Arcam CD72T CD Players

CD72T

Arcam Diva CD72T CD Player

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
The Phantom Flan Flinger   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 18, 2006]
Strength:

Great solid sound with just about all types of music, Beautifully made Looks good too but that shouldn't really count.

Weakness:

Haven't found any as yet unless you can call showing up poorly recorded albums a weakness...I think not!

I have had the cd72t now for 3 years and so far, just about about every type of music I've played on it has been reproduced beautifully. The only thing with this machine is.... make sure you don't play poorly recorded albums, it'll show them up! I never understood HIFI CHOICE giving it only 3 out of 5, they were fair about a lot of points though it has to be said. At the end of the day it's all down to personal taste, usually for me I find Arcam and Rotel always hit the spot. What I wanted to say as well was....what is the difference between the cd72t and the cd73? Apart from the cd player both mine and a friends set up are identical, I'm telling you there's no difference in sound whatsoever just incase anybody has ever wondered, well who cares, they're both wonderfull machines.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mortz   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 01, 2004]
Strength:

Value for $. Full rich, yet articulate sound. Conveys the rythym and flow of the music.

Weakness:

Text option??? why... I can only assume Sony insisted.

This is a review of the Diva CD82T which is not listed but certainly worthy of a review. Needing a replacement for an aging CD player I went about auditioning one box players with a ceiling of $3000 in mind (Cdn dollars). Having a Linn integrated, I considered a Linn player, but found the value for price not there. I also listened to several Rotel products, highly rated, and very good. However, once I auditioned the CD82T, I kept going back. It just sounded right. The CD72 was great, but the 82 just seemed to have a little fuller sound. For my dollar I found this player to be the absolute point of diminishing returns, ie: twice as good as a $1000 player, but only marginally behind a far more expensive player. You would have to spend a considerable amount to get something that would be enough of an upgrade to consider. I think the real statement was from my wife, who upon hearing the player, accused me of getting new speakers. (If she could not recognize the old ones....maybe I should have??) I have now discovered a whole new library of music with previously hidden detail. In terms of value, by far the best component I have.

Similar Products Used: I presently use a Linn Intek 50 Watt Integrated Amp (next on the upgrade list) and Celestion SL12si speakers. I auditioned several Rotel players, Linn, Roksan, NAD, Marantz.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
sound67   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 01, 2004]
Strength:

Natural, warm sound with impressive body and detail. Very reliable performer.

Weakness:

Blah design. No Standby button on the remote.

I used the latest version, the new CD73T (sticker on the back says August of 2003 as date of manufacture). They replaced the Burr Brown D/A converters with Wolfson 24bit, though I have no idea if that really makes a difference (differences between CD players account for about 5% in the chain, no more!). As is, the 73T is superb value for money. Thoroughly reliable - which is more than I can say for other units costing three times as much, impressive soundstage, treble and bass rounded off just a little as not to sound too harsh or boomy. Very good for classical listeners: big, bold, detailed sound, vocal performances really sound natural and "alive". Built could be a bit more sturdy, but the CD drives makes a very good impression. This is a player for people who don't want to worry about the performance! CD players I auditioned which cost three times as much did not sound any better. Boring design is a minor distraction (not NAD-boring, but a bit blah).

Similar Products Used: Musical Fidelity A3.2 (unreliable!), Rega "PLanet", Shanling S-100, Denon DCD 685, Marantz CD 67 SE, Harman Kardon HD 7400.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
psyopwak   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 16, 2004]
Strength:

Better than my cd/dvd player Better then 5 cd players I have owned since 1985

Weakness:

Tray is good, not rock solid

This were the words describing the CD72T by owners and reviewers I carefully read before making this purchase. -articulate -open and refined upper and mid frequencies -broad/wide soundstage -good freq range -gives good representation to each instrument -decently built -very good if not best at it's price range -better with vocals and easy listening and jazz than rock I could not agree more, with those observations.

Similar Products Used: Onkyo, Sony, Pioneer and NAD
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
danbry39   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 12, 2003]
Strength:

Great sound. Reads discs which my other players balked on.

Weakness:

Wish it had HDCD capability.

Each of my other CD players (Adcom, Onkyo, Harman Kardon) have strengths and weaknesses. Performance wise, the Arcam demonstrates the best of the other players, with no glaring weaknesses. Simply stated, it is musical (quick), dynamic, authoritative, and detailed. It is very clear sounding, but without harshness or fatigue. It covers the highs and lows with clarity and resolve. Just what the doctor ordered and, for those who love listening to stereo on redbook CD's, well worth the money spent. Put simply, I hardly listened to CD's before and listen for hours on end now.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ChrisW   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 12, 2003]
Strength:

Build, well-defined bass, stereo imaging, detail

Weakness:

None to speak of

I was considering the Marantz CD6000KI, but after I auditioned this player in the summer of 2002 I just had to buy it. It comfortably outperformed its cheaper sibling (the '62T) even when using my rather long in the tooth amp and speakers. NOTE: Price above is in UK Pounds, not US Dollars. My system currently comprises: Arcam CD72 CD player (of course!) Yamaha KX580 Cassette Deck Arcam Alpha 5+ Amplifier Mordaunt-Short MS30 speakers

Similar Products Used: Rotel RCD955AX (my old player)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
AdioNut   AudioPhile [Nov 16, 2002]
Strength:

A smooth, punchy sound. Try to only listen to a few bars

Weakness:

Will spoil you for anything else.

