Stealth Cables UR Speaker Cables

UR

Ultimate Ribbon (optimized and geometrically arranged multiple idividually insulated highest purity flat solid core pure silver conductors, 10 AWG per cable, 7 AWG per speaker) - capable of driving anything full-range at well over 1000W constant power.

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
E_nurquez   AudioPhile [Dec 04, 2002]
Strength:

THIS CABLE IS FLAWLESS

Weakness:

NONE WHAT SO EVER

I STARTED OFF WITH THE FINE RIBBON AND WAS BLOWN AWAY AND THAT CABLE IS SO SWEET ON THE MIDS AND HI'S IT FUNNY. THE DIFFERENCE IS IMMEDIATE AND THE NEXT DAY WAS EVEN BETTER. TWO WEEKS IS THE RECOMMENDED TIME FOR BREAK IN BUT WHEN A CABLE IS REALLY GOOD YOU CAN TELL RIGHT AWAY ESPECIALLY WHEN IT YOUR PERSONAL SYSTEM THAT YOU KNOW SO WELL. THE ULTIMATE RIBBON IS BUY FAR THE BEST PURE SILVER CABLE TO DATE. THE CABLE IS VERY STOUT AND YOU CAN TELL THAT THERE IS A HELL OF ALOT OF SILVER IN THERE. THE BASS EXTENSION AND OVERALL SPEACTRUM IS MIND BLOWING. A VERY CLASSY LOOKING AND EXTREMELY WELL AND OVERBUILT PRODUCT TO SAY THE LEAST.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
human   AudioPhile [Jul 03, 2002]
Strength:

Nothing! They add nor subtract NOTHING. Incredible! Actually a bargin at this price.

Weakness:

Very difficult to handle, only bends certain ways. No worries, keep it as short and straight as possible for the most benefit.

Can a cable be MORE important then a component. You will not believe what these cables can do. Since I have been a customer from 1997 one day I got a heavy box in the mail, presents! Inside was not 1, or 2, but 4 Stealth cables to try! I was truly blessed and very excited. I started with the "lowest" model and moved up. I was so impressed with the copper cables (PC), I put my MIT MH750s on Ebay right away. The Ribbons (FR) had so much speed and clarity with a real solid image I knew it was going to get better. I was also given a pair of "test" fine Litz silver cables and I was then blown away. You flat could not hear the speakers at all, it was like the sound was exisiting in the air. the walls had been blown out! These I purchased. Then I put in the URs. These have no sonic signature whatsoever! The bass was positively subteranean and the highs, more than real as they extend into infinity! I so appreciated my tube DAC (CAL Alpha). These were truly something very special. Very much so. The power they conveyed with a subtlety and grace beyond words was enthralling. I was hooked bad. I loved the Space the Litz gave me but the awesome aplomp of the UR, that bass! Digging deep (and selling off my other cables) I obtained the biamp module for my speakers and another power amp. I use the URs on below 500Hz and the Litz on the highs. Glorious, glorious, supreme transparency and seemingly from DC to light. The best of All worlds, audio nirvana.. Later I unearthed a nice Harmon Kardon A50K intergrated amp in my garage, no idea from where, it was filled with the original Telefunken tubes from 1962. I ordered another pair of URs, just 1.5m. Setup a pair of ADS L810 speakers, an Audio Alchemy DDSIII-DTI 2.0- I2S- XDP DAC with Stealth Varidig and M-7 IC. It was a test, the cables cost far more then the components. What a little wonder it is. People become glued to the chair. the central image is soo scary, I mean Miles Davis_was_ standing before me and blowing his heart out. I could practically scratch Ani DiFranco on the nose, and when Bela Fleck and the guys jamed the incredible dimensionality of this EVENT was as immersive as a surrround system just by itself. The URs add absolutely nothing to the sound. Transparent is an understatement and the physicality of the image with the tube amp is profound. My highest recommendation. Also please try his Power Cables

Similar Products Used: MIT MH-750 Series II, Monster, A couple of AQ, Lots of DIY biwire cables. The Kimber Bifocals were close but still had a definable signature and less frequency extension, a bit more closed in as well.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
tom_nice   AudioPhile [May 22, 2002]
Strength:

