NBS Dragon Fly Signature Speaker Cables

Dragon Fly Signature

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
justbenice   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 23, 2007]

I would like to comment on "Gonzalo"'s review of Mr. Fields (NBS)and his products. I happened to be in the room when :Gonzalo" was speaking to Mr. Fields and I must say that I believe Mr "Gonzalo" that this is just a case of sour grapes on your part. You misrepresented yourself and then tried to get a substantial, ludicrous discount.

Gonzalo you are upset because you just can't afford these cables be it for your friend or perhaps for yourself. It pays to be honest and straightforward in this world and you in turn will get that back.

NBS cables are some of the best if not the best in the world and I am sorry that you cannot join the club of exclusive and t wealthy owners of NBS products.

JUST BE NICE

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Gonzalo   AudioPhile [Jun 04, 2007]
Strength:

probably a good product but the personal and mroal cost to find out is too high, not talking money here . . .

Weakness:

Just call and talk with Mr. Fields for a few minutes and you'll get the idea.
Probably 1/4 star overall for the bad disposition and attitude of the salesman Mr Fields who is also teh owner and designer and order taker . . . and . . ..
Nothing wrong witha one man company, just don't disrespect your customers . .
That's mu motto, evidently not his.

Hope this helps.

I called Mr Walter Fields today and tried to do business with him he is the owner of NBS.
After he did not reply to my e-mail requests I decided to call him, introduce myself and try to give him an order for a friend of mine in Souh America that wanted me to buy for him a couple of these cables.
Being very familiar with Cardas, Shunyata, Kimber Kable, and a few other good ones, I could benefit form listening to those cables for a couple of days and get a pretty good idea of teh quality/value, etc.
When I talk to this gentleman i get insulted, he is very rude and vulgar, very non conducive of business.

I don't know weather he is mentally ill or just plain old ignorant and brute.
Does not speak of a person that has the capability to design sonic wonders and the sensitivity to express the many musical textures that a good cable is capable of conveying, as I was sincerely hoping for.

Never was I insulted in such manner while trying to do business with a fellow American in our homeland.

I guess reviews and product quality really don't mean much if you get treated like dirt so you can spend $6 K to $9K for a few cables, it really detracts form teh whole experience.
I honestly believe that if someone comes up with teh secret of teh great american cable and add good customer service and people skils, it will be a great hit, and please call me I'm a buyer!!

Manufacturers like this can afford to exist with such attitude only because their pricing structure allows for this gentleman in aprticular to luxuriously survive a whole month just by selling 1 or 2 cables.
Paying $9K or even more for the pleasure of purchasing a wonderful product made by wonderful people wchich you even enjopy talking to, absolutely!
Now paying a brute rude ingorant that will take your $9K (not mine!!) and treat you like dirt with the attitude and content this gentleman has and call it value??
Absolutely not!
Strongly suggest to give hima call and see what kind of tretment you get for your small fortune spent and if not satisfied, take your business where you are really wanted and your money can be of blessing to many, not to a single entity that has "delusions of grandeure" .
Only in America My Firend! someone like this could last mnore than 5 minutes in business that's why I love this Country, but then "The Land of teh Free" as fee that I am I'll take my money (hard earned) where they trate me with teh most basic repsect i know I deserve and earned.

Main point: if youa re going to spend some time developing a good product you need to get paid for your R & D and taht's a fact, now when you deliver $35 worth of componebnts and materials and about $50 worth of labor and charge some $6,000 for it, you better do it with a lot of courtesy well mannered and very respecful of your customer. Otherwise you're niot even worth your weight in water . . .. or wind in this case . . .

As far as I am concerned I;ll keep my curiosity but enjoy teh reatment I get form the other good guys in the industry.
I'm sorry I really work for my money and respect myself too much to allow this.

As you read this do as you please it's your money and tehn again it's only money . . right? right!

Hope this helps a little and not let anyone disrespect you.

God Bless;

Gonzalo

Customer Service

hahhh!!!! are you kidding?? . . .

Similar Products Used: Kimber Kable, Shunyata Research; Cardas; Monster etc. etc.
Most of them excellent this NBS . . I guess I'll never know.

Be warned, don't pay $thousands for a few bucks worth of material and labor.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
dgerik   AudioPhile [Jan 07, 2003]
Strength:

Smooth, allmost too smooth. Good imaging.

Weakness:

Muddy bottom. I've heard cheaper cables that will do better all around.

Ok, but muddy bottom. Smooth presentation in mids and highs. Good image.

Similar Products Used: Nordost, DH Labs, Maple Audio, Tara
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Darren   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 01, 2000]
Strength:

Clarity, neutrality and articulation

Weakness:

Wires are a little stiff

These cables were recommended to me by a dealer and I hooked them up first to my amp and listened and what I heard was a totally relaxed picture of my music that at first made me think that I was missing something. However, after a while I noticed that I was hearing more and at lower volume levels than I heard with my DH Labs. The tonal qualities are much closer to life-like than I've heard with previous cables as well. If I had to characterize the Dragonfly's as a person I would say they were the old sage who spoke clearly but never in a forward manner. They articulate their ideas in multi-dimensional layers so that you capture their translations in multiple aspects. They speak with force even at a whispers level and maintains tight control when pushed to high volume levels.

