Acoustic Research Toslink & AV Speaker Cables

Toslink & AV

User Reviews (45)

Showing 1-10 of 45  
Charles Burch   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 17, 2000]
Strength:

Good build quality, great bang for the buck

Weakness:

If you spend a lot more bucks, you will get more bang

I’ll make this short and sweet (like these cables).

1. Good cables do make a difference.

2. Excellent cables cost a lot more.

3. These cables are better than Monster for less money, and will blow the doors off anything made by Radio Shack.

4. These are not high end audiophile cables, but if you don’t have a lot of money to spend for cables, these are the ones to buy. Great bang for the buck.


Similar Products Used: Radio Shack, monster, DH labs
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
stu   Audiophile [Mar 14, 2000]
Strength:

great construction

This is a great product. I bought a 6 foot wire for 22 bucks off the internet. I am very pleased. It has better contruction than monster. The end plugs snap into place. The sound is very crisp. For the price compaired to that of any other product onthe market, I give the AR a 5

Similar Products Used: monster
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ralph Q   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 21, 2000]
Strength:

Price

Weakness:

None

I got the 12 foot cable from avconnect.com for $30 shipped. It came in 2 days! It would have cost me thousands of dollars for the same cable at my local store. Ok maybe not thousands but you get my point. The price margin on this type of product is unreasonably high.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Kevin Margraves   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 02, 2000]
Strength:

Price, performance, build quality

Weakness:

Don't sound like $2500 cables

I'll try to be short and sweet. I have a new Sony 777ES powerhouse with a Sony 550D DVD player and new Overture's all the way around. I wanted some nice cables to comliment my new toys. I spend $300 on Monster Cables. After I got the great looking cables all hooked up I put in a great DVD and..... there was no difference! In fact, the low end wsa weaker and less defined and the high end seemed to have less sparkle. And this comparison was made against the cheap cables that come with new components!

Here's the great part... I read some great reviews here about Acoustic Research cables. I went down to BestBuy and spent $150 (half) on new 'S' cables, new A/V cables, new Toslink and coaxial cables and sub cable. All with great terminations and good looks to boot. (and a good warranty!)

IMMEDIATELY I had a tightend-up low end and more clarity. Also, the picture quality from the S cable on the DVD was stunning. There was new detail that I never new existed. The picture was more'lifelike' and much more exciting to watch. I had the feeling that my equipment was thanking me for letting it breath.

To all of you who spend $80 per foot on cables... it must be nice to have money to blow!

For the money, this is the most value-per-dollar peice of equipment I have purchased in years. I really didn't think cables made that much of a difference. I was wrong. You will not be dissapointed with these cables. They blow monster away and cost less than half. 5 Starts for AR!

Similar Products Used: Monster Interlink 200,300,400 AV, MK MV500 S cable
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Phil Macino   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 07, 2000]
Strength:

Great sound for the money!!

Weakness:

None

I recently picked this cable up in a middle of the night installation frenzy at a Meijer store. I originally had planned for it to connect my MiniDisc to my receiver and was so impressed with it that I relocated my Monster to the MD/RECV connection and now use the AR for my 5.1 interconnect! For $19.99 I don't think you could get a better cable..

Similar Products Used: Monster Lightspeed, Original Sony cable
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Alan Pearson   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 16, 1999]
Strength:

Excellent Quality and a good value

Nice product for the price, seems like a monster cable with a different logo

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
bin   Casual Listener [Jun 26, 2000]
Strength:

Price. Should be cheaper though.

Weakness:

None.

The cheapest one I can find. It should be cheaper. Come on, this is digital signal. Phone companies have digital cables for millions of miles, do they cost 5 bucks a foot?

If you don't know what a checksum is, forgive my lecuture, "This is no difference in cable that transfer digital signal, unless it is defective."

Thinking about expensive toslink will give you better audio/video is like believe reading a more expensive Bible will bring you closer to God. Keep dreaming if you want.

Accoustic Research? There is nothing for you guys to research! You are a manufacturing company.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
stu   Audiophile [Jan 31, 2000]
Strength:

price

Weakness:

none for the price

I bought 6 feet for 22 bucks. Monster cable costs 45 dollars. I am useing it on a pioneer 525 dvd player. The superior clearity of the sound is evident compaired to the A/V interconnects I was using. I was very impressed with this product. My feind uses the monster cable. I think it is a little cheaper made. I have to give this product 5 stars.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Drew   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 03, 1999]
Strength:

good build, good connection to my receiver, pretty good sound

Weakness:

none that I can tell

Just got mine from AVconnect and I'm very please with my purchase. I cannot believe how cheap this fibre optic cable is. I purchased two Monster interlinks for $40 from Best Buy and Audio King and after testing it againt AR I couldnt tell any difference. Maybe the AR cable was just a pinch brighter...but it was really hard to discern any difference in sound. So lets see $12.99 for AR or $40.00 for Monster ummmmm....$12.99 of course! The AR cable also seems to be build much better than Monster...its a little thicker and snaps on much better than my old Monster. When I first snapped on the Monsters it felt like a piece of the connection was about to disconnect from the cable! This is a very good value indeed!

Similar Products Used: monster
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Brett   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 18, 2000]
Strength:

Great value, and superb quality

Weakness:

none that I have found

Well I have used AR Optical and S-Video cables for about three months now and am very very happy with them. Even though I am not an audiophile I have to say the sound is tremendous, the only other product that I have to compare is a Liberty S-Video cable and that cost more and gives very solid results from my DVD player

Tonight I had to go get some similar cables for a new DSS receiver I bought, you know how it is, just gotta get it! :) Well here are the places i found that sell AR stuff (other than the two great Websites mentioned elsewhere on this page, but like I said - I just had to get it :)

- Sears
- Lowes
- D.I.Y

Similar Products Used: Liberty S-Video cable
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 45  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com