DH Labs Silver Sonic T-14 Speaker Cables

Silver Sonic T-14

Silver Sonic T-14 High Resolution speaker cable was designed by D.H. Labs to provide the highest quality sound at a much lower price than competing cables. It uses the finest materials available, including silver, oxygen-free copper and a pure Teflon dielectric. The strands are then tightly wound and extruded with our Teflon insulation. Silver Sonic T-14 uses DuPont PTFE, which is the highest grade of Teflon (and the most expensive).

User Reviews (61)

Showing 1-10 of 61  
LJ maggies   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 23, 2017]

Had these biwired to Martin Logans before, no complaints. Now have maggies, so I cut the spades off, and looking at the bare wire, I don't see any copper. It looks silvery, but I highly doubt that it's all silver. Hope it's not aluminum! Just ordered some 12 AWG OFC from amazon and I'll ABX it by wiring one maggie with Silver Sonic, the other with the 12 AWG, play a mono recording and have someone else do the AB switching.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
5
SWK   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 15, 2012]

Overall speaking, smooth, refined, articulate, transparent and revealing; sweet and clean high, punchy and extended low (bi-wire configuration applied in my system) , but somehow less involving and prudish mid not to the taste of Neil Diamond sexy voice lovers; very sensitive to components, parts, and front-end interconnects.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
machani   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 03, 2006]
Strength:

Smoothness, detail, high frequency extension.

Weakness:

Lower guage limits application to smaller speakers or external biwire.

I am using the T14 in a biwire configuration along with DH Labs Q10. The T14 is connected to the HF terminal of my Quad 22L with the Q10 going to the LF terminal. The HF terminal is dedicated to the tweeter (crossed over at 3KHz). The LF terminal power the midrange and bass drivers.

The T14 pretty much does what the Q10 does: provides exceptional smoothness, clarity and top end extension. Used in "external biwire" as I described above, the soundstange, focus and transparency are taken to new levels.

Customer Service

DH Labs Q10

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Ruthless Brad   Audio Enthusiast [May 24, 2006]
Strength:

Bass is much improved. Cleaner trebles. Overall very good sound.

Weakness:

They may be a good value compared to other cables, but $229 is still more than I want to pay for speaker cable. You could save money by going with a single run, but most reviewers claim that a single run doesn't bring out enough bass.

I ordered a pair of 10 ft bi-wired T-14 cables w/ upgraded Z-plug bananas from . gave me a call (he said he likes to speak with his customers in person) and asked me what speakers I have. I have B&W 602 S3s, and he recommended doing a double run instead of bi-wiring for these speakers since they are two-way; it would be a waste to dedicate one of the runs to just the tweeters. He also threw in four short lengths of T-14 wire to upgrade my jumpers.

These cables replaced some free 16 gauge wire that my speaker store guy threw in with my B&W speakers. I have to say... upgrading to the T-14 cables was almost like adding a subwoofer! When I threw in my Sublime CD, there was almost too much bass... almost. These are bookshelf speakers, so I still need a sub to hit the lowest frequencies. I also noticed that the trebles are cleaner now, but that may be due to the new jumpers. Might be a little too bright for some people's tastes, though. I didn't notice any changes in the mid-range, but I was probably just too distracted by the improved bass to notice.

Customer Service

I will definitely purchase from Value Audio again.

Similar Products Used: Tributaries SP1 16 AWG (free from speaker store)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
DeeChiSound   Audio Enthusiast [May 07, 2004]
Strength:

Good clean clear sound

Weakness:

Can be thin

Ordered this cable from Drew at Moon Audio. Workmanship is second to none. I ordered mine with double run bi-wire with silver banana's. Plugged them into my B&W 602 S3 speakers and was very impressed. These really opened up the sound and mid-range. And the bass was just right for me. I didnt have the brightness or the grain that others have reported. Just good clear sound. Drew is great to buy from at Moon Audio. I also have a pair of his all silver interconnects, the blue dragons. My system has never sounded better.

Similar Products Used: Audioquest Type 4, Crystal StraightWire Octave 2 Monster Cable
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 20, 2003]
Strength:

Great sound for both highs, mids and lows.

Weakness:

That silver coating is sharp, ouch!

