Nordost Super Flatline Speaker Cables

Super Flatline

User Reviews (23)

Showing 1-10 of 23  
Michel Henault   AudioPhile [Nov 13, 2010]

I read that many persons found those cables as lacking in the bass department. PERSONNALY I DIDN'T ENCOUNTER SUCH PROBLEM. The bass is weighty enough and the stereo image is very large, much larger than with my Goertz M1. Are they vastly superior to the Goertz until now, I should say no. They have about 10 hours under the wires.

They are not very flexible but it's a solid core design. Nice quality of the materail, very expensive.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
hugo2001   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 29, 2010]

I borrowed diferent cables from my preferred audio retailer, Nordost Superflat Gold II, Nordost Blue Heaven and Kubala Imagination, the Nordost were already broken in, not the Kubala. I made a blind test at a friend"s home, i compared the 3 above mentioned cables with the Goertz MI 3. The best cable after many cable switching was the Goertz, followed by the Nordost Superflatline. They sounded alike, with great bass extension and definition, clear midrange and sweet highs. The Goertz had a little more of the same qualities as the Super Flatline but cost at least 2.5 times more.
I made the same test at my place (minus the Goertz) I have Dynaudio speakers, Rotel RMB-1095 power amplifier and Arcam CD 73 CD player. My system has a warn, clean sound but my previous speakers cable make it sometime rough in the midrange and in the highs. With the Superflatline in place, it just sounds glorious: tight, deep musical bass, clean, clear midrange and smooth and sweet highs. THe Blue Heaven did lack bass, highs were more strident. The Kubalas are even worse, but they are not broken-in, but as they are too expensive, i wont use them to broke them in.
I consider my system to be of high caliber, i go to the Salon Son & Image every year in Montreal, i listen to expensive systems and to my ears, i still prefers my Dynaudios. But now they sound much better with the Superflatline Gold. They deserve 5 stars on pure performance et specially on performance/price ratio

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Lee Cheok Loon   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 26, 2003]
Strength:

Clarity, Detail, Open sound

Weakness:

Lack of bass

Fair enough, this cable is not recommended for people seeking the best base performance. But it works wonder for me given the small room size. It opens up the music and produces tremendous clarity to vocal musics. Unless your system already suffers from bright sound, it's worth giving this cable a try. Although this cable is not flexible, I can tell you that it's tough!!! Try bending it and you will know what I'm talking about. Speakers: Castle Severn II CD Player: Marantz CD63 MKII KI-SIG Amplifier: Musical Fidelity X-A1 and X-AS100 power amplifier

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Denis D   AudioPhile [Mar 18, 2003]
Strength:

Tight fitting banana plugs. Good connection. Pristine highs, good midrange, clean tight bass. Wide,deep soundstage on good recordings.

Weakness:

Handle with care. Not for MAWKs (Married audiophile with Kids)

Bought the Super Flatline Gold MKII Biwire to replace my UltraLinK Ambiance cables for new Mission M74 speakers which can be biwired. After break-in period, the difference was noticeable. The highs (cymbals), the midrange and Ray Brown's Bass are just simply awesome! These cables are so fast and revealing that you should only hook them up to a good system, not necessarily an expensive one. If your source is bright (usually entry level gear), stay away. The brightness and shrillness will only be accentuated. My cables are hooked up to 50 W/ch Audio Refinement (YBA) The Complete integrated amp and a Denon 2580/MSB Linc DAC combo at the other end. All bought used. I can now hear new things in almost every recording I listen to. Now, time to sit back and enjoy the music.

Similar Products Used: Ultra Link Ambiance Monster M.75
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
David Sam   Audiophile [Jan 09, 2000]
Strength:

Clarity, openness, detail

Weakness:

weaker bass

I've replaced Cable Talk 4.1 with this Nordost biwire version. Result is as if a filter is removed from the speakers. To summarise review - the cable goes for clarity, openness and detail. But it falls on attack and bass, which Cable Talk 4.1 surprisingly wins Nordost in this aspect. Use Nordost for system that don't do pop music.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Steve T   Audio Enthusiast [May 24, 2000]
Strength:

Excellent sound staging

Weakness:

Thin bass and dry mids

These are less expensive than the Blue heavens and it shows. The blue heaven may be slightly bright (caused by silver plated copper?) But has a much better presentation. The overall result is more musical with the Blue Heaven. I still prefer a double run of the 4TC to the Nordost based on bass reproduction alone. They are about equal in soundstage, but I think the Kimber has a more full midrange.

