Clarity Labs FoxFire Speaker Cables

FoxFire

Silver Hybrid Interconnect cable

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
Deke_Nut   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 17, 2003]
Strength:

Everything.

Weakness:

Nothing.

FANTASTIC! Honestly, I can't say enough about these cables and the difference they made in my system. Everything sounds better in my CDs - tone, articulation, detail, soundstage, voices, instruments... really. I am not an audiophile snob who can lay down colorful metaphors for days on some obscure sound chararistic, so I think that says something in that these cables instantly impressed me in every way. I guess I will believe the burn in issue required with these pure silver cables, but right out of the box they are giving me everything I could ever ask for. If it gets even better, I don't know what I will do with myself! Response Audio will let you try these and return them in 15 days, so what do have to lose? Give it a shot - you may end up as giddy as I am. My music set up: Rotel RSX-1055 AV Receiver Rotel RCD-1077 CD player B&W CM2 speakers B&W ASW-675 subwoofer

Similar Products Used: Clarity Emberglows
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Eduard Selskiy   Casual Listener [Oct 30, 2002]
Strength:

Bass is solid, and high frequencies are clean and clear.

Weakness:

Price

I strongly believe that this is one of the best interconnect cables money can buy. Sure its pricey, but compared to other brands/models, it's definately the best bang for the buck. Bass is solid, and high frequencies are clean and clear. No harshness here. I originally had it between my Nakamichi PA-5 & Nacamichi CA-5 pre-amp & Nakamichi OMS 5 CD Player & it will remain in my system.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Keith   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 23, 2001]
Strength:

Very open and airy sounding

Weakness:

none

Got these IC's from Response Audio to compare against my Cardas Quadlink 5C that i am currently using. I wasnt expecting them to actually sound better than my Cardas. After listening to my first song i was shocked. What a difference it was from my Cardas. The highs were very detailed and open sounding. The mids and lows were very clean and compared to my Cardas. What i really liked were the highs, they just gave more presence in the sound reproduction. Also like the smaller size of these, they are much easier to work with. Also the major reason i got these was because of Bill Baker at Response Audio. It's not very often that someone takes the time he does to ask about your system and give you his recommendation. It's a pleasure doing business with someone like that. I highly recommend these IC's and also Bill. Keep up the good work

Similar Products Used: Cardas Quadlink 5C..MIT Terminator 2..DH Labs BL-1
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Grover   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 19, 2002]
Strength:

Musical detail, balance, soundstage

Weakness:

Long break in period

The positive review in Vacuum Tube Valley magazine got me interested in this cable. After thinking about it for a month or so, I decided to place my order for a 1 meter pair. It’s been one of my best-ever audio decisions. My reference cable for the previous ten years has been a copper IC from Apex Audio that has a dynamic sound I really enjoy. I was hoping the Foxfire would sound at least as good as my Apex. Turns out, the Foxfires slayed the older and much more expensive cable.

Right out of the box, what I noticed about the Foxfire was a substantially quieter background than with my previous ICs. The Foxfires definitely need to be broken in before they sound their best however. Initially I felt them to be a bit constricted and one-dimensional with a balance toward the cool side. They weren’t sounding "bad" necessarily, just sounding like cables that needed some break-in. I e-mailed Tom Grot of Clarity Wires and he understood my comments and suggested a minimum of a hundred hours on the cables is what was needed before they settled in and started to sound their best and 200 hours was optimum.

It’s been a month and what started off as a decent sounding cable is now truly superb. I have an all tube setup and have the Foxfires placed between my CD player and preamp. I feel their best quality is in the higher frequency range. There is a beautiful spaciousness and air around the instruments with nice decay to cymbals, tambourine, triangle and other high pitched sounds. But the upper frequencies are not overstated at all; they are just the frosting on what I feel to be a beautifully balanced musical presentation. Bass is quite tight, with good impact on percussion instruments. I notice a realistic slam and a resonance to bass drum in particular, as if you could feel air moving. The Foxfires do an excellent job of bringing out the detail and fine musical textures of a recording. They bring an added sense of realism that is very enjoyable.

Build quality on the Foxfires is very good. The cables are quite thin and easy to work with. The insides look to be two light green and one white wire braided together surrounded by a white mesh outer cover. They have sort of an iridescent quality that looks very attractive. So when your spouse says “Is there anything you can do about those big fat ugly cables in the back of your equipment rack?” You can take that as permission to upgrade to Clarity Foxfires. I know I did.

Similar Products Used: Audioquest Quartz, Straightwire Maestro, Apex Audio
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Brandon B   Audiophile [Jan 19, 2002]
Strength:

Shimmering highs,Deep smooth bass. Great seperation in instruments,.. Everything

Weakness:

None

I wrote a review for these cables a couple months ago, but now that they have burned in for about 100 hrs (Tom grot reccomends 200 for best performance). They really changed for the better. Everytime i sit down and listen to music i just get a smile on my face and although its not all because of cables,it really helps. The way these present the music is just phenomenal. Every instrument has its own place in the sound stage, The highs and mids are liquid smooth, and airy These cables are soo natural and stunning its like i have the band playing in my room, The cables really make it more than listening its more of a musical experience. The bass is clean and smooth. I really enjoy listening to these cables, I dont think they are bright at all and not too laid back either. Just right. Although they will require some burn in time, Its well worth the wait, And these are well worth the money. They continue to impress me everyday, and i can only reccomend that you give them a listen in your own home.