A perfect complement for STEALTH PGS, "being there" effect

Weakness:

none - except for the price

Reviewers in the early years of The Absolute Sound used to talk about Yin and Yang, meaning roughly light and dark, and whether a given component was one or the other. It wasn't that Yin was better than Yang, or vice versa--they were simply different, though one might fit better into a given system. In comparing Premier and Ultimate Ribbon speaker cables, I remembered this, and classified Premier as Yin and UR as Yang. Premier tended toward the dark, UR toward the light, though Premier was lively enough when the music itself was, while UR was never "bright" in a fatiguing way. With Quad ESL 63's, I preferred UR. I made the comparison with 8' cables, and then acquired a pair of Atma-Sphere M60 II monoblocks and went to 18" UR cables. That change improved the sound greatly! I felt that I was much closer to the music than before, in the sense of hearing more of what the musicians were doing, hearing those small sonic details that create a powerful sense of "liveness" about a performance. Later still, I upgraded to a later version of the 18" UR's, and again the improvement was, as the reviewers say, "not subtle". It was striking, and I've been living very happily with it in my Quad ESL system ever since. I moved the 8' UR and Premier cables into a recently completed system featuring Oris 150 horns with Eminence Kappa Pro 12 woofers sitting below them. The Premiers go to the woofers and seem perfect for that use, with their huge power-handling capability. The UR's let the Oris 150 horns really sing, and that's my favorite system for both chanber music and "big" orchestral music or big band jazz. My previous commercial speaker cables were MIT CVT Terminators and Audio Magic Spellcasters. My present Stealth cables, Premier and UR, are vastly better!

Similar Products Used: MIT CVT Terminator, Audio Magic Spellcaster II
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bob1110   AudioPhile [May 16, 2002]
Strength:

Detail, dynamics and musicality

Weakness:

none

I own the following Stealth cables: PGS 3-D I/C, Ultimate Ribbon sprkr. cables and the Cloud 9 P/Cs. These cables, in my opinion, are in a league of their own in delivering music of all types and recording quality in the most musical manner that I have ever heard. The sound is neutral and intoxicating with a sense of quietness and harmonic rightness that has unseated some very good cables in my system. If you would like to enjoy all your music with size without sounding loud, if you want to hear inner detail with delicacy and perfect tone you must try these cables. You have nothing to lose, Serguei stands behind his products and is a true gentleman. I''''ve been in Hi-End audio for over 20 years and this is the first time I have been totally satisfied with my sound and that is because of being completely cabled with Stealth. My system consists of: Wadia 850, Bel Canto eVo 200.4 and Wilson WATTS. Electrical and mechanical issues have also been dealt with.

Similar Products Used: Magnan Vi, Cardas Neutral and Golden Ref.,Omega Micro A5 and Planar 3, Nordost Red Dawn, Quattrofil and SPM Ref, Synergistic Research PC, Black Mamba PC and Electraglide Fatboy Jr.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
rulee   Audio Enthusiast [May 14, 2002]
Weakness:

Wire jack seem to bit too stiff!

The UR replaced my Kimber 3038! I guess that says enogh about how good the UR really are. You got the sparkling highs, silky smooth texture and valvet-like background from best silver cables (like Kimber 3038). But UR also gives you the solid, body full and punchy bass which Kimber is a bit shy about. I didn''''t really think all the above can come together from a speaker cable but UR does it!

Similar Products Used: Kimber Select 3038, 3033. Dunlavy ZAL-6 YBA Diamond
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
audioster   Audio Enthusiast [May 14, 2002]
Strength:

high bandwith, balanced tonal qualitys, sweetest silvers around

Weakness:

none

*This price is for a used 4ft pair* I have used many different speaker cables, from the popular brands to the obscure...long grain coppers, silver coated coppers, hybred silvers, Hybre Aluminum, and Various ribbons. The UR''s stuck, because of the plain music-cality they express...the bandwith and clarity these cables provide across the entire tonal spectum presents a balanced soundstage without exibiting the normal Crispness in details you would expect from the amount of silver in this cable. I find them "enjoyable". I hear the music. I look for wire to transmit the truth of the recording...convey the emotion...not to provide intelectual fodder for an over-analysis of over emphasized colorization....UR''s beat anything I have tried, and they will stay untill i find better, or some so called audiophile convinces me otherwise...;-))

Similar Products Used: Cardas,JPS 2, MIT, JennaLab, AudioMagic, NBS......
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Karsten Hartig   Audiophile [Dec 14, 2001]
Strength:

Very articulate highs, mids and lows.

Weakness:

NONE

All I can say is that these cables are crisp, clean and pure in the reproduction of sound.I have been using Stealth cables for over a year now (constantly upgrading) and am very happy with the product.
I could get into every little detail concerning the soundstage, image focus, etc. I won't do that. I will say that my ears are very happy. If you have a nice system these
cables are well worth a try!

Similar Products Used: MIT, KIMBER, CARDAS, MONSTER, NORDOST
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ozhan Atalay   Audiophile [Sep 19, 2000]
Strength:

Cristal clear upper mids and highs

Weakness:

Not so far except the price.

What is so indentical with this cable is especially high frequencies. Treble is cristal clear just like the differency of HDCD versus normal CD recordings, I don't think any other cable in the market beats UR in this respect regardless of any price.
Great air between instrutments, clear focus and naturalism at male/female vocals.
Sound becomes silky clean, harmonics of instrutments are defined and clearly understood.
Bass is powerfull with full body.
Generally speaking, with this cable, entire spectrum of signal become more natural, defined and clean.

