BetterCables Silver Serpent VGA Breakout Cable Video/Digital Cables

Silver Serpent VGA Breakout Cable

Engineered for video excellence. Our vga breakout cables are suitable for critical runs even as long as 200 feet or more – even with HDTV signals. Perfect for HDTV, Home Theater PCs, video scalers and any situation where signal quality should not be compromised. This cable enables your equipment to reproduce the best color saturation, black level and detail possible. We doubt there is a higher performing component cable available ANYWHERE at ANY price. The cable features solid 75-ohm silver-clad copper center conductors, hard-cell high-density foam PE insulation, 78 percent velocity of propagation, low 17.3 pF per ft capacitance, impedance-matched 75-ohm RCA or BNC connectors and triple shielding for unmatched RF and EMI interference protection. This cable is also NEC CL2 rated for in-wall use.

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
Mike Koch   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 31, 2000]
Strength:

As advertised...broadcast quality at affordable prices.

Weakness:

None

These are the finest cables that I have ever run across at this price level. These are commercial quality cables custom made. Buy the exact length and type that you need for your application. I have been an audio enthusiast for over 35 years and a video enthusiast since laser disks arrived on the scene. I wish every cable in my home was made by these folks.

Similar Products Used: Monster (junk)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dan   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 22, 2001]
Strength:

Excellent construction quality and an improved signal for better picture quality.

Weakness:

None

I am using this cable for output from my PC's VGA card to an Eizo 21" monitor.

Originally, I was using a generic VGA cable like every monitor comes with, and was disappointed at the image quality I was getting. At resolutions over 1280x1024, colors blurred together and high contrast colors such as black on white text would have a "shadow" extending 1-2mm to the right. This was not acceptable to me, so I bought a ABL VGA-5BNC cable for $35 which somewhat reduced but did not eliminate these problems. I then found the Silver Serpent line on the bettercables.com website, which seemed exactly what I was looking for. Checking the web for user reviews led me to Audioreview, and the positive comments here sold me.

This cable did not reduce the image problems I was experiencing, it eliminated them completely. The improvement seems more like a new monitor than a "simple" cabling upgrade.

I think anyone who spends hours a day staring at a monitor owes themselves one of these.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jusuf Santoso   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 01, 2001]
Strength:

Product quality and customer service

Weakness:

None

Ever since I bought my S-Video cable from BetterCables.com more than a year ago and compare it to my Monster S-Video Premium 3, I've always trusted the quality of the cables from BetterCables. I just bought the Silver Serpent Digital Coax and Silver Serpent VGA to RGBHV recently and very happy with the quality.
The customer service is one of the best in the world, too. I changed my order "lord knows" how many times, and still got everything taken care of excellently.
Thanks !

Similar Products Used: Belkin VGA to RGBHV (5BNC)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Paulo   Casual Listener [Jun 01, 2001]
Strength:

Very High Quality, Good Service.

Weakness:

Price.

My custom made 10-ft. VGA breakout cable has worked beautifully with my Home Theater PC and 65" Mitsubishi. Other "do-it-yourself" solutions with mixing cables and adapters were both messy and provided a poorer picture quality.
In addition, customer service at BetterCables.com was very helpful, courteous and professional. Product quality is also excellent and I do not anticipate EVER having to repair or replace this cable with my current installation.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Doug Berman   Casual Listener [Jun 01, 2001]
Strength:

Strong and durable, made of high quality materials.

Weakness:

none that I know of.

I purchased the cable I wanted (9’) on-line. I the next day I received an email stating it was shipped. In addition, Better Cables included the tracking number and URL for my convenience. The cable arrived and was installed without incident. It was exactly what I needed and works flawlessly. I would highly recommend them for your cabling needs.

Similar Products Used: The cable I purchased is a specialized HD15-VGA breakout. From what I've seen, there's not much to compare.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Christian Vye   Audiophile [Jul 20, 2001]
Strength:

well-made, passes signal unattenuated

Weakness:

none

Provides an excellent picture with no problems.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Arthur Greenberg   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 12, 2001]
Strength:

Outstanding video reproduction and build quality

Weakness:

No identification labels on H & V sync connectors

This is a superb product that is beautifully built with high quality BNC connectors. The mechanical construction is strong and attractive. The video reproduction was flawless with an increase in black level with my front projection Sony unit upon connection compared to the generic cable. A very reasonable cost for a high quality cable.

The only criticism is the lack of labeling on the (yellow and white) sync cables. I used "trial and error" to connect. This is a very minor concern since it is a one time issue at initial installation.

Similar Products Used: generic VGA breakout cable
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Derek Ealy   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 27, 2000]
Strength:

Excellent construction, superb video performance

Weakness:

none so far

I have several computers hooked up to a single monitor via a KVM switch. I tend to run my systems at high resolution, either 1152x870 or 1280x1024. As a result, I would get lots of ghosting when run through the multiple cable lengths and the KVM switch. Today my VGA->5BNC cable arrived, along with a standard 15 - 15 pin VGA cable. The difference was immediately noticable! I bumped the computer up to 1280x1024 resolution and the ghosting is still much better than before.

Better Cables builds a really high quality product that performs very very well.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
hifipj   Audiophile [Apr 14, 2000]
Strength:

Tremedous video quality, flexibility, fast service.

Weakness:

Somewhat high price.

I've been using three cables from BetterCables.com for about a month now, and I've been very happy with them. I used 4m lengths of the VGA-5BNC, with both the Canare and Mogami cable. Also, I had very good results with a custom 1' VGA-5BNC female cable. These cables connect an RCA DTC-100 HDTV receiver, and a home theater PC running at 720p/960p resolutions, to a Sony 9" CRT projector and a Unity Motion HDTV.

Image detail is excellent, and details in dark scenes are much more delineated than with my previous cable, the cheap-o VGA adapter sold at Best Buy (connected to good quality Canare LV61S). But perhaps the biggest benefit was the cable's true 75 ohm impedance - using my previous setup, I experienced image ghosting on my CRT projector (light spots on a dark background had horizontal trails). The BetterCables.com cables eliminated 95% of this problem!

Highly recommended.

Pat

Similar Products Used: CinemaQuest, Belden, Canare
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Marshall Belcher   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 07, 2000]
Strength:

Broadcast quality as advertised.

Weakness:

None so far...

Good cable!

Similar Products Used: Monster, Belden, ...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com