Harman Kardon FL 8350 CD Players

FL 8350

5 Disc Player

User Reviews (56)

Showing 1-10 of 56  
Klaus S.   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 19, 2012]

Sounds great when it works but it now developed the same disc recognition problem others complain about Now it's going into the trash, too bad, I used to like HK.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
David McClellan   Casual Listener [Dec 24, 2009]

I'm guessing on the model year. I bought this late 1990s. Within a few years I experienced the same problems as many other reviewers, with discs not being recognized. I took it to a local repair shop who charged me $50 to fix it. That worked for awhile, but it soon kept getting worse and worse. A 20% chance of failure evolved into a 98% chance of failure. It's gotten to the point that with itunes and an iphone, I've completely given up on my stereo and a library of 600+ CDs.

I just went to the HK website, and it's a joke. They don't appear to have any actual content of their own...when you click on any topic it conducts a search and posts listings of third-party (probably paid) links.

I had hoped to fix this since I hate consumerism and waste, but it looks like this machine is destined for the traash bin.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Oceanblue   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 27, 2003]
Strength:

good style and sturdy mechanics, great sound

Weakness:

It plays no one of my cds, except a few tracks :-) Without this problem, it would be a great player.

I bought this player, altough of the many reviews about the problem with spinning cd´s and so one. And yes, i have these problems too :-) And i Thought, that i realy find a good cd changer, but i have no luck with this. Has anyone fixed this problem????? Any solutions???? Thanks for any help!

Similar Products Used: Denon DCM 560
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
Oceanblue   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 27, 2003]
Strength:

good style and sturdy mechanics, great sound

Weakness:

It plays no one of my cds, except a few tracks :-) Without this problem, it would be a great player.

I bought this player, altough of the many reviews about the problem with spinning cd´s and so one. And yes, i have these problems too :-) And i Thought, that i realy find a good cd changer, but i have no luck with this. Has anyone fixed this problem????? Any solutions???? Thanks for any help!

Similar Products Used: Denon DCM 560
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
Oceanblue   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 27, 2003]
Strength:

good style and sturdy mechanics, great sound

Weakness:

It plays no one of my cds, except a few tracks :-) Without this problem, it would be a great player.

I bought this player, altough of the many reviews about the problem with spinning cd´s and so one. And yes, i have these problems too :-) And i Thought, that i realy find a good cd changer, but i have no luck with this. Has anyone fixed this problem????? Any solutions???? Thanks for any help!

Similar Products Used: Denon DCM 560
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
Darren   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 11, 2002]
Strength:

Solid construction and nice appearance. Sound quality. Straightforward controls.

Weakness:

Slow drawer mechanism requires patience. Market perception based on other users' experiences. No power button on remote. No direct track access on front panel.

I have never been a big fan of multi-disc CD changes, since I would rather buy a higher quality single disc model for roughly the same amount of money. However, eventually I got fed up with always changing discs and purchased the FL 8350 in the Fall of 2000. The player was the last one in stock and was on special. I had the opportunity to preview it in the store and was impressed with the quality of the sound that it produced and its overall build quality. In the nearly two years that I have had this CD Changer, I have not any of the functional problems that other reviewers have experienced with their units. The unit still works very well, sounds great, and has survived a couple of moves without a hiccup. Overall sound quality is very natural and transparent using the digital output. I have no idea how the analog outputs sound since I have never used them. On the downside, the drawer mechanism is very slow, which other reviewers have mentioned. However, this is the worst thing that I can say about the player and mine has never broken. Other little annoyances include the lack of a power button on the remote and the lack of direct track access buttons on the front panel. In conclusion, I would be willing to recommend this player, though I do so with reservation due to their less than stellar history with other users. I have long experience with Harman Kardon products (my first exposure occurred in 1982 when my parents bought an HK330i receiver). Therefore, I am surprised that many users of FL 8XXX series changes have had poor luck with the products.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
WJTISON   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 02, 2002]
Strength:

Nice sound and looks great.

Weakness:

Reliability, Serviceability, and noisy when changing disks.

I purchased the HK 8350 BLK in mid 1999 to go with my HK AVR40. After one year or so, the carousel started a merry-go-round routine after warm up. Lots of fun. Tray in or out, you have to turn it off to stop it. I called HK; they referred me to a local authorized repair center. The repair center charged me $270 and made the problem worse. Fortunately the insisted I pay by check. With all the research I''ve done in the last week, it seems there is an inherent problem with the 8350. So, I called HK and talked to a service rep that said there was nothing he could do and, more surprisingly, that HK had no knowledge of any problems with the 8350. He only offered to send me to another repair center in Houston, two of which no longer work on HK. I have had good luck with my AVR40 and I''m not interested in replacing my whole system. The 8350 matches the AVR40 and, with my audio case being glass, aesthetics are important. If anyone has an idea on how to fix this problem, please e-mail me.

Similar Products Used: Technics,Pioneer and Kenwood.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
rockin6010   AudioPhile [Mar 14, 2002]
Strength:

Extremely good sound reproduction as far as CD''s go. Solid and reliable loading mechanism and very clear and defined soundstage. I also like the clarity and brightness of the display.

Weakness:

Known to have major problems. HK is also overall known to have some issues.

I purchased this one as refurbished from HK and it has been fine so far, no problems, yet but I guess I should expect some soon from what I have heard, but Hopfully HK fixed it when it was sent in. I do love the sound quality though, I hapa pioneer pd-m502 6disc changer and I have really noticed a difference in sound. Pretty good DAC in my opinion.

Similar Products Used: PIONEER PD-M502 PANASONIC/TECHNICS ?? SONY SINGLE DISC ?
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Jaime Weaver   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 05, 2000]
Strength:

compatavle with my AVR 500

Weakness:

bad Pick up assembly part

Avoid Harmon/Kardon. Bad quality control, bad customer service, and terrible authorized repair centers (GEIS AV in Greenville, OH and Electrasound in Columbus, OH). I have been w/o my CD changer 8350 since august with a faulty "Pick up Assembly" part, and for a month w/o my AVR 500 receiver for 1 month due to a faulty DTS decoder chip. I may get my replacement CD player an 8380 next week. Hopefully this will work fine. Thanks, Mary Beth!

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
sixtox   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 22, 2000]
Strength:

quiet mechanisism, tight bass

Weakness:

none so far

Since I have had no problems with Harman Kardon equipment in the past I decided to purchase this unit from uBid (paid 93.00 for unit + s/h). I don't know if it's true about CD players needing time to "break-in" but this unit sounds better right out of the box than the JVC CD player it replaced. The unit is recognizing discs fine so far, but I have only used it for a few hours. I can hear some things (mostly on the high end) that I could not hear with the JVC and the mechanism is much quieter. Bass is definitely tighter and more well defined. Now I know the muddiness in the bass was not the speakers (Bose 601's manufactured in 1980) or receiver (HK 3250). The serial number for this unit is yc0001-13167, so hopefully it is not one of the bad units. There is a sticker on the box that says the unit should not be sold as new due to a "physical defect", whatever that means. There are a few scratches on the top of the unit but I can live with that. If uBid is selling these units as refurbished due to some defect on the outside of the unit I can live with that, especially when the unit was less than $100.00 with shipping. A nearby Fry's store wants 279.00 for this unit new. For now I give this unit 5 stars for value and will report any problems I have.

Similar Products Used: JVC XL-115TN
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 56  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com