Similar Products Used: MIT-750 CWT
Transparent Jumpers for Watt/Puppy internal wiring
Nordost SPM Reference
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Kenny Hui   Audiophile [Aug 19, 2000]
Strength:

Revealing, natural sound

Weakness:

Only spade connection (pure silver version) is available

I am using a true bi-wire pair (4 cables each side) of UR and a pair of balanced CWS (cross-wrapped-silver) to replace the Nordost Solar-wind cables (bi-wire + XLR interconnects).
The cables were purchased direct from www.interlinkhouse.com which I came across from its EBAY auctions.

What it strikes me is not the much more extension of treble or bass, it is just like the UR/CWS combination removes a dirty window in front of me and let me visualize the music like I am almost able to touch it. Suddenly the soundstage does not only have width, it has depth and height. I can
hear the changing of breath of the saxophone player which I did not realize it was there --- there is just much more information than before. The music is played in an easy & effortless manner that I believe I am hearing the true sound of my CD player & amplifier & speaker, without any coloration from the cables. No comparison between Solarwind & the pure silver cables. Pure silver cables are in a class of its own, they would beat any silver-plated ones no doubt. They are very expensive, but I feel the price performance ratio is acceptable considering the sound improvement.

Bad points: I hope Stealth cables have model names on the cables. Also the UR cables are so thick that I have to hook up the left speaker cables to the right output terminals of my amp (and reverse the CD output) so that I can avoid bending the speaker cables at the amp side. Also only silver
spades are available, but I prefer silver banana ones. Good thing though is I believe the spades are made of pure silver as they are so soft that they can be bent easily. Also these cables need run-in. More time I use it, I can hear even more.

I am using Wadia 850 via CWS to Mark Levinson 331 via bi-wired UR to Apogee Stages. Now my Apogee can go down to about 30++ Hz clean & clear (better than adding a Sunfire Junior).

Similar Products Used: Nordost Solarwind (silver-plated), many copper cables
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Eiichi Mimura   Audiophile [Sep 19, 2000]
Strength:

The most natural, the most lovely sound

Weakness:

none

So far I've tried three kind of speaker cables: XLO's Ref 2 type 5a, Pure Silver Sound's Sextet, and Stealth's Ultimate Ribbon (UR). XLO's bass range is tight, but XLO treble is rather harsh. I felt some artificial hardness in the upper region with XLO. So I switched to Pure Silver Sound. They are a lot cheaper than XLO, but the sound quality is much better than XLO's. I was quite content with them until I heard STERALTH UR. The UR are simply a different class of cables. Even before any burn-in, they sounded better than XLO or SSS. The UR are the smoothest sounding cables I've ever heard. They removed all unpleasant edginess from the
treble range. Yet, the UR extensions of upper and lower frequencies are superb too. I can hear fundamental more clearly than before. Their resolution is excellent too. I can hear the very tiny tinkling of the triangle more distinctly than ever. One thing I like a lot about UR is they achieve the superb resolution and excellent extension without artificially stressed any range at all. To sum up, UR has the most natural, yet the most lovely sound which I find too hard to resist. I'm looking forward to receiving the UR jumpers for my Wilson Audio's System 5.1 speakers
which I recently ordered.

My AV system:
CD Transport Wadia WT 2000S;
DVD Player Pioneer DV-S9;
LD Player Pioneer HLD-X9;
DDC Perpetual Technologies P-1A;
DAC Stellavox ST2;
Pre Mark Levinson 380SL;
AV Pre EAD Theater Master Signature;
Power amplification:
Goldmund Mimesis 9.5(Front);
Goldmund Mimesis 8.5(Rear)
Speakers:
Wilson Audio System 5.1(Front),
Wilson Audio Watch Surround(Rear);
Monitor Audio ASW 110 (subwoofer);
Analog interconencts:
Music Metre Silver (XLR)
Harmonic Technology Truth-Link (RCA);
Music Metre Silver;
Pure Silver Sound Qaurtet;
Stealth CWS;
Ditigal cables:
Music Metre Fidelus Digital Cable;
Stealth Varidig digital cable;
Harmonic Technology Cyber Link Platinum'
AC Power cords:
Purist Audio Design AC-Proteus;
Siltech SPO 12 EMC Filtered AC Cable Stealth FAC;
Synergistic Research AC Master Coupler;
Goldmund Power Cable;
Harmonic Technology Pro-AC11;
Speaker cables:
Stealth Ultimate Ribbon Speaker Cable (Main SP);
Pure Silver Sound Sextet (Jumper);
Analysis Plus Oval Theater 14(R

Eiichi Mimura, Tokyo, Japan. emimura@mbk.sphere.ne.jp

Similar Products Used: XLO's Ref 2 type 5a, Pure Silver Sound's Sextet
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com