Musical Fidelity X-RAY 24/96 CD Player
Musical Fidelity X-P100 Preamp
Musical Fidelity X-AS100 monoblocks
PSB Goldi speakers

Similar Products Used: Kimber 4PR, 4TC, Analysis Plus Silver Oval, Nordost Blue Heaven.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Iceblink   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 03, 2000]
Strength:

neutrality, clarity, realistic sound, tight bass, accurate highs, mids, vocals

Weakness:

cable stiffness

I switched to the Nordost Superflatline Gold cables from the Kimber 4VS cables. I biwire them from my Parasound HCA-2205 to my PSB Stratus Gold i speakers. All I can say is what an an incredible difference they made.

Bass is tighter, not boomy at all, and more than adequate
Music seemed more neutral & uncolored
Vocals became clearer and more accurate sounding
Overall sound improved for everything that I listened to - from classical, to jazz, to rock, to home theater.

Overall, a highly rated cable. I would recommend to this anyone who wants to bi-wire their speakers. I do not find them overly bright, but if you can try them out ahead of time, certianly do. As we all know, cables can sound very different with different set-ups, in different listening environments.

For the $90.00 I paid for them, an incredible value. They cetainly have the Kimber 4VS beat in all aspects of music reproduction....

I certainly will not need to or want to change my speaker cables for a long time..........

Similar Products Used: Kimber Kable 4VS
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Almy youseff   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 28, 2000]
Strength:

clean,open and very transparent

Weakness:

not suitable with system that already have more treble

I used a few cables before changing to Superflatline eg Kef Reference cable, Gale, and Cable Talk 3.1. This cable has strength in any features except than it emphasize bit more on treble. Overall, their openess, clarity and transparency are far outweigh the minor weakness.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John   Audio Enthusiast [May 21, 2000]
Strength:

Provide crystal clear sound, build quality seems first rate

Weakness:

Thick, slightly stiff wire that doesn't exactly blend into a living room

I recently bought these cables based on the reviews found here as well as upon the recommendation of the Newform Research Loudspeaker website. I am not a hard-core audiophile and I can't use fancy adjectives to describe their performance, but I do know that these cables sound incredible once broken in.

Case in point; I recently purchased a new set of Newform Research R630 speakers which I absolutely love. Had them biwired to the same pair of Audio Quest cables for about two weeks until I grew tired of their lack of detail. On a hunch that my speaker cable was the weakest link in my system, I went out and dropped $200 on a new pair of Nordost Super Flatline cables and voila - clarity at last. Granted, it took a day or two to hear the initial change in sound and a good solid week to appreciate their full dynamic range, but now that the cables have burned in the difference in sound is like night and day. These cables have transformed my speakers from just average sounding into the most clear, accurate, detailed speakers I have ever heard - which is how they should have sounded all along.

My only gripe about the Nordost Super Flatlines is that they're thick, they don't bend as easily as conventional wire, and their bright gold color tends to stand out in a room - especially when connected to my Newform Research speakers (not the most handsome speakers ever built). However, they make my stereo system sound incredible, and that's all I really care about.

Similar Products Used: Audio Quest
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Alan maher   an Audiophile [May 07, 1999]

This is the ultimate set-up of the Nordost Super Flatline MkII your gonna get your hands on... Very simple Double Shotgun run for biwired speakers... Well what does it sound like, the best under $ 500.00 speaker cable your gonna hear, that's what... This 5 gauge cable (where else have you seen a professional 5 gauge cable for this price) in my opinion blew Tara Labs Master in a biwired set-up ($ 1800.00 cable price), Wireworld Eclipse biwired ($ 1700.00 cable price), away and by a lot.
The bass is full and and deliously detailed. Powerful, fast (you might think a cable this large in size to have slow bass), it gives the most natural electric and accoustic I have ever heard. Opening track on Diana Krall Love Scenes has wonderful accoustic bass that is full and detailed, and has some great weight. For the price nothing and I mean nothing has come close.

The midrange is clear and uncolored, but natural and airy quality. Female vocals are heavenly through this cable. The nice thing with the midrange is what goes in is what comes out.

The upper-frequencies are stunning. The most non-mechanical sound I've ever heard from a speaker cable except for the Yamamura's and the Nirvana's, which you all know cost quite a bit more. The detail on the cymbals, the air surrounding each and every performer is stunning.

Now don't think this is just another audiophile classical music, jazz cable. On rock, it is dynamic, and the best controll in the bass. On the newer rock recordings when the fender is played it purr's, it really purr's. It has to be experenced to be believed. What I can tell you if you buy this set-up of this cable and your amp can pump 125-200 watts, you will not be bringing it back... Enjoy... Alan.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 23  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com