Analysis Plus Oval Twelve (12 gauge) - 8ft Pair Speaker Cables

Oval Twelve (12 gauge) - 8ft Pair

A scaled down version of the Oval 9, suitable for lower power applications, which performs great but is less expensive, terminated with 1/4" gold-plated spade connectors.

User Reviews (24)

Showing 1-10 of 24  
David V. Webber   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 07, 2006]
Strength:

Everything improved ! Bass, clarity , sound - stage , response - time , highs , mids , presence ; everything !

Weakness:

None .

I am 71 , ( 3/3/35 ) . For most of my life ( at least the part where I hooked speakers to signal - sources ) , the standard / normal " cable " was the same stuff household extension - cords are made from , ie 18 AWG zip - cord . It worked , and no one noticed anything wrong . 30 years ? Then , people started saying the wires were important !
System consists of : HAFLER SE120 60 WPC MOSFET Amp ; PARASOUND
P/HP - 850 Pre - Amp ; AMC CD8b single CD Player ; REVOX A - 77 Reel - To - Reel Tape Machine ; Alpine TDM - 7544 AM / FW Cassette Player ; DIY JBL
14" Three - Way , ( details put up with initial registering . )
So , I removed the lamp - cord and bought a spool of Radio Shack wire ; probably the heaviest gage available on a spool , or 16 AWG . Their best , gold
terminations . It did sound better ! More bass , etc. Then , people started saying you had to have Mega - Buck heavy - gage ( 12 , 9 , or 7 or for the rich , solid -siver bars ! ) I resisted for a long time , feeling that " a - wire - is - a - wire " and what possible difference could it have ? Then , I went to a DIY Speaker gathering , and all the " REAL " people had heavy - gage cables . [ Albeit some were just made from heavy - gage power - cable from Home Depot or Lowes ! ]
So , I started reading - up on cables on the WEB . Seems AP TESTS all the
" Name - Brand " exotic cables , and they all measured poor to bad ! SO , AP decided to make some of their own , with none of the problems ! Their " White -
Pages " seemed honest and intelligent . [ I am a Commercial Pilot and Aeronautical Enginneer . ] So , I bought a set of the 8' " Oval 12s " . Right out of the box they made an incedible impovement ! [ See " Customer Service " , below . ] More bass
of course , cleaner , more detailed and open , better sound - stage or placement of individual instruments , etc. Then , I was told that the " wires " had to BREAK -
IN for 72 to 100 hours ! WHAT ? A WIRE ? There are no moving - parts , no piston - rings to " seat " ! Must be B.S. !! So , I " E - Mailed " AP to be sure of it . Nice reply from Mr. Mark Markel , the President ! Also , I wanted to know if playing the system LOUD would speed things up ! Would Treble / Bass Boost help ? NO ,
loud or boosting was not a help ; just the proper time - period ! OK , so I played it for 2 or 3 days . WOW , it was even a bigger improvement over " Out - Of - The - Box " than THAT was over the Radio - Shack heavy - gage with fancy terminations ! Who would have thought ?? So , I'm now a believer that " wires " can make a difference !

Customer Service

The cables came with huge spades , even thgough I had ordered pins on the speaker - ends . Returned them . Came back with pins ; but not the 1/16" pins which the JBL crossover box needed . One more time . OK . Since , I have built a new crossover with design / parts from Greg Timbers of JBL . This uses spades ,
bananas or heavy - gage bare wire . All the changes were free of charge , [postage - paid .

Similar Products Used: Have " Straight Wire " ' " Rhapsody II " interconnects . Since they are not an
amplified signal , I feel I don't have to have " fancy " ones ! But , who knows ?
If I used AP interconnects , it might improve even more !!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Luis31   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 23, 2003]
Strength:

Price Excellent built Quality of terminations Neutral sound character

Weakness:

Long "burn-in" period, but may still sound great out of the box in some systems...

Right out of the box, these cables (single run, not biwire...) were an improvement over my Ultralink Excelsior 2.4 biwire. Overall, the sound is more refined, bass guitar has that distinctive "growl", low and upper bass have more focus. The mids are more present than before, the highs are more refined, detailed, yet not bright or shrill. The sound of a cymbal "decaying" is more present, more realistic. Highly recommended, but TRY BEFORE YOU BUY. Many audio enthusiast and/or audiophiles often make the mistake of buying components without auditioning properly. Speaker cables are no different, they are "very" system-dependent(i.e. System synergy). Overall, a great speaker cable with a "neutral side of warm" sound character at a reasonable price.

Similar Products Used: Ultralink Excelsior 2.4 biwire, Ultralink Challenger biwire, Monster XP, Analysis Plus Oval Clear, and other "cheap" 12AWG zip-cord
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mr Q   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 12, 2003]
Strength:

Clean, clear and grain free, wide bandwith design.You really don't think about these cables and that's always a good sign.

Weakness:

Long break-in is needed. These cables will very likely expose inferior components in the signal chain.

I've had these cables in my system for the last three years. Initially not very impressive, they got much better after a long break in. A recent upgrade to my system has confirmed the basic quality of this design. I highly recommend these cables.