Try upgrade from this CD player! If there is a curse in an audiophile's world, it could be accidentally buying a world beating component as your first purchase. This CD player complements its good looks and sturdy feel with range topping sound. While completing an A/B test between this player and a good Marantz, I found that I kept forgetting to go back to the Marantz, the 72 kept me glued to the music. The CD72 will hit you from the very first notes and keep you listening. Although silky smooth, it has considerable power and punch. From Mahler to Modanna this player has no shortcomings. I test my components with commercial recordings before I pamper them with audiophile CDs. When it comes to bass only the $2,000+ Naim CD5 was able to draw so much oomph from stand-mounted speakers. It draws a fine balance between smooth, fatigue free and expressive articulation. Consequently, highly charged pop such as Tori Amos's "Cornflake Girl" motors along at full throtle. The songs complex, multi-layered production is unravelled so that each musical strand is easily distinguishable and yet woven into the whole in a manner more suited to a much more expensive player. Play hard edge material such as Shaggy's "Bombastic", and the CD72 responds with plenty of verve, while something gentler such as Pat Metheny's "Beyond the Missouri Sky" shows it has the finesse to create musical magic. IMHO no other player within the $1,500 range can touch it. Even the incredible FMJ CD23 has a tough time. My System: Arcam CD72T Arcam FMJ A22 B&W CDM 1NT(fantastic speaker) B&W FS stands (a must)

Similar Products Used: FMJ CD23T, Roksan Caspian, Rega, Marantz,Meridian, and Sony.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mike Ranfft   AudioPhile [Oct 10, 2002]
Strength:

ease of detail across frequencies, bass detail, natural soundstage, affordability›

Weakness:

long break in period, probably due to the extra power supplies in the T versionÃ

This cd player gives you a significant slice of high end players at a reasonable price. However, it requires a long break in period, up to a few months. Initially it sounds great, then it goes through a hard sounding period. Finally it eases & opens up. Other people have had a smiliar experience!

Similar Products Used: have demoed at home rotel and cambridge budget models, linn genki and ikemi
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Thomas   AudioPhile [Sep 15, 2002]
Strength:

Great Bass, Smooth Vocals and Treble!Imaging, Depth, Soundstage, and Details in all Frequencies! Digital Coax and Optical Choices!

Weakness:

Minor- No Balance Options, only RCA

The Arcam CD72T is a great purchase for your system. If you are interested in this machine, you have to hurry because the company is increasing the price to $899.00 effective 10/01/2002! Now for the performance! This machine has a smooth presentation that is amazing! I purchased the Cambridge Audio D500SE 6 months ago based on the Stereophile ratings that it earned; I am still satisfied with the machine. However, when I did an A-B comparison with Acram CD72T, both machines produced very good bass, midrange, and treble responses. To me, the Cambridge has an open midrange and strong vocals. The Arcam on the other hand, reproduced the midrange and vocals that gave me the "I am There" experience! Especially, when I sampled Diana Reeves "Live" and Joe Sample's "Sample This" CDs. The Arcam handled the treble repsonses without that "Shrill or Brightness" that some players are known to do. The Cambridge in this area was slighly on the bright side, but not too much to run me out of the room. Finally the bass, the Arcam controlled the bass with ease, details, and power and extra details that I had not experience on other machines! I will leave you with this thought, Go get it! For the money and performance versus players in the higher price range, this one makes sense! I know there are other players that will outperform this machine such as Mark Levinson, but for the money the Arcam CD72T was the best choice for me since I listen to Jazz, Classical, and Gospel music. My System: Adcom GFP 750 2 Carver TFM 15CB ( Bridged) (1996) MSB Link III 24/96 MSB Powerbase Monarchy Audio 48/96 Upsampler HK CD20 Cd Recorder Cambridge Audio D500SE Arcam CD72T Onkyo Integra TA 2600 Tape Deck (1991) Bose 901 Series VI (1988) Monster Power 3600 Line Conditioner MIT 330 Pro II Interconnects MIT Terminator 2 Internconnects MIT Terminator 2 Speaker Cables Nordost Solar Wind Interconnects MIT Optical (2) Silver Serpent Digital Coax Cable Kimber Optical

Similar Products Used: Cambridge D500 SE (Still Using), Adcom GCD 750 (No Digital Outputs), Meridian 504.24 (Did not have enough controll in my system)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com