AudioQuest Python Speaker Cables

Python

Interconnect

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
REH   AudioPhile [Apr 16, 2003]
Strength:

Very tight deep bass. Good soundstage depth and width. Highs are not exaggerated and are not edgey. Cymbals actually sound like cymbals and violins like violins.

Weakness:

At this point I'm pretty satisfied unless they develop any bad characteristics as they break-in.

I have always been a fan of Audioquest/Truth cables in my system, especially as source cables. I have used a set of Diamond X2's for some years but was not quite satisfied. I always thought they were slightly tipped up in the upper registries and the soundstage did not have as much depth as it was wide. The Python's initially seemed to solve both of these problems. Overall I think they are more musical and a little less analytical than the Diamonds were. I would definitely recommend these cables, especially at the current price of $190.00 for a 1/2 meter pair.

Similar Products Used: Audioquest Diamonds, Synergistic Research Looking Glass and Kaleidoscope II, Nirvana SL.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
adolf72160   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 14, 2002]
Strength:

Deep, detail and smooth sound.

Weakness:

Can be sound bright with some equipment configurations, expensive.

Great cable, the overall volume of my systema increase significately, the soundstage is far more deep than my previous Diammondbacks, also there is more detail in the music, creating a truly soundstage.

Similar Products Used: Audioquest Diammondback
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Brent   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 23, 2002]
Strength:

Tight bass, neutral cable, open soundstage

Weakness:

Price at retail.

I bought two demo pairs of this cable to replace my AudioTruth Opal interconnects. They provide and tighter and more open sound. Overall I believe it truly brings out the best in my system. It is a bit expensive at retail, however. Although, I paid 1/2 of retail buying two demo pairs.

Similar Products Used: AudioTruth Opal, Kimber Silver Streak, Tara Labs Master Reference
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
JIM   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 04, 2000]
Strength:

VERY CLEAN AND CLEAR. EXCELLANT SMOOTH RANGE FROM TOP TO BOTTEM

Weakness:

HARD TO FIND

I TRIED TO PURCHASE THESE FOR SEVERAL MONTHS. THEY ARE FINALLY HERE.I BELIEVE THEY ARE MUCH SMOOTHER THEN THE KIMBERS.BETTER LOWS.THEY DO REQUIRE SOME BREAK-IN TIME.I HAVE MANLEY TUBES AND THEY REALLY IMPROVED THE OVER ALL QUALITY OF MY SYSTEM.I DO BELIEVE THAT INTERCONNECT CAN MAKE A GREAT DIFFERENCE.AT $295 FOR 1 METER FROM SOUNDCITY ,THEY ARE MONEY WELL SPENT. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.THE BETTER YOUR ELECTRONICS,THE GREATER THE IMPROVEMENT.

Similar Products Used: KIMBERKABLE SILVER STREAK,AUDIOMAGIC EXCALIBER II
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Anthony D.   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 15, 2001]
Strength:

Looks great, Nice solid connector, Smooth and effortless sound.

Weakness:

None yet

These are very good cables. Some of the first impressions I had when I hooked up these guys was that the sound stage got a lot wider and deeper. Better mide range and smoother more realistic highs. I've had these cables for about 2 weeks now and they are still breaking in but the more I listen to them the better they sound. AudioQuest has created another great product. Great Job Bill Low!

Similar Products Used: AudioQuest Coral, Monster M1000
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Sunny Wong   Audiophile [Jun 03, 2001]
Strength:

I used the XLR (balance) 1.5m interconnect. Python, when connected between my Krell pre and power amp, is a surprise to me! It's so smooth thoughout the audio spectrum. The improvements are in all aspects and my system become more life like. The advancement in midrange texture and more air in hi frequency are particularly impressive.

Very simple. It makes the path with less distortion. Gives overall improvement and will not stress a certain frequency. I wonder how good will be the top model if this Python is already that great.

Similar Products Used: XLO 2.0, Aural Symphonics Gen 5, Tara Labs Reference
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Craig Fenemor   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 10, 2001]
Strength:

Smooth, detailed and transparent

In the context of my system I found the Python to be a revelation. Coming from a much cheaper Chord cable, the effortless sound that I now am getting is still surprising me. Very good bass control, good dynamics, fluid mids and detailed but not ringing tops. After being impressed by the next cable down, the Viper, the dealer suggested this and all that the Viper did this does more. Well worth an audition.