Similar Products Used: Clarity Wires "emberglow"
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Thomas   Audiophile [Nov 14, 2001]
Strength:

Alot of detail and air. Nice build quality and detail on the interconnects.

Weakness:

On occassions can be to bright, also little laid back.

A couple of things I would like to make mention of first to Tom before I get into reviewing these Interconnects is: First I think it would nice to see direction arrows on these interconnect to makes sure the interconnect always ends up in the same direction. Secondly a note attached to the interconnects stating the recommended burn in time. The Foxfires need about 200 hours of burn in time. That is alot of time if you are unaware of this fact. I fogot to ask Tom about this so I called Bill up at Response Audio and asked him. Bill was more then happy to give helpful and insightful information on these interconnects.

I hooked up these interconnects right away so I can get the burn in time over with and start my listening and comparision of these cables to my Audioquest. I got the Audioquest for the fact that the midband was neatrul and the bass had good extension considering the price. They were also recommended in Stereophile and a What Hi-Fi had liked them. I paid about $130 for 2 pair. So to be able to go and listen to a pair of interconnects costing 3 to 4 times as much is gonna be exciting. Especially since the Foxfire uses a silver for the positive. It might give my system a hint of what to expect from silver. So on with the review.

As I got into listening before the cables were burnt in I did notice they were rough sounding. As time went on with me occassionaly listening in I did notice the cables lost the edgyness and gained smoothness. As days went on aproaching 200 hours the cables were really starting to impress me. They sounded different then the Audioquest, brighter and more air about them. They do not sound as congested as the Audioquests. They really smoothed themselves out as compared to first hooking them up. So 200 hours finally got here, thought it never would, grabbed my favorite cd's and sat back and listened. What I did notice was the Foxfire can be bright ,depending on the cd, at times. But both interconnects did have a good amount of detail and air about. More so then the Audioquets. They smoothed out to become quite enjoyable. I also noticed they are a little laid back compared to my Audioquests I am use to. A good thing to report I did not notice any RFI or EMI noises during my listening time.

So to some it all up I found these cables to be quite good, better then alot of them I have tried in the past. They had lots of air and detail to the music, and nothing seem to be exagerated. Only gripe was little to laid back and to bright on certain occasions. If the Foxfires were not to bright at times I would give these cables 5 stars, but due to its brightness on occassion I give both interconnects 4 stars.

Similar Products Used: Kimber PBJ, Audioquest Topaz II, and Straightwire chorus.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Brandon   Audiophile [Nov 16, 2001]
Strength:

Airy, detail..Everything

Weakness:

None

I got these cables about 2 weeks ago and really love them. The sound is soo detailed and open. Really made my Music come alive. The imaging is very good and these are some very nice sounding cables. Very smooth and open No coloration of the music at all. The highs are soo smooth and detailed as well as the rest of the music. They also have great tight, clean bass. and they arent bright either that could depend on the system you use them in. Couldnt ask for more in a interconnect. I was using the Emberglow IC's before these and they were also very nice. Now they are Jumpers for my amp and the pair made such a difference that it was like a componet upgrade. Very very happy with all my Clarity Wires cables. For the guy below that gave 4 stars the Foxfires have the Shrink wrap on only 1 side. So at least you can keep them " flowing" in the same direction. BTW these are Nice looking too. I could almost frame them as art. I highly reccomend you go listen to these. you wont be dissapointed. Very nice..
Thank you Clarity Wires for another great product. Keep up the good work.!

Similar Products Used: Clarity Wires " emberglow"
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Thomas Ferko   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 06, 2001]
Strength:

Brilliant Tonal/vocal reproduction,vastly increased presence, improved imaging,tight bass.contribution rre

Weakness:

None

Right out of the box, these interconnects impressed me with their vibrancy and beautiful rendition of the female voice. My jaw dropped when I first played a Celine Dion cd, as the cables presented a natural and involving "realness" that I was lacking in my previous setup. Choosing this product was a an easy decision after discussing my needs with Bill Baker,the owner of ResponseAudio.Com,whom I trust confidantly,as he is knowledgeable,very easy to work with and a no pressure type of guy.
These interconnects,the Foxfire silver hybrid, have brought a great deal of listening pleasure by giving each compact disc a vastly improved articulated sonic presence and a very definite "wow factor". My other equipment-Jolida 1501 integrated amp,Model 2 speakers from Response Audio and the Ah!Njoe Tjoeb 4000.

Similar Products Used: Moster Cable Interlink 400
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com