DH Labs Silver Sonic D-75 Video/Digital Cables

Silver Sonic D-75

DH-Labs D-75 is a thoroughly engineered, precision 75 ohm coaxial digital cable designed for accurate handling of digital audio signals. The most common use for this cable is to connect the digital output of a CD or DVD transport to an outboard Digital to Analog converter or other digital processor.

User Reviews (14)

Showing 1-10 of 14  
StevenSurprenant   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 20, 2007]
Strength:

Clarity, Balance, Cost.

Weakness:

None

The moment I put this cable in my system I knew I had a winner. It far exceeded my expectations!

Prior to this, I had tried several coax cables and several optical cables to connect my DVD player to my receiver and the glass optical cable was hands down the winner by a good amount. I thought that it couldn't get any better than that. until I got the DH Labs D-75.

My entire system is now wired with DH Labs cables.

I have to tell you this...

DH Labs is the finest cable available for the money. I'm sure there is better, but I haven't heard any better.

I've had Monster, Audio Quest, Nordost, and several others, including some DIY's. What I like most about DH Labs is that it doesn't seems to impart any characteristics of it's own on the sound. It's virtually transparent and the full spectrum of sound is balanced.

I don't understand how cable can make a difference, but it does.

I bought my cable from Audio Concepts in Wisconsin. I told the gentleman there that I needed it in a hurry because I was having a friend from out of state coming to audition my system so I received the cable in three days from the time I ordered it using standard UPS shipping. I am very pleased with this company. Service couldn't be better.


Customer Service

Excellent

Similar Products Used: Nordost, Audio Quest, and many more.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
upsetdog   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 13, 2004]
Strength:

More of everything you want from movies and music.

Weakness:

I took to long to find it.

I've used Radio Shack,Monster,AQ,and a few others,but this is by far the best I've heard.I always thought a digital cable just sent the 1,0's.After putting this on my Denon 2900 I had to turn the volume down.Much more dynamic and open then any other cable I've used. Now you can spend more but what will you get besides audio jewelry. Movie soundtracks are much more pronounced.Music has more wieght and slam to it.I'm an audio nut on a budget.How bout you? Give this a listen.You can't go wrong.

Similar Products Used: Monster,RS,AR,Audioquest and a host of others.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
michael klementovich   AudioPhile [Dec 18, 2003]
Strength:

Everything

Weakness:

NONE

This Digital Cable is the pound for pound champion. The Music Metre Fidelus is slightly more refined bt is 90.00 more. The MIT Digital Reference is 325.00 and is slow and fat in relation to the D-75. And the Stereophile Favorite the D-60 Illuminations @ 160.00 is so far out the ballgame it isn't even a ballgame. THIS IS THE RUNAWAY...BANG FOR THE BUCK.Go buy yourself a D-75 DH Labs Digital and do not look back

Similar Products Used: MIT Digital Reference Homegrown Audio Digital Music Metre Fidelus D-60 Illuminations
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Johnnysound   AudioPhile [Sep 13, 2003]
Strength:

Bl-1: Smooth, balanced sound. Excellent bass, extended highs. Small diameter, good flexibility. D-75: A superior digital cable. Somehow allways sound more precise and refined than any standard 75 ohm cable.

Weakness:

BL-1: Perhaps a little shy in the midrange. D-75: None sonically, but difficult to work with. Has to be paired with a true 75 ohm connector.

I have what can be described as a "modular" (to say the least) audio system with maybe too many components. My preamp configuration, for example, has 4 pieces (all Musical Fidelity X-series): two power supplies, a main unit and a tube output. Add an equalizer, BBE processor and tuner. In the digital front, two Monarchy DIPs (in series), two CD players/transports and (yes) two D/A converters. As you can guess at this point, two mono power amplifiers and some speakers. Can you imagine the amount of cabling for all this gear ? Buying finished, high quality cables was not a wise financial decision, as I learned soon. Also, mixing many different brands and types of audio and digital cables has to be avoided from a technical point of view, so I had no options but to making them myself. I got bulk Silver Sonic BL-1 S2 audio and D-75 digital cable from Parts Connection, quite good RCA locking type (audio) and "Tifanny" (75 ohm) connectors from Parts Express, silver solder, shrink tubing, etc. and after a LOT of work ended with a full set of first class cables, for about 1/5 its store price. Both BL-1 and D-75 are excellent cables.

