Kimber Kable 4TC Speaker Cables

Kimber Kable 4TC Speaker Cables 

DESCRIPTION

4TC consists of eight individual TCSS conductors, four clear and four white, that utilize our proven braiding technique. The insulating dielectric is high pressure-low temperature-extruded Teflon. The individual conductors are Hyper-pure copper, arranged in proven VariStrand conductor geometry.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 49  
[Apr 20, 2016]
vintage
Audio Enthusiast

great loudspeaker cable , with fantastic midband and works great as a power cable too.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 10, 2015]
pedro
Audio Enthusiast

Kimber 4 tc is a great loudspeaker cable, with an open and clear sound , great focus and nice colors, they must be terminated with hi end spades or bananas like wbt or vampire, pay atention to the solder used , the best are wonder ( ultraclear the old formula with lead) and wbt, many audiophiles terminate good cables with poor plugs , and don´t have great results, others have cheap electronics and blame the cables.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 01, 2014]
Airwin
Audio Enthusiast

Bought these based on the reviews all over the internet and this site. Seriously disappointed! I couldn't wait to get home and hook them up. Nothing, no dynamics, soundstage, bass, highs. I am thinking that maybe I purchased a fake pair? I know not all Kimber wires have their name on them, these don't so I am wondering if the guy that I bought them from was laughing when I left! If they are real, then they really suck. Oddly enough, one the best sounding cables that I have used that do everything right is a pair of diy ones that were made of a 30 foot extension cord from Walmart! I have had a ton of cables that go into the ridiculous price range but these Kimber, if they truly are, suck!!!

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Mar 19, 2012]
SG
Audio Enthusiast

It is interesting, and perhaps instructive, that none of the speaker cable manufacturers backup their product performance claims with scientific evidence. If using their cable really has such a large effect on the sound coming out of a system, that would be reflected in measurements of frequency response, signal-to-noise ratio, etc. In addition, If the effects were so dramatic, they could easily gather a large group of people and perform double-blind listening tests using the same audio system but a variety of speaker cable, including their own, and the large majority of participants would agree on the best sounding cable.

However, that sort of data is never provided. All we get is unsubstantiated claims that their product will provide a more focused and transparent sound-stage, improved transient speed, etc. Then people shell out large sums of money in the belief that it will improve the sound of their system. It isn't really surprising that many of them then report that their system now provides "a more focused and transparent sound-stage, improved transient speed, etc." Each product review in these forums is full of the exact same phrases used by that particular manufacturer in its advertising.

A post from the Audioholics forum tells of a blind listening test in which five audiophiles couldn't tell the difference between Monster 1000 cable and coat hangers that were secretly substituted for the Monster cable. The listeners thought both sounded great. (see http://www.engadget.com/2008/03/03/audiophiles-cant-tell-the-difference-between-monster-cable-and/ ) The result would probably be the same if Kimber Kable 4TC had been used.

I am not suggesting that Kimber Kable is bad. I just feel that for most systems, any reasonably well-made and well-terminated cable would sound just as good. I have been using Kimber 4TC for several years, and I am happy with it, but it really doesn't sound significantly better than the Monster XP I used in the past. The impact of one's cable choice is too small to justify the hundreds or thousands of dollars that some audiophiles spend on it.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
2
[Oct 13, 2010]
Tripping Billy
Audio Enthusiast

I like Kimber Kable - plain and simle. That pretty much describes the cable -- neutral, but convey music well.

Started with TC4 in single wire config - pretty good. Broke apart and biwired same speakers expecting even better. Nope - way worse, almost thin and grainy sounding.

Then bought a second set and had them shotgunned, so now a full 4TC to the bass and treble on the speakers. WOW!

They are good, but don't strech them -- I have a guy that buys the wire in bulk, then terminates and finishes them with whatever hardware you want - spades, bananas, whatever. Much cheaper and ya, I agree, the factory finished cables just don't seem right.

Totally happy with them, tried others, but nothing stuck (including a set of $1000 MIT Terminator 4s).

Plain, simple, cable.

I also highly recommend the Kimber Hero I/Cs - but again, terminate and finish them yourself - cheaper, better.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 26, 2009]
levinhhung
Casual Listener

I bought this cables to replace the crappy internal wires of my Dynaudio 52 and Jmlab cobalts CC800S
Definately improvement in sound quality , no doubt about it ..

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 15, 2009]
JoelV
AudioPhile

I LOVE this cable. In every system I've tried with 4TC, I've found the sound to be very immediate, transparent, and, though I am loath to use their own advertising adjectives, "focused." Some amplifiers are more sensitive to cabling than others. I'm currently using an NAD 304 integrated and Triangle Zerius speakers in my bedroom. If you've owned this amp, you may already know that it is extremely sensitive to different cables. Going from AQ Type 4 to Kimber 4TC was a significant jump in clarity with no loss in bass. In fact, both frequency extremes are now better represented and subtle textures are very audible. I really wanted to upgrade my amplifier before switching and now I'm quite satisfied for the time being. I will be trying 8TC in a single bi-wire configuration next.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 02, 2008]
mbuc
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Big soundstage. I didn't own the matching speakers to find more real strengths.

