Monster Cable XPHP Speaker Cables

XPHP

Monster introduces the most advanced compact high-performance speaker cable in the universe. This product features Compact Time Correct windings for more accurate music reproduction, a Patented Magnetic Flux Tube construction breaks up internal magnetic fields for more natural music reproduction, Linear Polyethlylene (LPE) insulation reduces dielectric signal loss for greater clarity, and a unique round shape with smooth, flexible jacket and EZ-tear center web for easy installation.

User Reviews (7)

Showing 1-7 of 7  
know nothing   Audio Enthusiast [May 02, 2011]

This reveiw is for the CL-rated in-wall version of the Monster XPHP speaker wire.

This is a terrific product offered at an affordable price. I have used several brands of cables from Monster, AudioQuest (four different grades), XLO, Radioshack and others, and have listened to many others in dealer showrooms, exhibitions and at friends homes. The CL-rated Monster XPHP Clear Jacket wire compares very favorably to others I have used and listened to based on cost of the product.

Sound - after letting the wire "burn-in" for several months, I listened to my system critcally and was very impressed with the overall clarity, natural midrange, and speed and articulation of the bass. I am using small Totem Arro floorstanding speakers in my living room system that do not have overpowering bass, but the wires transmitted all the bass that was to be had. A previous reviewer has mentioned some role off in the highs with these wires. I noticed this as well, but it improved with length of burn-in, and the overall balance is commendable. Perfomance reported is with a 50 foot stereo run.

Use - Installation in the floor and walls was made simple by the great flexibility of this cable. I have used other CL rated audiophile wire and it is much stiffer and more difficult to work with. While the jacket is very pliable, it is also very tough and resists abrasion.

Cost - Great value given the performance of this wire, a little over a dollar a foot.

Overall Recommendation - this is a terrific sounding wire for the money and very easy to install. Highly recommended.

System used:

Cambridge Audio 640C version 2 CD player
Thorens TD150mkII Turntable
Grado Reference Platinum1 cartridge
Grado PH-1 Phono Stage
AudioQuest Daimondback IC - 0.5m run
mondified AMC 3050a Integrated
CL-rated Monster XPHP Clear Jacket speaker wire - 50 foot run
Totem Acoustic Arro speakers

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Ass   AudioPhile [Apr 07, 2010]

good tweeter
good mid
superbass
cheap
u know what i use it with simaudio moon i-1 usher s-520 speaker
it sounds lively richbass color
forget cardas or kimber

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
dan skootsky   AudioPhile [Apr 24, 2006]
Strength:

Lively sound, very clear

Weakness:

The one that I have is a bit narrower in diameter, no bannana plug connectors

I hooked up a 20ft pair for the rear speakers. Sound is definately improved. This cable sounds better than the thicker 'orignial style' monster cable that I have on the front. The sound is very lively and detailed, probably due to that time correct windings. Having such good luck with monster cable that I plan on purchasing some biwire for the front. I have some older monster xp on the center channel and I didn't notice that much improvement as I got on this.

Similar Products Used: Original Monster cable, Monster XP
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Yaohui   Casual Listener [Aug 02, 2003]
Strength:

deep tight bass clear rich mids

I am currently in high school, and I bought a system few months ago, which consisted of a Onkyo TX-SR500 receiver(referb),a Onkyo DX-C380(referb), Monster Cable digital fiber optic, Monster Cable XPHP speaker cable, and a pair of Polk R30 speaker.This system oringinally cost over $1000, but I get it luckly for under $500.This cable produced deep and tight bass, mid is clear and rich, but the high is a little bit "cut-off", you will notice especially when you listen to clasical music with violin. Compare this cable to the same price range cables, I think it's a really a good choice.

Similar Products Used: cheap no brand cables
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
bmwuk   Audio Enthusiast [May 27, 2003]
Strength:

Decent improvement over standard cables. Modest price for people entering Home Audio market.

Weakness:

Anemic bass. Lack of detail. Wouldn't write home about.

A year ago, I would have stated the same reviews as the reviewers prior to me. However, I recently upgraded my speaker wire to Straight Wire Stage series and although the Stage was definitely more expensive, I will say that it brought up every issue that this speaker wire was lacking. In the defense of the XPHP, it is relatively inexpensive at $1.10/ft and gives you a jump over the standard cables you may find in mass market stores, plus it is relatively compact. However, when I hooked up the XPHP to my recently upgraded Pioneer Elite receiver, I noticed that the bass was very anemic. At first, I went crazy because I thought it was the receiver. In addition, my ears kept on waiting for more detailed highs and mids that I would have expected. However, that was not the case. I replaced out the wires with the Stage and everything that was anemic and "not open" suddenly opened up and was way more detailed. Overall, I would say that for $1.10/ft, it is a decent jump in wire from the standard wire. But if you have a mid range system (not HTIB or low end), I would recommend stepping up a level or two and getting better speaker wire. Your ears will definitely notice the difference.

Similar Products Used: Straight Wire Stage
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
jet21   AudioPhile [Feb 14, 2003]
Strength:

Very inexpensive, excellent bass, and overall clarity of sound.

Weakness:

Will not act as a filter and smooth out the nasties inherent in a low budget amp/preamp/speaker system. Best only with Solid State amplification only.

I second the previous reviewer's high regard for this cheap looking, clear jacketed zip cord. It offers phenominally good and well defined bass coupled with a very clear and clean overall sound.

Similar Products Used: Many other more expensive cables from the likes of Goertz, JPS, DH Labs, Cardas.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
cedes87   AudioPhile [Jan 03, 2003]
Strength:

Great bass response, astonishing clarity, tighly woven cable with strong insulation. Very well made

Weakness:

None that I have found.

I bought this cable thinking it would be a little bit better than my regular RCA speaker cable that I have been using. I was wrong, it was EXTREMELY better. I have never heard so much bass response, and the clarity of my music was astonishing. When they said Monster Cable is better, they are right. This Speaker Cable is great cable. In my opinion it is the best for the price. If you want great cable for Stereo or Home Theatre this is the cable to buy.

Similar Products Used: Audioquest & Pheonix Gold
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-7 of 7  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com