BetterCables Premium Speaker Cables

Premium

- Hand-terminated with Silver solder and your choice of connector type. - 4X14AWG-conductors, twisted in pairs - yields 11 AWG. - Ultra-pure bare copper, PVC insulated, conductors. - High Flex Design. - Compares favorably to much more expensive "botique" speaker cables!

User Reviews (46)

Showing 1-10 of 46  
drtctong   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 08, 2004]
Strength:

Truthful and uncolored music, lots of headroom, tight base,

Weakness:

none at all

I changed my interconnect and speaker cables to the BetterCables' Silver Serpent XLR and the new BlueTruth speaker cables. At first glance, I was a bit disappointed by the slim build of the cables as compared to my previously used ones. However, the iridium coated banana plugs are robust and fit in securely into the amp.'s speaker posts. The Teflon coating is good looking and of fine quality. The music these cables convey was purely unbelievable. The high's are smooth and have lots of headroom ( I played SACD and DVD-audio from my Pioneer AX-10 to my Parasound pre-amp and bridged A23 power amps.). The mid-range was accurate and the lows are very tight. The most remarkable features I noticed were the details ( listen to the string seciton where you could hear the size of it), the uncolored timbre of individual instruments particularly the brass, and the lively representation of positions of the muscisians, are really fantastic. I used Siltech before but that did not give as much details as the Bettercables ( maybe because I have the new Parasound amps.). If you take the price of the BetterCables into consideration, these cables are great value for bugs items. Go for it. The shipment was very fast.

Similar Products Used: Siltech, Van den Hul
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
cshev   AudioPhile [Jan 05, 2004]
Strength:

adds nothing negative, lets you hear the positive

Weakness:

none at all as far as I can tell..

Very neutral. If you don't like the sound change your interconnects. I wish I had these when I had my B&W 803's. My insurance settlement did not afford me a new Pair of speakers, so I went for a more affordable brand. Hooked them up with my old Kimber 8TC and tried to give them time but couldn't stand the sound waiting for a miracle break in. Bought some Better Cable speaker wire and several different interconnects. After breaking in a few as long as I could take, I found the better CaBLE's speaker wire sound to be neutral, and when I settled in with the interconnects, the sounds only gets better every listen. You get lost in the music. smooth, full, no loss of detail.. Either I have an inceredibly lucky pairing of speakers and components and Better Cables let you hear what you've got, or I have a decent setup and Better Cables make it better. Traded out several different interconnects and really feel the speaker wire never stood in the way of letting me hear the differences.

Similar Products Used: Kimber
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Gene A   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 10, 2003]
Strength:

none

Weakness:

all

I own the Blue Truth 5m biwire speaker cables. They are horrible, bright&muddy. NO CLARITY.

Similar Products Used: KIMBER,ACOUSTIC ZEN & hARMONIC TECHNOLOGY
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
publinx   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 31, 2002]
Strength:

They made the JBLs 312 sound so much better than they ever have. I was hearing things in music that I had previously only heard in my VMPS speakers.

Weakness:

For the money, used, there are none.

I purchased these from ebay for my second system (JBL S312). They made a tremendous difference in sound from the homemade cables I had been using. I spent a lot on my primary system (VMPS) and didn't want to spend too much for the JBLs. If you have an existing system that seems to be lacking something and you are on a tight budget, look for some of these used cables.

Similar Products Used: Analysis Plus, Homegrown audio, Better Cables
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Murat   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 26, 2002]
Strength:

Price, quality, SOUND,

Weakness:

little too stiff (not a real problem)

I bought these cable as biwired with banana plugs. After using them now for 2 months I am very satisfied. These cable replaced KimberKable 8TC. Compared to 8TC it is like day and night. The 8TC laid-back dullness is gone and a rich sound emerges now from the same system. True, the cables are stiff, and difficult to handle. But this is not a real problem. The sound is crips, well balanced, and simply a wonderful experience.

Similar Products Used: KimberKable 8TC, Monster Cable, RS cable, MIT
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jkrautter   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 08, 2002]
Strength:

Best bang for the buck bar none.

Weakness:

Time to ship was a little frustrating but then again you''re dealing with a web based company and mine were special order.

What can I say? When I called and asked for custom cables they were very polite and accomodated me without any problems. Once the cables finally arrived I stopped everything I was doing, installed them and gave them a listen. WOW!! Imaging, bass and spacial detail were vastly improved. They really opened up my Maggies! Now I''m going through the rest of my system to see what else I''ve been missing, but the first thing I''m going to do is order their interconnects. Preamp - Carver CT-26v CD Player - Carver SD/A 450 Amp - Adcom GFA-555 x 2 in mono config. Interconnects - Monster Cable

Similar Products Used: Hand made heavy guage Monster Cable.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
kkanumuri   Casual Listener [Feb 05, 2002]
Strength:

Does not come in between you and the music.

Weakness:

Weak banana jacks

Very neautral and provide great clarity. You can just feel the music is cleaner and crisper. Great quality construction. One thing you need to look out for is that the Viper banana jack are delicate, which when combined with a very stiff cable, can be bent easily. Had this problem the same day I recieved them, sent them in to be repaired. Overall I have other cables on order from them and will use them for future cable needs.

Similar Products Used: Monster 12g
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Leslie Fox   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 06, 2000]
Strength:

sound quality, construction, appearance

Weakness:

none

I have recently upgraded my system one component at a time to evaluate the effect of each new component. My current system consistes of Rotel 971 CD, Rega Mira integrate amp, Music Hall MMF-5 turntable with Goldring cartridge, KEF 102/2 reference speakers and Better Cables interconnects and speaker cable.
I was astonished that the single greatest improvement was the cable. This may have been due to going from mono to biwire configuration, but the BetterCable blew away the Monster 12g mono and was even significantly better than the much more expensive Cardas cable (admittedly in the mono configuration). The difference was not at all subtle. The soundstage immediated "opened up", localization of instruments was much better, soci detail improved and the overall sound was richer and sweeter. This was apparent from the moment the new cables were installed.
High praise to BetterCables.com
Excellent value.

Similar Products Used: Cardas cross, Monster M series
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mark   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 17, 2000]
Strength:

Strong Build, 6 month return policy, Lifetime waranty. Fast Dellivery (5 working days).

What can I say about these cables other than what has already been said about all Bettercable products?,,,,Not much. They use straight foward proven designs,high quality parts, assemble them with care, and offer them at great prices. Listening to these cables I would say they are very neutural sounding (a pleasant surprise). I cant say enough about how pleased I am with my purchase. Thanks BC.

Similar Products Used: Monster Cable MCX2s
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ron   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 27, 2000]
Strength:

Looks like a high-quality cable. Sounds like a high-quality cable. Price was for a single 3m speaker cable.

Weakness:

None that my ears can detect!

One cannot say enough about Brad, his company and his cables. Extremely fine craftsmanship, incredibly fast response time, and Brad is just a really nice guy who cares about each and every one of his customers. I even got my order 3 days early! His willingness to help goes so far beyond what you'd expect (and more often than not get) from an online retailer, it's almost a shock.

If you don't want to settle for the crap cables that come with your components, but don't buy into the unsubstantiated (show me da double-blind taste-tests!) and wildly exaggerated claims that the high-priced cable manufacturers and their victims claim, then these are the cables for you.

Similar Products Used: None, I started with the best.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 46  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com