Similar Products Used: DNM solid core Tara labs MIT Rega cables
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
yuriy   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 02, 2003]

After having 12 ft. pair for about 3 month, I think I made a mistake buying this cable. It GREATLY diminish output in mid and vocals area. Under nice and detailed music I don't hear vocals as they should sound. Cheep Monsters give a little less details, but much better balance. I think this cable is just wrong, and shouldn't be sold at all due to extreme filtering. In a review on AnalisysPlus site the professional reviwer mentioned that this filtering is light. Setup: Ah! Tojeb CD player. Simaudio I-5. Phase Technology 7.5

Similar Products Used: Kimber, Monster.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Tommychainsaw   AudioPhile [Aug 08, 2003]
Strength:

Very true, Open, Wonderful sence of depth, outstanding highs, top notch imaging and soundstage, helped my speakers disappear. PRICE!!!

Weakness:

None

When I first got these cables I was not happy with their sound. I thought that they were a bit bright and I liked the sound of my MIT Terminator 2 cables better. After upgrading my preamp and amp, I was unhappy with the highs in the system. I knew that my system was better than what I was hearing. I then got out the old AP Oval 12s to see how they would do with the new gear. WOW! Night and day difference! I never thought I would be able to hear such a difference in cables. Compared to the MITs, the AP Oval 12s sound crystal clear and open. There is much more depth and the highs are to die for. The music seems to take on a 3D image. Cymbals are more then 3D, they are palpable. I heard some tube Conrad Johnson gear with some $5000.00 B&Ws at a local store that did not sound as good as my system since the Oval 12s have been back in play. I think you need to have good equipment before you can appreciate the Oval 12s. With "cheap" solid state gear, the weakest part is the highs. Some cables (MIT) will hide the bright highs. Other cables (Analysis Plus)will put out what you put in. Very highly recommended! My system: Arcam CD 72t Parasound P/LD 1100 preamp Bryston 4B-SST amp (WOW!!!) Dynaudio Audience 72s Analysis Plus Oval 12 speaker cable Analysis Plus Oval One interconnects

Similar Products Used: MIT, Straightwire
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
BigThistle   AudioPhile [Feb 15, 2003]
Strength:

Build quality, detail

Weakness:

Midrange presentation. Lacking depth of bass.

Hmm...this cable really was dry and stiff sounding, and I decided to return it after 45 days/100 hours or so. I had double run 12' lengths bi-wired. Took time to burn-in and definitely improved, but I found overall lacking in mid-range presence. It was detailed though and presented a decent soundstage. Possibly Oval 9's would be a better option, but these were not for me.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
chromasound   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 26, 2003]
Strength:

Smooth, warm, energetic, imaging, detail. Great for HT and music.

Weakness:

None. I'd say you can't go wrong with this speaker wire. Maybe for those that want to spend thousands on wire, you might be able to do better. Not much though.

I have to disagree with Marian and Robert Benton's reviews on this speaker wire. Unless they are used to super high end equipment which reproduces sound on a whole new level of clarity, the terms 'thin' and 'foggy' sound downright OUTLANDISH based upon my experience with the oval twelves. As soon as I listened to familiar movies and music with my biwire setup (front channels only) I was VERY impressed by the imaging and detail of this wire. I'm not used to spending a lot of money on audio equipment (let alone wires!), so I had to be sure I liked the sound of these wires at a moderately high price of $350--otherwise I'd return them immediately. Long story short, I'm keeping 'em!! I was so impressed in fact, I had to watch all my DVDs over again--Still working on the cd's :) I'd say the overall quality of the sound is energetic, real warm and smooth in the midrange without superceding the other frequencies, and the high end is also smooth without being passive. Bass is not as prominent, but palpable and solid. I'd say this wire probably would control overly bright systems. My system is actually not bright at all---still these wires don't lack in solidity on the high end, so as to make my setup unfavorably lose presence. Instead, just imagine a REAL smooth, warm, and wide sound. Keep in mind I got two runs of 8ft. biwire and one run of 5ft. biwire for a total of $350. You could get these wires much cheaper in single runs and I'm sure it will be worth every penny. Excellent...I'd recommend the oval twelves to anyone for a noticeable audio upgrade.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Adam Frost   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 11, 2002]

i have only had this for a few days and it is hard to tell but i think this made my stereo sound better. i am pretty happy with it and would buy it again for $60

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
2
marian   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 29, 2002]
Strength:

Looks cool,flexible,good advertse...

Weakness:

Not sound like supposed to be,especially for this money{$6 per foot,STEALTH-$9per foot}...

Completely agree with Robert Benton-sound is thin,unnatural and the detail seemed foggy.It sound better like Monster XP 16avg,but when I tried STEALTH Premier Copper-no compare,it''s day and night.Advertise for this cable looks very cool,but it not worth your money...

Similar Products Used: Monsters,TRibutaries,Nordost flatline gold,Ixos,Wireworld,StealthPC...
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
charles sarram   AudioPhile [Feb 12, 2002]

had this cable for 7 months now thru a recommendation from a good friend. Man, let me tell you, for what I paid, its truly an outstandling feat of accomplishment. My previous cable were the old time favourite, the van den hul the wind. Not very expensive but very good for the price. The AP12''s just blew it right off the back especially in the midrange. The Treble of the ap12''s are also extended compared to the vdh. Bass a bit shy but just a tad shy, but overall it makes it worth in the mid and highs. My system consists of: Dynaudio Audience 70, Musical Fidelity A3CR, Rotel 991 CD player. Interconnects are currently van den hul 102, but eyeing on Silver Audios as what other users here are using. Bravo!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 24  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com