Van den Hul CS-122 Hybrid Speaker Cables

Van den Hul CS-122 Hybrid Speaker Cables 

DESCRIPTION

For the demanding bass lovers who also appreciate a high level of detail

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 35  
[Aug 24, 2014]
Lasse Davidsson
Audio Enthusiast

I was a tara- lab user for a long time (good stuff) but when I buy B & W CM1 the tara-labs was not sounding that good, they just didn´t work together. So I bi-wired my Technics su-v 900 up with the teatrack and D-102 III interconnect between cd and amp. The result was really good, and that has been my setup for a couple of years now. The teatrack provides good clear bass, warm mid, and clear tweets. My verdict is REALLY GOOD. (I have the VDH hybrid speakercables to my subwoofer also, with good result.)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 13, 2010]
Audionaut
Audio Enthusiast

Very subtle, detailed. Not the varmest cable around, mids can be slightly “cold” in some set-up. I ran them on Rega R7. With my Marantz PM7001KI I found them to "cold/technical"-sounding", with my Naim Nait XS they were just right. Very good buy. My guess is that it's very goog for "brighter" speakers and "warmer" amps. But - you just have to try it out to see. Anyway: Rega R7 + Naim Nait XS + CS-122 = Fabolous.

I have also compared this cable to the Van den Hul D-352, wich have more bass, and and a slightly warmer sound.

Pros: Detail, balanced, not too bright. Bass control. Good price. Easy to terminate.

Cons: Can be a bit cold in the mids in some set ups, but can also be a perfect match indeed.


OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 10, 2009]
smitson
Audio Enthusiast

I just bought VDH CS-122 not long ago replacing no name cable (2,50mm2) I got from my friend. I wasn't very satisfied with the overal sound of my system (Marantz PM7001, CD6002, ST6001; Speakers:Dali Concept 6; Interconnect; D-102 Hybrid); the lack of control of overal soundstage was obvious, so I decide to try CS-122 to try to improve this.

After a week of listening I must say that I am very satisfied mostly because the boomy bass has disapeared (very well controled/defined) but didn't loose a that punch. High and mid range are extremely rich in detail and what is most important (at high and low volume) very pleasant for listening. No harshness and headache even after hours of listening. Very natural sound, warm and neutral.

I like it so far even though it didn't burn in all the way!!!

And let's don't forget that we all have unique flavors! :)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 12, 2005]
ideainnova
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

--

Weakness:

--

Cut high band to prevent you from hearing harshness&hum of of your system. Also a boom of bass that your system lack to produce any lowband to hear. With lack of trebles and booms of bass around there is only midrange to hear that is out of reality. My timing, dynamism, air, stage, timbres, my music everything is lost at all. Hey people there, you dont listen to music, I know you hear some sounds in your rooms inside a pair of speaker making sounds in turn to critisize as open, good, bad, detailed, harsh etc. A cable is a media to transfer information to speakers.

Similar Products Used:

My brother's effect processors and filters for his equipments. May be an equaliser replaces this.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Aug 13, 2004]
STIFA
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

MIDS HIGHS LOOKS BUILD QUALITY

Weakness:

I may be mad or deaf but I didnt hear that much deeper bass.

This is a very fine cable that made my system sound better.I have Marantz SR6300 and B&W DM601 S3 speakers and with them I got VDH Skyline Hybrid, that seemed OK to me but I thought that there was something missin'. I gave away the money and I got sound , Inspite what other people said in this forum I heard/compared CS-122 and Skyline(5 bucks a metre) and didnt found that MUCH DEEPER BASS or SUBWOOFER BASS but it is still better and it sounds different and cleaner, bu I was overwhelmed with its treble and Mid capacities that sounded MUCH better. Voices are COOL and Natural and treble gives away all the detail that it should. I bought it because I needed more bass on my -58hz speakers and I got a little more, and much more in upper frequencies/ That was my budget limit 4 cables (six meters x 12 bucks) and I dont regret it but I wish it had a little more bass, but my speakers are limited to 58 so... Cool buy anyway, strong and good looking. CYA 2 ya ALL Marko stifa@eunet.yu SRBIJA RULEZ

Similar Products Used:

Skyline Hybrid ,QED silver

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 13, 2004]
UK Listener
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Detail, naturalness, Bass speed and punch, midrange, voices, warmth, resolution, build quality, no harshness.

Weakness:

None - it seems to do nearly everything better than any other i've tested.

This is a very fine Cable as one of the reviewers has already noted, I have tried many cables from £4.50 per metre - £17 per metre and have allways come back to this, it just has a certain rightness to the sound that i have yet been able to beat in my current set up which is; Arcam Alpha 7se Cd Player Rotel RA 971 mk2 Amp B&W 601 S3 speakers biwired Audioquest Viper Interconnect Mains conditioner (Must Have) Other cables i have tried include: QED Silver Anniversary QED X Tube 300 Ecosse Reference CS2.15 & ES2.3 Biwire Ecosse Reference CS2.3 Chord Rumour 2 Audioquest Type 4+ Audioquest Type 6+ Van den Hul The Clearwater DNM Reson mk2 Admittly my set up is still in the budget area but it can sound very good when fed a decent recording but with the VDH CS122 Hybrid attached i get so much more detail, quicker deeper bass, nice natural voices and better soundstaging when playing CD's. With movies it comes into a world of its own, films like saving private ryan with a lot of action are deliverd crisply and with plenty of vigour, the sound of bullets whizzing around and planes flying over is incredible, other film sequences like the aggresive football tackles and fast basslines of Any Given Sunday are excellent you can almost feel the players pain when they get tackled. This is a truly excellent cable in my opinion and considering some of the others i have tested it is a bit of a bargin, my sound has never been so good. All i have to do now is get better equipment so i unleash the full potential of this cable.

