mission DAC5; Marantz CD43; Sony budget player
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
RODOLFO ZUECK   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 07, 2001]
Strength:

Great range, beautiful strings, and piano, voices clean,
great procesor range¡¡

Weakness:

for the price,,,, none¡¡

This cd is more than i expected for the price , i had about
7 year with him and i don't had any problems, it has an external optical fiber output for an other digital processor, and remote control volume level,, really is the best buy at for the price¡¡

Similar Products Used: at this level ,,,none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
dominik   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 03, 2001]
Strength:

plays jazz just rite. Good vocal, good piano. The price!perfect!!!

Weakness:

It`s higher register! But I fixed that with a pair of Cloucables. Now I have a nice and smooth sounding player.

For that price, 420$, you could not get anything better.
Even If I`d payed the 700$ they originally ask for it. I don`t think I`d been disapionted. But the price/value rating should then drop a bit for that price!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Martin   an Audiophile [Apr 17, 1999]

Superb sounding CD-player with an vintage analog feeling.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com