Creek Audio CD43 CD Players

CD43

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
Freeportaudio   AudioPhile [May 17, 2014]

So here we are 10 years later. How does it hold up? Sonically just fine. I wish there were more 2 prong power cords around, but I've managed to shove in a Zu birth. There has been issues. It is sensitive. The cover on mine was too tight slightly bent or something which took me a year to get everything adjusted read shimmed. Nonetheless its a superb sounding player. I get a kick out of people saying a cheap DVD player will sound as good due to new DACs. Horsepuckey. There is no substitute for proper engineering and solid design. The weight, power and ROM ish drive have won me over. I think it benefits from some tweaking. In the end it beats my second favorite NAD player by a slim margin. A real piece of work. I can't wait to try a 50 series. These are rare. Grab one.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
monkandmozart   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 27, 2002]
Strength:

High End Quality:Sound and Build

Weakness:

No display defeat. Slight excessive midbass?

This is a review of the Creek cd53 in special order black.First let me say if you liked the 43mkII you will love the 53.Improvements in build quality(heavier,thicker face plate,clearer display)and sound quality.(deeper bass,wider soundstage,more enjoyable all around).I comapred it to the more expensive Meridian 508.24 And they were close,both use the same chip set,but the $3500 Meridian was slightly better(Overall balance,transparency,better transport). The Creek is a true winner in it''''s class. Recommened!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Ken   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 10, 2000]
Strength:

Good soundstaging, music is revealing including strings and voices.

Weakness:

The design (incl. remote control) is not attractive.

I have owned one and a half CD players since I became enthusiastic to hi-fi. Musical Fidelity X-24K is the first half because it is just a DAC. The other one is Creek CD43. Before I own CD43, I connect the 24K to my DVD players and enjoy two-channel music. Now, CD43 takes up all the responsibility.

Let me tell you that CD43 has a better overall performance than my DVD+X24K combo. X24K does a good job in better revealing the music, especially strings.

On the other hand, CD43 is more comprehensive: better soundstaging and good detail level as X24K does. Listening to female vocals is now a different story. I can now hear them breathe, feeling their emotions. Well, I am not saying that the X-24K is poor in this aspect, but it is not as attractive as CD43.

Overall, I recommend people who want to upgrade their digital source to audition this product.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Chris   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 21, 2000]
Strength:

musical and smooth midrange. Low frequency detail and resonable price.

Weakness:

unattractive outlook.

I've have been using this CD player about a year now! I'm very pleased with the sound quality of this player. The low frequencies is awsome. Very detail and define. Highs are extended and sweet. It works great with all my tube gears (Sonic frontier power one, Leak ST 20, Highly modified Dynaco PAS 4 and my 1958 Fisher X-100). I believed this's one of the best buy CD player around $1,000.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Arnaud Rebillon   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 17, 2000]
Strength:

good musicality, good rythm...resonable price

Weakness:

doesn't read some cds

Work very well with my 45 set and my horn. It's not fatiguing to listen to. Also well balanced over all the frequency range with good detail and resolution.
A good buy waiting for the new standard..(sacd?..)

Similar Products Used: Lynn mimik
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
severe critig   Audiophile [May 19, 2000]
Strength:

smooth in vocals, songs...
syrupy in treble
musical in this range of prices

Weakness:

lacks power of resolution
thin build
can't produce substantial bass
roll off in treble

performance's not good as i read from the hi-fi magazines,
though not very disappointing.

Similar Products Used: sony s7000 dvd player
sony cdp-x7es cd player
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Tom   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 13, 2001]
Strength:

Detail and clarity, soundstage, overall smoothness and balance

Weakness:

None

I have owned the original Creek CD43 for about 2 years, however recently I decided to "upgrade" to the newer CD43Mk2. This review in a sense covers both models but specifically refers to the newer Mk2 version. There have been, in my opinion, significant improvements made in the Mk2 version (readers of this review should also check out the Creek website for more details). The original CD43 was (and still is a very fine player) but having had the opportunity to compare both, I can say without a doubt that the Mk2 version has a better (especially deeper) soundstage, much better resolution of detail, improved overall clarity and smoothness and more robust, fuller bass. I am hearing things on my CDs that I have never heard before on any CD player I have ever owned, including the original CD43. I would go so far as to say that the sound on many CDs is simply stunning! This machine is so good that it would give many $2-3K machines significant competition. I would encourage anyone looking for an excellent CD player at any price to run...not walk to a dealer who has the Creek CD43Mk2 and listen for yourself. You will be pleasantly surprised.

Similar Products Used: Creek CD43 (original version)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
walter   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 20, 2001]
Strength:

great soundstage

Weakness:

no digital in--what's that all about?

I'm just breaking in the 43mkII. It's a winner, but is light on design and function. How hard is it to make a good CD player with front panel features and dig in and out on back? The answer is, I'm keeping my Marantz around just in case. However, I am using this without a separate DAC. And it's very open, this Creek, and revealing beyond belief. Excellent so far.

Similar Products Used: Marantz 63SE
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
2
Tom   Audiophile [Feb 25, 2000]
Strength:

Awesome soundstage and low level detail

Weakness:

I haven't found any yet

I didn't think digital could be this good for this price. After only having the unit a couple weeks I've been totally blown away by the Creek's excellent detail and sense of rhythm. It's not fatiguing to listen to at any point and it even handles loud volumes at long intervals with aplomb (I usually get a headache with most CD players). There is something in the way the Creek can crack open a song and show you details you've never heard before...even stuff I've been listening to for years. That Crystal 24-bit DAC seems to have some real magic. It was not just a pretty good addition to my system but an awesome addition. I can't see anyone regretting their decision to get a Creek CD-43.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Steven Smith   Audiophile [Jan 15, 2001]
Strength:

Excellent soundstage, mids, highs; best low level detail I know of for a $1000 player. Excellent price/performance.

Weakness:

Looks light weight, but it actually has an alloy cabinet.

This CD player (the newer CD43mkII) really provides wonderful sound with excellent "British" rhythm and overall musicality. The excellent low level detail found in the Creek CD43mkII makes it a 5 Star Performer and Value. I
think that CD players have finally arrived, and that there
are many excellent sounding players out there in the $300 to
$1000 range. If you also believe (subjectively) that components like CD Players do sound different, but you don't want to spend $5,000 or more, or even $2,000, give
the Creek a listen.

Similar Products Used: NAD, Arcam, Rotel, and Cambridge.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com