Weakness:

Needs a matching speaker. Used with the wrong speakers, it won't make you happy.

In my opinion this cable has strong and sparkling treble, rather hollow mids and weak bass. If used with forward sounding monitiors, treble will probably be harsh and irritating while there's not enough bass and the overall sound stays thin. To get a well balanced sound with the 4TC you probably need big, laid-back and voluminous sounding floorstanders.

I cannot say it matches with Sonus Faber Cremona Auditors.

I recommend to use the 4TC with British rather than Italian speakers. And with floorstanders rather than with small monitors.

This summary is based on my experiences with 2x8 meters 4TC. If the cable had been half the length, the summary might have been more positive.

Similar Products Used:

Van den Hul CS 122, VdH the Revolution

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
1
[May 21, 2007]
Steve
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Good, clean sound.
Reasonably resistant to RF interference.

Weakness:

The factory-installed banana plugs aren't very good.
Grossly over-priced.

After happily using Monster XP speaker cable for years, I decided to try "audiophile" cable to see if it would improve the sound of my system. I researched the topic and chose Kimber Kable's 4TC based upon reviews and the fact that the cable was available on eBay for far less than its customary price.

The first thing that I noticed about the 4TC is that the insulation and factory-installed banana plugs looked cheap. The bananna plugs do not seem as good and do not connect as securely as the Monster QuickLock Gold Banana Connectors I applied to my old XP cable.

I then spent countless hours switching back and forth between the XP and 4TC cable, while playing test tones and various pieces of music. I couldn't tell the difference.

Speaker cables cannot perform magic. Reviewers who gush about the "veil being lifted" are exhibiting something akin to the "placebo effect." If you gave them cheap cable but told them that it was extremely expensive audiophile cable, they would swear that it greatly improved the sound of their system. Different cables may produce very, very subtle differences in sound, but in most cases these differences will be so small that the objective listener will not even be able to detect them. The cable companies livelihood depends on convincing you that their cables will dramatically improve the sound of your system. And they will swear that they aren't merely pedaling "snake oil." Don't be fooled!

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used:

Monster XP cable with QuickLock™ Gold Banana Connectors

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
1
[Dec 19, 2006]
stereoguy
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Lively, with quick and clear sound. Excellent sounstage and detail. Flexible and resistant to RF. Musically exciting. A good wire.

Weakness:

Can be a little lacking of bass weight.

I have had this Kimber wire on hand in various forms for quite awhile- whether it was biwire, single wire, bare wire, or Bananas. It is priced around the limit of what I would spend on wire, but feel it does indeed surpass lesser priced wires I have tried. If you ever go on Kimbers web site you'll see all of the electrical specifications (cpacitance, resistance and inductance) of every wire they sell, as well as the design and insulation used. I asked one high end wire company these questions and they would not even tell me. It is after all the electrical specifications of a wire that have the main effect on how it will sound in a given system. There is no snake oil about them. The 4TC wire is quick and clear with good placement of the instruments. It is also resistant to RF. I have used it bare wire and with connectors in various systems. Whenever I change out the Kimber I always notice a loss of transient speed, and less clarity. The bass is very tight. It could be a little fuller, but I'd rather have less bass than too much. You can get a smoother fuller and more easy going sound with some other wires that have a higher inductance than 4TC. 4TC is not really a tone control type of wire. It transmits the signal about as honestly as you can expect. I have used other wires and unlike some other posters here, I notice some difference, though I think those differences are due to changes in the inductance, resistance and capacitance of the wire, and the type of insulation used. I like the 4 TC wire, it has qualities no other wire near the price has. Basically you hear a quickness, and detail of each instrument, and the space of the recording venue, and even certain multi tracked parts of studio recordings I had'nt noticed. 4TC does not add warmth to the signal, It will not dumb down what the amp or source is doing. And it conveys the content of the recording. I don't hear 4TC as bright in my system, I do hear a slightly lighter bass, but that may be due to its thinner guage (as compared to 8TC and others), this character may lead to a perception of brightness. Anyway I have used no better wire near the price and find it to be a reasonably good value, though I feel all "high end" wire is overpriced and many represent insanity. Some less expensive DIY wires If you ever go on the audio forums you will learn that tthe Kimber 4 TC wire is commonly recommended as having excellent electrical parameters by people with a knowledge of audio engineering. It does the job of what a speaker cable should do. It is one of the better off the shelf wires and not absurdly priced. 4TC is for those who desire a clear and clean transmission of the signal. It is lively and involving, just like live music. If you want a wire to make things sound pleasant and relaxed, this is not it.

Customer Service

audiowaves has excellent service. Alan is a pleassure to deal with. Kimber responds to emails.

Similar Products Used:

JPS ultra conductor
Audioquest Midnight
DH labs T14
Nordost Flatline
DIY twisted solid core

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 49  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com