Monster Cable M1000SV S-VIDEO Speaker Cables

M1000SV S-VIDEO

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
Azeke   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 15, 2003]
Strength:

Virbrant colors and sharpness.

Weakness:

I have to purchase another one for my DVD player (currently using Monster S-video 3). Align your pins carefully (not a weakness just an observation).

Purchased the second M1000, after using the first connection for my LCD projector to the receiver, I then connected the second M1000 to the Direct TV Box (also coming through my reciever), and I could see a significant difference. The picture was much sharper and colors were more vibrant (I was using Monster S-Video 3). I had also heard that this cable is the only S-video cable rated via Scientific testing (forgot the specifics)for negative signal loss, including long runs (LCD projector run is 26 feet). I highly recommend this cable without reservation.

Similar Products Used: Monster S-Video 2, Monster S-Video3
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
dg   Casual Listener [Nov 13, 1999]
Strength:

It is an S-video cable, which is much, much better than coax.

Weakness:

Poor construction quality. The ends of the cables are flimsy. Should be better for the price.

Good S-video cable.

Similar Products Used: None.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Todd Billeci   Audiophile [Mar 16, 2000]
Strength:

Crisp, sharp detail with true blacks.

Weakness:

None.

Replacement for Monster Video Series 2 connecting following components:

Pioneer Elite DVL-90 DVD/LD Player
Denon LA-3500 LD Player
Sony SLV-R5UC SVHS
RF Systems RC-8-AVM A/V switch

0.5 M lengths interconnect components to high-end A/V switch.

I noticed a substantial improvement in sharpness and detail, with particularly deep blacks especially notable with black and white DVDs and LDs. Considering that I almost payed twice the price for other cables, I feel that my expectations were met. Unlike the reviewer who found performance/value low, IMHO these are an exceptional buy. Recommended.

Similar Products Used: Monster Video Series 2
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Randy Snearly   Casual Listener [Jan 17, 2000]
Strength:

Excellent quality color separation and clarity.

Weakness:

Price

This cable is a huge step above in-box cables. Since I was unfamiliar with Monster and the setting up of components, I took a chance and have not regretted paying the price. The picture clarity and definition in color is unbelievable. I regret not knowing the quality of picture I've missed all these years. As I continue to set up my own home theatre system, I will continue to use Monster cabling.

Similar Products Used: RCA cables
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
John   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 25, 2001]
Strength:

Looks fine before the pins break

Weakness:

The pins break

I hate s-video as a connection. With my equipment, I cannot always get good access when changing cables, and with the stupid pin configurations of s connectors, if you do not put them in perfectly, the pins are susceptible to getting wrecked. It's happened before with a close out Audioquest cable, and with 2!! of the Monster M1000's. At $80 a pop, the Monsters are not cheap. Not to pick on Monster, but it will be a long time before I buy a monster cable again.

Similar Products Used: Audioquest S-cable
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Simon S.   Audiophile [Sep 26, 2001]
Strength:

Clearity,brightness,strong construction

Weakness:

High price, but then again you pay for Monster quality

I use this cable because my Philips widescreen tv doesnt support rgb.
I always used Monster cable and was very satisfied with its performance. I wanted a very a good sv-cable and asked the retailer if I could try a couple of cables. The monster immediatly catched my eye because of its strong construction(you must be a retard if you can bend those pins, just read the reviews above).
I was very satisfied with the perfomance, good colours and great clearity also I noticed detail improvement.
This is another great cable from Monster and I know I will use it untill I will lay my hands on a CRT.
Untill then I will enjoy this cable.

Equipment used:
Pioneer dv-737
Yamaha dsp-a2
Philips 28pw9596

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
samuel r   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 30, 2001]
Strength:

produce very 3 dimensionalimages and color seperation. very sharp/detailed picture.

Weakness:

none

flimsy pins? man, i guess high-tech stuff isn't good in low-tech hands. how do you bend an s-cable pin? i guess by trying to force it in without alignment. anyway, this cable is solid and worth every cent. i noticed a BIG difference in picture quality. almost like people are outlined, its that good. well, wouldn't buy any other product. i now own 4 of these cables. 3 from components to receiver and 1 from receiver to tv. xbox, dvd, dss to receiver.

Similar Products Used: rat shack s-video
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Hunter   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 19, 1999]
Strength:

Color seperation, build quality, warrentee

Great cable, ends are not flimsy like the other comment says. Go look at these cables for your self. The are thick and well built. Great picture and clean images. No bluriness in high consrast situations. Much better then the regular line of monster cables, and other cables I have used. Highly recomended

Equipment used in test:

Sony TA-E9000es
Sony TA-N9000es
Sony DVP-S7700
Sony Trinitron TV
Panamax 1000+

Similar Products Used: Supervideo3, M500sv
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mike   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 23, 1999]
Strength:

Excellent video clarity, color, and reproduction

Weakness:

price

I bought this product a long time about, about 2 years ago after I got my DVD player. I spent 300 bucks on the DVD player I wasn't going to hook it up with cheap cable. I found this cable in about 4 meters for $90 bucks plus shipping from a place on the net. I got it, hooked it up and the quality of it was nothing more then fabulous. The color was beautiful and accurate. It also sharpened the picture, with composite video cables there tends to be a softening of the picture. This made the picture look natural and beautiful, sheer excellence. Monster Cable is known to be able to extend long distances with they're cables with no degradation, that's why I picked up this cable. Plus I can brag and say I have a $90 dollar cable in my system. When the receiver only cost less then 300. Hehe.

Similar Products Used: Monster Video S-VHS 2, Monster Video S-VHS 3
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Andrew   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 10, 2001]
Weakness:

Many - Poor Picture, Bad Color Sturation, Pins don't lock tight, etc.

My experience with most monster products has not been favorable. On a positive note I can say that this cable has not fallen appart like my monster optical cable. The colors from this cable are terrible, there is notable distortion. For only $15 I replaced the cable with an Acoustic Research cable and got much better results, I'm considering upgrading to the "Straight Wire Silver S S-Video Cable" since the review have been very positive.

In conclusion, this mass produced over priced cable is a piece of junk. Hopefully, I can return it for credit at my audio dealer.

Similar Products Used: Acoustic Research
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com