Similar Products Used: Many other cables
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Kenneth Chen   AudioPhile [Aug 18, 2003]
Strength:

Crystal clear and smooth. Great value for the money.

Weakness:

None I can think of.

It totally upturns my previous thinking about digital cables. The D-75 is smooth, transparent and wide in soundstage. I also use two pairs of BL-1 from DH Labs in my system. They are all good investments in any mid priced system.

Similar Products Used: Philips stock digital cable.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Kck   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 04, 2003]
Strength:

Smooth,neutral lifelike.

Weakness:

Slim buildd. Not really a weakness but may not appeal to those who think fatter is better. Only in sumo wrestlers.

It's all true. This made a believer out of me... not that I was a total skeptic, but thought that (a) one would have to spend a lot and (b) would have to listen carefully to identify differences in cable. Neither hold true in the case of this low-priced cable. The difference was obvious and quite stunning. I am now ready to try other cables from this brand; hopefully they are all nearly as good.

Similar Products Used: Monster, MIT, PBJ, Audioquest
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
paulchiu   Audio Enthusiast [May 27, 2003]
Strength:

Same price as the Monster Cable, but much better sound quality.

Weakness:

Heavier guage wire is much stiffer than the Monster Cable, which makes wiring more of a pain, IMO. But that may just be the name of the game.

I have always been skeptical about sonic differences between cables costing more than $50. I figured that once you reach a particular price point, quality is good enough that they should sound VERY similar, especially for digital cables. I mean, they're just transmitting a binary signal, right? Well, after some testing between my existing Monster Cable and the D-75, I have to say that the difference is pretty apparent. The D-75 immediately sounds more lively, with faster transients and a more open sound. The Monster Cable is just very flat and unmusical in comparison, and this was a cable that I had no complaints about before I got the D-75. This is the best that my system has ever sounded, and all this by changing a piece of wire. If I were to hear myself speak even just a week ago, I'd think I was being an audio snob or just brainwashed. Now I can say that I know better.

Similar Products Used: Monster Cable digital coax.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mauricio   AudioPhile [Mar 01, 2003]
Strength:

Equilibrium.Energy. Detail. Neutrality. Easyness. Of course, price.

Weakness:

connector could be tighter. Stiffness, but this is expected and doesn't matters much.

I am an audiophile on-a-budget. I bought the D75 silver sonic and next Monarchy Audio's DIP Upsampler instead of upgrading the transport: a cheap JVC-DVD player. The combination is outstanding!! The cable is very neutral yet it conveys very energetic an well delineated highs like in trumpets and horns, without edginess or noise. You'll forget the price paid inmediatelly. I strongly recommend this combination for those, like me, that can wait the end of the "high resolution war" but who wish to have the best sound from his CDs now.

Similar Products Used: I forgott.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ecclezia   AudioPhile [Feb 24, 2003]
Strength:

Truly transparent, with no perceptible loss in clarity or resolution; Bargain price for the quality on offer.

Weakness:

Quality termination is important. Other than that, nothing to fault at this price.

I was using another digital interconnect which had cost me more than three times the price of the D-75. I replaced it with the D-75 (terminated with Canare plugs) and was stunned by the difference. The D-75 lifted a veil right off the sound, restoring imaging, resolution, attack and slam that had been suppressed by the previoud cable. All this at a third of the price ... the D-75 is one of the most sensible purchases I have made.

Similar Products Used: One competitor interconnect at three times the cost of the D-75. Absolutely no contest -- the D-75 trumped the costlier cable many times over.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mark Mangold   Audiophile [Apr 09, 2000]
Strength:

Reality, clarity, soundstage depth, ambience, natural, 3-D...

Weakness:

None

I urge all audiophiles to upgrade their digital connections to true 75 ohm impedance. After reading an article in Audio Amateur by Gary Gallo I upgraded all of my digital connections. I bought D.H. Labs D-75 cable and Vampire 75 ohm BNC connectors from the Parts Connection. The improvement is unbelieveable. It has revolutionized my stereo systems!!! The reason I am writing this review is yesterday I changed my digital cable (Monster Cable) to the D.H. Labs with 75 ohm BNC connectors. The improvement was awesome. I have done this before on another system of mine with a lower priced DAC. The improvement was greater than adding a jitter box. This time it was a much bigger improvement. The sound is now so natural and life like I no longer have the upgrade itch!!!

Similar Products Used: Monster Cable Data 100, Audio Magic
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com