AudioQuest Topaz Speaker Cables

Topaz

(See reviews)

User Reviews (39)

Showing 1-10 of 39  
Nilesh   AudioPhile [Mar 12, 2015]

I upgraded the RCA from my Arcam CD-73 to my Arcam Alpha 7 amp, from a Monster THX to a used Audioquest Topaz, it was a clear and immediate improvement, larger soundstage and more detailed vocals. I even tried a new Monster M 1000 RCA that cost me over twice as much, but the Audioquest still beat it out in sheer soundstage and detail. The Monster M1000 had more bass and better bass extension, but it's lack of soundstage and detail of Audioquest Topaz. Besides my personal listening tests, I had some family members come over that had gone to a couple of live concerts, bring their CDs and compare the sound quality to the live concert and the agreed that the Audioquest sounded more realistic then the Monster.

I paid less then $60 including shipping from ebay for the used Audioquest Topaz
Monster M1000 cost me $150.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Ed S   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 19, 2000]
Strength:

good value in the right set-up

Weakness:

stiff cables, tight RCA plugs

I recently got a pair of .5 M cables as demos from HCM Audio for use between a Teac PDH 300 CD player and Koss 950 electrostatic headphones. The results were quite good. I also used tried the 950i's and while the sound was slightly clearer, it lacked bass, midrange and dynamics. I then tried the Topaz where the 950i's had been, between a CEC 5100Z CD player and Stax SRM-3 headphone amplifier, with Lambda SR404s, and found that the 950i's worked better in that set-up.
From this I conclude that you have to see if things like cables work in your particular application and that the 30-day return policy of most mail-order and internet dealers is a good thing if your new purchase is no obvious improvement over what you were using before.
Also, I am sure that many reviewer's may be unable to tell the difference between cables either because the cable fails to make any difference in that application or because their system is incapable of registering much improvement. Headphone listening is generally more critical than loudspeakers. The eloctrostatic systems I am dealing with, which use only one interconnect, are able to register minor differences between cables as well as warm-up and break-in effects.
Also is Audioquest changing the color of these cables or are other reviewers talking about different cables? Mine were gray-green.

Similar Products Used: Monster Cable 950i's, 850, XLO


OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Joao Pina   Audiophile [Mar 20, 2000]

I've been trying to get rid of these cables almost since I bought them...It's crazy how this cables affect the sound.
As I work in studios the effect that these cables are similar to a compressor and peak limiter, it compresses and flaten all the dinamics of any recording. Worst money spent on all my equipment...

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Dasein   Audiophile [Jan 16, 2000]
Strength:

Better than the standard stuff

Weakness:

NEVER BUY THESE IF YOU CHANGE YOUR CABLES!

I have not been into HI-end audio for a long time, so I also took the recommendation from Stereophile to purchase these cables. Big mistake for someone like myself. I don't have all the money in the world to spend on this kind of stuff, so I have to rely on reviews and use my best judgment. I was looking for a quality cable that for the most part sounded good, to be honest I do not think my system is transparent enough to tell the differences between really expensive cables. Someday I hope it is and I am constantly upgrading. I was just looking for an entry level cable. These cable are the most poorly constructed cables I have had the displeasure to buy. YOU WILL HAVE TO FIX THESE THINGS IF YOU USE THEM. I really wished I had spent the few extra dollars on the Ruby's just for the different RCA types! Read the countless other reviews to see the problem I am having with them. If you change gear, don't buy these things they will break at sometime. AudioQuest should reterminate these things for everyone if they had any integrity. I am giving these cables the lowest rating so others may not make the same mistake I did. An entry level cable should not be so temperamental, and shame on reviewers that do not point these things out to customers who trust their opinions. (PS I also live in San Clemente where they make this stuff, and when I called them they told me to contact my dealer!)

Similar Products Used: Audio Quest Ruby
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Alec   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 18, 2000]
Strength:

bass control

Weakness:

dull

AudioQuest Topaz is a very dull cable - should be called Grey (Boulder) cable. I have no clue why Stereophile Magazine likes it. Yes, it is very neutral ... in the sense ``dull/flat.'' However, it can be very good as a center channel or subwoofer interconnect cable.

Similar Products Used: QEG qnect2
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Willy   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 11, 2000]
Strength:

quality

Weakness:

stiff cables, very tight RCA plugs

I really can't tell the difference between this model and jade (the cheaper one). But anyway this cable is more than ok compared to any cheap standard RCA (Since I haven't auditioned 300 buck cable in my house ::)))

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Josiah Thorne   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 25, 2000]
Strength:

Very clean, good detail. Smooth top end, good sense of space.

Weakness:

Has a bit of what I call the "lowered ceiling" effect. That is, the top end of the frequency range is rolled off, so many sounds(voices in particular) seem held down a bit. A little closed in, perhaps, but always listenable.

Overall, an excellent value. Most people will hear a top-to-bottom improvement in detail and clarity. The bass is tighter, the mids and highs cleaner. An excellent addition to any system not yet using "hi-fi" cables. AQ definetly has the right ideas when it comes to cabling.

Similar Products Used: AQ Corals, Opal, Transparent Link 200.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Chris   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 06, 2000]
Strength:

Inexpensive

Weakness:

Poorly made connectors; no real improvement in sound over basic manufacturer's interconnects

Bought these cables used for $40 from a reputable audio shop. Connected them and let them settle in over about 50 hours of music. Noticed no real difference over the interconnects that came with my CD player. Tried to disconnect these interconnects and pulled two female RCA plugs out of the back of my amplifier just like reviewer "Joe" below. Put my amp back together but now the Topaz interconnect doesn't work at all. Went back to my factory interconnect(which is working fine) for the time being. After my experience and reading the various reviews below, I think these particular interconnects may be some of the worst on the market.

Similar Products Used: Basic manufacturer's interconnects
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
ray   Audiophile [Apr 02, 2000]
Strength:

Nice Looking, nice connector locks, twist to lock.

Weakness:

Made sound dull, no sound stage, mud, muttered. Made good equipment sound like a cheap car radio.

Stay clear of these, junk, waist of money. a marketing hype

Similar Products Used: radio shack gold, monster, generic types, all with better results.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Jirgo Askew   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 03, 2000]
Strength:

Well designed cable
Excellent Plug
Uncolored sound
Honest Cable

Weakness:

Same things as with most entry level cables. (dynamic restrictions, will make entry level systems sound as bad as they truly are)

Please let sleeping dogs lie. The more I read things from this website the more I feel that there is some sort of cyber bandwagoning going on. People see one bad posting and the rest is history. (refer NAD 925) It seems like most of the postings were done by people spending a little too much time on ye olde crack pipe. I mean saying that god awful fecus that is given with most components yields no difference compared to FPC copper. It also brings into question the quality of the pre/pros or in the case of these idiots, recievers. Any good quality cable will exert pressure on your rig, it is how carefully you remove them. It seriously makes me wonder if all of these people are playing these cables on Cerwin Vega or low end JBL crap (all readily availble at any best buy circuit clitty etc...) If your equipment is lacking or as in the words of another literary genius "sux", no cable will probably give more resolution no matter how expensive.

Similar Products Used: Straightwire Rhabsody II, AQ Turquoise, AQ Jade, M 550 I
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 39  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com