To be honest, I haven't had much personal experience with other speaker cables, but after visiting a few friends who've spent more money on their systems, I can clearly say that mine sounds better, and I owe it to the Silver Sonic T-14. A great cable that only takes a few days of use to burn in, I haven't noticed the bass problems that a few of the other writers have mentioned. Great sound, great cable, great price. My system: Sony STR-90ES receiver (120wx5) Infinity RS-8 (L,R) Infinity RS-3 (RL,RR) Infinity CC-3 (center)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Matt Anderson   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 15, 2000]
Strength:

Detail, smoothness, bass control, build quality,value

Weakness:

Nothing significant so far

I have had this cable for a week now and I the sound that I am getting is excellent. This is a very smooth sounding cable with very good detail and dynamic range. The bass is solid and well defined and the highs are very clean. I bought a 6' birwired pair and a birwired run for the center speaker. I have not done a real comparison using them in a non-biwired configuration but I think the bass sounds more tight and defined. Movies on DVD sound great and DTS music CDs sound so dynamic with this cable. I also think the T-14 needs time to break in a bit though and it seems to sound better even after just a week. The only problem I had was making the pin connections hold on my spring clips for the center chan but that is really due to my receiver. The spades fit very secure on my speakers with a good tight connection. I bought these cable from Jeff Delman at Vaule Audio and the service was first rate and the advice very good. I would recommend these cables to anyone who likes great sound.

Similar Products Used: Monster Cable XP
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Matt   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 21, 2000]

All I can say is this is a very good, quality speaker cable for around $4.00/ft plus terminations. It tightened up my bass, improved the clarity of the mids, and took the edge off the highs.
I was using el-cheapo monster cable before and I can honestly say it made one hell of a difference(even my mother could tell a difference when she came by and heard them!!) I have always been sceptical about people saying they heard HUGE differences in cable, but not anymore. Although I do think a person can go overboard, and should consider how good their system is ($100ft cable won't make a jvc system with bose speakers sound any better than $2ft cable).

Just that you know, my system is: NAD 340 Int.Amp , NAD 540 Cd player, NAD 440 tuner, and Paradigm Studio 80 speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Jon   Audiophile [Mar 03, 2000]
Strength:

Very airy, good soundstage, cost

Weakness:

Spade size is too small to fit binding posts

This was a dramatic step up from my Monster Cable 12ga. These cables are very airy. They are slightly bright but also very smooth, not fatiguing at all. The soundstage is very focused. For the price, they are a bargain. If you do buy these cables, either get bananas or the larger spades because the small ones do not fit over even the smallest posts.

Similar Products Used: Monster Cable 12ga
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Jon   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 04, 2000]
Strength:

Highs, lows and everything in between.

Weakness:

Stiff as a board!

Since there is no forum for the Q-10 yet, I thought I would share my thoughts here. I recently picked up a 6' pair of Q-10, banana-banana, from Audio Concepts in WI. Nice folks with fast service and order tracking. www.audioc.com Anyways I used to think my old 12ga Acoustic Research cable was adequate for my Denon-AVR 2800, Denon DCM-460, Infinity Composition Overture 2's with DH-Labs BL-1 Series II interconnects, but after a while the muted midrage and the muddy low-end got to me. When the Q-10 arrived the first thing I noticed was how thick the cable was! The positive and negative leads are funneled into one dark green colored jacket which is not very flexible. As a result the banana's are having a hard time sitting in their posts because the stiff wire likes to droop, and it's weight starts to pull them out! Ugh! I did manage to prop the wire up and keep it from yanking out the banana's and finally sat down to do some critical listening. Like I said above, the old zipcord was ok, but not as clear nor as transperent as the Q-10. I found an immediate improvement across the board, especially in the upper-highs and low end. Bass is tighter and definately less boomy, and the highs are crystal clear! If only the jacket wasnt so garden-hose like, I would be completely satisfied! Otherwise good stuff!

The cost was $195.00 US for 6' banana to banana's with free UPS ground.

System:
Denon AVR-2800
Denon DCM-460
Infinity Composition Overture 2's
DH-Labs BL-1 Series 2 Interconnects
DH-Labs Q-10 cable
Monster Cable HTS 2000

Similar Products Used: AR 12ga zipcord
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 61  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com