Van den Hul magnum Speaker Cables

magnum

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
Sandy   AudioPhile [Jul 01, 2016]

The best tonality and outstanding resolution. The treble is very smooth and relaxed no hint of edge and also the bass is very controlled and well bodied. Excellent midrange realism and also very nice and little softer attack makes you feel you are listening to valves even though its a solidstate.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ryder   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 24, 2007]
Strength:

Loose bass, bloated midrange and shut-in highs. Very undynamic sounding speaker cable.

Good for cheap budget systems especially those harsh sounding ones with bright treble.

Weakness:

Loose bass, bloated midrange and shut-in highs. Very undynamic sounding speaker cable.

Good for cheap budget systems especially those harsh sounding ones with bright treble.

I've got this speaker cable from ebay out of curiousity on how VDH cables wound sound like since they are quite cheap. Compared to by Nordost Blue Heavens, the Magnums sounded like trash -bass was loose and muddy, midrange bloated and the highs was shut-in. I gave it about 2 weeks burn-in and the results were the same. I was very disappointed with this cable apart.

I would not use this cable with a system costing $2,000 and above. For a sub-$1,000 rig that requires a warm sounding cable to tame some harshness and/or brightness in the treble, the VDH Magnum Hybrid may be the ticket. Otherwise, look elsewhere. I would recommend the Kimber 8TC which will trounce the VDH Magnum in all aspects at a similiar price.

Similar Products Used: Kimber 4TC, 8TC, Nordost Super Flatline Gold, Blue Heavens, Acoustic Zen Satoris, XLO Type 5
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Liquid99   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 05, 2005]
Strength:

soundstage , depth, frequency extreems, neutrality, lovely midband & quality of product.

Weakness:

not easy to find terminaions

i have used this cable with solid state & tube amps , electrostatic and dome cone speakers found their performance to be constant. i really like these cables for the price this side of the revolution and revelations. could say im a bit biased towards vdh cables.

Similar Products Used: many.........
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
dwh   Audio Enthusiast [May 12, 2002]
Strength:

Deep solid bass, sweet mids and highs.

Weakness:

With the right system - none

This is a fantastic cable that really makes the music come to life. It really depends on your components and quality of interconnects, power cords, etc. These cables far excel over other cables I''ve tried over the past year and I highly recommend them. If you want mids and highs that are silky smooth with extended bass - these cables are really worth a try. I''d recommend using the VDH D102 MK III interconnects with these. Also, the Absolute Power Cord is terrific (can be obtained on Audiogon for $50).

Similar Products Used: Alpha Core Goertz MI-2, Tara Labs, DH Labs Q-10, Elco STI-2.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Willy Van den Wyngaert   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 20, 1999]
Strength:

Holographic, neutrality, control

Weakness:

size?

Surprising cable, seen the simple design (side by side, with wide separation, hundreds of wtisted wires, silver plated pure copper, adding up to 8.5mm² or 8AWG).
The sound is very sweet and neutral, the soundstage is very wide and deep, bass response it tight and in control.I have the newer version, the Magnum Hybrid (a carbon layer is added between the wires and the outer material).
This cable is proof that it doesn't take an exotic design to obtain a good sound (quality of materials is just as important).

System:
Piega P5 speakers
Classé Audio CAP-151 integrated amplifier
Teac VRDS10SE CD-player
Van den Hul Magnum Hybrid speaker cable.

Similar Products Used: Kimber Cable 8TC, MIT terminator 2, AudioQuest Stage
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Sebastiaan de Vries   Audiophile [Oct 25, 2000]
Strength:

Depth and stage of the instruments

Weakness:

Colored, and bad low end response

Great cable for harsh sounding speakers, and equipement but for true audio it isn't my cup of thea. The low end has now slam, and sound not smooth enough. My translator cable that cost $ 10,- sound much better and tighter in the low end scale. The hole freq. scale sound muddy and slow.
I miss the open and natural sound of the monster cables. After using a lot fo v/d hull cables and Interlinks, I can say that I don't like v/d hull cables. Sorry

Similar Products Used: Monster m 2.4/ monster powerline/Translator
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Volker   Audiophile [Oct 17, 2001]
Strength:

Neutrality, 3-Dimensional

Weakness:

Need carefully be matched with your equipment, connectors not easy to be fixed

I use the vdH Magnum Hybrid.
This cable can, depending to your other equipment, be an absolute mismatch, therefore listen to it carefully before buying. In my case, I guessed this cable would be the right one and I was lucky. Also I trusted vdH's good reputation in cables and I was not disappointed by it.
It is a great, impressive looking cable, very solid built but therefore it's not easy to fix the connectors properly to it.
In connection with my tube amplifiers, the vdH Magnum Hybrid produces an outstanding, clear, sweet and very neutral sound with a wide and deep soundstage. The bass is deep, tight and controlled, mids are warm and real sounding and the highs are crystal clear without beeing to bright.

My Equipment:
Cayin SC 6L SE-tupe pre
Cayin 9021 DEX SE-tube mains
Cary Audio CD303 CD-player
B&W CDM 1 SE speakers
all cables van den Hul

Similar Products Used: Kimber 8PR, Siltech,
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Rob Pieterman   Audiophile [Jan 03, 2001]
Strength:

Looks, relatively cheap

Weakness:

Not suitable for serious Audiophiles, warm, bad bass, grain in vocals.

A nice cable to start with and good "looks", the size of a firm chocolate bar ;-)
Wins from most Monster and Kimber cables but loses from Siltech and MIT. Not suitable for systems above $5000

Similar Products Used: MIT, Siltech, Kimber, Ocos, Monster, Oelbach
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Nick   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 14, 2000]
Weakness:

Too warm, dull, lack of detail

VDH Magnum has a very impressive look. But it sounds terrible. The cable is way too warm. It could even dull the system if you don't match it properly.

I found a smaller MIT Zapcord sounds much better.

Similar Products Used: MIT Zapcord
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com