I could go on but I think you get the picture... In short, go get these cables and give them a try but if you do, they won't be leaving your system again.

Similar Products Used: DH Labs, Monster
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Phillip Teo   an Audiophile [Nov 14, 1997]

I have been playing with HiFi Equipment for about 10yrs, thru these yrs as mostaudiophile have the habit of searching for the sonic truth.
My current system : CD sony XA7ES, Pre/Pwr Amp Mark Levinson 38/331, Speaker MBL300 and Power Conditioner :API 216.

My system was wired by cable from very reputable brands :
Example : Cardas Golden Cross, Audioquest Lapis & Daimond, XLO, Kimble, Tara lab (RSC Master ref 2), OCOS, Van dehul (Revelation, Wind), Transparent, MITs and many others including Power Cords.

For the last one and the half years I come across one cable by the name NBS (Nothing but Signal). This cable transform my current system to a level which all the others could not.

My experince, one night after work I visited a local NBS cable dealer who is very kind to loan me the NBS Interconnect. I went home not knowing what to expect as I replace the inteconnect and turn on the music.
Before I could walk back to my listening sweet spot, the music came on the very first moment I heard the reproduction my Jaw nearly drop. It suddenly turn my room into a live studio.

Immediately I get to my sitting position to start listening CDs after CDs till it was about 3am in the morning. Time just fly by and I hated it as my wife will be wondering what is keeping me. Eventually I purchase the interconnet from this NBS dealer. Today I have my whole system cabled with NBS from the power cord to all my system, interconnects and speaker cable (2 pairs).

Finally this is the cable I strongly recommend to anyone who wish to fullly tap your own existing system potential. It has a totally organic peformances.

Try It.......... but beware as once connected you will not want to listen to your system without it...........




OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Jose   Audiophile [Dec 05, 2001]
Strength:

great sound stage, accurate, neutral, smooth

Weakness:

price

these cables when hooked up make an immediate improvement in your stereo. it was an amazing difference when compared to the monster cables i had used previously. if you love your stereo, do it a favor and pick up some dragon flys!

Similar Products Used: monster z-1 cables
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Magnus   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 06, 2001]
Strength:

Doesn't do anything really nasty.

Weakness:

In my system, detail & microdynamics could be improved by using another cable.

I had these between my CD player and integrated amp. for about 2 years. When I then compared them with the DHlabs the difference was fairly slight, but clearly in DH labs favor. They gave the system a somewhat more natural presentation, particularly in the bass. They also retained more low-level detail, especially in the decay of notes.

Rating may seem harsh for an IC I was happy with in my system for so long, but how high a rating could I give to a cable that is bested by a less expensive one?

System: Rega Planet CD player and Mira integrated amp.
MusicHall 2 TT w. Grado Gold cart.
Dynaudio Contour 1.3 speakers on Atacama stands.

Similar Products Used: DHlabs BL2, Kimber PBJ, homebrew
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
David Portnoy   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 16, 2001]
Weakness:

None at this price.

These are great cables. Lively, open, rich and beautifully detailed but not in a colored or forced way. They are honest and pure. I compared them in detail with the DH Labs and they were far superior.

Similar Products Used: DH Labs BL-1
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Megatron   an Audiophile [Mar 04, 1999]

The name NBS is rarely heard of in this part of the world.A fortnight ago, my friend , the salesperson brought 3 speaker cables: the XLO, Taralabs biwired and this funny looking cable NBS.
When l listened to my CDs with the NBS dragonfly signature connected, l instantly noticed the difference. My speakers seemed to have woken up after a few months of dull performance. These cables are truly amazing, l compared them again with the XLO and Taralabs, NBS really outperformed the other two.
So, since then, l have been listening to my Cds over and over again to run in my cables. l never knew my speakers had so much potential and l was surprised that how much detail l had missed in previous listening session.
It is well balanced in treble and bass. No extraordinary coloration in the sound stage.
Excellent cables though not well known.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Ronald   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 30, 2000]
Strength:

Natural, relaxed and detailed.

Weakness:

Can't think of any at this price.

After a year of living perfectly happy with DH Labs interconnect, I've decided that I needed to hear more bite, more presence out of my system. Surfing the net one afternoon, I stumbled upon a website offering free cable demo, break-in and solution. I opted to demo for two weeks the NBS Dragongly interconnect. Initially I wasn't convinced that they were any better, compared to DH Labs these cables do not have a foward sound, and do not accentuate but present music in a balance way, at least in the context of my system. I'm able to hear all the different instruments and voices, old and new CDs, perform together musically. Now I'm able to turn up the volume to enjoy more of the music not more of my system. I would like to thank Mr. Wen Li at eaudionet.com for his recommendation and superb customer service.

System:

Rega CD Player (resting on 3 Black Diamond Racing Cones)
Audiolab LX
Epos 12
NBS Dragonfly interconnect
DH Labs T-14 speaker cables

Similar Products Used: DH Labs, Straightwire, Tara Labs
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com