Arcam Alpha Plus CD
Naim Nait 3
Epos ES11's

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Alexey Kuzmichev   Audiophile [Nov 08, 2001]
Strength:

Well controlled bass, transparent upper midrange and highs, wide soundstage

Weakness:

Overbright, shallow soundstage, rolled off and not clear low midrange

Definitely not for bright systems, highs may lead to headache, but they are very detailed and transparent. Soundstage is not threedimentional, rather wide and flat. Still don't understand what this cable does with low-midrange. At least it sounds not articulated and not deep enough. But the uppermids and highs are crystal clear and transparent, but too exagerated. You can use this cable as equalizer.

In my system it sounds worse than Transparent and MIT. Hence 3 and 4 stars.

CD: Linn Genki
Int. Amp: Densen B-100
SC: MIT-2 Bi-wire
LS: Magnepan MG0.6QR/SE
Rack: Finite-Elemente Spider

Similar Products Used: Transparent Music Link Plus, Madrigal HPC, MIT-330 Series II, MIT-330 Shotgun
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Jeff   Audiophile [Jul 26, 2001]
Strength:

flexibility, guarantee

Weakness:

too bright

These cables were offered to me free & I wound up giving them back, the only reason being they were too bright for my system. At the time I was running a Bryston 4B ST with a Meridian 506.24 CD through a Pass Aleph P. Two different sets of speakers were used with pretty much the same results. I used them from the CD & when I tried to switch positions to the amp, there was one RCA end that would not go into the Bryston. I got out my vernier calipers & measured the difference, which was noticeable. At the same time I had problems with two other sets of IC's from AQ, and when I returned them to the factory, they didn't even repair them!!! I contacted the AQ rep & was dealt a big pile of pure BS. I called again & asked to speak with someone else & was treated like a customer should be, actually very well. The problems I'd been having with all three sets of cables were dealt with & I was satisfied with the repairs. Too bad it took three trips to the repair shop. Yes, that is correct. Three trips. But that just goes to show you that one person can screw up a lot of things for a lot of people. I don't think that this is the way AQ likes their employees to deal with problems, because there are way too many cable companies out there to compete with. Anyway, the repairs were made, I returned the Pythons & sold the others, as I was in the process of doing an upgrade. Again,the Pythons were just too bright for me. I really tried to like them, especially since they were given to me, but I couldn't listen to them for extended periods. I gave them plenty of run it time, etc., but eventually settled on a Stealth converting interconnect between the CD & pre & a balanced set to the amp. I also really liked the HT Truthlink for its smoothness, but it didn't have the high end extension. The Pro-Silways & PSS were both comparable to the Pythons-too bright for my system. My ratings reflect this product in comparison to the similar products I've used & my listening experience-and because I know it's not fair to rate this product based on one individual that has no customer relations skills whatsoever, I'll try to be as objective as possible. Then again, these reviews are based on the subjective results of the reviewer, so that last statement may be moot. In closing, I think most audio gear is overpriced, and even at the used price, there is better to be had for the money.

Similar Products Used: PSS, HT Truthlink & Pro Silway, Stealth FLR
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
2
Phil   Audiophile [Aug 20, 2000]
Strength:

Very clear, clean with smooth textures and even frequency response

Weakness:

none so far

I purchased 2 sets of 1 meter pairs of Python. One pair between my Cal Audio Icon Mark II Power Boss CD Player and a conrad johnson PV12L line stage, and the other pair from the cj to a SMc Audio modified McCormack DNA 1 amp. The Tara cables I had been using were purchased as "tone controls" to soften the hardness of digital in my system. As the system has been improved, the time came to go for clarity and accuracy, not a sonic band-aid. The Pythons, after 150 hours or so, really begin to open up. The highs are smooth and airy. Emphasis on the smooth. Mids are clear and dynamic...music "dancing" out of the speakers. The bass was notably tighter and more tuneful. Music has greater pace with these cables in the circuit. It would seem that the Perfect Surface Copper + conductors in the Pythons really make the difference. I am a long time fan of Audioquest. They have always recognized the preeminence of top quality metallurgy. Better, purer conductors yield better, purer sound. The RCA's are pure copper, heavily clad in silver for ultimate conductivity. You just get the feeling of effortlessness in the music. Pace. Drive. Smoothness. Last comment; smoothness WITH detail. The ultimate combination of virtues!

Similar Products Used: Tara Quantum Reference Mark II Audioquest Emerald
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com