Similar Products Used:

(See Review)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 28, 2003]
yellowfaint
AudioPhile

Strength:

If U want to know how a professional cable sounds, just try this 12eur seems a lot for the cable, but it's a bargain, realy This is a pure natural cable

Weakness:

NONE!!!!!!!!!!!!

This cable is of very, very fine quality. It's a strong cable a the outside, that's for sure(just feel over the cable). Important the so called 'Audiophiles' that listens to cables for less than 1 day are dummies!! A cable from silver performs a it's best after a braek-in-period, how long this is? not how long you listens to the music, but how the silver-oxide make a even better conductivity between the wires(siver-oxide conducts), this is very important if u are a true listener! After less than a week it's fine. Ok now the sound! low, high and mid. This cable is the perfect mix for a competive price off 12eur/m Why this is a perfect mix? The bass is very good, much better than an ordinary OFC cable with PVC isolation. Off course iff U want a overated bass and loss of high freq +30kHz go ahead and buy another cable but don't cry, becouse your THD is much higher. Listen to this cable let you hear EVRETHING, the tiny details, you can now hear and much cleaner!!! Overall this cable rocks It's total UV protected(the cable doesn't lose it's natural color trough the sun) The isolation is AAA+ class, for this price and quality you can't go higher Listen to the cable and you'll be amazed, listen to real natural sound, it's like your in it. before I forgot I have Acoustic Reshearch loudspeakers that are as dynamicaly like...damn (1500eur for the speakers and they are great!)

Similar Products Used:

IXOS, tasker, flat line ofc cable, and other cables

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 04, 2002]
Karlcarl
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Price

Weakness:

Lack of coherence. Green color! Thickness.

It was Hifi Choice that once reviewed this cable and... I agree with them. As far as I can remember they wrote how the bass, midrange and treble were "separated" from each other (soundstage wise). I have biwired my speakers, there is a total of 12 meters of this (damn) cable in my system. And what I hear is treble there, midrange somewhere else and bass all over the place (never too much though). I can really hear the treble shifting from place to place! The picture this cable paints is weird, somehow out of place. Or is it the aging Copland cd-player?

Similar Products Used:

Kimber 4TC.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jun 07, 2002]
AndreHH
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Plays a important part in creating musical emotion.

Weakness:

I'm happy!

I've read most of the reviews, some of them are quite commical. Specially the one by Erik Haan, Dec. 12 1999. He gives the cable a poor review because it gives more bass! Try to give your speakers a better position Erik, that's your problem, not the cable... I also wonder how many of you would spot the differences in cables, in a BLIND test between a selection of good cables; none? What a cable has to do, is to transport a signal, as purely as possible, from Source to Speakers; I'm pretty shure that most good cables will do a very good job. It's too expensive, for me anyway, to try them all out! So very important is the quality of the Source and Speakers; not to mention the good and/or bad recordings! Most of us have different systems and acoustics, then we'll also have different sounds, and ears and likes or dislikes; do I need to go on... I am fortunate to have a special Music-room, with special care taken for the acoustics. It's not very big, 3x4 metres (10x13,3 ft.), but my TOTAL sound, in stereo or Dolby Digital/DTS is fantastic (for my taste!), because the emotion of the music reaches me, and that's what it all should be about, and this Van Den Hul CS-122 cable, in bywire mode, is part of that. My system: Amp.: Yamaha DSP A1 (setting -10Db); Speakers: Klipsch RF-7, RC-7, RS3-II; SACD: Sony-555ES; DVD: Pioneer-545; TV: Sony 50SX200; Audio Interlink: v.d. Hul The First Ultimate (SACD); DVD/TV: QED Scart, RGB only, Dig. coax QED P75, Audio v.d. Hul Thunderline. (The price is per metre, is approx. 3.3 ft.)

Similar Products Used:

Supra 4mm, Cable Talk 4.1

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 01, 2002]
tonfan
AudioPhile

Strength:

Bass, midrange, soundstage, detail.

Weakness:

If you want your music exciting it may sound a bit soft.

I wanted to upgrade my cables and after a lot of reading of hi-fi magazines I ended up choosing between VDH CS-122 and QED Silver Anniversary. The hi-fi shop gave me both cables for extended listening in order to choose. The winner was VDH CS-122 with a cost of 12 EURO/m unterminated. This cable made a significant improvement to the sound of my system. Bass is very deep, strong and always controlled, the midrange and vocals are EXTREMELY NATURAL sounding and detailed, the soundstage is deep and wide with a lot of "air" and space between instruments and voices, which sound clear and full bodied, while the high frequencies are also clear, extended ,very very sweet and polite. Compared with the QED cable ( which sounded very good indeed ),the VDH was better in every aspect except the high frequencies which are a bit stronger on the QED cable. Now with this cable on my system I realized that I can hear music more hours than before and in higher volume without being tired. As a matter of fact I rediscovered my entire cd collection. The VDH cable needs a lot of burning in ( at least 50 hours )and is mostly suitable for soft rock, pop, vocals, jazz etc. If you prefer something different than this ( hard rock or generally something wild ) the sound may seem a bit soft.

Similar Products Used:

Oelbach 1008, QED Silver Anniversary

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 35  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com